28 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment

post Oct 30 2019, 11:00 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Oct 28 2019, 02:57 PM)
Hello, does anyone has the experience using alipay in China? I just registered an account, already uploaded my passport and selfie for verification purpose. Now my account is partial verified, not fully verified. I heard that we can still use the balance to pay or receive RMB in China now . So does anyone willing to send me RMB0.01 for testing purpose? I will transfer back to you after that.
as per now you must have china bank card to tie with alipay in order to conduct any transaction. same goes to wechat. yeah.. new law.
ken_zie
post Nov 3 2019, 11:49 PM

830 posts

Will be in Shanghai from 1 - 3 Jan and 4 - 6 Jan in Hangzhou. I know it will be cold but wondering if you have any idea how cold will it be?
crixalisrox
post Nov 6 2019, 11:44 AM

556 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Oct 30 2019, 11:00 PM)
as per now you must have china bank card to tie with alipay in order to conduct any transaction. same goes to wechat. yeah.. new law.
Today news - Alipay ewallet new feature available for foreigners. Its call Tour Pass and min top up just 100 yuan.

Thats really a great news for me as I'm going to China again next year. Previously need to find shopee seller to reload, its more convenient now.
TSaussieMB
post Nov 6 2019, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(crixalisrox @ Nov 6 2019, 02:44 PM)
Today news - Alipay ewallet new feature available for foreigners. Its call Tour Pass and min top up just 100 yuan.
Great news. Found an article on how to set it up and make it work...

https://theshutterwhale.com/blog/2019/11/5/...it-up-right-now

19 Degree South
post Nov 6 2019, 06:07 PM

1,674 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Nov 3 2019, 11:49 PM)
Will be in Shanghai from 1 - 3 Jan and 4 - 6 Jan in Hangzhou. I know it will be cold but wondering if you have any idea how cold will it be?
Sibei cold. Even in early April, temp can go as low as 5 deg cel in the day time! Prepare lots of lotion, your skin will be damn dry! Hangzhou in my experience is not as cold as sha but will still be Beri cold to most Malaysian.
alantanblog
post Nov 7 2019, 08:08 PM

298 posts

Just use Digi roaming, no need VPN
mycroftlee
post Nov 8 2019, 09:55 AM

38 posts

tour pass available for Alipay. change the Alipay app to international region (everything will be in English) or just search for "tourpass", topup using local Msia credit card, first time need to snap photo of china visa, and the balance would show up in the tourpass prepaid card. (balance not in Alipay wallet balance) - max RMB 2000
paying shud be the same like using alipay, option below the qr would be tourpass prepaid.
website claim any unuse credit will b credit back to the original credit card in 90 days.

personally had topup the tourpass, since goin to Hangzhou next week. very fast. Not sure the exchange rate, currently Bank of Shanghai, the bank which manage the tourpass is charging 0% til Dec 2019, so only pay for exchange rate by mastercard/ visa.

in the other thread ewallet in lowyat there are report ppl start using the tourpass, exactly as ez as alipay
ken_zie
post Nov 8 2019, 01:31 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Nov 6 2019, 06:07 PM)
Sibei cold. Even in early April, temp can go as low as 5 deg cel in the day time! Prepare lots of lotion, your skin will be damn dry! Hangzhou in my experience  is not as cold as sha but will still be Beri cold to most Malaysian.
If so, I might really need some very warm clothing as many said it is coldest in January hmm.gif
yahiko
post Nov 8 2019, 02:50 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(mycroftlee @ Nov 8 2019, 09:55 AM)
tour pass available for Alipay. change the Alipay app to international region (everything will be in English) or just search for "tourpass", topup using local Msia credit card, first time need to snap photo of china visa, and the balance would show up in the tourpass prepaid card. (balance not in Alipay wallet balance) - max RMB 2000
paying shud be the same like using alipay, option below the qr would be tourpass prepaid.
website claim any unuse credit will b credit back to the original credit card in 90 days.

personally had topup the tourpass, since goin to Hangzhou next week. very fast. Not sure the exchange rate, currently  Bank of Shanghai, the bank which manage the tourpass is charging 0% til Dec 2019, so only pay for exchange rate by mastercard/ visa.

in the other thread ewallet in lowyat there are report ppl start using the tourpass, exactly as ez as alipay
wow this is a very good!
wondering if we need data to scan? if yes can we use shared/hotstop data to do so?

do feedback after you trip rclxm9.gif
TSaussieMB
post Nov 9 2019, 08:19 AM

QUOTE(yahiko @ Nov 8 2019, 05:50 PM)
wow this is a very good!
wondering if we need data to scan? if yes can we use shared/hotstop data to do so?

do feedback after you trip rclxm9.gif
When I was in China a couple of weeks ago, I heard that you need an internet connection (data) for this to work, as any payment you authorise after scanning the QR code needs to go back to the Alipay server for release of your funds to the vendor.

I guess need to carry hotspot or have a roaming SIM for this to work then. Small price to pay for ease of financial transactions in the future hopefully without any hassles.
oneeleven
post Nov 13 2019, 01:16 AM

1,515 posts

Any non-China residents with a report about using WeChat Pay in China ?
weidasdnbhd
post Nov 13 2019, 06:52 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 7 2019, 08:08 PM)
Not need to do any settings on phone? Just turn on roaming and mobile data?
alantanblog
post Nov 14 2019, 08:06 PM

298 posts

Yes....FAQ is at

https://www.digi.com.my/support/help-center/roaming/pass

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Nov 13 2019, 06:52 AM)
Not need to do any settings on phone? Just turn on roaming and mobile data?
kons
post Nov 17 2019, 12:08 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 7 2019, 08:08 PM)
maxis roaming and celcom roaming no block fb and whatsapp too.

yahiko
post Nov 22 2019, 04:12 PM

1,215 posts

In china now. Using alipay like China people. The only issue is the cap at 2k rmb. Else I plan to use it more
alantanblog
post Nov 22 2019, 04:30 PM

298 posts

Have U tried to top up multiple times after finished up that 2k rmb i.e 2k+2k +2k ....?

QUOTE(yahiko @ Nov 22 2019, 04:12 PM)
In china now. Using alipay like China people. The only issue is the cap at 2k rmb. Else I plan to use it more
MR_alien
post Nov 22 2019, 05:15 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 22 2019, 04:30 PM)
Have U tried to top up multiple times after finished up that 2k rmb i.e 2k+2k +2k ....?
why is it so troublesome to spend money in china?
they don't accept cash and they make it difficult to go cashless

any other way?
koUen
post Nov 23 2019, 12:18 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 22 2019, 04:30 PM)
yes...i ise tourpass and multiple top up...quiet convenient...just scan qr code and all is done.
only issue isue need data
alantanblog
post Nov 23 2019, 09:19 PM

298 posts

multiple top up of 2k rmb?

QUOTE(koUen @ Nov 23 2019, 12:18 PM)
yes...i ise tourpass and multiple top up...quiet convenient...just scan qr code and all is done.
only issue isue need data
yahiko
post Nov 24 2019, 12:02 AM

1,215 posts

O.. i check my Max to top up..

Balance left 1500

It was written i can top up another 500..
Nice.. but yet to do so. Wait until I not enough money first.

I using mixing both cash and alipay

28 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0149sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:41 AM