EPF - self contribution, need advise

romuluz777
post Mar 3 2023, 07:24 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Mar 3 2023, 06:11 PM)
that is the old budget my friend
Check the 2nd link from the vibes portal.

sweetpea123
post Mar 3 2023, 07:26 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 3 2023, 07:02 PM)
i googled and found this,....
https://budget.mof.gov.my/pdf/belanjawan202...pan/ub23-BI.pdf
Yes, i think so too.

So it's confirmed then. 100k self contribution
nexona88
post Mar 3 2023, 07:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,488 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Mar 3 2023, 06:33 PM)
That's so weird he didn't mention. I didn't listen but i just read online. Anyway, let me try to get confirmation from EPF. But reading today's projected 4.8% to 5.1%, suddenly not so gung-ho d. 🤣
https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/other/expect...rce/ar-AA188SZD
Yes...
The speculation rate is kinda disappointed 😞
MystiqueLife
post Mar 4 2023, 05:34 PM

475 posts

Hi all, for self-contribution;

Is it better to:

1) Max out 60K on 1.1.23

2) Contribute last day of every month in 5K?

I am new to this biggrin.gif
SUSxander2k8
post Mar 4 2023, 05:42 PM

4,665 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Mar 3 2023, 07:26 PM)

So it's confirmed then. 100k self contribution
Not confirmed until bajet passed and amend the EPF act 🤦‍♀️
SUSTOS
post Mar 4 2023, 06:13 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Mar 4 2023, 05:42 PM)
Not confirmed until bajet passed and amend the EPF act 🤦‍♀️
So I should wait until bajet passed and EPF act amended then only I can contribute under i-saraan for 2023?
nexona88
post Mar 4 2023, 06:32 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,488 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 4 2023, 06:13 PM)
So I should wait until bajet passed and EPF act amended then only I can contribute under i-saraan for 2023?
for confirmation...

better ask EPF hotline directly...

but personally..
I don't think need to wait for budget approvals...

just dump straightaway cool2.gif
SUSTOS
post Mar 4 2023, 06:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 4 2023, 06:32 PM)
for confirmation...

Not in Malaysia at the moment... sweat.gif
nexona88
post Mar 4 2023, 06:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,488 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 4 2023, 06:35 PM)
Not in Malaysia at the moment... sweat.gif
then ask someone u know (family or close friends) to ask behalf tongue.gif

e-mail or kwsp ask elya tongue.gif
MUM
post Mar 4 2023, 06:39 PM

14,922 posts

QUOTE(MystiqueLife @ Mar 4 2023, 05:34 PM)

Is it better to:

1) Max out 60K on 1.1.23
If you got no issue with cash flow, then contribution 1 lumpsum at start of the year is better as it will generate more dividend for you.
BTW max out on 1st of the month, or last day of the month will still gives you 1 day interest for that month.

preferably last week of the month. Just in case something happens on the last day, thus you will miss out on the dividend calculation
I am new to this  biggrin.gif
MUM
post Mar 4 2023, 06:44 PM

14,922 posts

I believes i saraan no need to amend epf act.
It is a continuation...just need to change some tax relief matters with lhdn, as now proposed increase of tax relief to 300 from 250
SUSTOS
post Mar 4 2023, 07:18 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 4 2023, 06:44 PM)
I believes i saraan no need to amend epf act.
It is a continuation...just need to change some tax relief matters with lhdn, as now proposed increase of tax relief to 300 from 250
I see.

I notice the i-saraan description is missing from the official EPF page (it used to be under "Voluntary Contribution"). So as i-Suri.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution

But when I login to my CIMB account and select "EPF/KWSP Transfer", the i-Saraan/i-Suri option is still available.

Kind of confusing people...

This post has been edited by TOS: Mar 4 2023, 07:27 PM
SUSxander2k8
post Mar 4 2023, 07:27 PM

4,665 posts

I-Saraan will stay the same amount contribution as previous years

Only thing you need to wait for bajet is the amount changes which has to be passed and amend the act as well

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 4 2023, 06:32 PM)
for confirmation...

but personally..
I don't think need to wait for budget approvals...

just dump straightaway  cool2.gif
No need to wait for bajet unless the amount increase or decrease 🤦‍♀️

MUM
post Mar 4 2023, 07:31 PM

14,922 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Mar 4 2023, 07:18 PM)
I see.

I observed that i-saraan description is missing from the official EPF page (it used to be under "Voluntary Contribution"). So as i-Suri.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution

But when I login to my CIMB account and select "EPF/KWSP Transfer", the i-Saraan/i-Suri option is still available.

Kind of confusing people...
just saw this in KWSP site,...
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/contribution...lf-contribution

"The EPF contribution is not limited to those required under the EPF Act 1991.
Voluntary participation of those who are not covered under the EPF Act is strongly encouraged.
Furthermore, it is an advantage to have savings set aside for your future retirement."

Those NOT covered under the EPF act can also contribute,...thus i also believes NO amendment to the EPF act is necessary if the gomen want to increase the self contribution limits from 60k to 100k.

btw,...in EPF site under this page,...
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/about-epf/resources/faq
can still see they mentioned I- Suri & I-Saraan things.

This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 4 2023, 07:34 PM

CommodoreAmiga
post Mar 4 2023, 08:02 PM

3,863 posts

Is it better to:

1) Max out 60K on 1.1.23

If you can get better investment plan than EPF, option 2. Else, option 1.
sweetpea123
post Mar 4 2023, 09:13 PM

800 posts

This post has been edited by sweetpea123: Mar 4 2023, 09:19 PM
ronnie
post Mar 4 2023, 09:31 PM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

Is it better to:

1) Max out 60K on 1.1.23

Better to start from Jan so your monies get dividend from Jan onwards
nexona88
post Mar 4 2023, 09:45 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,488 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Mar 4 2023, 09:13 PM)

Now I know why shariah one way lower...

Writedown loss making investment value around RM 2.5bil...

They made bad investment decisions using the shariah portion $$$....
ronnie
post Mar 4 2023, 10:06 PM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 4 2023, 09:45 PM)
Now I know why shariah one way lower...

Writedown loss making investment value around RM 2.5bil...

They made bad investment decisions using the shariah portion $$$....
Historically, Shariah EPF dividend is always lower.
Shariah compliant equities are much lesser in the market also.

Maybe if they split to another specialised fund manager (mentioned in Budget 2023) maybe can match Conventional dividends.
nexona88
post Mar 4 2023, 10:13 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,488 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 4 2023, 10:06 PM)
Historically, Shariah EPF dividend is always lower.
Shariah compliant equities are much lesser in the market also.

Maybe if they split to another specialised fund manager (mentioned in Budget 2023) maybe can match Conventional dividends.
Yes...
It's lower...

But this year got written losses of investment...
So kinda huge writedown of investment...

That's why...
Need specialist fund manager to manage the shariah portion 💪

294 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:54 PM