126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

kysham
post Jan 28 2008, 11:37 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

ganz: plenty of after-market lenses for the alpha. not as abundant as Nikon or Canon but definitely plenty. sure poison you kaw-kaw wan lah.... and the best thing is: all of them will be stabilised! imagine a Tamron SP AF 90mm f2.8 Macro lense, stabilised on Sony Alpha but not on Nikons or Canons - at the same price! Hahaha.... i think the Nikon and Canon camps are going to blast me for this.
soulfly
post Jan 28 2008, 12:34 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Jan 28 2008, 11:31 AM)
two question before this poison totally flow all over my blood nerve

1. is it any posibility that the price will be increase after a while..this is pre book price is it?

2. is they any third party lense for sony-KM line up?
1. The official price is RM1999 for single lens kit, and RM2499 for two lens kit. It will not increase. You can get slightly cheaper at shops other than Sony Style.

2. A lot of options from Tamron, Sigma, Tokina, and some older collections from Cosina (100mm f3.5 macro less than RM1k!!!), Vivitar, etc. You can also obtain mount adapters to suit those old manual lenses from MD mount, M42, etc...

Added on January 28, 2008, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(silver01 @ Jan 28 2008, 09:38 AM)
Hmm, when i ordered they said it does come with the adapter, i also wrote it down on my receipt.
Now, when's mine coming.... hmm.gif
The adapter is included due to promotion. It's not actually part of the kit, hence it's written on receipt. When I purchase my a100 (which includes adapter by default), the adapter is already inside the box.

This post has been edited by soulfly: Jan 28 2008, 12:36 PM
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 28 2008, 12:49 PM

578 posts

Do note that if u're into low-light photography or portraits, your options are quite limited. Possible ones are: Sony has 50mm 1.4 (around rm1.4k) or a rare, used Minolta 50mm f1.7 (around RM 400, if u can find). Canon on the other hand have the ever popular 50mm f1.8 at rm350.

The only 3rd party one that comes close is the Sigma 30mm f1.4, around RM 1700.

The other 3rd party lenses should be more than enough for tele or macro photography.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 28 2008, 12:49 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 28 2008, 12:34 PM)
1. The official price is RM1999 for single lens kit, and RM2499 for two lens kit. It will not increase. You can get slightly cheaper at shops other than Sony Style.

2. A lot of options from Tamron, Sigma, Tokina, and some older collections from Cosina (100mm f3.5 macro less than RM1k!!!), Vivitar, etc. You can also obtain mount adapters to suit those old manual lenses from MD mount, M42, etc...

Added on January 28, 2008, 12:36 pm
The adapter is included due to promotion. It's not actually part of the kit, hence it's written on receipt. When I purchase my a100 (which includes adapter by default), the adapter is already inside the box.
then those bought during pre-sales not bad. can get free memory and also the converter. plus, buying from SonyStyle
is more safe tongue.gif
cityfish
post Jan 28 2008, 01:15 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(dx_myrddraal @ Jan 28 2008, 12:49 PM)
Do note that if u're into low-light photography or portraits, your options are quite limited. Possible ones are: Sony has 50mm 1.4 (around rm1.4k) or a rare, used Minolta 50mm f1.7 (around RM 400, if u can find). Canon on the other hand have the ever popular 50mm f1.8 at rm350.

The only 3rd party one that comes close is the Sigma 30mm f1.4, around RM 1700.

The other 3rd party lenses should be more than enough for tele or macro photography.
Agree with what you said, there are limited prime lens for Alpha users at the moment.

But, I do notice that a lot of Alpha can find their prime lens even though it is a bit hard. Please whoever wish to buy prime lens put down their name here, let's see how many kaki hunting for it? Maybe there are sellers out there can look for you as well.

Besides, some SONY F1.4 second hand are selling quite cheap in the market, below RM1K. Just see whether you had tried to find it.
albnok
post Jan 28 2008, 01:36 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

1. RM1850 is the Sg. Wang/Low Yat price, not prebook price. It does not come with a CF or MS card so you have to get your own, under RM170.

2. Yes, all the popular Tamron lenses come in Sony mounting. The Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 is a popular choice. Sony has some shares in Tamron, and some of the newer DT lenses are Tamron designs with Sony coatings, faster AF and circular aperture blades.
ganz
post Jan 28 2008, 02:28 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

i just went to KLCC Sony just now.. ekkekekek. poison enough... biggrin.gif but unable to ask any sales person due to limited time and off course afraid of further poison..

well.. is there any alternative for external flash beside both f56 and f36? at least.. SB600 for nikon is less then 800..

well if everything is pproved by my "house and finance minister" then i think i might get one. soon.. biggrin.gif
soulfly
post Jan 28 2008, 02:30 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Jan 28 2008, 02:28 PM)
i just went to KLCC Sony just now.. ekkekekek. poison enough... biggrin.gif but unable to ask any sales person due to limited time and off course afraid of further poison..

well.. is there any alternative for external flash beside both f56 and f36? at least.. SB600 for nikon is less then 800..

well if everything is pproved by my "house and finance minister" then i think i might get one. soon.. biggrin.gif

yes... you can get Sigma flash units (I believe h@rrychoo is selling his at cheap price) which is decent enough but no wireless feature at less than RM800. f36 and f56 is a bit expensive mainly due to its wireless flash support. sony is coming with f42 in neer future. other 3rd party flash is like Sunpak (can get from shashinki), and Metz (a bit expensive)

This post has been edited by soulfly: Jan 28 2008, 02:31 PM
lelongkidd
post Jan 28 2008, 04:29 PM

121 posts

still many to go in this photo shooting knowledge.
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 28 2008, 04:30 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(cityfish @ Jan 28 2008, 01:15 PM)
Agree with what you said, there are limited prime lens for Alpha users at the moment.

But, I do notice that a lot of Alpha can find their prime lens even though it is a bit hard. Please whoever wish to buy prime lens put down their name here, let's see how many kaki hunting for it? Maybe there are sellers out there can look for you as well.

Besides, some SONY F1.4 second hand are selling quite cheap in the market, below RM1K. Just see whether you had tried to find it.
Am planning to get dSLR at end of Feb. I prefer A200 over 400D because of higher ISO support, SSS and better grip. My only concern is with the prime lens. Frankly I don't mind paying 400-500 for the Minolta f1.7, as it performs better than Canon's 50mm f1.8.

Yep, safe to say that if I can find used f1.7 or sony f1.4, then i'll be getting A200.
The Wonder
post Jan 28 2008, 04:37 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

Why everyone is looking for this "prime lens" (f1.4 - f1.8)? Really that sharp in focus and IQ? Good color? Can elaborate a bit (sorry ya newbie on board)?

Coz I'm planning to get this A200 today and I managed to find a store that still carrying twin lens kit with free MSPD @ RM 2499 (there are still some stock left, according to the staff there).
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 28 2008, 04:40 PM

578 posts

Coz these prime lens good for portraits and taking photo in low light condition. this lens can give the pictures a nice, blurry backround. There was even a "discussion" on it earlier in the thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/473260/+940
The Wonder
post Jan 28 2008, 04:52 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(dx_myrddraal @ Jan 28 2008, 04:40 PM)
Coz these prime lens good for portraits and taking photo in low light condition. this lens can give the pictures a nice, blurry backround. There was even a "discussion" on it earlier in the thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/473260/+940
Ok, understood now. Thanks!
BTW if you're so keen on the prime lens why not take RM 1800 (single kit lens) + extra cash for the prime lense. Still a good bargain I believe. Or just trade all the lenses for something up to your liking. Can this be done?

SUSgogo2
post Jan 28 2008, 05:40 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(The Wonder @ Jan 28 2008, 04:52 PM)
Ok, understood now. Thanks!
BTW if you're so keen on the prime lens why not take RM 1800 (single kit lens) + extra cash for the prime lense. Still a good bargain I believe. Or just trade all the lenses for something up to your liking. Can this be done?
but kit lens is cheap with bundle. for non-pro photographer like us, just get the kitlens. after got money, then
buy the prime la.
The Wonder
post Jan 28 2008, 05:46 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jan 28 2008, 05:40 PM)
but kit lens is cheap with bundle. for non-pro photographer like us, just get the kitlens. after got money, then
buy the prime la.
Ya, and to be frank I don't know when this day will come tongue.gif tongue.gif .
Xcaliber
post Jan 28 2008, 06:08 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(The Wonder @ Jan 28 2008, 05:46 PM)
Ya, and to be frank I don't know when this day will come  tongue.gif  tongue.gif .
that's why .. wish list is exist.. drool.gif
Glau
post Jan 28 2008, 09:20 PM

418 posts

i am using a KM5d with the 50mm 1.7. it is nice but the focus speed is not the fastest.

Does the A200 come with the 18-70 kit lens? if so it is similar to my minolta 18-70 and this is a good starter lens.
csrulez
post Jan 28 2008, 09:41 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

yup, A200 single kit comes with SAL 18-70mm while the twin kit comes with an extra SAL 75-300mm. =)
Andy0625
post Jan 28 2008, 09:42 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

Anyone here going to get new lens from Sony center soon ?

*please answer me before you ask me why i'm asking so.
soulfly
post Jan 28 2008, 10:03 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Glau @ Jan 28 2008, 09:20 PM)
i am using a KM5d with the 50mm 1.7. it is nice but the focus speed is not the fastest.

Does the A200 come with the 18-70 kit lens? if so it is similar to my minolta 18-70 and this is a good starter lens.
a200 has new focusing mechanism... will definitely focus faster than KM5d. It comes with 18-70mm lens.... pretty underrated lens I should say.

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:09 AM