198 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

Monya Meow Meow
post Mar 28 2019, 07:42 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 28 2019, 04:24 PM)
this also but i just don't like the feeling of after settling down, tomorrow morning move again
and it felt like wastage of another day
if i stay in osaka, next day is a full day
if i move to kyoto, i don't know where to go hauling all this luggage waiting for check in time...it's another day wasted for me

luggage forwarding service i have no experience thus don't dare to use
and also scare the luggage didn't arrive thn how laugh.gif
for me
i thought USJ is just entrance ticket and the various express pass only
i've decided to forgo the express pass thingy and just go on weekdays to try to avoid the crowd
i've read the previous thread
they say monday to thursday can avoid...go early straight to harry potter, thn everything else later
but yesterday when i go see USJ entrance ticket at klook, suddenly there is ticket A, B, C without explaining what is the difference
price is different as well laugh.gif

i think i will only decide after i've done listing down the place i wanted to visit whether i want to stay osaka whole trip or separate it
i do notice the hassle of hauling the luggage there thn back again
staying like 1 station outside of the main hub seems to be a good idea, will consider
depending on the airbnb price in namba
and i also notice osaka have so much of these "pass"
at tokyo, i just use suica all the way since their daily pass isn't worth it
i thought i would do the same in osaka kyoto, mana tau i saw so many pass, kyoto bus pass, osaka amazing pass, kansai thru pass laugh.gif
From what I gather, most of those passes do not pay off as well unless you go for further day trips like Miyajima, Hiroshima, Himeji, Koyasan etc. If just within Osaka, Kyoto & Nara, the ICOCA should be enough.
Fyonne
post Mar 28 2019, 10:43 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Mar 28 2019, 11:31 AM)
How about spending your first night in Osaka (since you arrive late), then move to Kyoto the next day for a few days before ending off your last 2 or 3 nights in Osaka for your shopping?
Yeah a bit of a hassle changing hotels 3 times, but you can always use the luggage forwarding service if lazy to bring your luggage around.
any recommendation on luggage forwarding service? i did enquiry bout it here, but no1 reply.
looking for one for it, Onomichi <-> Imabari. planning to cycle thru Shimanami Kaido. for 2 days course.
but wont be needing it for 1st day as i will packed light to spend a night in one of the island, but plan collect it the next day once i reach the other side or at the accommodation there.
I still havent decide which way to cycle thru yet tho. still at planning phase.
5p3ak
post Mar 28 2019, 11:32 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 28 2019, 05:10 PM)
Great to hear that! Happy planning biggrin.gif
Thanks, what are your thoughts on 1 day Osaka + 1 day Kyoto vs 2 Days in Osaka?

General plan

Osaka Day 1

Osaka castle(Himeji/Hikone?)
Nishinomaru garden
Lunch, open to suggestions
Osaka museum of history
Umeda sky building
(I feel need somemore suggestions here)
Dinner, open to suggestions

Day 2
Kuromon Ichiba Market
Shinsaibashi
Hozenji Yokocho
Doguyasuji Arcade
Den-Den Town/America Mura
Abeno Harukas 300

Monya Meow Meow
post Mar 29 2019, 06:00 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Mar 28 2019, 10:43 PM)
any recommendation on luggage forwarding service? i did enquiry bout it here, but no1 reply.
looking for one for it, Onomichi <-> Imabari. planning to cycle thru Shimanami Kaido. for 2 days course.
but wont be needing it for 1st day as i will packed light to spend a night in one of the island, but plan collect it the next day once i reach the other side or at the accommodation there.
I still havent decide which way to cycle thru yet tho. still at planning phase.
I think there are a few in Japan but the one I used was TA-Q-BIN, the symbol is like a little black cat.
Normally it takes one day to deliver for standard distances like between Tokyo & Osaka (2 days for Okinawa/Hokkaido).

For your case, I think you can use them to forward your luggage to your next destination on the day you leave for your cycling course and it will arrive on day 2.
Makes sense since you only need to travel light on day 1.
I think you can also request them to delay the next day delivery if you prefer them to collect your luggage the day before your cycling course so that it arrives on day 2 and not day 1.

Your hotels/Airbnb host should be able to arrange this for you, they have a form that you can fill (in Japanese) but they may have English forms now not sure.
A standard luggage should cost around 2,000 Yen.

All in all, it's a very safe and convenient to use them so that you can travel without lugging your luggages around smile.gif
_ChAoS_
post Mar 29 2019, 08:39 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Mar 28 2019, 07:42 PM)
From what I gather, most of those passes do not pay off as well unless you go for further day trips like Miyajima, Hiroshima, Himeji, Koyasan etc. If just within Osaka, Kyoto & Nara, the ICOCA should be enough.
If it's Hiroshima, it's a different pass with a much higher price though. As for within Osaka, Kyoto and Nara, after precise calculations on the price, there are still savings for me. Of course, that depends on your itinerary as well. Only will know for sure once you already know where you're going and had done your calculations.
sacwoc
post Mar 29 2019, 09:58 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(kaiskarnz @ Mar 28 2019, 08:38 AM)
What is recommended way to get to kusatsu onsen from nishi-shinjuku? Preferably only with jr wide pass.
You can use JR wide pass up until naganohara-kusatsu guchi. Then you need to pay the 700yen to take the bus to kusatsu. Its about 20-30 mins bus ride.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 28 2019, 04:24 PM)

luggage forwarding service i have no experience thus don't dare to use
and also scare the luggage didn't arrive thn how laugh.gif
Dont worry. Its very safe in Japan. You just have to tell them when is your flight and terminal and they will inform you where to pick it up. You can even call them to come to the hotel to pick it up as well.
_ChAoS_
post Mar 29 2019, 10:07 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Mar 28 2019, 05:40 PM)
I just visited Klook site to check the USJ tickets, the options A, B and C were not there before. It's best to visit their online chat to find out.I do agree to go to Harry potter rides first. However, you don't have to worry about running there as the gate opens (It's not fun to run sweat.gif ), just walk normally there once you're inside. For me, i only waited 20-30 minutes once i was at the queue at leisure walking pace even after i stopped at the HP rides timed-entry ticket park booth (It was then that i found out that there's no timed ticket required for that day).
* i looked deeper and found the difference between tickets A, B and C. There's a different price structure for different dates. Some dates have higher price (Peak season, weekends, etc). If you know the exact date of when you'll visit USJ, just pick a ticket (A, B or C) with your date not greyed out. That will be your ticket price.
Monya Meow Meow
post Mar 29 2019, 10:42 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Mar 29 2019, 08:39 AM)
If it's Hiroshima, it's a different pass with a much higher price though. As for within Osaka, Kyoto and Nara, after precise calculations on the price, there are still savings for me. Of course, that depends on your itinerary as well. Only will know for sure once you already know where you're going and had done your calculations.
Can I please know what passes you find are worth it over the ICOCA?
Fyonne
post Mar 29 2019, 01:12 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Mar 29 2019, 06:00 AM)
I think there are a few in Japan but the one I used was TA-Q-BIN, the symbol is like a little black cat.
Normally it takes one day to deliver for standard distances like between Tokyo & Osaka (2 days for Okinawa/Hokkaido).

For your case, I think you can use them to forward your luggage to your next destination on the day you leave for your cycling course and it will arrive on day 2.
Makes sense since you only need to travel light on day 1.
I think you can also request them to delay the next day delivery if you prefer them to collect your luggage the day before your cycling course so that it arrives on day 2 and not day 1.

Your hotels/Airbnb host should be able to arrange this for you, they have a form that you can fill (in Japanese) but they may have English forms now not sure.
A standard luggage should cost around 2,000 Yen.

All in all, it's a very safe and convenient to use them so that you can travel without lugging your luggages around  smile.gif
Thx alot. saw guide mentioned Sagawa.
Both Ta-Q-Bin n Sagawa offer almost same price. around 2k yen 20-30kg 140cm size luggage.
limchee
post Apr 1 2019, 10:57 AM

Sien
1,745 posts

BREAKING: Japanese government announces new era will be known as Reiwa 令和

Bye bye Heisei
TSsweet_pez
post Apr 1 2019, 12:08 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Mar 28 2019, 11:32 PM)
Thanks, what are your thoughts on 1 day Osaka + 1 day Kyoto vs 2 Days in Osaka?

General plan

Osaka Day 1

Osaka castle(Himeji/Hikone?)
Nishinomaru garden
Osaka museum of history
Umeda sky building
(I feel need somemore suggestions here)

Day 2
Kuromon Ichiba Market
Shinsaibashi
Hozenji Yokocho
Doguyasuji Arcade
Den-Den Town/America Mura
Abeno Harukas 300
Looks fine to me, except Day 2 seem packed. You may want to put 1-2 of the places as back up to go, when you have extra time.
sacwoc
post Apr 1 2019, 01:53 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Apr 1 2019, 10:57 AM)
BREAKING: Japanese government announces new era will be known as Reiwa 令和

Bye bye Heisei
Not so fast. Still a month to go. smile.gif
limchee
post Apr 1 2019, 02:30 PM

Sien
1,745 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Apr 1 2019, 01:53 PM)
Not so fast. Still a month to go. smile.gif
yup starting 1st of May! rclxms.gif
MR_alien
post Apr 1 2019, 04:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(ykc @ Mar 28 2019, 04:47 PM)
regarding various pricing on USJ tix, if not mistaken, the price will be different depending on which day you are visiting. In klook website, you may try click on ticket A and then see the available date in calendar. The available date will be differ among the 3 options.
QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Mar 28 2019, 05:40 PM)
I just visited Klook site to check the USJ tickets, the options A, B and C were not there before. It's best to visit their online chat to find out.I do agree to go to Harry potter rides first. However, you don't have to worry about running there as the gate opens (It's not fun to run sweat.gif ), just walk normally there once you're inside. For me, i only waited 20-30 minutes once i was at the queue at leisure walking pace even after i stopped at the HP rides timed-entry ticket park booth (It was then that i found out that there's no timed ticket required for that day).
someone clarified to me that A,B,C of USJ entrance is based on what day u visit
which they never state on the page
imma be aiming for the cheapest one which is tuesday to thursday

for _ChAoS_, previously page got tips on how to tackle USJ, have a sequence for ride to maximize rides

now i was thinking to go straight to kyoto via haruka express....finish kyoto thn come back osaka for the remaining days
i saw haruka's last train for kyoto is 22:16PM
1. not sure can make it or not
2. is it worth it laugh.gif

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Mar 28 2019, 07:42 PM)
not even osaka amazing pass?
5p3ak
post Apr 1 2019, 04:57 PM

5,648 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 1 2019, 12:08 PM)
Looks fine to me, except Day 2 seem packed. You may want to put 1-2 of the places as back up to go, when you have extra time.
Thanks, which of day 2 places can be done during day 1?

Also do I need to buy Shinkansen tickets in advance? As i'm going during Obon week which I think is super peak period.

This post has been edited by 5p3ak: Apr 1 2019, 04:59 PM
Fyonne
post Apr 1 2019, 05:58 PM

904 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 1 2019, 04:14 PM)
for transport only, no.
if include attraction, yes.
sacwoc
post Apr 1 2019, 06:04 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 1 2019, 04:57 PM)
Thanks, which of day 2 places can be done during day 1?

Also do I need to buy Shinkansen tickets in advance? As i'm going during Obon  week which I think is super peak period.
Shinkansen have reserved and non-reserved. Suggest you buy reserved as early as possible as Obon is normally a peak period. If not try squeezing in to the non-reserved seat and hope you get a seat. If not just stand lor.
5p3ak
post Apr 1 2019, 06:14 PM

5,648 posts

QUOTE(sacwoc @ Apr 1 2019, 06:04 PM)
Shinkansen have reserved and non-reserved. Suggest  you buy reserved as early as possible as Obon is normally a peak period. If not try squeezing in to the non-reserved seat and hope you get a seat. If not just stand lor.
Is it possible to buy online? Is this the correct web? https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/
clearcase
post Apr 1 2019, 10:09 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 1 2019, 04:14 PM)
someone clarified to me that A,B,C of USJ entrance is based on what day u visit
which they never state on the page
imma be aiming for the cheapest one which is tuesday to thursday

for _ChAoS_, previously page got tips on how to tackle USJ, have a sequence for ride to maximize rides

now i was thinking to go straight to kyoto via haruka express....finish kyoto thn come back osaka for the remaining days
i saw haruka's last train for kyoto is 22:16PM
1. not sure can make it or not
2. is it worth it laugh.gif
USJ's A/B/C dates you can refer here
https://www.usj.co.jp/ticket/common/studiop...e-calendar.html
sacwoc
post Apr 2 2019, 08:59 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 1 2019, 06:14 PM)
Is it possible to buy online? Is this the correct web? https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/
Havent bought through this website before so not to sure but it seems legit. Normally I just buy from the station.

198 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:29 AM