198 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

scchan107
post Oct 11 2019, 12:48 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Oct 11 2019, 11:02 AM)
Didn't know there are two different teamlabs.
Ok noted on the early get in advice.
You said it is crowded, but is it on weekends?
Fyi I am going on next Thurs.
Come think of it, i went there on saturday, so that might be the cause.

Also take note: Only Planet has the section where your feet will get wet, make sure you change to short pants before entering.

For Borderless, no need to change short pants (no water), but there's 1 room where you are walking on suspended web, so don't wear high heels (they do provide shoe rental iirc)

Ticket wise, you can also buy directly in Japan via kiosk at the entrance using CC. So do double check the local pricing and klook pricing.

This post has been edited by scchan107: Oct 11 2019, 12:49 PM
iwubpreve
post Oct 11 2019, 12:53 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Oct 11 2019, 11:45 AM)
Try check MAS now. RM1.8k Return Tix in january.
end up bought ticket to seoul on January liao. RM1050 per pax. cathay Pacific. need transit.
ReadySteadyGo
post Oct 11 2019, 06:58 PM

72 posts

Hi am going in a family of 4 to Osaka and planning to visit these places Osaka. Kyoto, Kobe and Nara over these days:

Day 1 Arrival in KANSAI at 3pm
Hotel at Umeda area near Osaka Station

Day 2 Osaka full day
Osaka Castle
Namba Shrine
Kuromon Market
Shitennoji Temple / Tennoji Park / Keitakuen Garden
Abeno Harukas Tower
MEGA Don Quijote
Dotonburi

Day 3 - Kyoto full day
Nishiki Market
Gion > Shirakawa / Hanamikoji
Arashiyama Bamboo Forest
Sannenzaka
Fushimi Inari

Day 4 - Kobe full day
Kobe Motomachi / Sanomiya
Rokkosan Mountain view
Kobe Chinatown
Kobe Mosaic City

Day 5 - Nara full day
Deer Park
Naramachi

Day 6 - Osaka full day
Shinsekai / Tsutenkaku
Shinsaibashisuji
and other places in Osaka

Day 7 - fly out from Kansai

Should I use ICOCA for all the daily destinations and purchase separately the Nankai Limited Express round trip tickets from Kansai-Tengachaya -Kansai when we arrive and depart?

JasonTheGreat
post Oct 12 2019, 09:34 AM

832 posts

What do men wear during autumn?
Shorts or long pants?
FreedomSeeker
post Oct 12 2019, 11:17 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Oct 12 2019, 09:34 AM)
Shorts or long pants?
long pants la... pakai jeans je... it can be quite cold at night.
scchan107
post Oct 12 2019, 11:23 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(JasonTheGreat @ Oct 12 2019, 09:34 AM)
Shorts or long pants?
Genting highland late night is like afternoon during autumn, 15C? If you want to find out your tolerance to cold.

Last time I go during winter 0C - 10C also wear long pant without long john.
liwei92
post Oct 12 2019, 12:44 PM

405 posts

Damn im leaving to tokyo tmr.
JasonTheGreat
post Oct 12 2019, 04:14 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Oct 12 2019, 11:17 AM)
long pants la... pakai jeans je... it can be quite cold at night.
QUOTE(scchan107 @ Oct 12 2019, 11:23 AM)
Genting highland late night is like afternoon during autumn, 15C? If you want to find out your tolerance to cold.

Last time I go during winter 0C - 10C also wear long pant without long john.
Just want to know their fashion. Worried I look weird if I wear short pants during autumn smile.gif . My last 2 visits to Japan is always during winter in Dec and Feb which can go negatives. That one confirmed winter wear. Just that I never experience autumn before

This post has been edited by JasonTheGreat: Oct 12 2019, 04:14 PM
gaeria84
post Oct 12 2019, 04:47 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Oct 12 2019, 12:44 PM)
Shud be fine, but public transport maybe not working and attractions might be closed for a day or two
FreedomSeeker
post Oct 12 2019, 05:10 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Oct 12 2019, 12:44 PM)
Tot flight cancel already for today & tomorrow?
liwei92
post Oct 12 2019, 05:32 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Oct 12 2019, 05:10 PM)
Tot flight cancel already for today & tomorrow?
Tmr nope. For now mine still as scheduled.
RegentCid
post Oct 12 2019, 08:53 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Sunday everything back to normal. Those Japan workaholic also back to work on Sunday due to today didnt go working, feel very guilty to company.
gaeria84
post Oct 12 2019, 09:41 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 12 2019, 08:53 PM)
Sunday everything back to normal. Those Japan workaholic also back to work on Sunday due to today didnt go working, feel very guilty to company.
Everything back to normal except areas yang kena landslide, flooding
X-Zen
post Oct 12 2019, 11:14 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

Going to Osaka, Kobe, Nara and Kyoto

1) is it good to rent a car to drive around. Not in Osaka but when going Kobe / Nara / Kyoto

2) is it advisable for driving within Kyoto

3) also it seems accommodation in Osaka is cheaper than Kyoto. Make sense to base myself at Osaka and travel to and fro?

Thanks in advance
fruitie
post Oct 12 2019, 11:46 PM

Rise and Shine
72,806 posts

QUOTE(ReadySteadyGo @ Oct 11 2019, 06:58 PM)
Hi am going in a family of 4 to Osaka and planning to visit these places Osaka. Kyoto, Kobe and Nara over these days:

Day 1 Arrival in KANSAI at 3pm
Hotel at Umeda area near Osaka Station

Day 2 Osaka full day
Osaka Castle
Namba Shrine
Kuromon Market
Shitennoji Temple / Tennoji Park / Keitakuen Garden
Abeno Harukas Tower
MEGA Don Quijote
Dotonburi

Day 3 - Kyoto full day
Nishiki Market
Gion > Shirakawa / Hanamikoji
Arashiyama Bamboo Forest
Sannenzaka
Fushimi Inari

Day 4 - Kobe full day
Kobe Motomachi / Sanomiya
Rokkosan Mountain view
Kobe Chinatown
Kobe Mosaic City

Day 5 - Nara full day
Deer Park
Naramachi

Day 6 - Osaka full day
Shinsekai / Tsutenkaku
Shinsaibashisuji
and other places in Osaka

Day 7 - fly out from Kansai

Should I use ICOCA for all the daily destinations and purchase separately the Nankai Limited Express round trip tickets from Kansai-Tengachaya -Kansai when we arrive and depart?
Your itinerary seems to be a bit packed.. Not doing anything on day 1?

Icoca card is the easiest and no need to headache.

QUOTE(X-Zen @ Oct 12 2019, 11:14 PM)
Going to Osaka, Kobe, Nara and Kyoto

1) is it good to rent a car to drive around. Not in Osaka but when going Kobe / Nara / Kyoto

2) is it advisable for driving within Kyoto

3) also it seems accommodation in Osaka is cheaper than Kyoto. Make sense to base myself at Osaka and travel to and fro?

Thanks in advance
Kansai region I feel their public transportation access is really good, I really don't see the point of driving around. Almost all attractions can reach with train or bus. Moreover, petrol and parking fees gonna cost you a bomb.

You can put your base at Osaka and travel around, just need to take out some time for travel but it's not an issue at all. My last trip I stayed at my friend's house in Kobe and I travelled on daily basis out to Osaka/Kyoto/Nara.
X-Zen
post Oct 13 2019, 11:22 AM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 12 2019, 11:46 PM)
You can put your base at Osaka and travel around, just need to take out some time for travel but it's not an issue at all. My last trip I stayed at my friend's house in Kobe and I travelled on daily basis out to Osaka/Kyoto/Nara.
Thanks for your reply. It’s very likely I’m not gonna drive this time. Few more questions if you don’t mind

1) I’ll be touching down at Kansai international airport. Any recommendation on the type of JR pass should I buy for value to go around the 4 places or is it not necessary? It will be for 7 days 6 nights

2) On the base to stay, my only worry on staying in Osaka is because the plan is to see the Kyoto autumn view including night scenes of the autumn. Worry about the transport back i guess

This post has been edited by X-Zen: Oct 13 2019, 11:23 AM
fruitie
post Oct 13 2019, 11:42 AM

Rise and Shine
72,806 posts

QUOTE(X-Zen @ Oct 13 2019, 11:22 AM)
Thanks for your reply. It’s very likely I’m not gonna drive this time. Few more questions if you don’t mind

1) I’ll be touching down at Kansai international airport. Any recommendation on the type of JR pass should I buy for value to go around the 4 places or is it not necessary? It will be for 7 days 6 nights

2) On the base to stay, my only worry on staying in Osaka is because the plan is to see the Kyoto autumn view including night scenes of the autumn. Worry about the transport back i guess
1) I never use JR Pass in Kansai area, last trip I used Kansai Thru Pass and this time (next month) I will use Icoca pass (like our TnG card here), so reload when I need to. JR Pass will limit your movement as it is only limited to JR lines. JR Pass for foreigners need to buy beforehand, before you reach Japan.

2) I don't think you will walk until 11 p.m. at Kyoto right? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 13 2019, 11:43 AM
scchan107
post Oct 13 2019, 12:19 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(X-Zen @ Oct 13 2019, 11:22 AM)

The only route that is worth buying JR west pass (1 day) will be day trip Himeji, which is just slightly further than Kobe.

Can visit Mt. Shosha, Himeji Castle and the garden next to it.

Do note you still need to pay for transport from Castle to ropeway station AND the cable car ticket. They do sell the combi ticket for 1400 yen at bus terminal. Also the combi ticket EXCLUDE admission fees to enter the temple on top of Mt. Shosha
sebastianX11
post Oct 13 2019, 12:32 PM

1,735 posts

hei guys
my trip to osaka kyoto is mid Nov
are you guys planning to use BigPay and withdraw YEN in JP?
last i checked in BP thread, it can be withdrawn in any 7-11, Seven Bank to be specific

This post has been edited by sebastianX11: Oct 13 2019, 12:35 PM
fruitie
post Oct 13 2019, 12:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,806 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Oct 13 2019, 12:32 PM)
hei guys
my trip to osaka kyoto is mid Nov
are you guys planning to use BigPay and withdraw YEN in JP?
last i checked in BP thread, it can be withdrawn in any 7-11, Seven Bank to be specific
Yes, I will do it. I have just exchanged a bit using the unused Euro I had from my Europe tirp, the remaining I will withdraw in Japan using BP.

198 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0395sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:43 AM