EPF - self contribution, need advise

guy3288
post Mar 1 2019, 02:10 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Mar 1 2019, 12:29 PM)
Till 75 yo, above that no more divident given to the all the money u got inside.
True or not? dont simply say la fren...why should EPF chase $$$$$$$$ from its pocket ???

I did additional contrib fr CIMBclick on 25.2.2019 9.00am, reflected in KWSP online dated 26.2.2019 . 1 day lapse quite good.
easy and convenient unlike the hassle of ASX captcha.

curious if exceeded RM60k what happened to excess- no dividend?
money returned to bank?

guy3288
post Mar 1 2019, 02:19 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(aaronooiengsiang @ Mar 1 2019, 02:17 PM)
If you self contribute, can this be withdraw anytime or still have to wait 55 years old?
sure cannot withdraw la,
masuk anytime, keluar ada syarat.
guy3288
post Mar 1 2019, 07:32 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Mar 1 2019, 06:14 PM)
True or not my friend u can verify with kwsp. The info from kwsp officer unless he is wrong la. There r just too many kwsp money without nominees, so many pass away. For those 75 yo and above, they allow u to keep ur money in, n put some more, but no give u divident liao. As long as u happy and can live longer no harm u wanna keep inside one. But problem when some kwsp owner pass away, that is the real headache since they have to handle the money properly. Malaysian median age of life span is around 78 for female n around 74 for male.
EPF would not pay any dividend for all our money in there when we reach 75yrs old?
then sure must remove all out.......EPF chase old people away.......

guy3288
post Mar 6 2022, 12:22 AM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 2 2022, 05:02 PM)
Is this still valid? To optimize, need to ensure the money appear on at the end of each preceding month. If appear on the 1st, will lose the whole month.
Yes better deposit end of the month, unless you have no choice

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Mar 2 2022, 05:43 PM)
There is a cut off date in the mth, not sure when exactly that is.
Dont worry about that, when you have the available cash to dump into EPF, just do it. No point being calculative about a few dollars lost due to missing cut off dates...small potatoes.
QUOTE(DS51 @ Mar 2 2022, 07:06 PM)
agree
i have rm60k planned for this come 7.3.22, lose interest 6.1% for 30days is RM300

if park that in KDI, send to EPF only on 29.3.22, can earn extra RM100+

RM100+ too small ??
guy3288
post Apr 7 2022, 11:00 AM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(ericthai @ Apr 7 2022, 09:54 AM)
Most of us new members don't have time to read through 40 pages of posts just to find a single info.

We always assume that it should start from day of deposit like all banks.

What about withdrawal? If we withdraw on 29 of the month (end of month), do we lose 1 month interest too?
QUOTE(ericthai @ Apr 7 2022, 10:21 AM)
Is there a way to request for refund to Maybank since the money is not deposited yet into KWSP? I wish to cancel the 'investment' but Maybank2u don't have this option.

There is also no option in KWSP website that say I can cancel the investment when it has not been deposited into KWSP yet.

This one month wait for the interest calculation is ridiculous.
Except FD most others dont pay interest from the day go eg sspn, amanah saham

For withdrawal no loss of interest, any day you withdraw.

Learn from mistake, i also just put in rm30k on 1.4.22 ,1 month loss. Dont think worth the trouble trying to reverse it.

guy3288
post Apr 24 2022, 11:15 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Apr 24 2022, 11:40 AM)
Usually Day 1.0 bank in, Day 3.0 reflected as Day 2.0's date.
recently i used Cimbclick and MBB, saw EPF online captured 1 day after deposit date.
that is very fast already even when i did it after working days weekend IANM

anyone experienced date captured in EPF is 2 days or more after deposit date?
guy3288
post Apr 26 2022, 05:11 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 24 2022, 11:46 PM)
Transferred on 2-Mar-22
Captured on 7-Mar-22
i think mostly date captured next day..
unusual, there must be a reason.. done at bank counter, first time doing the transaction,or what...??
guy3288
post Apr 26 2022, 10:51 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Apr 26 2022, 10:36 PM)
Hi All,

Appreciate someone can shed some lights on my questions below:

1. If I'm already contributing to EPF through normal employment every month, can I still self contribute RM60k annually?

e.g my permanent job EPF contribution is RM20k / annually, that it mean that I can only self contribute another RM40k ?

2. I understand that one can withdraw money from EPF when his/her EPF account has excess of 1 mil. Does withdrawal included self contributed money?

I'm curious anyone is treating EPF as a bank and keep money in EPF to earn dividend when account has excess of 1 mil, which in theory can be withdrawn any time. The dividend from EPF now is much higher than the FD that banks are offering.

1. Can, doesnt matter how much your employment contrib, self contrib same RM60k pa
2)Can, but not as you like, limited to once a month or 30days after WD completed subject to change
note you can lose 1 month interest if deposit wrong timing on last day of month, best done end of month 1-2 days before last date

guy3288
post Apr 27 2022, 12:25 AM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Sitting Duck @ Apr 26 2022, 11:10 PM)
Thanks for the answer.
Can I know what is WD in your statement "30days after WD completed"?
I didn't know there's a limit on number of withdrawal. I thought the limit is RM30k withdrawal per day.
ignore that outdated now can withdraw online, daily some more huh.gif

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Apr 26 2022, 11:21 PM)
1) self contribution is maximum RM 60K (per annum limit) which is on top of and separate from your salary contribution from employment

2) if your balance is > RM 1 mio, any balance above that can be withdraw at your discretion anytime. Only limit is rm30K per day via i-akaun. If you wanna w//draw more than 30K, u will have to get it done via any EPF branch.
yes .login KWSP go pengeluaran section can see all that info, Also first time must go verify at KWSP
guy3288
post Jul 4 2023, 01:34 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ Jul 4 2023, 11:43 AM)
The reason I brought up about employer is because it is in the same category. I'm aware we are talking about Voluntary Contribution (VC).

And the reason I brought up about penalty is - consider this - employer pay on 15th (which is the due date for Employer Contribution) via Internet banking... Will they be imposed with penalty? The answer is no, because to the employer they paid on the due date. They won't care when did it arrive EPF.

I'm not sure why you suddenly mention about mortgage and CC - which is totally different thing.

I'm gonna correct the misconception in this thread.
bruh what misconception you want to correct?

this?
QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jul 2 2023, 05:59 PM)
I remember reading some comments that one should put in money at the end of the month. My self contribution was reflected on July 1st. Does that mean I won’t get any interest for the whole month of July?
QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ Jul 2 2023, 06:22 PM)
You will get it.
you are wrong there, how you want to correct others?
guy3288
post Dec 8 2023, 07:13 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Dec 8 2023, 02:23 PM)
just wanted to earn the daily interest of the 100k before putting in.

so if put in at 26th, I can still earn 26 days of daily interest from other place.  biggrin.gif
i agree with you, dont waste that RM285 interest.

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 8 2023, 07:04 PM)
Barring any hiccup, can even do on 30-Dec if using epf app n fpx. 29th to play safe.
Yes safe enough there ...
what more 26.12.23... dont waste interest money wherever possible.
guy3288
post Mar 14 2024, 09:22 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(alpacino77 @ Mar 14 2024, 08:59 PM)
Hi Sifus, sorry for the complicated question that is coming but I really would like to know. how is the dividend calculated for self-contributed amount? for example if my salary is 10k , every month 2.3k will be deposited to my epf, assuming its my first year so I have accumulated 27600 in the epf. Assume dividend is 5% that year, I will have 28980 in epf. When the new year starts, I want to contribute 1.7k to my epf via self-contribution so total 4k (2.3k from work and 1.7k self-contribution) every month. 12 x 4k + 28980 = 76980 by the end of year so if dividend is announced 5% will I get 5% of the 76980? Thanks in advance for the clarification.
No, that interest 27600 x 5% = 1380 would only be correct if your RM27600 has been sitting in EPF for complete 12 months
You pay only2300 monthly, not paying one shot RM27600 right from beginning of year!

Same for own contribution, if money is received in EPF only for 1 month by end of year, dont expect EPF pay full 1 year interest for that money

you want to earn maximum interest, make own contribution end of the month
for compulsory monthly deduction EPF makan you at least 15 days interest
every month and you cant do anything to avoid

guy3288
post Mar 14 2024, 10:08 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(alpacino77 @ Mar 14 2024, 09:36 PM)
Sorry I don't quite get you. Even now if lets say in Jan 2023 you start with 100k balance in EPF, every month there is 2k going to your epf (employee and employer compulsory contribution), so by end of 2023 you would have 124k in your EPF, the 5% dividend is paid on 124k right?
No ,you wont get 5% of RM124k.

You want to get 5% on the whole of RM124k , that whole RM124k must sit in EPF FULL 12 months

you must have RM124k on 31.12.2022
then for year 2023 dividend
you can get RM124k x 5%

Common sense,
if you put RM2k in Dec 2023 how can you expect to earn FULL 12 month interest?
for that RM2k deposited end of the year?
guy3288
post Mar 19 2024, 10:34 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 16 2024, 08:03 PM)
that is too drastic. must be sad when heard got someone achieved 1m when age 45
no need be sad la if people got 1M in epf when 45
one mountain is higher than another mountain, biasalah..
no end if people try measure on others.

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Mar 19 2024, 06:11 PM)
Hi all, a question. Does it make sense to dump around 50-100k that is currently sitting in Vera/KDI into EPF? It's basically medium term emergency fund which I can withdraw from EPF as well when needed.
Isnt it obvious ,the answer?

You want 5.5% or you want 4%?

The problem people having here
is already max out RM100k limit..
where to put remainders...

If you have not maxed out your quota 100k...
masuk saja lah
apa mahu tanya?

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Mar 19 2024, 07:32 PM)
Erm, why else you think I'm asking if I can't withdraw it now.
the more you must ask yourself first
not asking us..
something look so simple to decide...

guy3288
post Apr 1 2024, 11:45 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 1 2024, 09:30 PM)
if your money is in your children EPF accounts....

if they are not yet 50 yrs old.....when you needed that money.....sorry lah have to wait.
if they are above 50 but below 55,....they can only withdraw from account 2 thus if their account 2 only has less then the sum of your total money inside, ....sorry lah have to wait for some time to get it back.

if you are 30 by the time you are a father,
then by the age of 85, your children will be just age 55,...can take the money to return to you

if your children before age 55, needed to withdraw to buy property,...then it could be your money that the get from their EPF accounts.
yes it is very true what you said above.

Perhaps he does not foresee that he ever need those money he had dumped into family members KWSP

So no problem for him.

QUOTE(etan26 @ Apr 1 2024, 09:41 PM)
Just telling you, your family is you unless your family all char siew then sorry lo. You married wrong spouse and having char siew children lo. too bad
Whoa bro you have such high confidence also..

Most people would not take the risk
better hold own money close to chest.

to do it the other way is not the norms
i did anyway. i bought ASM on kids name long ago,pumped up huge amount now
i cant access that money any more.
i bought properties in their names ,
transferred Bonds to them.

adalah tax benefits ,save costs etc...

only thing must be sure what you have given out,
you dont need them any more.

guy3288
post Apr 2 2024, 12:02 AM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 1 2024, 11:10 PM)
Her EPF account already hit 100k limit or what???
ni wife got more money than husband.
guy3288
post Apr 26 2024, 09:58 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Apr 26 2024, 05:57 PM)
Omaigod.
Have to plan wisely on the withdrawal then....
QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 26 2024, 09:00 PM)
U mean if one withdrew say 100k on 31Dec2023, he gets no dividend for that 100k when 2023 dividend is credited in March2024?
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 26 2024, 12:01 PM)
If you withdraw before dividend is declared after calender year normally period Jan- Feb, it would include min  interim dividend of 2.5% even for full account closure withdrawal.

Withdrawal on 31 Dec or before will not be entitle for dividend on that same calender year.
better use numbers
make clear what you meant

example
start 1.1.2023 balance RM150k
30.12.2023 Withdraw RM100k, balance RM50k

2023 dividend 5.5% declared,
takkan that RM100k sitting in EPF for nearly 12 months tak dapat 5.5% dividend?

dapat dividend 5.5% only for balance RM50 000 sahaja??

that RM100k dapat 2.5% dividend only?
for how many months?

see how much confusion it can create if we dont post clearly..
guy3288
post Apr 26 2024, 10:06 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 26 2024, 09:59 PM)
That's my understanding when reading how dividend is calculated...

What's your opinion?? Your understanding on the dividend calculation??

Same or differ
in my example above

impossible that RM100k sitting in EPF for 11 month 30days gets ZERO interest

i think that 100k would get full dividend 5.5% for 11month and 30days,
no interst only after he has withdrawn it

guy3288
post Apr 26 2024, 10:07 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Apr 26 2024, 10:04 PM)
ini i tak percaya
the 100k sit inside EPF from Jan 1 till 30th Dec then 31st withdraw the 100k got no dividend?
takda logik langsung
apa macam mahu picaya?
guy3288
post Apr 26 2024, 10:14 PM

5,853 posts

deposit money in must plan
try deposit end of month becos interest paid only 1 day for that month

deposit on 1.1.24 or deposit on 30.1.24 both get same, only 1 day interest for that month

withdrawal no problem
any day also same becos
interest is paid right upto day before money is taken out
on that day money is taken out, no more interest from that day onwards..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:10 PM