316 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V37, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 05:54 PM

197 posts

Hi guys. Need advice. My plan was renewed to 30mbps on Jan 2019. However due to heavy Internet workload, I wanted to switch to 100mbps for unlimited data. To my horror, they said there is no option to upgrade to 100mbps because of the line around my area. No idea how that happen but now I'm stuck with 30mbps with no where to go forward or backward without paying expensive cancellation fee. Funnily enough my area just upgraded to receive times fibre so not sure what the tm saying is true or not.

Was told to go to nearest tmpoint to see if there are other options...... What other options? Before I waste my time and annual leave, anybody can share their experience on these supposedly "alternative plan"?
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 26 2019, 05:57 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 26 2019, 05:44 PM)
how is this TP link compared with DIR-825+?
See review of A6 here: https://www.blacktubi.com/review/tp-link-archer-a6-review/

I would say that it is better, firmware wise.

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 05:54 PM)
Hi guys. Need advice. My plan was renewed to 30mbps on Jan 2019. However due to heavy Internet workload, I wanted to switch to 100mbps for unlimited data. To my horror, they said there is no option to upgrade to 100mbps because of the line around my area. No idea how that happen but now I'm stuck with 30mbps with no where to go forward or backward without paying expensive cancellation fee. Funnily enough my area just upgraded to receive times fibre so not sure what the tm saying is true or not.

Was told to go to nearest tmpoint to see if there are other options...... What other options? Before I waste my time and annual leave, anybody can share their experience on these supposedly "alternative plan"?
You mean your area is upgraded to receive TIME? Go for TIME then! TIME has their own fibre infrastructure, and maybe TM doesn't have that. Go for TIME.
MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 06:02 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 26 2019, 05:57 PM)
See review of A6 here: https://www.blacktubi.com/review/tp-link-archer-a6-review/

I would say that it is better, firmware wise.
You mean your area is upgraded to receive TIME? Go for TIME then! TIME has their own fibre infrastructure, and maybe TM doesn't have that. Go for TIME.
Thats the problem. I recently renewed to 30mbps early year, thinking I won't reach 60gb cap, lol. Ends up more than expected. I'm willing rm129 but I'm surprise tm won't allow upgrade if facility does not support. I don't mind lower speed, I'm more annoyed that that's not even an option anymore if u want unlimited cap.

Some even pointed out that they got boosted 500mbps but not even reach half that speed. But I straight up got rejected for 100mbps and now im stuck with 60gb quota unless I pay cancellation. Its is stupidly annoying and mind boggling crazy that I can't even "upgrade". If worse come worse I rather just pay the fine and leave Unifi entirely.

If TM has other data plan, I'm willing to listen but not going to waste time going to tmpoint if there is none. Already tried online support but no use.

This post has been edited by MinusGear: Mar 26 2019, 06:06 PM
Left4Dead2
post Mar 26 2019, 06:06 PM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 06:02 PM)
Thats the problem. I recently renewed to 30mbps early year, thinking I won't  reach 60gb cap, lol. Ends up more than expected. I'm willing rm129 but I'm surprise tm won't allow upgrade if facility does not support. I don't mind lower speed, I'm more annoyed that that's not even an option anymore if u want unlimited cap.

Some even pointed out that they got boosted 500mbps but not even reach half that speed. But I straight up got rejected for 100mbps and now im stuck with 60gb quota unless I pay cancellation. Its is stupidly annoying and mind boggling crazy that I can't even "upgrade". If worse come worse I rather just pay the fine and leave Unifi entirely.
I also planning did the same downgrade from 100mbps to 30mbps to save Rm40+ per month

Did u monitor your usage before apply ? So far i use less than 30gb in a month, should be enough.

What u use data for ?
Left4Dead2
post Mar 26 2019, 06:07 PM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(neooren @ Mar 23 2019, 05:20 PM)
The thing is quill city mall outlet was the only tm point open on weekend and after office hours. Now no more..

I think tm just want to make our life difficult
Close liao ??? KNN , was plan go there this week
MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 06:08 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Mar 26 2019, 06:06 PM)
I also planning did the same downgrade from 100mbps to 30mbps to save Rm40+ per month

Did u monitor your usage before apply ? So far i use less than 30gb in a month, should be enough.

What u use data for ?
I'm not the only one using.
imalmighty
post Mar 26 2019, 06:30 PM

mic test
732 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 06:08 PM)
I'm not the only one using.
Sometimes, there's something called download failure, if u constantly monitor download client like torrent, there's something like packet loss, ending up, u downloaded more than u need. Say, a 100MB file, u downloaded 102MB to obtain it.
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 26 2019, 06:32 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 06:02 PM)
Thats the problem. I recently renewed to 30mbps early year, thinking I won't  reach 60gb cap, lol. Ends up more than expected. I'm willing rm129 but I'm surprise tm won't allow upgrade if facility does not support. I don't mind lower speed, I'm more annoyed that that's not even an option anymore if u want unlimited cap.

If TM has other data plan, I'm willing to listen but not going to waste time going to tmpoint if there is none. Already tried online support but no use.
Seriously, I would suggest going for TIME if you can. Their new plans are very reasonable, and just ask TM how much would the penalty be if you were to leave the contract now, and weigh it against going for TIME.
MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 06:48 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Mar 26 2019, 06:30 PM)
Sometimes, there's something called download failure, if u constantly monitor download client like torrent, there's something like packet loss, ending up, u downloaded more than u need. Say, a 100MB file, u downloaded 102MB to obtain it.
OK enough. I'm not asking ur advice how I want to handle my download. I'm asking how to resolve this mind boggling issue. TM went and lock me into a contract with no way to upgrade or downgrade. Like I said countless time Im willing to pay rm129 since I have little issue with Unifi for a long time. But I'm mind blown that I'm stuck with 60gb quota cause TM said "Nope" EVEN though I'm willing to have lower speed but with unlimited. I wasn't even aware that my area cannot receive 100mbps, otherwise I willing to stuck with rm179.00 (30mbps unlimited) previous contract. That just smell BS to me.

Im more than THRILL to jump to Times but I'm seeking advice on alternate plan supposedly u can get if u go to TMpoint centre. This is what online TM support advice me.

PS: if any of u don't have legit advice aside from lecturing me on data download, please don't reply cause I'm seriously pissed right now.
MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 06:58 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 26 2019, 06:32 PM)
Seriously, I would suggest going for TIME if you can. Their new plans are very reasonable, and just ask TM how much would the penalty be if you were to leave the contract now, and weigh it against going for TIME.
Am thinking about it. But from the thread here, seem TM do offer other plans not offered to others e.g. RM99 for 50Mpbs. Am wondering if this is possible if I am to visit TMpoint so seeking advice from people who did this. I'm not going to waste time and apply work leave if they not planning to offer any alternative.

Due to some circumstances, paying termination fee maybe a little tricky but I will weigh in on it. Cause after this episode I'm starting to see why unifi offering only Two Plan deal is so stupid and I don't think they planning to fix this anytime soon.

winkiedilwy
post Mar 26 2019, 07:06 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 05:54 PM)

sounds like your area have unifi for a long time and TIME just came in? then it might be that unifi is using copper wire instead of fibre, which explains the speed limit.

tm sometimes sot one. its like you want to give them business but they said cannot. switch to TIME soon as long as port is available.
winkiedilwy
post Mar 26 2019, 07:11 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

Hi guys, anyone using ASUS's RT-AC66U router here? Suitable for Unifi Turbo 500mbps? I'm replacing my old TP-Link Wireless N router as at max it only gives me 200mbps via LAN. Tried changing modem but speed is worse (mine is gen 1). It's on sale on Lazada for only RM472.

Also, any advice on sharing file across network? The AC66U seems to only have USB 2.0, seems like it doesn't take external HDD too.
MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 07:12 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Mar 26 2019, 07:06 PM)
sounds like your area have unifi for a long time and TIME just came in? then it might be that unifi is using copper wire instead of fibre, which explains the speed limit.

tm sometimes sot one. its like you want to give them business but they said cannot. switch to TIME soon as long as port is available.
That is what so strange. I heard of many complaints that despite 500Mbps boost whatnot, they can only get around 100Mbps tops. However, for me, 30Mbps is more than enough. I just need the unlimited part. But they not even willing to upgrade me to 100Mbps is soooooooo strange confused.gif and angers me ranting.gif I did not even know that is even possible. doh.gif I feel like kena cheated.

winkiedilwy
post Mar 26 2019, 07:15 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 07:12 PM)
That is what so strange. I heard of many complaints that despite 500Mbps boost whatnot, they can only get around 100Mbps tops. However, for me, 30Mbps is more than enough. I just need the unlimited part. But they not even willing to upgrade me to 100Mbps is soooooooo strange  confused.gif and angers me  ranting.gif I did not even know that is even possible.  doh.gif I feel like kena cheated.
same la, they claim it's up to. depending on area, load, port, when install, when your neighbour go to sleep, etc.

they have 999 excuses but their own fault is never one.
MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 07:21 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Mar 26 2019, 07:15 PM)
same la, they claim it's up to. depending on area, load, port, when install, when your neighbour go to sleep, etc.

they have 999 excuses but their own fault is never one.
It's not the excuse part. It's the hard stop of not letting you subscribe to 100Mbps simply cause my area does not support that speed. By the way, I'm getting the full speed of the 30Mbps so I reckon it can go to at least 50Mbps which is still more than enough. Not even asking for full speed, for crying out loud.

It's the problem they trap you into 60Gb quota without any upgrade to unlimited even if you willing to pay more for lower speed. Any advice will help my case when I go to TMpoint cause I have feeling the staff there is as clueless as the online support guys.
elmond
post Mar 26 2019, 07:37 PM

2,262 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 07:21 PM)
It's not the excuse part. It's the hard stop of not letting you subscribe to 100Mbps simply cause my area does not support that speed. By the way, I'm getting the full speed of the 30Mbps so I reckon it can go to at least 50Mbps which is still more than enough. Not even asking for full speed, for crying out loud.

It's the problem they trap you into 60Gb quota without any upgrade to unlimited even if you willing to pay more for lower speed. Any advice will help my case when I go to TMpoint cause I have feeling the staff there is as clueless as the online support guys.
penalty rm500 is worth if change to Time

or you can consider 30Mbps RM89 Non-Fiber Plan
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4731622?author=li_hat

MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 07:42 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Mar 26 2019, 07:37 PM)
penalty rm500 is worth if change to Time

or you can consider 30Mbps RM89 Non-Fiber Plan
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4731622?author=li_hat
Thank you! That's what I'm looking for.
soonwai
post Mar 26 2019, 07:48 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 06:48 PM)
OK enough. I'm not asking ur advice how I want to handle my download. I'm asking how to resolve this mind boggling issue. TM went and lock me into a contract with no way to upgrade or downgrade. Like I said countless time Im willing to pay rm129 since I have little issue with Unifi for a long time. But I'm mind blown that I'm stuck with 60gb quota cause TM said "Nope" EVEN though I'm willing to have lower speed but with unlimited. I wasn't even aware that my area cannot receive 100mbps, otherwise I willing to stuck with rm179.00 (30mbps unlimited) previous contract. That just smell BS to me.

Im more than THRILL to jump to Times but I'm seeking advice on alternate plan supposedly u can get if u go to TMpoint centre. This is what online TM support advice me.

PS: if any of u don't have legit advice aside from lecturing me on data download, please don't reply cause I'm seriously pissed right now.
So weird. TM sure jump at the chance to take more money from you. Last time when I at 5 or 10 or 30, I could always upgrade. Even extra RM10 a month, TM jumped at the chance to give me the upgrade. Makes no business sense for them not to. How many times have you asked? With TM, you gotta check a few times.
MinusGear
post Mar 26 2019, 08:00 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 26 2019, 07:48 PM)
So weird. TM sure jump at the chance to take more money from you. Last time when I at 5 or 10 or 30, I could always upgrade. Even extra RM10 a month, TM jumped at the chance to give me the upgrade. Makes no business sense for them not to. How many times have you asked? With TM, you gotta check a few times.
Twice. Anyway the lack of info on the 100Mbps qualification is downright incompetent. I tried checking if this is indeed the case in my area, no such function in unifi website.

Anyway going to check on the Non-Fiber Plan as suggested. The sad thing is this was never listed out and seem like a viable solution for limited connection area. Essentially instead of 2 plans, it basically scream only 1 plan (and a crappy one at that) since majority areas are like that in KL. My area are not even that isolated from KL center so not sure what TM has been doing these past decades. My brain cannot compute the level of sheer idiocity of the TM management. Come this April when data cap finally starts, don't know what will happen.

This post has been edited by MinusGear: Mar 26 2019, 08:02 PM
TSSilentVampire
post Mar 26 2019, 08:19 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Mar 26 2019, 07:11 PM)
Hi guys, anyone using ASUS's RT-AC66U router here? Suitable for Unifi Turbo 500mbps? I'm replacing my old TP-Link Wireless N router as at max it only gives me 200mbps via LAN. Tried changing modem but speed is worse (mine is gen 1). It's on sale on Lazada for only RM472.

Also, any advice on sharing file across network? The AC66U seems to only have USB 2.0, seems like it doesn't take external HDD too.
Check 1st page, 1st post, green text, for list of recommendations for router.

QUOTE(MinusGear @ Mar 26 2019, 07:12 PM)
That is what so strange. I heard of many complaints that despite 500Mbps boost whatnot, they can only get around 100Mbps tops. However, for me, 30Mbps is more than enough. I just need the unlimited part. But they not even willing to upgrade me to 100Mbps is soooooooo strange  :confused: and angers me  ranting.gif I did not even know that is even possible.  doh.gif I feel like kena cheated.
It is usually modem or other issues. They are probably using old copper lines that is not capable of 100Mbps. As we all say, TIME is the best option if you can do it.

316 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:40 PM