Jun 13 2020, 12:22 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,437 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: ME TO YOU |
QUOTE(password8431 @ Jun 12 2020, 04:58 PM) Back button on the Remote replicated with the Right Mouse Button Key. Thank you!Another button on the IR remote that is not available on the USB remote is the Settings Button. This can only be replicated with Ctrl+Esc I'm not sure how the settings button works though. Clicking the button even on the stock remote doesn't do anything. |
Jun 13 2020, 02:14 PM
71 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
My tx3 mini stuck at boot. Tried reset by clicking on the hole below the device and stuck at boot. What can I do? Thanks!
Jun 13 2020, 04:08 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,449 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(eehs @ Jun 13 2020, 02:14 PM) My tx3 mini stuck at boot. Tried reset by clicking on the hole below the device and stuck at boot. What can I do? Thanks! to reset to factory setting:1. switch off power. 2. push a pin into the hole. HOLD. 3. put on power. 4. release pin only when u see the reboot message come on tv screen. |
Jun 14 2020, 12:17 AM
189 posts Joined: Aug 2016 |
Hi all sifu, seeing this topic title as TX3, I’m assuming this is the same brand as TX6. Thinking of buying my first TV box to pair with my Sony Smart TV.
Main reason to purchase this TV box is for my mom to watch tvb dramas and to browse Malaysian tv channels. Prefer if can get continuously high res 1080p streaming quality - heard the main problem with tv box is always the buffering (cuz the server can not withstand all the streaming users). Will this be the case for TX6? Planning to buy this: https://shopee.com.my/product/58067913/3101...70a.&smtt=0.0.3 Thanks! |
Jun 14 2020, 07:02 AM
QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Jun 14 2020, 12:17 AM) Hi all sifu, seeing this topic title as TX3, I’m assuming this is the same brand as TX6. Thinking of buying my first TV box to pair with my Sony Smart TV. from same maker but tx6 uses a diff chipset... so, some differences.Main reason to purchase this TV box is for my mom to watch tvb dramas and to browse Malaysian tv channels. Prefer if can get continuously high res 1080p streaming quality - heard the main problem with tv box is always the buffering (cuz the server can not withstand all the streaming users). Will this be the case for TX6? Planning to buy this: https://shopee.com.my/product/58067913/3101...70a.&smtt=0.0.3 Thanks! whichever u buy, do read/ask seller to compare for u about how u will use it, e.g. .. which of your must have apps work better on which box. .. diff in wifi performance, overheating, picture quality. to my knowledge tx3 is far more popular... know where u can find impt box info, user comments, help, etc. underscore_lee, lynbotmaker, and -1 others liked this post
Jun 14 2020, 12:06 PM
115 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Jun 14 2020, 12:17 AM) Hi all sifu, seeing this topic title as TX3, I’m assuming this is the same brand as TX6. Thinking of buying my first TV box to pair with my Sony Smart TV. It is good you opened with a statement you are buying your first TV box. Main reason to purchase this TV box is for my mom to watch tvb dramas and to browse Malaysian tv channels. Prefer if can get continuously high res 1080p streaming quality - heard the main problem with tv box is always the buffering (cuz the server can not withstand all the streaming users). Will this be the case for TX6? Planning to buy this: https://shopee.com.my/product/58067913/3101...70a.&smtt=0.0.3 Thanks! That is because from the proceeding questions and your understanding of TV boxes - others will be very reluctant to offer assitance. I also hesitated a bit because you don't seem to understand the two types of TV boxes, as I also read you are considering LongTV in another post. I will try to explain as short and concise as possible. Buying Tx3 or Tx6, you are merely buying the hardware. The software (app) required to watch the stuff you require is available freely. TVB drama - No issue of buffering majorly, and lots of free apps offer them. 720p mostly, 1080p also available depending on app. Malaysia Free to View Channels - also no issue, a few ways to get it. Buffering not much, but availability depends on other factors.Also can use Unifi Play TV to get this. No 1080p as far as I know for these sources. Tx3 vs Tx6 difference - different processor (Tx3 has better, stable processor and cooler box) - Tx6 has wifi Antenna (good if you can't connect via LAN cable, or your surroundings has a lot of neighbour WIFI routers) Both Tx3 or Tx6 are popular. Be aware, Tx6 doesn't have root switch if you want to use AstroGo. My recommendation is Tx3 if can connect LAN cable, Tx6 if you have lots of wifi interference. Get Tx3 if you promarily want AstroGo. Tx6 will need to unroot manually (see if seller can help) as for LONGTV, this is a diffferent beast altogether. You cannot compare LongTV against Tx3 or Tx6. With LongTV, you are not just buying the hardware - but also hidden in the sale is an understanding that you will also get to install special apps later that will allow you to watch copyright stuff. Normally no buffering issue with them unless it is EPL night. If you wish to compare then a better way to compare is Long TV versus Tx3 + Subscription to black market lifetime IPTV (which we shall not discuss) another way to compare is LongTV versus other boxes that similar to it in terms of offerings. EV***, UnB****, and a number of other boxes that just recently introduced into Malaysia market. A long time ago, about 3-5 years, senior peers would not recommend these boxes. Our recommendation has always been to avoid them. Just buy the hardware, and subscribe to short term packages. Nowadays they changed tune seeing that some of these company selling them is still around, their recommendation is consider those with at least 3 years history in the market already. Again, the risk is all yours. Addendum :- Sorry, you are not considering LongTV but EVpad for RM349. They are same type and category of boxes. Difference between them you would have to ask others who has experience using them both. There are subtle differences to which only frequent users will notice. Edit :- clarify that the lifetime tv box is not pretty lasting, but the company that sells them are still around after some years. This post has been edited by password8431: Jun 14 2020, 03:48 PM underscore_lee, lynbotmaker, and -1 others liked this post
Jun 14 2020, 12:36 PM
189 posts Joined: Aug 2016 |
QUOTE(password8431 @ Jun 14 2020, 12:06 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Previously I had Unifi TV Play and I still got the box, but donno how to set it up because it always cannot connect to the Internet although I plug in LAN cable. End up just leaving it there since it was a part of the package. Now I've changed to Maxis Fibre di, so I guess the box can't be used. My Sony TV have built-in YouTube and Netflix, so in terms of apps or free IPTV, just looking to have these: 1. Google Play Store (so that I can install Viu - got account there) 2. Malaysia free-to-air TV channels (TV3, NTV7, 8TV for my mom) 3. Some TVB drama if possible (for my mom) After reading your explanation, I think I'll go with either the EVpad or TX3. If there's any existing users here, can share the shopee link where you guys purchased it? Prefer to buy with recommended seller, scared get scammed haha. This post has been edited by underscore_lee: Jun 14 2020, 12:36 PM |
Jun 14 2020, 01:05 PM
If you worried of getting scammed, then avoid buying in Facebook. Especially those sponsored posts, Sellers can check first few pages in this thread. Since you are new to this, it is best if you can speak with the different Shopee sellers - asks lots of questions and follow your heart after reading previous customers review. The Viu app required, you really need to ask sellers about their box. As far as I know, there is no issue installing it from Playstore, but I have read others asking the same question a few times. If those are the only 3 requirements, then EVpad is Overkill. People buy EVpad for a lot more features, but more importantly for convenience sake. If the box is for your mom, then it would be wise to opt for one that is easier to use and navigate the apps. The learning curve may not be much for technical person or youngster, but can be quite steep for older folks to learn to use. This post has been edited by password8431: Jun 14 2020, 01:14 PM underscore_lee liked this post
Jun 16 2020, 10:00 AM
137 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Jun 14 2020, 12:36 PM) Firstly thank you so much for offering your time with the explanation! Super helpful for me because I tried to Google and research but really don't understand the TV box terms and concepts. Also because I never bought Astro before so donno how all these works haha (so Astro On The Go app is not a concern since I dont have account). I have both iBoite X and Long Tv Previously I had Unifi TV Play and I still got the box, but donno how to set it up because it always cannot connect to the Internet although I plug in LAN cable. End up just leaving it there since it was a part of the package. Now I've changed to Maxis Fibre di, so I guess the box can't be used. My Sony TV have built-in YouTube and Netflix, so in terms of apps or free IPTV, just looking to have these: 1. Google Play Store (so that I can install Viu - got account there) 2. Malaysia free-to-air TV channels (TV3, NTV7, 8TV for my mom) 3. Some TVB drama if possible (for my mom) After reading your explanation, I think I'll go with either the EVpad or TX3. If there's any existing users here, can share the shopee link where you guys purchased it? Prefer to buy with recommended seller, scared get scammed haha. i would highly recommend u LongTv . but must install min 50Mbps ..for a smoother watching experience. The experience of watching your favorite drama and movies are much beter than those tx3or tx6 machines. I have tx3 too ..and its horrible. If u watch Long Tv's proprietary LemLXXX or LemMoXX . u wont need a subscription to viu . This is because most movies and dramas are hosted on LongTv Server box .. So your Box's MAC ADDRESS is whitelisted to their server in HK or China. For 399 , u pay once lifetime subscription . Dont get EVPAD now since their sources have been sabotaged lately.. same with SVI cloud , HappyTV, FlyShark, JOYTV .PV3 tv box are same source as EVPAD. Go to Digital Mall PJ or lowyat Im not a LONGTV seller btw. just sharing you my experience. LONGTV have local customer support team here ..so its pretty good.. When u have boxes like this , u dont have to compare hardware specs..because ultuimately it is the Server's performance that counts. U can go to booth that sells LongTV and ask for demo on the spot. YES u can watch all of Astro's offerings and local TV too .. Also u can install VIU app on this boxes too . in IPTV hardware matters very little seriously LongTV is octa core with 1GB RAM ..but the watching experience largely depends on Server performance and mostly on your Internet speed subscription . This post has been edited by chickenriceboy: Jun 16 2020, 10:03 AM |
Jun 18 2020, 03:33 AM
69 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Don't know whether this is the right place to post question about TV Box but could not find other active thread. I plan to terminate my Astro account and get a TX Box. What is the best one to pair with a 4K TV? preferably with a preinstalled Nexflix.
Is the unit below good enough? Thanks. https://shopee.com.my/10000-Preinstalled-fa...8152.2435693724 |
Jun 18 2020, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Jun 18 2020, 03:33 AM) Don't know whether this is the right place to post question about TV Box but could not find other active thread. I plan to terminate my Astro account and get a TX Box. What is the best one to pair with a 4K TV? preferably with a preinstalled Nexflix. a "tv box" does not replace astro box.Is the unit below good enough? Thanks. https://shopee.com.my/10000-Preinstalled-fa...8152.2435693724 this tx3 thread is active becos tx3 can do astrogo app w/o problems. if u want netflix working in hd/4k, u can check mibox s or shieldtv - the threads are in another section. https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeEntertainment other uncertified boxes can only do netflix in SD. |
Jun 18 2020, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Jun 18 2020, 03:33 AM) Don't know whether this is the right place to post question about TV Box but could not find other active thread. I plan to terminate my Astro account and get a TX Box. What is the best one to pair with a 4K TV? preferably with a preinstalled Nexflix. Had you asked the question 2-3 months back, then Mibox S is ideal for you. It has Google Certification to give you FHD/4K Netflix with your 4K TV. It can also run official AstroGo app while you decide on your Astro account termination.Is the unit below good enough? Thanks. https://shopee.com.my/10000-Preinstalled-fa...8152.2435693724 Sadly, today Mibox S has teething problem using AstroGo app. So if Netflix is your primary concern, then Mibox S is your choice provided you have a Netflix account. My worries is that you think you are getting Netflix after the seller told you the box comes preinstall with a lot of Netflix movies & shows and you think you are buying the hardware with a Netflix account to use the Netflix app. Nope, it is not. Tx6 4/32 should be in the RM150 region if buying from overseas. It is equally popular among Malaysian along with Tx3mini or Tx3. Read my few previous post in this thread comparing both these two. Why these two Boxes are popular is because they can run official AstroGo app (Tx6 require manual unroot to use AstroGo). They can use Mobile version Netflix and give you max 540p quality pictures. I think your 4K TV doesn't have Netflix installed. So make your choice wisely. |
Jun 18 2020, 11:29 AM
21 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Hi All, understand this is a TX3 forum whilst I am using TX6. Recently updated the Asteruk Go to 2.201.4/AC20.1.4/8f38551 version. Now on most live channels I am getting some lag. Every few minutes, will freeze video or no audio. Less problem if watching catch up or boxsets. I am using a legit sign in and wanted to know if any TX3 user is facing the same issue? My connection to TX6 is using LAN. Thanks in advance for sharing your experience.
Cheers! This post has been edited by sulimc: Jun 18 2020, 11:30 AM |
Jun 18 2020, 11:55 AM
312 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
QUOTE(sulimc @ Jun 18 2020, 11:29 AM) Hi All, understand this is a TX3 forum whilst I am using TX6. Recently updated the Asteruk Go to 2.201.4/AC20.1.4/8f38551 version. Now on most live channels I am getting some lag. Every few minutes, will freeze video or no audio. Less problem if watching catch up or boxsets. I am using a legit sign in and wanted to know if any TX3 user is facing the same issue? My connection to TX6 is using LAN. Thanks in advance for sharing your experience. TX3 user and also facing the same issue for most of the channels. I think it's ASTRO APK or the service.Cheers! |
Jun 18 2020, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(tharmaraj @ Jun 18 2020, 11:55 AM) TX3 user and also facing the same issue for most of the channels. I think it's ASTRO APK or the service. Thanks for the comment. I just tried watching on laptop in Chrome browser. No issue of lagging at all. So the service should be OK, looks like APK compatibility. So maybe next step is to look at HTPC running Windows Chrome? Expensive though.Cheers! |
Jun 18 2020, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(sulimc @ Jun 18 2020, 11:29 AM) Hi All, understand this is a TX3 forum whilst I am using TX6. Recently updated the Asteruk Go to 2.201.4/AC20.1.4/8f38551 version. Now on most live channels I am getting some lag. Every few minutes, will freeze video or no audio. Less problem if watching catch up or boxsets. I am using a legit sign in and wanted to know if any TX3 user is facing the same issue? My connection to TX6 is using LAN. Thanks in advance for sharing your experience. was recently discussed here:Cheers! https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4405774/+1440 it is problem on astro side, apk or server or just heavy traffic. but i think it is getting better since 2 days ago.... at least one tx3. |
Jun 18 2020, 01:13 PM
Quick fix
Play from Start, and navigate to where last stopped. If only Sound Sync, a quick fix Rewind back 15s At least that is for my case. Hope it helps. |
Jun 18 2020, 01:35 PM
Jun 18 2020, 05:29 PM
69 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 18 2020, 09:05 AM) a "tv box" does not replace astro box. this tx3 thread is active becos tx3 can do astrogo app w/o problems. if u want netflix working in hd/4k, u can check mibox s or shieldtv - the threads are in another section. https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeEntertainment other uncertified boxes can only do netflix in SD. QUOTE(password8431 @ Jun 18 2020, 11:14 AM) Had you asked the question 2-3 months back, then Mibox S is ideal for you. It has Google Certification to give you FHD/4K Netflix with your 4K TV. It can also run official AstroGo app while you decide on your Astro account termination. Thanks guys, will read up more on the link provided. Sadly, today Mibox S has teething problem using AstroGo app. So if Netflix is your primary concern, then Mibox S is your choice provided you have a Netflix account. My worries is that you think you are getting Netflix after the seller told you the box comes preinstall with a lot of Netflix movies & shows and you think you are buying the hardware with a Netflix account to use the Netflix app. Nope, it is not. Tx6 4/32 should be in the RM150 region if buying from overseas. It is equally popular among Malaysian along with Tx3mini or Tx3. Read my few previous post in this thread comparing both these two. Why these two Boxes are popular is because they can run official AstroGo app (Tx6 require manual unroot to use AstroGo). They can use Mobile version Netflix and give you max 540p quality pictures. I think your 4K TV doesn't have Netflix installed. So make your choice wisely. |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:06 AM |