Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
touristking
Jul 18 2019, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(nordtty @ Jul 17 2019, 11:50 AM) Cisco? Some VPN interfere with WeChat e-payment, must check properly first before using. There is a list somewhere on which VPN can work well there, can Google first. Nordvpn
Burningsunz
Jul 19 2019, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(Yeryano @ Jul 19 2019, 04:56 AM) Awesome topic, I am going to China this autumn (I managed to buy cheap flights). Actually, I have been to China once but then I was 19. Consequently, I have no memories of that trip. So, where to go? What to see? Give more info on what you want to see.
teng_08
Sep 26 2019, 02:53 PM
Any recent feedback on Hello1010? I did a search and found couple of positive feedback on Hello1010 but that was back in 2018. Just want to get reassurance that it is still a good buy before getting it
TSaussieMB
Sep 26 2019, 06:03 PM
Note that I was in Shanghai on my way back from Europe recently. Got the Hello1010 SIM, it connected to China Mobile, but WhatsApp didn't work...I wasn't using a VPN as I was only 3hr transit, couldn't be bothered.
kueks
Sep 28 2019, 01:03 PM
hi hi anyone used the pudong airport lounge before to sleep / shower ? Cant seem to find booking page, or only walk ins? anyone can walk in or need certain membership https://www.sleepinginairports.net/guides/s...ide.htm#lounges
TSaussieMB
Sep 28 2019, 04:26 PM
If you are a member of Priority Pass, there are several lounges you can access in Pudong. See https://www.prioritypass.com/en/lounges/chi...g-internationalSome of them also accept pay-per-entry I believe. I'm a member, but last trip I used the China Eastern lounge as I was in Business Class.
touristking
Sep 29 2019, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 26 2019, 07:53 AM) Any recent feedback on Hello1010? I did a search and found couple of positive feedback on Hello1010 but that was back in 2018. Just want to get reassurance that it is still a good buy before getting it  A couple of years ago, their 24/7 online help was excellent. As for their SIM, depending on where you use it, you may need some technical expertise to get it to work. You comfortable with APN setting?
teng_08
Sep 29 2019, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 29 2019, 07:30 PM) A couple of years ago, their 24/7 online help was excellent. As for their SIM, depending on where you use it, you may need some technical expertise to get it to work. You comfortable with APN setting? Not very familiar with APN Settings. I thought no set up is required for the Hello1010 SIM. Guess I'll have to research more on it.
touristking
Sep 29 2019, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 29 2019, 01:43 PM) Not very familiar with APN Settings. I thought no set up is required for the Hello1010 SIM. Guess I'll have to research more on it. It may work straight out of the box or it may not. If you go to UK and they gave you a UK company's SIM card, then it most likely will. If they give you a non-UK company's SIM card that will work in UK, then it may not. Then you probably have to do the APN setting manually. Depends on your luck. Having said that, Hello1010's customer service is 24/7 and excellent. But you still need some technical expertise.
teng_08
Sep 30 2019, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 29 2019, 10:59 PM) It may work straight out of the box or it may not. If you go to UK and they gave you a UK company's SIM card, then it most likely will. If they give you a non-UK company's SIM card that will work in UK, then it may not. Then you probably have to do the APN setting manually. Depends on your luck. Having said that, Hello1010's customer service is 24/7 and excellent. But you still need some technical expertise. You're right. Just saw this on their website. Looks like need to change the setting a little.
teng_08
Sep 30 2019, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(aussieMB @ Sep 26 2019, 06:03 PM) Note that I was in Shanghai on my way back from Europe recently. Got the Hello1010 SIM, it connected to China Mobile, but WhatsApp didn't work...I wasn't using a VPN as I was only 3hr transit, couldn't be bothered. Whoa, this is not good. I will need to depend on WhatsApp a lot to communicate when I'm there. Weird. Their website clearly states "Access Google, Facebook, Whatsapp without restrictions".
yahiko
Sep 30 2019, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 30 2019, 08:40 AM) You're right. Just saw this on their website. Looks like need to change the setting a little.  was searching about this~ thanks alot anyway wanna ask.. is it safe to get money exchange in China itself rather than in malaysia because my friend kena before fake notes. Just checking. how is the rates there compare to malaysia.. i will use most CC if able to the rest use Cash
teng_08
Sep 30 2019, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(yahiko @ Sep 30 2019, 11:02 AM) was searching about this~ thanks alot anyway wanna ask.. is it safe to get money exchange in China itself rather than in malaysia because my friend kena before fake notes. Just checking. how is the rates there compare to malaysia.. i will use most CC if able to the rest use Cash Please change in Malaysia. I've heard many stories about this scam where they switch the money (big notes) when you're not paying attention and then claim you gave them fake notes. This is also happening in taxis around Shanghai. Not sure how common though. Try to get smaller denominations when paying and keep an eye when they're giving you back change.
victorian
Sep 30 2019, 08:16 PM
I'm visiting Shanghai this Nov, any tips for tourist?
Also is 5 days (excluding flight) enough for Shanghai city only? Will be going to Disneyland one day.
crixalisrox
Oct 7 2019, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 30 2019, 08:40 AM) You're right. Just saw this on their website. Looks like need to change the setting a little.  I'm able to use their sim without any manual apn setting. Have good experience with them for my 2 weeks trip in Beijing last month. Just that I need to contact their CS for sim phone no as it doesn't appear automatically.
eagle008
Oct 7 2019, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 30 2019, 08:40 AM) You're right. Just saw this on their website. Looks like need to change the setting a little.  may i know how much/ where u buy this sim ? Beside for internet surfing can it support for incoming and outgoing calls ?
teng_08
Oct 8 2019, 06:50 AM
QUOTE(eagle008 @ Oct 7 2019, 11:19 PM) may i know how much/ where u buy this sim ? Beside for internet surfing can it support for incoming and outgoing calls ? U can purchase the SIM card from hello1010.my No, it does not support calls and sms. 5GB+2GB Unlimited Data* Up to 4G+ Speed Usable in China, Hong Kong, Macau & Taiwan Support Hotspot 15 Days Usage (Count daily based on Malaysia Time +8GMT) No registration required Access Google, Facebook, Whatsapp without restrictions Cannot Call & SMS Cannot top up credit SIM Card expiry 31st March 2020
weidasdnbhd
Oct 28 2019, 02:57 PM

Hello, does anyone has the experience using alipay in China? I just registered an account, already uploaded my passport and selfie for verification purpose. Now my account is partial verified, not fully verified. I heard that we can still use the balance to pay or receive RMB in China now . So does anyone willing to send me RMB0.01 for testing purpose? I will transfer back to you after that.
alantanblog
Oct 28 2019, 08:03 PM

You can easily buy that RMB at Shopee QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Oct 28 2019, 02:57 PM) Hello, does anyone has the experience using alipay in China? I just registered an account, already uploaded my passport and selfie for verification purpose. Now my account is partial verified, not fully verified. I heard that we can still use the balance to pay or receive RMB in China now . So does anyone willing to send me RMB0.01 for testing purpose? I will transfer back to you after that.
TSaussieMB
Oct 30 2019, 03:55 PM
Just came back after a 2-week trip to China. According to my guide, China will go 100% e-Wallet in next 2 years. Not sure how the foreigners will cope then.
QR codes are everywhere, even very tiny stalls selling sticky rice for 5 Yuan! I see the locals just scan the code, enter the amount on their app and payment is done on the app. Instant confirmation for both vendor and buyer, no paper receipts. Vendors have a payment app on their phone, or have a small screen near them to show the transaction.
Metro tickets are also purchased this way, but they still have the other machines in most stations that take cash or card. Almost no queue on those!
I hope Alipay will expand their services to allow non-Chinese credit cards or some other form of credit like PayPal etc. WePay seems popular as well, many vendors have QR codes for both apps.
Wi-Fi available in all hotels but as expected, all Google apps, Facebook/Messenger, Instagram are blocked. WhatsApp works but for text only, any photos included in your message doesn't get thru. I didn't use VPN nor my global SIM on my phone.