Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
oneeleven
Jan 22 2019, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(aussieMB @ Dec 14 2018, 11:55 AM) Wah it seems so complicated to transact a purchase within China. The entire tech platform is skewed against non-Chinese residents and makes it really hard for casual foreigners to visit and buy stuff on streets and shops. This is really a big negative, I hope they realise. Left-over Soviet style tourism economy. Obviously you didn't experience the hassle before of different currency notes for foreigners, notes that local people had never seen before and could be used to buy "luxury" goods, like rationed soap.
pigduck
Feb 26 2019, 10:11 PM
Some Qs:
1. So can we use the Alipay (installed in Malaysia) in China? 2. Can we use Malaysia credit / debit card registered in Alipay (installed in Malaysia) in China? 3. Should I go through the hassle or just get a Unionpay debit card?
What about WeChat?
oneeleven
Mar 3 2019, 10:17 PM
Update: I could not do the 50 rmb top up myself. I had to get a China resident visiting Malaysia to do it for me.
@pigduck: " or just get a Unionpay debit card?" Do you mean do this in Malaysia? Might not work in China or charges very expensive. If it allows you to validate for AP and WP then good!
real55555
Mar 11 2019, 11:35 AM
So to summarize:
1. It will not be easy to get a sim card that can be registered using passport? (Not easy as in not every telco shop can sell a sim card for tourist)
2. Malaysia wechatpay and alipay will not be able to use in China. In order to use in RMB denomination, we have to ask someone with RMB wechatpay account to give us RMB angpau. (But in the first place can we register a RMB wechat pay account, or upon the transfer of the RMB angpau we will automatically have a RMB wechat pay account)?
3. Didi (equivalent to our Grabcar) requires us to have a china simcard/phone number to use, in order for the driver to contact us to confirm location etc?
Thank you.
treblecase
Mar 11 2019, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 11 2019, 11:35 AM) So to summarize: 1. It will not be easy to get a sim card that can be registered using passport? (Not easy as in not every telco shop can sell a sim card for tourist) 2. Malaysia wechatpay and alipay will not be able to use in China. In order to use in RMB denomination, we have to ask someone with RMB wechatpay account to give us RMB angpau. (But in the first place can we register a RMB wechat pay account, or upon the transfer of the RMB angpau we will automatically have a RMB wechat pay account)? 3. Didi (equivalent to our Grabcar) requires us to have a china simcard/phone number to use, in order for the driver to contact us to confirm location etc?Thank you. Nope..I used didi in China with my Malaysian phone. No problem.
real55555
Mar 11 2019, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(treblecase @ Mar 11 2019, 01:49 PM) Nope..I used didi in China with my Malaysian phone. No problem. So do they not need to call you to confirm location etc?
il0ve51
Mar 11 2019, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(treblecase @ Mar 11 2019, 02:49 PM) Nope..I used didi in China with my Malaysian phone. No problem. no need call, if you have data can already. they accept cash if better they prefer cashless.
treblecase
Mar 11 2019, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 11 2019, 02:31 PM) So do they not need to call you to confirm location etc? Make sure of your exact location & there’s no need for calls just like here when using grab
inachi
Apr 14 2019, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 11 2019, 02:31 PM) So do they not need to call you to confirm location etc? you can chat in app too so if u have data can liao.
sklc
May 18 2019, 11:20 PM

You can get top up for wechatpay from Yayaka website. Buy whatever amount you need. In order to activate China wallet, yayaka support will help you by sending 1 cent yuan to u via wechat. However it requires you to install Wechat for windows, on your PC, to accept the 1 cent. It's a workaround. Once your wallet is activated you can logout from PC and on your phone wechat app, you will see a new item to switch wallet region... then you can also add your Malaysia credit card. Then Yayaka support will send you the QR codes for u to transfer/topup yuan into your China wallet. Don't rely on credit card although linked already. Try to ensure you have Cash balance in case your credit card transaction doesn't work with certain transactions.
touristking
May 22 2019, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(sklc @ May 18 2019, 04:20 PM) You can get top up for wechatpay from Yayaka website. Buy whatever amount you need. In order to activate China wallet, yayaka support will help you by sending 1 cent yuan to u via wechat. However it requires you to install Wechat for windows, on your PC, to accept the 1 cent. It's a workaround. Once your wallet is activated you can logout from PC and on your phone wechat app, you will see a new item to switch wallet region... then you can also add your Malaysia credit card. Then Yayaka support will send you the QR codes for u to transfer/topup yuan into your China wallet. Don't rely on credit card although linked already. Try to ensure you have Cash balance in case your credit card transaction doesn't work with certain transactions. When was that? I used to have Wechat China wallet. Long story. But suddenly this year, it stop working. The only way to get it back is to have a China bank card and a China phone number.
Burningsunz
Jul 16 2019, 12:48 AM
Hey guys, im travelling to shenyang end of this year from dec 31 to jan 20.. the cheapest flight for return is xiamen airlines which js only rm1.1k. Anyone have experience taking xiamen air? Are the airlines ok?
Burningsunz
Jul 16 2019, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(touristking @ May 22 2019, 02:46 PM) When was that? I used to have Wechat China wallet. Long story. But suddenly this year, it stop working. The only way to get it back is to have a China bank card and a China phone number. Never updatw the latest version of wechat. Once you update then your china wallet is gone
RegentCid
Jul 16 2019, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jul 15 2019, 11:48 PM) Hey guys, im travelling to shenyang end of this year from dec 31 to jan 20.. the cheapest flight for return is xiamen airlines which js only rm1.1k. Anyone have experience taking xiamen air? Are the airlines ok? One of best airline in China. 4 star airlines, similar to our MAS Meal and check in luggage are complimentary
kamisama
Jul 16 2019, 03:53 PM

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jul 16 2019, 12:48 AM) Hey guys, im travelling to shenyang end of this year from dec 31 to jan 20.. the cheapest flight for return is xiamen airlines which js only rm1.1k. Anyone have experience taking xiamen air? Are the airlines ok? I had good experience flying with them to Beijing for a few times. Nothing to complaint about aside from noisy passengers.
Burningsunz
Jul 17 2019, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 16 2019, 12:01 PM) One of best airline in China. 4 star airlines, similar to our MAS Meal and check in luggage are complimentary QUOTE(kamisama @ Jul 16 2019, 03:53 PM) I had good experience flying with them to Beijing for a few times. Nothing to complaint about aside from noisy passengers. im relieved to hear this cause or else don't know which airline to buy my ticket from because so expensive. They don't offer me to buy insurance during payment. is that normal?
kamisama
Jul 17 2019, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jul 17 2019, 10:34 AM) im relieved to hear this cause or else don't know which airline to buy my ticket from because so expensive. They don't offer me to buy insurance during payment. is that normal? nothing to worry about, i usually purchase AXA travel insurance separately
Burningsunz
Jul 17 2019, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(kamisama @ Jul 17 2019, 10:54 AM) nothing to worry about, i usually purchase AXA travel insurance separately ok. just bought my flight with them. the economy supersave and economy save the difference is only in miles point is it?
arowana33
Jul 17 2019, 05:09 PM

If you need VPN to unblock everything, go Lazada.com.my and find Cisco Express VPN.
nordtty
Jul 17 2019, 06:50 PM

Cisco? Some VPN interfere with WeChat e-payment, must check properly first before using. There is a list somewhere on which VPN can work well there, can Google first.