StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?
Krv23490
Dec 26 2018, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 26 2018, 12:53 PM) i think this SA really come in time.... If the 10 years cycle really happen.... We can now gain access to ETF within this good opportunity. Totally agreed. I really looking for a Malaysia ETF but the one in our local stock exchange so low volume. Only EWM in NYSE.
ericlaiys
Dec 26 2018, 01:15 PM
any idea how often fund giving dividend? Some my fund is giving dividend. Now Total return is -1.8%
honsiong
Dec 26 2018, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 26 2018, 01:15 PM) any idea how often fund giving dividend? Some my fund is giving dividend. Now Total return is -1.8% Kena google up the ETFs themselves - "dividend.com <ticker>" For example: - CWB (monthly) - SPY (quarterly)
Ash_bellerin
Dec 26 2018, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 26 2018, 01:32 PM) Kena google up the ETFs themselves - "dividend.com <ticker>" For example: - CWB (monthly) - SPY (quarterly)Thanks! Will we be taxed from the dividends? If we are, do we pay US tax or MY tax?
honsiong
Dec 26 2018, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(Ash_bellerin @ Dec 26 2018, 04:34 PM) Thanks! Will we be taxed from the dividends? If we are, do we pay US tax or MY tax? Malaysians and Singaporeans don't need to pay capital gains tax. StashAway and their broker Saxo also help customers do withholding tax refund, but this one has significant delays, like I only got withholding tax reimbursement in October for FY 2017 investments, check with their customer support. This post has been edited by honsiong: Dec 26 2018, 04:55 PM
SUSMNet
Dec 26 2018, 07:56 PM
Is this auto help all stashaway customer to do the claim back?
honsiong
Dec 26 2018, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 26 2018, 07:56 PM) Is this auto help all stashaway customer to do the claim back? Yea, but like I said: it’s very slow. You only get it in October 2018 for whatever holdings you have throughout FY 2017.
fjoru103
Dec 27 2018, 01:10 PM
Is now a good time to join SA?
honsiong
Dec 27 2018, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Dec 27 2018, 01:10 PM) Is now a good time to join SA? Can you time the market? If not, join SA and do dollar cost averaging.
Ash_bellerin
Dec 27 2018, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Dec 27 2018, 01:10 PM) Is now a good time to join SA? A lot of green today. But who knows, the market could crash again. Just consistently put in money into SA for a long term, put more when the market is down.
B500
Dec 27 2018, 07:18 PM

Hey guys, just curious. What are your risk index? I am currently at 13.5% but thinking if I should dial it up to 20%, considering that dividends from US bonds are subject to 30% withholding tax.. Feedback welcome. Thanks.
honsiong
Dec 27 2018, 07:21 PM
QUOTE(B500 @ Dec 27 2018, 07:18 PM) Hey guys, just curious. What are your risk index? I am currently at 13.5% but thinking if I should dial it up to 20%, considering that dividends from US bonds are subject to 30% withholding tax.. Feedback welcome. Thanks. Scroll up, they claim back withholding taxes for you. Risk index should base on ur time horizon I guess, I go 36% coz I just started working and have decades to go.
B500
Dec 27 2018, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 27 2018, 07:21 PM) Scroll up, they claim back withholding taxes for you. Risk index should base on ur time horizon I guess, I go 36% coz I just started working and have decades to go. True, they claim back a portion, but its super slow and delayed. Thanks for your feedback. I also have another question, upon adjusting the risk index, how soon does it take effect?
honsiong
Dec 27 2018, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(B500 @ Dec 27 2018, 07:31 PM) True, they claim back a portion, but its super slow and delayed. Thanks for your feedback. I also have another question, upon adjusting the risk index, how soon does it take effect? From my experience dialing up from 18 to 36... in 1-2 days. They go by a daily loop of converting currencies, selling, buying.
daifeigo
Dec 27 2018, 08:55 PM
happened to check the Christmas deals on Boost, let's give a try la
SwarmTroll
Dec 27 2018, 11:56 PM
Could I still get the referral for 6 months free mgmt fees? Even tho I have already created rhe acc
nickcct
Dec 28 2018, 07:42 AM
QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Dec 27 2018, 11:56 PM) Could I still get the referral for 6 months free mgmt fees? Even tho I have already created rhe acc The 6 months free management fee need to sign up using the referral code
rapple
Dec 28 2018, 10:22 AM
Now can contact Stashaway through Whatsapp.
honsiong
Dec 28 2018, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(rapple @ Dec 28 2018, 10:22 AM) Now can contact Stashaway through Whatsapp. Have to admit, that whatsapp button is annoying af.
ViktorJ
Dec 28 2018, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 28 2018, 10:27 AM) Have to admit, that whatsapp button is annoying af.