StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

Ash_bellerin
post Dec 19 2018, 12:44 PM

31 posts

Hi all,

I just came across Stashaway a few days back and I am very new to investing. It seems like a nice investment tool for beginners like me. According to "History", there might be a recession soon (10 year cycle). Is now a good time to start investing (since they are to Re-optimize portfolios), or wait until the recession hits and then buy using a Conservative risk?

Thanks in advance.
Ash_bellerin
post Dec 19 2018, 05:13 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 19 2018, 01:17 PM)
Seems like your logic a bit wrong, when it's confirmed to be recession -- that means we have been in bear market for MONTHS already, you should go high risk, not conservative, coz the bounce back after that will be stronger and you want more exposure to equities.

To make it simple for you, just do dollar cost averaging and deposit RMx every week/month, don't throw money in lump sum. That strategy is not the most optimal, but it works for most people.

BTW my stashaway 36 since July 17 is -13% currently.
Thanks a lot for your opinion. Totally understand why it is a mid - long term investment now.
Ash_bellerin
post Dec 20 2018, 01:43 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Dec 20 2018, 08:06 AM)
I set 30%, reason being 36% REIT portion is higher, I try to avoid US REIT
When is a good time to begin investing?
Ash_bellerin
post Dec 25 2018, 02:24 PM

31 posts

More red in the near future for EQs :'(
Ash_bellerin
post Dec 26 2018, 04:34 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 26 2018, 01:32 PM)
Kena google up the ETFs themselves - "dividend.com <ticker>"

For example:

- CWB (monthly)
- SPY (quarterly)
Thanks! Will we be taxed from the dividends? If we are, do we pay US tax or MY tax?
Ash_bellerin
post Dec 27 2018, 02:43 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Dec 27 2018, 01:10 PM)
Is now a good time to join SA?
A lot of green today. But who knows, the market could crash again. Just consistently put in money into SA for a long term, put more when the market is down.

0.0468sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:05 AM