dx_myrddraal
post Jan 7 2008, 08:16 AM

578 posts

Specs: http://www.photographybay.com/2008/01/06/sony-a200/

A200 Key Features

Camera type: Digital SLR with built-in flash and interchangeable lenses

Lens mount: Compatible with Sony lenses and Konica Minolta/Minolta MAXXUM/DYNAX lenses

Image sensor: APS-C size CCD with anti-dust system

Sensor resolution: 10.2 effective megapixels

Image processor: Sony BIONZ engine

Image stabilization: Super SteadyShot with approx. 2.5 - 3.5 EV decrease in shutter speed (actual stabilization depends on shooting conditions and lens)

Noise reduction: Long exp. & High ISO NR at ISO1600 / 3200

Creative Styles: Preset modes: Standard, Vivid, Portrait, Landscape, Night View, Sunset, B/W, Adobe RGB. Adjustable parameters: Contrast, Saturation, Sharpness

D-Range Optimizer: operating modes: Off, Standard, Advanced

Scene Selection modes: Portrait, Landscape, Macro, Sports, Sunset, Night Portrait / Night View

Viewfinder: Field of view: 95% / Magnification: 0.83x

AF system: TTL phase detection, centre-cross 9-point

Sensitivity: ISO100 - 3200 equivalent (Recommended Exposure Index)

Light metering: 40-segment honeycomb with multi-segment, spot and centre weighted modes

Flash modes: Auto, Fill-in, Wireless, Rear, High Speed Synchro and Slow Synchro (Wireless and High Speed Synchro modes require optional accessory flash HVL-F56AM or HVL-F36AM)

Built-in flash system: Auto popup (GN 12) with manual popup button

Shutter speed range: 1/4000 sec. - 30 sec., bulb (Flash sync speed 1/160 sec.)

Continuous shooting rate: Up to approx. 3 fps

Max no. of frames: JPEG Fine/Std: unlimited (until memory card is full), RAW+JPEG: 3, RAW: 6 recordable (continuous)

Monitor screen: Transparent TFT / 2.7-inch Clear Photo LCD (230k dots) with AR coating

Histogram display: Brightness, RGB

Function menu: Camera Function Display with direct control of Flash Mode, AF Mode, WB, Metering Mode, AF Area, DRO

Battery type: NP-FM500H with InfoLITHIUM % power remaining display on screen

Battery life: Approx. 750 shots (CIPA measurement)

Vertical control grip: VG-B30AM (optional) accepts up to 2x NP-FM500H batteries

Recording media: CompactFlash card: Type I, Type II (Microdrive), Memory Stick Duo, Memory Stick PRO Duo, Memory Stick PRO-HG Duo with optional adaptor.

Dimensions: (WxHxD) Approx. 130.8 x 98.5 x 71.3 mm (excl. protrusions)

Weight: Approx. 532 g (w/o batteries or memory card)

This post has been edited by dx_myrddraal: Jan 7 2008, 08:17 AM
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 13 2008, 03:56 PM

578 posts

Here's a shot taken at ISO 1600. I snapped the laptop they used to display the Alpha community slideshow.

I downsized the picture by 50% and cropped it out as below. No noise reduction was done, JPEG exported at 80% quality.

The only problem I have is with the drive mode button, which is on top, towards the flash mount. I also tried the A200 without the battery grip, and it feels ok - not as bad as the 400D.

This post has been edited by dx_myrddraal: Jan 13 2008, 03:59 PM
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 13 2008, 08:44 PM

578 posts

full sized iso 400 - 3200 samples here: http://jnls.net/files/a200/

Did not post the iso 100 and 200 ones as they were blurred. I left the aperture at f7.1 and hence shutter speed was 0.6s. SSS doesn't seem "power" enough for me tongue.gif
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 14 2008, 08:34 AM

578 posts

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/Sony/a200-02.jpg

where got SSS indicator? A200 seems like don't have wor..
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 14 2008, 01:27 PM

578 posts

what's DMF?

The ISO 1600 ones posted over http://masterchong.com/v2/dslr-guide/sony-...ple-photos.html also seems pretty usable.

This post has been edited by dx_myrddraal: Jan 14 2008, 01:29 PM
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 16 2008, 06:53 PM

578 posts

I thought top-of-the-line dSLRs have battery/portrait grips "built in"?
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 21 2008, 10:26 PM

578 posts

http://www.photographybay.com/2008/01/16/m...bel-xts-rumors/

Canon's EOS 400D replacement model: 450D will also be priced around there: $599 (RM 2096), so it's very unlikely that Sony will increase the price. Perhaps you can say that Sony started the price war?

I'm still not sure which camera to go for (with Nikon D40x replacement coming up in Spring too, probly announced at PMA too). One thing I don't like about Sony is the lens availability. Minolta's are hard to come by, and the new lenses are few and expensive!!

Just compare Sony's 70-200 f2.8 with Canon's. Canon's sells for around 6k, while Sony's msrp is RM 9k. Whatever happened to the economical reasons for built in image stabilizer??
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 23 2008, 01:58 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(enigma88 @ Jan 23 2008, 10:41 AM)
heard ppl saw the lower price offer in lowyat

NEW SONY ALPHA A200 with SAL1870 = RM1850
NEW SONY ALPHA A200 with SAL1870 + SAL75300 = RM2350

dam dirt cheap
dun noe got installment or not? yawn.gif
drool.gif

Anyone know's the pricing for Sony's 50mm f1.4 lens? And oh, is Sony gonna launch any new prime lenses?
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 24 2008, 08:11 PM

578 posts

i beg to differ. i can't see how Sony's built in Super Steady Shot is an advantage for Sony. Sure, coupled with the kit lens, it's great value. But if you look at some of the other Sony lenses, equivalent Canon lenses are cheaper. This effectively voids Sony's argument that built in image stabalizer/SSS is more economical.

A few examples (from the big table):
Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM, RM 1792
Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II, RM 380
Sony EF 50mm f1.4, RM 1650

Canon EF 70-200 f2.8L IS USM, RM 8640
Sony 70-200 2.8G, RM 10,888

Canon EF-S 17-85 IS USM, RM 2420
closest Sony equiv: Sony 24-105mm, RM 2400

worse thing is, Minolta lenses are so hard to come by. Canon? So many people using, easier to get used lenses..

I too am weighing between the A200 and 450D. I love the bokeh by fast lenses unfortunately (kena poison tongue.gif) Canon has a cheap alternative to cure my poison for the time being. And I believe it'll be much easier to get a used Canon 50mm f.14 compared to the Sony. I havn't try USM lens before, so havn't kena poision tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dx_myrddraal: Jan 24 2008, 08:13 PM
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 24 2008, 10:31 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jan 24 2008, 03:49 PM)
You see, not everybody who buys DSLR would always buy lens. Not everybody who buy DSLR would buy every single lens available in the stores. Not everybody who buys DSLR would buy the high end super expensive range of lens (although they tend to dream about em).

If you want to compare Canon 17-85mm IS USM .... please compare to Sony 16-80mm CZ... hehe.
For 50mm f1.4.... still...Sony is cheaper. 2nd hand market is a different story.
Canon's 50mm f1.4 has USM, Sony doesn't.

Anyway, anyone know how cheap Sony's 50mm f1.4 goes on the market?

dx_myrddraal
post Jan 25 2008, 12:24 AM

578 posts

i'm not a sports photographer, i just pointed out that the EF 50mm f.14 has USM (with FTM), so being RM 100 odd more expensive than the Sony, it can be said "cheaper".

Am getting a dSLR at the end of Feb, or beginning of March. of course would be great if i can find a used Minolta 50mm f1.8 or Sony 50mm f1.4, then only go buy the A200.

Anyone having a 50mm f1.8 wanna upgrade to the Sony f1.4? tongue.gif
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 25 2008, 01:18 AM

578 posts

Have to try to find a used Minolta 50mm f1.7. Should be around RM 300-400. This "should" be better than Canon's 50mm f1.8. The minolta has 7 aperture blades, the canon only has 5. from pictures i've seen, the bokeh is quite round too.
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 25 2008, 08:37 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jan 25 2008, 07:17 AM)
For people like me who doesn't earn enough to by a RM5k lens, and like shooting wildlife photography, I know that a RM2.5k Sigma 170-500mm or a RM700 Sigma 70-300 APO will come with image stabilizer if I get Sony system (or Pentax).
Unless one prepare to spend a fortune on Canon L lens, or rich enough to own a RM10k lens, I don't see the difference between RM5k and RM10k because I know I will never buy either of it. One day if I become a millionaire, what is RM10k? I don't think I'll give a damn.
too bad no 3rd party 50mm fast lens sad.gif
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 25 2008, 09:25 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(silver01 @ Jan 25 2008, 08:56 AM)
I echo that. Now when is my camera coming...... hmm.gif
hm, but it won't be long before u'll be looking out for an upgrade right?
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 25 2008, 11:11 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 25 2008, 10:11 AM)
I don't know, it seems like those Sony haters suddenly come into our thread arguing about how 'value' our Sony system is since the release of A200. I never recall them being in our 'home' before this laugh.gif
Just wanna get all the facts to make a better decision.

Thanks for the info anyway albnok smile.gif

dx_myrddraal
post Jan 28 2008, 12:49 PM

578 posts

Do note that if u're into low-light photography or portraits, your options are quite limited. Possible ones are: Sony has 50mm 1.4 (around rm1.4k) or a rare, used Minolta 50mm f1.7 (around RM 400, if u can find). Canon on the other hand have the ever popular 50mm f1.8 at rm350.

The only 3rd party one that comes close is the Sigma 30mm f1.4, around RM 1700.

The other 3rd party lenses should be more than enough for tele or macro photography.
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 28 2008, 04:30 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(cityfish @ Jan 28 2008, 01:15 PM)
Agree with what you said, there are limited prime lens for Alpha users at the moment.

But, I do notice that a lot of Alpha can find their prime lens even though it is a bit hard. Please whoever wish to buy prime lens put down their name here, let's see how many kaki hunting for it? Maybe there are sellers out there can look for you as well.

Besides, some SONY F1.4 second hand are selling quite cheap in the market, below RM1K. Just see whether you had tried to find it.
Am planning to get dSLR at end of Feb. I prefer A200 over 400D because of higher ISO support, SSS and better grip. My only concern is with the prime lens. Frankly I don't mind paying 400-500 for the Minolta f1.7, as it performs better than Canon's 50mm f1.8.

Yep, safe to say that if I can find used f1.7 or sony f1.4, then i'll be getting A200.
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 28 2008, 04:40 PM

578 posts

Coz these prime lens good for portraits and taking photo in low light condition. this lens can give the pictures a nice, blurry backround. There was even a "discussion" on it earlier in the thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/473260/+940
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 28 2008, 10:38 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Glau @ Jan 28 2008, 09:20 PM)
i am using a KM5d with the 50mm 1.7. it is nice but the focus speed is not the fastest.

Does the A200 come with the 18-70 kit lens? if so it is similar to my minolta 18-70 and this is a good starter lens.
Let me know if you're moving up to the Sony 50mm 1.4 or perhaps the CZ 85mm. Looking for a 50mm f1.7 brows.gif
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 31 2008, 08:20 AM

578 posts

great news: Sigma announces 70-200 and 50-150 f2.8 lenses for Sony mount!

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08013105...20050150aps.asp

and i think "bazookas" will take on a whole new meaning: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08013101sigma250500.asp

0.0269sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:42 AM