198 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

SUSwilsonjay
post Jun 12 2019, 07:57 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jun 12 2019, 05:49 PM)
JR wide area pass seem a good choice. 5 days max only tho.

edit: typo
Hmm i search around for that and it says only cover until wakayama station though? hmm.gif or it covers all the way down south?
cappuccino vs latte
post Jun 12 2019, 10:45 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jun 12 2019, 07:57 PM)
Hmm i search around for that and it says only cover until wakayama station though?  hmm.gif  or it covers all the way down south?
Kansai WIDE Area Pass is valid for unlimited travel in the valid area on the map:

For me, the only downside is the rail pass is valid for consecutive 5 days but my itinerary span 1 week period - not able to utilise it for return to Kansai International Airport.

More details here: JR-West
SUSwilsonjay
post Jun 12 2019, 11:13 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jun 12 2019, 10:45 PM)
Kansai WIDE Area Pass is valid for unlimited travel in the valid area on the map:

For me, the only downside is the rail pass is valid for consecutive 5 days but my itinerary span 1 week period - not able to utilise it for return to Kansai International Airport.

woah the map covers just within the reach of Kii Katsuura..that's good to know. But yeah 5 days is kinda short, but I was actually planning to use it on the last 5 days of my 10 days trip, which the last 1-2 days at Kii Katsuura. So its definitely worth it, as the ticket price for one way trip from osaka to Kiikatsuura is RM250+!

This post has been edited by wilsonjay: Jun 12 2019, 11:13 PM
Fyonne
post Jun 13 2019, 09:20 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Jun 12 2019, 10:45 PM)
https://www.japan-guide.com/g18/2361_kansai_wide_1807.gif

i dun think ppl should rely on JR pass to last til return. coz pass arent tat good for commute around for kansai main area (Osaka,Kyoto,Nara).
tho it shine when u go really far, like Tottori, Amanohashidate, Okayama n such.
RegentCid
post Jun 13 2019, 11:16 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 7 2019, 03:02 PM)
You are right. There are direct flight between CTS and KL for December (October onward) but no direct flight between Sapporo and KL in August and September 2019. Even the Airasia staff doesnt know why

Since I will be flying every month for work trip but cant find direct flight for August and September.
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 10 2019, 08:58 AM)
Could be seasonal demand. Singapore Airlines and I think Scoot do SIN-CTS direct flights only a few months a year for the winter ski season, but all other months tarak. Could be the same for AA too?
AirAsia X will be temporary suspended flight to Hokkaido during Summer. Maybe as deodorant mention, during summer low demand. AirAsia X try focus all passenger to AirAsia X Thai to Sapporo during summer.

RegentCid
post Jun 13 2019, 11:18 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Veron83 @ Jun 11 2019, 11:51 PM)
Would like to ask sifu here, can the kintetsu rail pass able to travel to Uji?
Kintetsu have no line to Uji, so No

Uji only got 2 station which is JR and Keihan
swn525
post Jun 13 2019, 11:52 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 13 2019, 11:16 AM)
AirAsia X will be temporary suspended flight to Hokkaido during Summer. Maybe as deodorant mention, during summer low demand. AirAsia X try focus all passenger to AirAsia X Thai to Sapporo during summer.
yup, no much people want go hokkaido during summer season, first is Nagoya, then Fukuoka, now is Hokkaido
because Malaysia economic bad? Malaysian have no money to travel? haha

This post has been edited by swn525: Jun 13 2019, 11:53 AM
SkyHermit
post Jun 13 2019, 01:52 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 13 2019, 11:16 AM)
QUOTE(swn525 @ Jun 13 2019, 11:52 AM)
yup, no much people want go hokkaido during summer season, first is Nagoya, then Fukuoka, now is Hokkaido
because Malaysia economic bad? Malaysian have no money to travel? haha
Great to know that it is confirmed that there will be no direct flight between KL and Sapporo during Summer.

Most of the direct flights have been moved to Bangkok(Nagoya, Sapporo). I guess more Japanese love to visit Thailand more than Malaysia and also there are getting more and more Thailand people visiting Japan
RegentCid
post Jun 13 2019, 02:31 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 13 2019, 12:52 PM)
Great to know that it is confirmed that there will be no direct flight between KL and Sapporo during Summer.

Most of the direct flights have been moved to Bangkok(Nagoya, Sapporo). I guess more Japanese love to visit Thailand more than Malaysia and also there are getting more and more Thailand people visiting Japan
The whole world prefer Thailand than Malaysia. Alot Western still thinking above Singapore are Thailand, direct skip Malaysia.
Malaysia alcohol tax just too high compare to Thailand.
SkyHermit
post Jun 13 2019, 03:04 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 13 2019, 02:31 PM)
The whole world prefer Thailand than Malaysia. Alot Western still thinking above Singapore are Thailand, direct skip Malaysia.
Even I have to admit that Thailand is the best country in S.E.A for travel and even retire. Tasty food, cheap, better hospitality, nice beaches, better transportation.
Veron83
post Jun 13 2019, 05:11 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 13 2019, 11:18 AM)
Kintetsu have no line to Uji, so No

Uji only got 2 station which is JR and Keihan
Thanks for the reply.

I also found out it does not cover uji.

Will go with Keihan pass rclxms.gif
Monya Meow Meow
post Jun 14 2019, 07:00 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 13 2019, 02:31 PM)
Many foreigners don't even know Malaysia existed before the famous disappearance of MH and the 1MDB case...
I remember back during uni days in Melbourne, this French guy came up to me and asked where I was from.
Told him Malaysia and he never heard of it.
Told him we are just north of Singapore and he went "oh, I thought north of Singapore was Thailand?" sweat.gif
SkyHermit
post Jun 14 2019, 08:49 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jun 14 2019, 07:00 AM)
Many foreigners don't even know Malaysia existed before the famous disappearance of MH and the 1MDB case...
I remember back during uni days in Melbourne, this French guy came up to me and asked where I was from.
Told him Malaysia and he never heard of it.
Told him we are just north of Singapore and he went "oh, I thought north of Singapore was Thailand?"  sweat.gif
It is true and funny because I ask Japanese what do they think of when I mention Malaysia. They are like `eh, and then say Merlion` and I say that is Singapore and they will apologize. So I can say that Merlion is the most famous landmark in S.E.A to foreigners
Fyonne
post Jun 14 2019, 09:06 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 14 2019, 08:49 AM)
It is true and funny because I ask Japanese what do they think of when I mention Malaysia. They are like `eh, and then say Merlion` and I say that is Singapore and they will apologize. So I can say that Merlion is the most famous landmark in S.E.A to foreigners
not really, met a old local at tokyo, we do chat abit, he understand bout hijab stuff when we told him we from Malaysia.

once i went kobe makan Wagyu, the chef told us that he once has a school trip to Malaysia.
SkyHermit
post Jun 14 2019, 02:30 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jun 14 2019, 09:06 AM)
not really, met a old local at tokyo, we do chat abit, he understand bout hijab stuff when we told him we from Malaysia.

once i went kobe makan Wagyu, the chef told us that he once has a school trip to Malaysia.
Most of the people I talked with are between 20 to 35 and they don`t seem to know about Malaysia. Those that have never been to Malaysia one.
TOMEI-R
post Jun 14 2019, 06:13 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jun 14 2019, 09:06 AM)

I agree. There are a lot more Malaysians tourists around Tokyo/Osaka/Sapporo area that you imagined. I was at Nissan Crossing @ Ginza few days ago and was talking to the CS there and she told me quite a lot of Malaysians like to come to Nissan Crossing to view the display there.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jun 14 2019, 06:13 PM
JohnsonLoi
post Jun 17 2019, 10:01 AM

455 posts

Has anyone used their Maybank Visa Debit Card to withdraw cash in Japan ATM? How`s the rate like?

For example 10,000 yen now is around RM385. I guess around RM8 will be deducted from Maybank and the exchange rate follow the Selling TT/OD rate of `Foreign Exchange Counter Rates`?

This post has been edited by JohnsonLoi: Jun 17 2019, 10:04 AM
RegentCid
post Jun 17 2019, 10:16 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Jun 17 2019, 09:01 AM)
Has anyone used their Maybank Visa Debit Card to withdraw cash in Japan ATM? How`s the rate like?

For example 10,000 yen now is around RM385. I guess around RM8 will be deducted from Maybank and the exchange rate follow the  Selling TT/OD rate of  `Foreign Exchange Counter Rates`?
Current exchange rate are Rm384.3 for 10000 Yen
Maybank Rate are Rm391.00 for 10000 Yen
Maybank charge Rm6.7 as service fees

JohnsonLoi
post Jun 17 2019, 10:20 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 17 2019, 10:16 AM)
I think the rate is quite reasonable. Only 1.7% loss due to exchange rate and charge Rm6.7 per withdrawal as service fees from Maybank.

Say if I withdrawal 100,000 yen from 7-11 or JP Post bank ATM, only lost RM 67 due to exchange rate (3910 - 3843) + Rm6.7 = RM73.70
-kytz-
post Jun 17 2019, 10:32 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 17 2019, 10:16 AM)
QUOTE(JohnsonLoi @ Jun 17 2019, 10:20 AM)
I think the rate is quite reasonable. Only 1.7% loss due to exchange rate and charge Rm6.7 per withdrawal as service fees from Maybank.

Say if I withdrawal 100,000 yen from 7-11 or JP Post bank ATM, only lost RM 67 due to exchange rate (3910 - 3843) + Rm6.7 = RM73.70
So how does it work withdrawing from Japan ATM? Just look for the VISA/Mastercard logo?

198 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:41 AM