Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

axxer
post Feb 28 2023, 11:47 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 28 2023, 11:37 PM)
Dealer mentioned to test true speed better test Postpaid U38. Prepaid has speed cap.
That dealer is talking from their ass. Only "unlimited" gx prepaid plan got speed limit, quota based prepaid plan like umi and mb doesn't have speed limit.
MNF0
post Mar 1 2023, 07:14 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 28 2023, 06:45 AM)
I received a SMS early this morning from U Mobile mentioning that Ultra Hotspot is now activated. Now the SIM works on my MR600 modem.  thumbup.gif
You are on U98?
Eugene91
post Mar 1 2023, 07:19 AM

6,109 posts

U38
QUOTE(MNF0 @ Mar 1 2023, 07:14 AM)
You are on U98?
digitalifelesss
post Mar 1 2023, 09:28 AM

238 posts

I received a SMS early this morning from U Mobile mentioning that Ultra Hotspot is now activated. Now the SIM works on my MR600 modem.  thumbup.gif
I still not sure about 98 + router/modem. Is it just "works", or
"works and can use 1000GB quota with router"? Have you started some heavy download in the hundreds of GBs? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by digitalifelesss: Mar 1 2023, 09:55 AM
19 Degree South
post Mar 1 2023, 10:12 AM

1,677 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Feb 28 2023, 12:39 AM)
u98.... u38 no ultra hotspot
but can use through phone 's own hotspot correct?
19 Degree South
post Mar 1 2023, 10:14 AM

1,677 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Feb 28 2023, 07:21 PM)
Buy umobile prepaid and test before commit to postpaid. Its shouldn't differ much in cities and if u only move around cities. But if move around alot, outstation meeting clients or live in kampung area then umobile coverage can be more spotty compared to maxis.
but postpaid plan no need contract right? so can subscribe one month to test? coz now my digi 60 doesn't give me 5G service.
minano0001
post Mar 1 2023, 12:05 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 1 2023, 10:14 AM)
but postpaid plan no need contract right? so can subscribe one month to test? coz now my digi 60 doesn't  give me 5G service.
if u dont take their phones then no contract
19 Degree South
post Mar 1 2023, 12:30 PM

1,677 posts

QUOTE(minano0001 @ Mar 1 2023, 12:05 PM)
if u dont take their phones then no contract
thanks . thumbsup.gif
alexchew_2020
post Mar 1 2023, 02:30 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 28 2023, 11:37 PM)
Dealer mentioned to test true speed better test Postpaid U38. Prepaid has speed cap.
not really..all the same. as long as speedtest ookla u choose umo as server.
19 Degree South
post Mar 1 2023, 08:04 PM

1,677 posts

now delima...asked my neighborhood ppl that has used umobile before one and none got positive feedbacks. but the plan
is cheap la.... unsure.gif

This post has been edited by 19 Degree South: Mar 1 2023, 08:05 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 2 2023, 11:14 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Feb 27 2023, 09:10 PM)
hmmm anyone tested put the u98 into none mod modem? is it working on the ultra hotspot 4g..not 5G
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 27 2023, 11:01 PM)
U38 doesn't work on my TP-Link MR600   sweat.gif
QUOTE(digitalifelesss @ Mar 1 2023, 09:28 AM)
I still not sure about 98 + router/modem. Is it just "works", or
"works and can use 1000GB quota with router"? Have you started some heavy download in the hundreds of GBs?  unsure.gif

https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/support/te.../new-u-postpaid - personal/support/terms-conditions/postpaid/new-u-postpaid
b. You can use U Postpaid 38, 68, 98 and U FamilyShare line(s) via smartphones only and no other devices, such as a MiFi and USB dongle. We may from time to time change the device requirements for U Postpaid 38, U Postpaid 68 and U Postpaid 98 plans at our absolute discretion.

So, it is very likely against the T&C to use a 4G/5G modem with the SIM card, either for main data or Ultra 5G Hotspot data. If U-Mobile allows it, it will mothball it's Broadband plans with 4G/5G modems, Mifi, USB dongles, etc. U-Mobile can detect "illegal" 4G/5G modem usage for it's Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans with specialized software = the account can be deactivated temporarily for a day or 2 as a warning b4 complete shutdown, esp very active accounts with massive downloading or video-streaming.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Mar 2 2023, 11:23 AM
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 2 2023, 11:34 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(awee87 @ Feb 20 2023, 04:01 PM)
i have test u38 put into modem but cannot hotspot , so i think only can 'hotspot' at phone but got block at modem unless u use mod modem
Please see my above reply, ie U-Mobile can also detect "illegal" usage of modded 4G/5G modems for it's Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans.
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 2 2023, 11:57 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Feb 21 2023, 01:09 PM)
? What do you mean, I just jumped from GX50 to U38 lol  sweat.gif
Afaik, you should use a 5G device for the U38 5G plan if you have 5G coverage, in order to enjoy high speeds because U-Mobile's 4G total bandwidth capacity is "only" 1.9Gbps per 4G cell tower and may have reached over-capacity or traffic congestion = slow speed if shared by 500 active 4G customers = only 4Mbps per customer.
....... DNB's 5G bandwidth capacity for the lower bands(700MHz and 3500MHz) is quite big, maybe about 20Gbps ie 5.6Gbps per longer range 5G cell tower, to be shared by the celcos and their 5G customers.

P S - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U_Mobile
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Nasional_Berhad

(Edit)DNB has 80MHz bandwidth capacity for the lowband of 700MHz and 200MHz for the midband of 3.5GHz = total bandwidth capacity of 5.6Gbps for longer range 5G cell towers.
....... High-band 5G at 28GHz (bandwidth capacity is 1600MHz = 32Gbps) is often very short range = about 400 meters only = often only available at city centers and high foot-traffic areas like big shopping malls and stadiums.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Mar 2 2023, 12:52 PM
aniq8676
post Mar 2 2023, 11:57 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 2 2023, 11:14 AM)

https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/support/te.../new-u-postpaid - personal/support/terms-conditions/postpaid/new-u-postpaid
b.  You can use U Postpaid 38, 68, 98 and U FamilyShare line(s) via smartphones only and no other devices, such as a MiFi and USB dongle. We may from time to time change the device requirements for U Postpaid 38, U Postpaid 68 and U Postpaid 98 plans at our absolute discretion.

So, it is very likely against the T&C to use a 4G/5G modem with the SIM card, either for main data or Ultra 5G Hotspot data. If U-Mobile allows it, it will mothball it's Broadband plans with 4G/5G modems, Mifi, USB dongles, etc. U-Mobile can detect "illegal" 4G/5G modem usage for it's Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans with specialized software = the account can be deactivated temporarily for a day or 2 as a warning b4 complete shutdown, esp very active accounts with massive downloading or video-streaming.
T&C last updated Date: 18 August 2022
Ultra Hotspot has been introduced since 10/2/2023
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 2 2023, 12:17 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Mar 2 2023, 11:57 AM)
T&C last updated Date: 18 August 2022
Ultra Hotspot has been introduced since 10/2/2023
The above T&C has not been changed by the latest offer of Ultra 5G Hotspot. This can be confirmed by the recent comments by a U-Mobile staff on it's Facebook page.

Like I said, it is illogical for U-Mobile to allow 4G/5G modems, either unmodded or modded, to be used for it's Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans, even with the latest Ultra 5G Hotspot offer because this would mothball or cannibalize it's other Broadband plans that also use 4G/5G modems, Mifi, USB dongles, etc but "legally".

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Mar 2 2023, 06:49 PM
alexchew_2020
post Mar 2 2023, 01:21 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

word they use promo no device restriction. if no device restriction for hotspot wifi. it will be weird to use this term on shared wifi connection. is like u buy a router with promo wrote no device restriction on wifi laugh.gif

mean can use in any device

This post has been edited by alexchew_2020: Mar 2 2023, 01:30 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 2 2023, 03:24 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Mar 2 2023, 01:21 PM)
word they use promo no device restriction. if no device restriction for hotspot wifi. it will be weird to use this term on shared wifi connection. is like u buy a router with promo wrote no device restriction on wifi  laugh.gif

mean can use in any device
Before this latest Ultra 5G Hotspot offer on 10 Feb 2023, the main data of 1,000GB per month for the U98 Postpaid plan was restricted to smartphones only, ie since 18 Aug 2022, and hotspot data (to other devices, mobile and non-mobile) was limited to only 5GB per month.
....... Now, there is no device restriction for the 1,000GB main data via Ultra 5G Hotspot, eg can use on other smartphones, laptops, desktops, smart TVs, Android TV set-top boxes, media players, etc but not on 4G/5G modems, Mifi and USB dongles.

Do other celcos allow the use of non-modded or/and modded 4G/5G modems for their Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans, eg TM Unifi Mobile Bebas Monthly and Digi Infinite 150? IOW, put the SIM card inside the modem, instead of inside the smartphone.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Mar 2 2023, 03:41 PM
alexchew_2020
post Mar 2 2023, 05:21 PM

MOD
3,363 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Mar 2 2023, 03:24 PM)
Before this latest Ultra 5G Hotspot offer on 10 Feb 2023, the main data of 1,000GB per month for the U98 Postpaid plan was restricted to smartphones only, ie since 18 Aug 2022, and hotspot data (to other devices, mobile and non-mobile) was limited to only 5GB per month.
....... Now, there is no device restriction for the 1,000GB main data via Ultra 5G Hotspot, eg can use on other smartphones, laptops, desktops, smart TVs, Android TV set-top boxes, media players, etc but not on 4G/5G modems, Mifi and USB dongles.

Do other celcos allow the use of non-modded or/and modded 4G/5G modems for their Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans, eg TM Unifi Mobile Bebas Monthly and Digi Infinite 150? IOW, put the SIM card inside the modem, instead of inside the smartphone.
old plan does allowed. depends on the hotspot limitation.

like the new offer is no longer have hotspot restriction. so put in any device also should be a problems. as there is no restriction on hotspot.
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 2 2023, 07:19 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Mar 2 2023, 05:21 PM)

like the new offer is no longer have hotspot restriction. so put in any device also should be a problems. as there is no restriction on hotspot.
Yes, many celco subscribers wish there is truly no device restriction for main Internet quota data and hotspot data, esp when they are paying RM104 per month for U Mobile's Postpaid U98 plan with Ultra 5G Hotspot = 1,000GB main data + 5GB hotspot data, eg they can insert the SIM card into a non-modded 4G/5G modem, like for Immobile/Fixed TM Unifi Fiber for homes and businesses or for Timedotcom Fiber for condos/apartments.

But bear in mind that afaik celco's mobile bandwidth capacity per 4G/5G cell tower is much more limited than TM Unifi Fiber's immobile/fixed cable capacity, eg U Mobile has only 1.9Gbps bandwidth capacity per 4G cell tower to be shared by a maximum of about 500 active 4G subscribers, whereas TM Unifi Fiber has 10Gbps capacity per fiber cable to be shared by only-about 40-50 active subscribers staying in linked homes. This is likely why celcos have to impose quota data, FUP and device restriction (to only smartphones, even for hotspotting) for their Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans, ie to minimize traffic congestion, whereas TM Unifi Fiber and Timedotcom Fiber do not need to.
....... IOW, celcos' mobile 4G/5G Internet data is much more prone to traffic congestion, esp during peak periods in urban areas.

P S - TM HSBB Fiber Wholesale charges Timedotcom, Maxis Fiber, U Mobile Fiber and all celcos full rate for backhaul connections to TM's HSBB Fiber network, except for TM's own subsidiaries like TM Unifi Fiber, TM Unifi Mobile and Celcom, eg Maxis pays TM about RM90 per 30Mbps per month = RM9 per 3Mbps per month, for it's 4G cell towers' backhaul connections to TM's HSBB Fiber network, ie to access Internet data on the www .
....... Hence, ... https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...erating-profits - 2023/02/28 - TM -net-profit-soars-to- RM1.14bil -in-fy22-on-higher-operating-profits

DNB's 5G network is similar to TM's HSBB Fiber network, ie all the celcos have to pay DNB for 5G access.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Mar 3 2023, 11:04 AM
SUSlurkingaround
post Mar 2 2023, 07:32 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(alexchew_2020 @ Mar 2 2023, 05:21 PM)
It's possible that a few celcos do not enforce their T&C's device restriction for their high-cost Mobile Postpaid and Prepaid plans, even for hotspotting, ie they allow the use of non-modded and modded 4G/5G modems, Mifi and USB dongles, eg Digi Infinite 150; ... or they do not know how or do not have sufficient staffs to detect the "illegal" use of such devices and warn the subscribers or terminate their accounts.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Mar 2 2023, 09:38 PM

493 Pages « < 405 406 407 408 409 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:09 PM