HiMedia Media Player, All about HiMedia V2, New upgrade is out

kevinlim001
post Jun 21 2021, 01:04 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 21 2021, 12:00 PM)
hdmi lor
ur denon is ur dac lo.. older gen denon dac not so great.. but recent gen seems to have more improvement..
kevinlim001
post Jun 21 2021, 01:04 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 21 2021, 12:34 PM)
streamer-vinyl?

u mean playback of vinyl rips?

i tried many... they NEVER come close enough to the real vinyls.

so, the good old turntable-LPs still reign supreme for pure music! thumbup.gif
vinyl rip is first to me also le brows.gif
rx330
post Jun 21 2021, 01:43 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 21 2021, 12:34 PM)
streamer-vinyl?

u mean playback of vinyl rips?

i tried many... they NEVER come close enough to the real vinyls.

so, the good old turntable-LPs still reign supreme for pure music! thumbup.gif
bukan bukan

I got a vinyl setup, with amp n everything

so I might as well get a streamer to utilise the amp as well, tats all

got la, I got some vinyl rip to CDs those day, not bad the sound hahah
I send the vinyl to clean, n tat guy has this service, so normally I send to clean, it will come back with a CD of that vinyl hahahaha

the Denon for mobie ok, but for lagu... very harsh to me, macam x cukup panas
AVFAN
post Jun 21 2021, 03:08 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 21 2021, 01:43 PM)
bukan bukan

I got a vinyl setup, with amp n everything

so I might as well get a streamer to utilise the amp as well, tats all

got la, I got some vinyl rip to CDs those day, not bad the sound hahah
I send the vinyl to clean, n tat guy has this service, so normally I send to clean, it will come back with a CD of that vinyl hahahaha

the Denon for mobie ok, but for lagu... very harsh to me, macam x cukup panas
yes, for audio, much better performance if your amp/AVR is more powerful, esp for power hungry speakers.

where is this cleaner? price?

i normally light wash with shampoo, OK.

after cleaning comes a CD... that is interesting. biggrin.gif

i spent some money lately, bought a dozen LPs from Amazon, those I wanted to have for a long long time.

Old music, the LP is far superior.

New music concerts, min would be 1080p video + DDtrueHD/DTSHDMA 5.1/7.1.

this one is superb:

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 21 2021, 03:09 PM
rx330
post Jun 21 2021, 03:14 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 21 2021, 03:08 PM)
yes, for audio, much better performance if your amp/AVR is more powerful, esp for power hungry speakers.
where is this cleaner? price?

i normally light wash with shampoo, OK.

after cleaning comes a CD... that is interesting. biggrin.gif

i spent some money lately, bought a few LPs from Amazon, those I wanted to have for a long long time.

Old music, the LP is far superior.

New music concerts, min would be 1080p video + DDtrueHD/DTSHDMA 5.1/7.1.

this one is superb:
shifu dah lama dah, dulu send to Singapore, I also can't remember the guys name liao, all I remember stay in HDB with magnepan speakers one
he even printed out the cover n slot it in the CD-r casing

nowadays I just wash myself, bought a record cleaner before MCO, clean it during MCO time myself, batch by batch, blast the record while cleaning hahah, but damn the vacuum is loud

may miss out some new ones tat I didn't clean
AVFAN
post Jun 21 2021, 03:20 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 21 2021, 03:14 PM)
shifu dah lama dah, dulu send to Singapore, I also can't remember the guys name liao, all I remember stay in HDB with magnepan speakers one
he even printed out the cover n slot it in the CD-r casing

nowadays I just wash myself, bought a record cleaner before MCO, clean it during MCO time myself, batch by batch, blast the record while cleaning hahah, but damn the vacuum is loud

may miss out some new ones tat I didn't clean
wooo... u got some vacuum cleaner! thumbup.gif
rx330
post Jun 21 2021, 03:32 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 21 2021, 03:20 PM)
wooo... u got some vacuum cleaner! thumbup.gif
yea, I count by how many pcs I have, then how many need to pay if send outside to wash
end up f it, buy n wash everything myself

looks cleaner than it sounds though hahaha
AVFAN
post Jun 21 2021, 03:38 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 21 2021, 03:32 PM)
yea, I count by how many pcs I have, then how many need to pay if send outside to wash
end up f it, buy n wash everything myself

looks cleaner than it sounds though hahaha
if the LP itself isn't great, that's what it will give.

i just catalogued my collection... I only have 1 japanese limited edition pressing - this is probably the best type.

next may be those 180g remastered ones.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 21 2021, 03:39 PM
rx330
post Jun 21 2021, 04:42 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 21 2021, 03:38 PM)
if the LP itself isn't great, that's what it will give.

i just catalogued my collection... I only have 1 japanese limited edition pressing - this is probably the best type.

next may be those 180g remastered ones.
normally I only buy the better sounding ones

180g remastered I think I got a lot
limited or not I no idea la, but some crazy prices in grey market now

I'm using discog, but a lot titles doesnt show up even after scanning

don't really have that much, and slow down every now n then, getting much costlier n ran out of space hahahah I think I shud not exceed 250 titles or pcs, some I hoard, more than 1 pc hahahah
idiotic one really... kena the Singaporean kiasuism affected
AVFAN
post Jun 21 2021, 05:01 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 21 2021, 04:42 PM)
normally I only buy the better sounding ones

180g remastered I think I got a lot
limited or not I no idea la, but some crazy prices in grey market now

I'm using discog, but a lot titles doesnt show up even after scanning

don't really have that much, and slow down every now n then, getting much costlier n ran out of space hahahah I think I shud not exceed 250 titles or pcs, some I hoard, more than 1 pc hahahah
idiotic one really... kena the Singaporean kiasuism affected
250... not too many if this is a lifelong collection.

i have <200, but that is after i junked some of the ones i dun want anymore. biggrin.gif

vinyls is a strange animal.... only people who have and play them talk about them... others have no idea, dun care. laugh.gif
rx330
post Jun 22 2021, 08:40 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 21 2021, 05:01 PM)
250... not too many if this is a lifelong collection.

i have <200, but that is after i junked some of the ones i dun want anymore. biggrin.gif

vinyls is a strange animal.... only people who have and play them talk about them... others have no idea, dun care. laugh.gif
my dad gave all his away hahah

I started 2015 , on n off forgot about it, then buy buy buy then forgot about it

where u junk those u don't want? I'm ok with most of it actually, except a few exception

yea, actually holding a few terabytes of albums or streaming from Spotify are much more convenient than playing n hoarding records

not too mention nowadays , music labels keep producing records n boy some of the recordings are worst than CD

I have a few I really like album but the recording over to the record is really really bad

Does the hi media has any app to record vinyl?
AVFAN
post Jun 22 2021, 08:45 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 22 2021, 08:40 AM)
my dad gave all his away hahah

I started 2015 , on n off forgot about it, then buy buy buy then forgot about it

where u junk those u don't want? I'm ok with most of it actually, except a few exception

yea, actually holding a few terabytes of albums or streaming from Spotify are much more convenient than playing n hoarding records

not too mention nowadays , music labels keep producing records n boy some of the recordings are worst than CD

I have a few I really like album but the recording over to the record is really really bad

Does the hi media has any app to record vinyl?
i junked some years ago, don't even remember which ones! biggrin.gif

new recordings in digital are better on CDs.

only old analogue recordings are better on vinyl.

no, himedia has no such recording capability, i think.
rx330
post Jun 22 2021, 09:24 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 22 2021, 08:45 AM)
i junked some years ago, don't even remember which ones! biggrin.gif

new recordings in digital are better on CDs.

only old analogue recordings are better on vinyl.

no, himedia has no such recording capability, i think.
I beg to differ

although I have no CD player or disc to compare, new digital recordings. (for some) sounds really good on vinyl (not those reissue ones)

off my head la, I few digital recordings ( I think) but in vinyl tat sounds really good
XX , London grammar, Feist , daft punk
tsc77y
post Aug 21 2021, 07:53 AM

108 posts

I have just update Q10pro to FW 2.1.4.

Suddenly i can not find my NAS nor any sharefolders in the network. Manual add in return message "add server error".

Any help here!
AVFAN
post Aug 21 2021, 10:12 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(tsc77y @ Aug 21 2021, 07:53 AM)
I have just update Q10pro to FW 2.1.4.

Suddenly i can not find my NAS nor any sharefolders in the network. Manual add in return message "add server error".

Any help here!
for lan, etc... whenever u change firmware or pc/drive password, u need to set it again.

.. give permission to access yr drives
.. use manual add share, auto search does not work
.. key in the pc/drive ip address, drive name, user id, pw - gotta be exact

works fine, i just did it after i changed pc password.
tsc77y
post Aug 21 2021, 11:40 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 21 2021, 10:12 AM)
for lan, etc... whenever u change firmware or pc/drive password, u need to set it again.

.. give permission to access yr drives
.. use manual add share, auto search does not work
.. key in the pc/drive ip address, drive name, user id, pw - gotta be exact

works fine, i just did it after i changed pc password.
Shared drive is OK, coz before update from 2.1.1, all working fine.

After update, re do the LAN connections based on same information but didn't work. Strange. Will check again.
AVFAN
post Aug 21 2021, 09:39 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(tsc77y @ Aug 21 2021, 11:40 AM)
Shared drive is OK, coz before update from 2.1.1, all working fine.

After update, re do the LAN connections based on same information but didn't work. Strange. Will check again.
check yr ip, shared drive names... shud work.
tsc77y
post Aug 26 2021, 02:45 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 21 2021, 09:39 PM)
check yr ip, shared drive names... shud work.
A combination of wrong IP and PW is the cause.

All good now.

Appreciate your help.

I have been using this unit for years. Like you looking for better replacement but none at this moment that can offer equal or better features than this! Interest to know if you find any.
rx330
post Aug 26 2021, 03:24 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(tsc77y @ Aug 26 2021, 02:45 PM)

All good now.

Appreciate your help.
I have been using this unit for years. Like you looking for better replacement but none at this moment that can offer equal or better features than this! Interest to know if you find any.
the newer zidoo seems not bad

a lot of sporeans av user seems to swear by it
AVFAN
post Aug 26 2021, 03:33 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(tsc77y @ Aug 26 2021, 02:45 PM)

All good now.

Appreciate your help.
good to hear! yeah, it still works very well, still best i can find.

been >2 years, i found no worthy successor for what i want it to do.

got desperate, bought a Q30 for rm300 a few months ago, which is a little bro of Q10pro - fits my requirements for 2nd home theater, mostly for local playback.

the most difficult things to get in a media box are full audio passthru for DDtrueHD, full BDMV menu and auto framerate switching.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 26 2021, 03:24 PM)
the newer zidoo seems not bad

a lot of sporeans av user seems to swear by it
i almost bought the z9s but the price was quite a put off. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 26 2021, 03:36 PM

44 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 >Top

0.0292sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:14 AM