blacktubi
post Oct 8 2018, 09:49 AM

-
8,406 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Oct 8 2018, 09:47 AM)
Between TP Link AC2300 and DLink DIR882, which one is better?. Both also almost same price.
C2300 perform better.

Tested and benched. smile.gif
syafickham
post Oct 8 2018, 09:51 AM

203 posts

Hi, i want to subscribe time RM99 with 2 years contract. If i want to relocate to other place with no time before within the 2 years contract, am i still need to pay the penalty fees?
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 8 2018, 09:55 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Congrats on V4! Just received my upgrade email yesterday.

Now need to spend more money to get the coverage in my unit right.
gin&tonic
post Oct 8 2018, 09:57 AM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 8 2018, 09:49 AM)
C2300 perform better.

Thx for info .
SUSDavid83
post Oct 8 2018, 09:58 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Zoho @ Oct 8 2018, 09:56 AM)
I am just thinking...can we split the bandwidth to different Wifi SSID? Ex: 200Mbps for Wifi SSID 1 , 300 Mbps for Wifi SSiD 2...then can rent out WiFi, since not using so much speed anyway...hehe.

Any routers can do that?
You can create Guest SSID.
idoblu
post Oct 8 2018, 09:58 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 8 2018, 09:49 AM)
C2300 perform better.

Really? I’m glad 😅
I thought the specs of the D-Link is better
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 8 2018, 10:02 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

I am just thinking...can we split the bandwidth to different Wifi SSID? Ex: 200Mbps for Wifi SSID 1 , 300 Mbps for Wifi SSiD 2...then can rent out WiFi, since not using so much speed anyway...hehe.

Any routers can do that?
Yes, can.
You can get one of those business APs, like Ubiquity or Aruba. Then you can have multiple allocations with multiple SSIDs and manage them up to your heart's content. It's cheaper than some of the more expensive routers....but too much work for me lah.
abang brother
post Oct 8 2018, 10:06 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Zoho @ Oct 8 2018, 09:51 AM)
Congrats for joining the light side of the Force!
Yeah F unifi man hahah i was so close to switch to Maxis yesterday till my friend tagged me in Time's post.

Plus im staying alone and not a heavy user too so the 100mbps is perfect for me
dexth
post Oct 8 2018, 10:08 AM

159 posts

I know this is going to sound stupid, but how do I get max speed through wireless for 500mbps? Right now I am able to get up to 100mbps only on wireless; LAN goes up to 500mbps. I guess I need to upgrade either the router (TPLink AC1200) or receiver (Asrock Z370M wifi, Intel 802.11ac WiFi).
Any sifu pls advise with recommendation? thank you!

This post has been edited by dexth: Oct 8 2018, 10:09 AM
beetch
post Oct 8 2018, 10:09 AM

429 posts

Any routers can do that?
Set QOS loh.
blacktubi
post Oct 8 2018, 10:10 AM

-
8,406 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 8 2018, 09:58 AM)
Really? I’m glad 😅
I thought the specs of the D-Link is better
DIR-882 is only faster when you have a 4 stream capable client.

Eg: Asus PCE-AC88. Else you are better off with C2300.
blacktubi
post Oct 8 2018, 10:11 AM

-
8,406 posts

QUOTE(dexth @ Oct 8 2018, 10:08 AM)
I know this is going to sound stupid, but how do I get max speed through wireless for 500mbps? Right now I am able to get up to 100mbps only on wireless; LAN goes up to 500mbps. I guess I need to upgrade either the router (TPLink AC1200) or receiver (Asrock Z370M wifi, Intel 802.11ac WiFi).
Any sifu pls advise with recommendation? thank you!
Check this thread.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096

WiFi is subjected to interference and the speed will decrease as the signal is weaker.
prs516
post Oct 8 2018, 10:12 AM

300 posts

If i still in contract with Time and i move houses which don't have Time coverage, will Time charge penalty to me?
meaninglessx7
post Oct 8 2018, 10:14 AM

175 posts

Is there any agent can help check with coverage area, my location http://malaysiaplaces.net/Penang/Places/Pi...elicap-2-374942

This post has been edited by meaninglessx7: Oct 8 2018, 10:15 AM
actisys
post Oct 8 2018, 10:19 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(prs516 @ Oct 8 2018, 10:12 AM)
If i still in contract with Time and i move houses which don't have Time coverage, will Time charge penalty to me?
Try ask around in your condo to transfer ownership/ continue pay for you and they can use it without contract biggrin.gif
gin&tonic
post Oct 8 2018, 10:23 AM

4,874 posts

QUOTE(Zoho @ Oct 8 2018, 09:58 AM)
Lazada selling for like RM 579. tongue.gif
Ya good price.
dexth
post Oct 8 2018, 10:30 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 8 2018, 10:11 AM)
Check this thread.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096

WiFi is subjected to interference and the speed will decrease as the signal is weaker.
Nice info, so in other words not possible at this time? Best possible ~1300mbps/150mb/s only.
blacktubi
post Oct 8 2018, 10:33 AM

-
8,406 posts

QUOTE(dexth @ Oct 8 2018, 10:30 AM)
Nice info, so in other words not possible at this time? Best possible ~1300mbps/150mb/s only.
Find ways to improve the signal strength.

You can explore mesh solution like the Deco M5 or AiMesh.

I am pretty sure you can get 500Mbps with dual RT-AC88U mesh setup. biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 8 2018, 10:37 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Zoho @ Oct 8 2018, 10:25 AM)
There is no penalty, but got relocation fees. Fair enough lah, people need go onsite to install for you.
https://www.time.com.my/support/faq?search=Relocation&cat=10
But he's asking if relocation to a place that has no TIME coverage.
Basically, you can't really transfer to that new place.
neo89
post Oct 8 2018, 10:50 AM

76 posts

Dear all sifu,

Need your help.. I am on 300mbps previously and got upgraded to 1gbps.. My current ONU and router is under the staircase, and blocked by brickwalls. I am in landed property, therefore it is difficult to find a sweet spot for router placement. sad.gif

1. If I subscribe to get the free router, do I need to return the old DIR850L?
2. If I can keep the old router, can I not move ONU and DIR850L from where it is now, and instead connect the new router at my living room via ethernet cable?
3. My cable has already been embedded in the wall, and prefer not to do any hacking.... Can the network be configured this way? (ie. ONU > DIR850L > DIR-882) If yes, would the Installer help to configure it?
4. Will this slow down the wifi speed I receive at the living area? (ie. less than 500mbps)

Thank you.

665 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:39 PM