Tx3 mini tv box, Tx3 mini review

puchongite
post Jul 8 2019, 10:45 AM

33,581 posts

QUOTE(adccs @ Jul 8 2019, 10:07 AM)
some Tx3 mini seller pre-install a lot of channels & it include Netflix. Is Netflix compatible with Tx3 mini?
There are two versions of official netflix, one is black background logo, one is white background logo. The black one cannot do 4k and so should not have problem with installation. The white background netflix has very stringent requirements which I don't think tx3 mini can meet.

Also there are many fake netflix.

The official one package name is com.netflix.mediaclient ( black ) and the other one is com.netflix.ninja ( white ).

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jul 8 2019, 12:05 PM
adccs
post Jul 8 2019, 11:05 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow. @ Jul 8 2019, 10:43 AM)
Netflix no problem.. should work fine
QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 8 2019, 10:45 AM)
There are two version of official netflix, one is black background logo, one is white background logo. The black one cannot do 4k and so should not have problem installation. The white background netflix have very stringent requirements which I don't think tx3 mini can meet.

The official one package name is com.netflix.mediaclient ( black ) and the other one is com.netflix.ninja ( white ).
thks for info thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
azwandy
post Jul 8 2019, 11:41 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 8 2019, 11:45 AM)
There are two version of official netflix, one is black background logo, one is white background logo. The black one cannot do 4k and so should not have problem installation. The white background netflix have very stringent requirements which I don't think tx3 mini can meet.

Netflix Pro is a fake?? damn, it sure looks like original!!
puchongite
post Jul 8 2019, 11:55 AM

33,581 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Jul 8 2019, 11:41 AM)
Netflix Pro is a fake?? damn, it sure looks like original!!
Of course it is fake. What do you think ? Free this free that Kekeke ....

It has got many names, Netflix Pro, OneBox HD, Megabox HD ........LOL.

Don't tell me all the time you tell us the boxes can run netflix, but actually you are running fake netflix ?

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jul 8 2019, 06:45 PM
stringfellow.
post Jul 9 2019, 10:49 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 8 2019, 11:55 AM)

Don't tell me all the time you tell us the boxes can run netflix, but actually you are running fake netflix ?
got pics on the icon on how it looks?

curious
puchongite
post Jul 9 2019, 11:02 AM

33,581 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow. @ Jul 9 2019, 10:49 AM)
got pics on the icon on how it looks?

curious
This is an example of true 4K capable Netflix installed.

This is an example of normal Netflix installed.

But icon alone is not sufficient. Check also the package name.

Black one package name is com.netflix.mediaclient.

White one package name is com.netflix.ninja.

(Actually checking package name is also not sufficient, have to check digital signature of the apk is indeed signed by Netflix ).
azwandy
post Jul 9 2019, 03:01 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 8 2019, 12:55 PM)

Of course I know.. lol.. just trolling around.. the netflix pro is 'original' only for the icon..

btw, astrogo beta.. get prepared everybody.. got safety net google check, also got magisk/xposed/rootcloak check as well..

hahahaha.. good job astro.. this time u really hire professional developers..
puchongite
post Jul 9 2019, 03:07 PM

33,581 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Jul 9 2019, 03:01 PM)
Of course I know.. lol.. just trolling around.. the netflix pro is 'original' only for the icon..

btw, astrogo beta.. get prepared everybody.. got safety net google check, also got magisk/xposed/rootcloak check as well..

Sure or not, where do you hear it from ?
password8431
post Jul 9 2019, 03:23 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(azwandy @ Jul 9 2019, 03:01 PM)

Astro Paying money to hire professionals , ha ha ha.
I am more incline to believe there is a Technology Transfer between their partnership with HBO.

Will see how the new astroGo comes about. If they make AstroGo harder to install/run, then I see IPTV will be getting good business in the coming days, and brisk business like yourself to help others fully unroot boxes manually. I notice you do charge for services like these... ha ha ha.
puchongite
post Jul 9 2019, 03:53 PM

33,581 posts

QUOTE(password8431 @ Jul 9 2019, 03:23 PM)
Astro Paying money to hire professionals , ha ha ha.
I am more incline to believe there is a Technology Transfer between their partnership with HBO.

Will see how the new astroGo comes about. If they make AstroGo harder to install/run, then I see IPTV will be getting good business in the coming days, and brisk business like yourself to help others fully unroot boxes manually. I notice you do charge for services like these... ha ha ha.
Sounds like he has vested interest, he likes Astro to make life difficult for the users, so that he can add value and charge. wink.gif
azwandy
post Jul 9 2019, 06:20 PM

70 posts

-- deleted --

This post has been edited by azwandy: Jul 9 2019, 06:26 PM
stringfellow.
post Jul 10 2019, 10:45 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 9 2019, 11:02 AM)
This is an example of true 4K capable Netflix installed.

This is an example of normal Netflix installed.

But icon alone is not sufficient. Check also the package name.

Black one package name is com.netflix.mediaclient.

White one package name is com.netflix.ninja.

(Actually checking package name is also not sufficient, have to check digital signature of the apk is indeed signed by Netflix ).
thanks for the pics.. now i know which is what

puchongite
post Jul 10 2019, 11:17 AM

33,581 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow. @ Jul 10 2019, 10:45 AM)
thanks for the pics.. now i know which is what
Bottomline: Forget about installing the white background netflix. Minimum requirement is widevine L1. TX3 mini, no chance !

The black background netflix ( com.netflix.mediaclient ) can be installed from play store. If you got problem, check this :-

1. The box must be cleanly unrooted or you must install Magisk and configured if rooted ( hide root from Netflix and Google play store ).

2. If still got problem, clean data and cache for Google play store.

After doing all these, Netflix should be downloadable and runnable on any box.

password8431
post Jul 10 2019, 04:43 PM

115 posts

Tx3 Mini is good, but is it the best in everything? No!! there is no such device other than the king of android boxes which is the Nvidia Shield.

It has been pointed out that Tx3 Mini is a good value buy. A value buy for all manners of streaming.

Majority of people will ask for compatibility with AoTG and Unifi Play TV. Tx3 ticks all that currently (unknown that will happen when new app is released). The intelligent guess is that the app is easier to install and run in a fair bit more boxes if the beta testing is to be taken into account.

Then there are people who wishes like 3D gaming most of all, then nothing beats the Nvidia shield for Android System.

Then there are people who puts Netflix above all else.
And if you ask 10 person to recommend a box for netflix, 7 of them will recommend Xiaomi Mibox S MDZ-22-AB.

The Mibox S is only a 2GB RAM and 8GB ROM but it costs almost 2.5 times of a Tx3 mini with 2/16GB. Apart from the voice remote, other wise all other hardware of both are identical or similar.

So why is Mibox S so expensive, it is because it is one of the affordable boxes with Widevine L1 certification. Basically means it is Google Approve, and Xiaomi paid License fee to Google to have this certification. With this certification, the box is the able to Play NETFLIX in TRUE 4K quality. So you are paying google to enjoy the 4K feature of Netflix.

If Netflix is the number 1 priority, go for the mibox S. You won't have any regrets, until a time where you will notice certain limitations of the box. ( lack of USB ports, lack of LAN port, low 8GB ROM)

Prior to last month, a lot of local sellers was selling this box by buying the box from the States and selling it locally to make a profit. The price in the states is less than RM200, but sold here for RM300 and above. And obviously no Xiaomi Malaysia warranty. If the box fails, it is down the rubbish bin. Doubt the seller will take responsibility.

Here is a a tip... there is a new Xiaomi Store in Shopee. It is a cross border Xiaomi Retail online store operating from Hong Kong.

They are selling MiBox S MDX-22-AB for RM 249. And it comes with local Malaysia Warranty. Last month was only selling for RM235 promotion price.

https://shopee.com.my/Xiaomi-Mi-Box-S-Globa...1550.2274451566

There is another way to get Mibox S for free, but I am not sure if the Credit Card Promotion is still on. Even then, you have to wait 1 month or more for the credit card approval and the delivery of the box. Forgot which local site is offering it.

So if Netflix is SUPER IMPORTANT, and 4K NETFLIX is ESSENTIAL - go for MiboX S. Other wise, if you are comfortable with 480p - Tx3 mini delivers. Bang for buck, best value for for general streaming at 1080p60 on Youtube. In some cases Netflix 480p shows looks like it is 720p or HD when displayed on TV.

--------------------------
Edit : - It was Ringgit Plus and Citibank Credit Card I think but the promotion for Free Mibox is no longer on the site.

This post has been edited by password8431: Jul 10 2019, 04:54 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 10 2019, 09:37 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(password8431 @ Jul 10 2019, 04:43 PM)
Tx3 Mini is good, but is it  the best in everything? No!!  there is no such device other than the king of android boxes which is the Nvidia Shield.

It has been pointed out that Tx3 Mini is a good value buy. A value buy for all manners of streaming.

Majority of people will ask for compatibility with AoTG and Unifi Play TV. Tx3 ticks all that currently (unknown that will happen when new app is released). The intelligent guess is that the app is easier to install and run in a fair bit more boxes if the beta testing is to be taken into account.

Then there are people who wishes like 3D gaming most of all, then nothing beats the Nvidia shield for Android System.

Then there are people who puts Netflix above all else.
And if you ask 10 person to recommend a box for netflix, 7 of them will recommend Xiaomi Mibox S MDZ-22-AB.

The Mibox S is only a 2GB RAM and 8GB ROM but it costs almost 2.5 times of a Tx3 mini with 2/16GB. Apart from the voice remote, other wise all other hardware of both are identical or similar.

So why is Mibox S so expensive, it is because it is one of the affordable boxes with Widevine L1 certification. Basically means it is Google Approve, and Xiaomi paid License fee to Google to have this certification. With this certification, the box is the able to Play NETFLIX in TRUE 4K  quality. So you are paying google to enjoy the 4K feature of Netflix.

If Netflix is the number 1 priority, go for the mibox S. You won't have any regrets, until a time where you will notice certain limitations of the box. ( lack of USB ports, lack of LAN port, low 8GB ROM)

Prior to last month, a lot of local sellers was selling this box by buying the box from the States and selling it locally to make a profit. The price in the states is less than RM200, but sold here for RM300 and above. And obviously no Xiaomi Malaysia warranty. If the box fails, it is down the rubbish bin. Doubt the seller will take responsibility.

Here is a a tip... there is a new Xiaomi Store in Shopee. It is a cross border Xiaomi Retail online store operating from Hong Kong.

They are selling MiBox S MDX-22-AB  for RM 249. And it comes with local Malaysia Warranty. Last month was only selling for RM235 promotion price.

https://shopee.com.my/Xiaomi-Mi-Box-S-Globa...1550.2274451566
There is another way to get Mibox S for free, but I am not sure if the Credit Card Promotion is still on. Even then, you have to wait 1 month or more for the credit card approval and the delivery of the box. Forgot which local site is offering it.

So if Netflix is SUPER IMPORTANT, and 4K NETFLIX  is ESSENTIAL - go for MiboX S. Other wise, if you are comfortable with 480p - Tx3 mini delivers. Bang for buck, best value for for general streaming at 1080p60 on Youtube. In some cases Netflix 480p shows  looks like it is 720p or HD when displayed on TV.
--------------------------
Edit : - It was Ringgit Plus and Citibank Credit Card I think but the promotion for Free Mibox is no longer on the site.
I am puzzled why is tx3mini at rm11x being compared with shieldtv at rm1000.

And do u even know some weaknesses of that box compared to other boxes.

Shieldtv is great for what it does in atv and gaming but is not king when it comes to some other purposes, even with its high price.

stringfellow.
post Jul 11 2019, 11:42 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 10 2019, 09:37 PM)
I am puzzled why is tx3mini at rm11x being compared with shieldtv at rm1000.

And do u even know some weaknesses of that box compared to other boxes.

Shieldtv is great for what it does in atv and gaming but is not king when it comes to some other purposes, even with its high price.
tx3mini is good if you not into other things then just watching tv/streaming

sheildtv is also good, for that price and its multipurpose usage.. its good already..

just ask yourself.. what do u need?
OptimusStar
post Jul 12 2019, 03:33 PM

801 posts

Just bought one from Lazada after reading this thread, seems to be the right box for first time users like me.
AVFAN
post Jul 12 2019, 04:56 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(OptimusStar @ Jul 12 2019, 03:33 PM)
Just bought one from Lazada after reading this thread, seems to be the right box for first time users like me.
For such a low price with decent features and capabilities, u can't go wrong.

Even if it works for just 2 years!

AVFAN
post Jul 13 2019, 10:45 AM

24,449 posts

below something i posted in astrogo thread.

the new APK works on tx3mini, tx5max (root closed).

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2019, 10:28 AM)
the latest and current NEW astrogo apk is 2.192.5/AC19.2.5/041de2b.

it is found in google playstore if your device is fully compatible, u can install direct from there.

if it does not appear in your playstore, u can can use this apk:

https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/astro-malaysi...d-apk-download/

no need anything extra but no guarantee it will work on all boxes since there have been grouses about it... can't log in, circle forever, etc.

i have played with it on a few devices... a quick summary:

.. this official version is the same as the latest beta version; does not share same file name; so, the 2 can exist side by side.

.. u must remove any modified version u have; if not, it will not install.

.. during installation, when asked to log in, look for a message at the bottom "forgotten yr id/password".
if that does not appear, u cannot log in. some boxes, it comes out quickly, some takes a while.
some, u need to press the arrow buttons on the remote a few times for it to come out.

.. TV's and boxes running on AndroidTV (ATV) OS... may be disadvanatged.
dunno about about others but my ATV tv... can install BUT the video is very jerky - not watchable.
bad news for ATV, may need next version to work smoothly..?

.. astro has done something with this app - common backup apps are not able to back up this app to be copied and used on another device.
will have to look for later versions in places like apkmirror when updates come.

above just my findings, others may experience different...
annoymous1234
post Jul 13 2019, 02:20 PM

7,614 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 13 2019, 10:45 AM)
below something i posted in astrogo thread.

the new APK works on tx3mini, tx5max (root closed).
Does it still have audio lag?

88 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:29 AM