QUOTE(maximillan @ Nov 19 2018, 04:56 PM)
Lol kena againThe iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V4, Welcome to the big screens.
The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V4, Welcome to the big screens.
Nov 19 2018, 04:57 PM
4,800 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
Nov 19 2018, 05:17 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
32,468 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 19 2018, 04:25 PM) Yeah, that’s proven.https://www.macrumors.com/2017/12/01/qualco...ter-than-intel/ |
Nov 19 2018, 05:22 PM
58 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 19 2018, 12:45 PM) Yes. Apparently Intel struck up a good deal with Apple in making them the sole providers for modems. Apple are currently in multi-lawsuits battle w Qualcommhttps://www.google.com/amp/s/www.digitaltre...lcomm-news/amp/ Tidbit: Apple may slow iPhone data speeds due to dispute The next iPhone may miss out on the faster gigabit LTE speeds coming soon to many carriers in the United States, according to a report from Bloomberg. Despite the legal battles, Apple is still using Qualcomm’s modems in its hardware. However, the company has also partnered with Intel in an effort to lessen its dependence on the chipmaker. Qualcomm’s modems are the only ones on the market capable of supporting data transfers up to gigabit speed. But sources tell Bloomberg that Apple doesn’t want to create a discrepancy between similar products, so it will intentionally disable that feature in Qualcomm-powered iPhones to achieve parity with the ones sporting Intel modems. If this approach sounds familiar, it is more or less what Qualcomm suggested in its countersuit against Apple. The iPhone 7 also featured both Qualcomm and Intel modems — a first for the brand — and Qualcomm believes Apple deliberately capped the performance of its chipsets so they wouldn’t be superior to Intel’s. Gigabit LTE hasn’t arrived on American carriers yet, but they’re all experimenting with the technology. Many of the newest flagship phones on the market, like Samsung’s Galaxy S8, feature Qualcomm’s X16 modem, enabling them to take advantage of the upgraded infrastructure when it finally rolls out. |
Nov 19 2018, 05:23 PM
2,479 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(buyoq @ Nov 19 2018, 03:00 PM) mine is Chrome,WhatsApp. those 2 are the most battery crunching apps on my Xs Max Curious. Would using Safari reduce your battery drain? Since that seems to be the case for my MBP. Using chrome really eats away at my batterybut i dont really put my phone in "fast drain" category as it still can last me the whole day. drive to office at 6am, balik at 5.30, still left plenty of juice (60-65%) QUOTE(attw @ Nov 19 2018, 03:55 PM) Maybe just about, I think. For me the 6S Plus was ok but not as good as the 6 Plus (maybe 1GB RAM is the key, hahaha)... Conversely, I think my Max lasts longer than my 6S Plus. I remember having to rely quite a bit on a power bank back then. Probably because I actually played more games back then, as opposed to now I usually charge my phone at 8pm at night till about 10pm, then switch it to low power mode and go to bed as my day starts at 5.45a.m. Usually when I get home at about 7pm or so I'd have about 50% left or less, depending on how heavy my usage is throughout the day. Of course if I'm traveling long distance and don't have to drive then my usage is higher coz I'll be fiddling with my phone throughout the journey, hahaha... But haven't had a situation whereby I've had to look for a power bank before the end of the day since the days of the iPhone 5 - and long may that continue For me the main ones are Safari, WhatsApp and Mail... Mail draining the battery? How much of emails do you do from your phone man? QUOTE(maximillan @ Nov 19 2018, 04:56 PM) I think if you scroll the past few pages, quite a few people have the same issue on a Xs. XS max here. Battery still at 100% after a month of use. Sounds like a hardware issue. Pretty sure the battery isn't supposed to degrade that fast. |
Nov 19 2018, 05:24 PM
58 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 19 2018, 11:53 AM) Here u go Lucky! Grabbed one that day, only rm18.50...https://shopee.com.my/Mcdodo-Lightning-AUTO...9230.1107398902 After full charged the led light will disappeared. No keep warm of course the battery can last longer |
Nov 19 2018, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 19 2018, 05:17 PM) But I’m still using same SIM card on my iPhone XS and XR.No issue like switch to airplane mode and on again. More stable than previous Unlike iphone 7 and Xiaomi keep consistently on and off signal. |
Nov 19 2018, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 19 2018, 05:23 PM) Conversely, I think my Max lasts longer than my 6S Plus. I remember having to rely quite a bit on a power bank back then. Probably because I actually played more games back then, as opposed to now Between my work and personal emails I’d get about 70-80 a day but maybe just 20 or less would require my attention Mail draining the battery? How much of emails do you do from your phone man? Yeah, gaming is a big battery killer so unfair to compare between them and now! QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 19 2018, 05:24 PM) But I’m still using same SIM card on my iPhone XS and XR. I think that article is purely referring to speed of uploads and downloads.No issue like switch to airplane mode and on again. More stable than previous Unlike iphone 7 and Xiaomi keep consistently on and off signal. |
Nov 19 2018, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 19 2018, 05:32 PM) Between my work and personal emails I’d get about 70-80 a day but maybe just 20 or less would require my attention Yup, saw that , they prefer on speed.Yeah, gaming is a big battery killer so unfair to compare between them and now! I think that article is purely referring to speed of uploads and downloads. But speed here is very fast. So i don’t need that. Still prefer on stable signal than fast speed. |
Nov 19 2018, 07:19 PM
568 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 19 2018, 12:45 PM) I had this problem right after I restored from my Iphone X and after I resetted network, there was no issue till now. looks like apple possibly going their own by making modem themselves, based on today lowyat news. it is not gonna be pretty either way. Yes. Apparently Intel struck up a good deal with Apple in making them the sole providers for modems. |
Nov 19 2018, 08:18 PM
248 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
For LTE, go to setting > mobile data > network selector and set ur network provider manually, it will help a bit
For Wi-Fi, go to setting > mobile data and scroll all the way down and u will see “Wi-Fi assist”, turn it off My 4G and Wi-Fi is Very stable now after follow the setting above, try it out yourself This post has been edited by heidarren: Nov 19 2018, 08:20 PM |
Nov 19 2018, 10:35 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Jitra >> Putrajaya |
Nov 19 2018, 10:46 PM
Nov 19 2018, 11:21 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Jitra >> Putrajaya |
Lol sorry n thanks.
Nov 19 2018, 11:59 PM
2,479 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(attw @ Nov 19 2018, 05:32 PM) Between my work and personal emails I’d get about 70-80 a day but maybe just 20 or less would require my attention Damn. That's a lot of emails. Yeah, gaming is a big battery killer so unfair to compare between them and now! I think that article is purely referring to speed of uploads and downloads. It's almost midnight and my phone is currently standing at 33% I think the battery life is quite alright, all things considered. I don't even need to plug in when I use Waze nowadays. Anyone with network problems? I'm trying to figure if I have a problem with my LTE signal. Getting only about one to two megs on speed test...although I think it might be Celcom. Anyone else on Celcom experiencing horrible data from 10 pm onwards? |
Nov 20 2018, 12:41 AM
1,551 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
would like to ask , i using XS ,
if i have manage apply E sim , than add one more nano sim card , it become two line in a phone . so it will have two watapps? |
Nov 20 2018, 12:46 AM
777 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Nov 20 2018, 01:46 AM
420 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Nov 20 2018, 07:18 AM
QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 19 2018, 11:59 PM) Damn. That's a lot of emails. Ya, the battery life of the Xs Max is by no means bad, but maybe I had higher expectations for it, hahaha... In the meantime, the Xr battery life is making a good first impression on me... 48 hours already on standby, about 6 hours SOT and still 23% remaining It's almost midnight and my phone is currently standing at 33% I think the battery life is quite alright, all things considered. I don't even need to plug in when I use Waze nowadays. Anyone with network problems? I'm trying to figure if I have a problem with my LTE signal. Getting only about one to two megs on speed test...although I think it might be Celcom. Anyone else on Celcom experiencing horrible data from 10 pm onwards? QUOTE(deric79k @ Nov 20 2018, 12:41 AM) would like to ask , i using XS , No, at the moment, iOS 12 doesn't support dual WhatsApp.if i have manage apply E sim , than add one more nano sim card , it become two line in a phone . so it will have two watapps? QUOTE(phhweittt @ Nov 20 2018, 12:46 AM) To fix the Youtube link? If your YouTube link is "http: // youtu.be / abc123" then just put "abc123" in the YouTube HTML code |
Nov 20 2018, 08:40 AM
4,649 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Tāmaki Makaurau |
Yikes
iSheep here just sold off the XR and got myself a Max 256GB Loving the extra screen size so far! |
Nov 20 2018, 09:48 AM
| Change to: | 0.0307sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:36 PM |