69 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

ViktorJ
post Dec 19 2018, 07:34 PM

Dancy Drinky Doggo
1,004 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 19 2018, 06:49 PM)
If it goes too much into fixed income it can be more volatile. They probably couldn’t go below 6.5% loss with any portfolio unless all cash.
Hmm, maybe hold more cash than 1% in these sort of market conditions?
Too bad it won't use inverse ETFs, too volatile as well I suppose.
But I dunno, hold more gold? More muni bonds? At least go up to 85% on FI or something?

SUSMNet
post Dec 19 2018, 09:55 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 19 2018, 01:17 PM)
Seems like your logic a bit wrong, when it's confirmed to be recession -- that means we have been in bear market for MONTHS already, you should go high risk, not conservative, coz the bounce back after that will be stronger and you want more exposure to equities.

To make it simple for you, just do dollar cost averaging and deposit RMx every week/month, don't throw money in lump sum. That strategy is not the most optimal, but it works for most people.

BTW my stashaway 36 since July 17 is -13% currently.
How much u topup each week?
honsiong
post Dec 19 2018, 10:27 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 19 2018, 09:55 PM)
How much u topup each week?
Following default recommendation of the goal.
nickcct
post Dec 20 2018, 08:06 AM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 19 2018, 05:52 PM)
No one else 36% risk index? I feel lonely.
I set 30%, reason being 36% REIT portion is higher, I try to avoid US REIT
Ash_bellerin
post Dec 20 2018, 01:43 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Dec 20 2018, 08:06 AM)
I set 30%, reason being 36% REIT portion is higher, I try to avoid US REIT
When is a good time to begin investing?
SwarmTroll
post Dec 20 2018, 02:13 PM

1,401 posts

Have not even deposited once into stashaway yet so far even tho I have an account. You guys that deposit every week, how much you guys put? RM500? Not sure how much I should start with.
honsiong
post Dec 20 2018, 03:18 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ash_bellerin @ Dec 20 2018, 01:43 PM)
When is a good time to begin investing?
Just deposit a steady amount in every week.

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Dec 20 2018, 02:13 PM)
Have not even deposited once into stashaway yet so far even tho I have an account. You guys that deposit every week, how much you guys put? RM500? Not sure how much I should start with.
Once you built up emergency saving, you can start using the guide inside to agak agak how much you want to save for what goal, then follow their recommendation.

You are not forced to stick to the deposit plan BTW.
rapple
post Dec 20 2018, 03:26 PM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Erm, only 100 per week..

Need to leave some for 2019 SSPN, ASM, PRS & FSM
Atsutane-Shirane
post Dec 21 2018, 12:58 AM

1,458 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Nov 29 2018, 09:49 AM)
or just do not be so 'honest'
QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Nov 29 2018, 10:27 AM)
yes agreed. Only yourself responsible for your own investment decisions. However should not let paying loans deny you from investing
QUOTE(vrek @ Nov 30 2018, 12:34 AM)
I've spoke to the customer care earlier. These are excerpts of the explanation:

"As StashAway invests your money in foreign currency assets, we will have to comply with Notice 3 of the Foreign Exchange Administration Rules and we are unable to proceed with your account opening on StashAway’s Malaysia platform at this moment."

"At this moment, we can only proceed with client who owned not more than ONE House loan and not more than ONE Vehicle loan."

The Foreign Exchange Administration (FEA) Rules are found on Bank Negara website:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/files/notices/Notice_3.pdf
QUOTE(honsiong @ Nov 30 2018, 10:16 AM)
It’s just StashAway covering their own ass. If people wanna be dishonest, it’s not SA’s fault at least.
QUOTE(klthor @ Nov 30 2018, 05:17 PM)
stash away is still small, if the fund size become ubber huge. BNM might want them to perform CTOS or CRISS check smile.gif not like some lame questionnaire haha....  just like cypto, at first BNM dont even bother. until it get hot, BNM steps in and require all crypto site to comply if KYC.
Just out of curiosity... Did anyone tried to answer dishonestly?
SUSMNet
post Dec 21 2018, 06:47 AM

11,954 posts

it depend on how much ur salary
honsiong
post Dec 21 2018, 11:07 AM

3,182 posts

-17.3% on 36 LMAO
Krv23490
post Dec 21 2018, 11:19 AM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 21 2018, 11:07 AM)
-17.3% on 36 LMAO
-11.4 on 36

TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 21 2018, 11:26 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

-0.6 on 6.5

nickcct
post Dec 21 2018, 11:33 AM

Une Vie Fantastique
2,847 posts

-5.7 on 30
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 21 2018, 11:36 AM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 21 2018, 11:07 AM)
-17.3% on 36 LMAO
QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Dec 21 2018, 11:19 AM)
-11.4 on 36
QUOTE(nickcct @ Dec 21 2018, 11:33 AM)
-5.7 on 30
gg la you all lol. More storm coming. not worth to dca when time like this. dca when the volatility isn't that crazy...
honsiong
post Dec 21 2018, 11:49 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 21 2018, 11:36 AM)
gg la you all lol. More storm coming. not worth to dca when time like this. dca when the volatility isn't that crazy...
Yea but not like I am using the money anytime soon.

Pray EPF dividend for 2018 to be good lah.
Krv23490
post Dec 21 2018, 11:51 AM

2,175 posts

Yeah, doesnt really concern me. Stashaway feels like a fun account to top up small amounts.

We will see whether time in the market really beats timing the market
SUSMNet
post Dec 21 2018, 01:28 PM

11,954 posts

buy now so when the stock rebound u will earn more
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Dec 21 2018, 01:42 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 21 2018, 01:28 PM)
buy now so when the stock rebound u will earn more
in normal condition yes. but we have been listening to this since earlier year. guess that whoever DCA all the way from Jan till now in EQ will got burn a lot. the crisis will come. so just stay safe.

I suppose the market is not the bottom yet. more to drop. well it's OK to wait if the volatility is that crazy.
Krv23490
post Dec 21 2018, 02:10 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 21 2018, 01:42 PM)
in normal condition yes. but we have been listening to this since earlier year. guess that whoever DCA all the way from Jan till now in EQ will got burn a lot. the crisis will come. so just stay safe.

I suppose the market is not the bottom yet. more to drop. well it's OK to wait if the volatility is that crazy.
most people (including you) will always believe it can further go down, so will wait one extra day, one extra week, one extra month.

I am not saying it won't go down or will go up, but of course if we all knew 100% that it will go down, the markets won't be markets.

But yes, invest only as much as you can as long as it doesn't you trouble you at night

69 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:41 AM