anyone using wishbone wheelsets? how are their wheelsets? good? bad? cant seem to find much info on google other than their BB
Cycling V36: Road bikes - Recreational/Racing, 30km/h is 1764 benchmark
Dec 27 2018, 12:28 PM
1,653 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: My Fantasy World |
anyone using wishbone wheelsets? how are their wheelsets? good? bad? cant seem to find much info on google other than their BB
Dec 28 2018, 07:36 PM
1,057 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Guys recently plan to buy caad12 Ultegra so the point is previous user told me that spider crank will be more problem then Ultegra crank ?
Dec 29 2018, 10:35 AM
2,111 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(stevenng97 @ Dec 28 2018, 07:36 PM) Guys recently plan to buy caad12 Ultegra so the point is previous user told me that spider crank will be more problem then Ultegra crank ? IINM it's more of the bottom bracket than the crank itself due to the nature of the construction of the bottom bracket itself which I am not entirely sure but am pretty much confident that what the previous owner meant was the creaking noise which is also why creakingdale is also a moniker for Cannondale bikes |
Jan 1 2019, 04:20 PM
213 posts Joined: May 2005 From: https://www.supermotoxl.com |
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Dec 23 2018, 09:58 PM) Hey happy 2019!, Latest updates... I didn't get the neither MAVIC model because COSMIC wasn't available and AKSIUM went into factory recall. So my existing choice in the shop was between PROLITE CARBON, FULCRUM QUATTRO and PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO......i ended up getting the PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO wheelset because its lighter, quality build and very good bearing....but expensive! Also upgraded whole groupset using latest SHIMANO 105 R7000 and also change cockpit parts to adjust the reach setup. Overall revived my 10 year old road bike with new tech. Did some test ride, the climbing and acceleration was a huge improvement. New R7000 grouppo shift smooth and nice feeling on the shifter hood for small hands. That was the best setup ever made. Below snapshots of my bike build for 2019. Photo: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Jan 1 2019, 04:25 PM |
Jan 1 2019, 06:00 PM
2,093 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jan 1 2019, 04:20 PM) Hey happy 2019!, Nice! Nothing like a new lease on life for an old bike. Enjoy!Latest updates... I didn't get the neither MAVIC model because COSMIC wasn't available and AKSIUM went into factory recall. So my existing choice in the shop was between PROLITE CARBON, FULCRUM QUATTRO and PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO......i ended up getting the PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO wheelset because its lighter, quality build and very good bearing....but expensive! Also upgraded whole groupset using latest SHIMANO 105 R7000 and also change cockpit parts to adjust the reach setup. Overall revived my 10 year old road bike with new tech. Did some test ride, the climbing and acceleration was a huge improvement. New R7000 grouppo shift smooth and nice feeling on the shifter hood for small hands. That was the best setup ever made. Below snapshots of my bike build for 2019. Photo: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jan 1 2019, 09:36 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,858 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Tawau, Sabah |
QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jan 1 2019, 04:20 PM) Hey happy 2019!, hahaha congrats on ur 'revival'Latest updates... I didn't get the neither MAVIC model because COSMIC wasn't available and AKSIUM went into factory recall. So my existing choice in the shop was between PROLITE CARBON, FULCRUM QUATTRO and PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO......i ended up getting the PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO wheelset because its lighter, quality build and very good bearing....but expensive! Also upgraded whole groupset using latest SHIMANO 105 R7000 and also change cockpit parts to adjust the reach setup. Overall revived my 10 year old road bike with new tech. Did some test ride, the climbing and acceleration was a huge improvement. New R7000 grouppo shift smooth and nice feeling on the shifter hood for small hands. That was the best setup ever made. Below snapshots of my bike build for 2019. Photo: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 105 is very decent groupset i change my cassette from 11-25 to 11-32 recently and can feel huge difference when doing steep climbs kaki now tak kejang2 lagi hahaha |
Jan 2 2019, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jan 1 2019, 09:36 PM) hahaha congrats on ur 'revival' Thanks for the compliments guys. 105 is very decent groupset i change my cassette from 11-25 to 11-32 recently and can feel huge difference when doing steep climbs kaki now tak kejang2 lagi hahaha Same here, originally i was on 11-25T (9s) with 39T crankset...was in tears climbing hills to reach home daily. But now finally with 11-32T and 36T mid chainring/crankset i can climb hill and on my way home without leg stress. Took the bike for 30km spin this morning, feels like magic carpet again, the freehub clicks was so loud i don't have to carry handlebar bell when cycle at foot path. ![]() This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Jan 2 2019, 10:37 AM |
Jan 2 2019, 10:38 AM
65 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jan 1 2019, 04:20 PM) Hey happy 2019!, demm naisuuuLatest updates... I didn't get the neither MAVIC model because COSMIC wasn't available and AKSIUM went into factory recall. So my existing choice in the shop was between PROLITE CARBON, FULCRUM QUATTRO and PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO......i ended up getting the PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO wheelset because its lighter, quality build and very good bearing....but expensive! Also upgraded whole groupset using latest SHIMANO 105 R7000 and also change cockpit parts to adjust the reach setup. Overall revived my 10 year old road bike with new tech. Did some test ride, the climbing and acceleration was a huge improvement. New R7000 grouppo shift smooth and nice feeling on the shifter hood for small hands. That was the best setup ever made. Below snapshots of my bike build for 2019. Photo: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jan 2 2019, 10:40 AM
755 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Back to the Historic |
QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jan 2 2019, 10:34 AM) Thanks for the compliments guys. janganla cycle @ footpath. nanti kena boikot.Same here, originally i was on 11-25T (9s) with 39T crankset...was in tears climbing hills to reach home daily. But now finally with 11-32T and 36T mid chainring/crankset i can climb hill and on my way home without leg stress. Took the bike for 30km spin this morning, feels like magic carpet again, the freehub clicks was so loud i don't have to carry handlebar bell when cycle at foot path. ![]() |
Jan 2 2019, 10:41 AM
4,858 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Tawau, Sabah |
QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jan 2 2019, 10:34 AM) Thanks for the compliments guys. loud only if u stop pedaling la hahahaSame here, originally i was on 11-25T (9s) with 39T crankset...was in tears climbing hills to reach home daily. But now finally with 11-32T and 36T mid chainring/crankset i can climb hill and on my way home without leg stress. Took the bike for 30km spin this morning, feels like magic carpet again, the freehub clicks was so loud i don't have to carry handlebar bell when cycle at foot path. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jan 2 2019, 10:46 AM
Jan 2 2019, 11:10 AM
72 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jan 1 2019, 04:20 PM) Hey happy 2019!, nice setup. btw how much was the damage? Latest updates... I didn't get the neither MAVIC model because COSMIC wasn't available and AKSIUM went into factory recall. So my existing choice in the shop was between PROLITE CARBON, FULCRUM QUATTRO and PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO......i ended up getting the PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO wheelset because its lighter, quality build and very good bearing....but expensive! Also upgraded whole groupset using latest SHIMANO 105 R7000 and also change cockpit parts to adjust the reach setup. Overall revived my 10 year old road bike with new tech. Did some test ride, the climbing and acceleration was a huge improvement. New R7000 grouppo shift smooth and nice feeling on the shifter hood for small hands. That was the best setup ever made. Below snapshots of my bike build for 2019. Photo: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jan 2 2019, 01:34 PM
2,448 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Jan 1 2019, 04:20 PM) Hey happy 2019!, Congratulations on your new ride!! Latest updates... I didn't get the neither MAVIC model because COSMIC wasn't available and AKSIUM went into factory recall. So my existing choice in the shop was between PROLITE CARBON, FULCRUM QUATTRO and PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO......i ended up getting the PROGRESS PHANTOM TURBINE NITRO wheelset because its lighter, quality build and very good bearing....but expensive! Also upgraded whole groupset using latest SHIMANO 105 R7000 and also change cockpit parts to adjust the reach setup. Overall revived my 10 year old road bike with new tech. Did some test ride, the climbing and acceleration was a huge improvement. New R7000 grouppo shift smooth and nice feeling on the shifter hood for small hands. That was the best setup ever made. Below snapshots of my bike build for 2019. Photo: ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Now get out and ride |
Jan 3 2019, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(summerkw @ Jan 2 2019, 11:10 AM) Revive the bike cost me around RM$4,300 for the critical parts replacement, it was worth it since max out the usage of the bike for 10 years. Hopefully this new setup would last me another 5 years of daily ride. So far so good, feels like different bike right now. QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jan 2 2019, 01:34 PM) Thanks, i've riding daily now to many places and bike picnic since i'm on holiday. Took some photo along the way. ![]() |
Jan 13 2019, 06:55 PM
Should i buy 80mm or just settle with 50/60mm wheel?
Read some discussion on the webs said it will be heavy for 80. What does it means? Im using heavy alu wheels even the 80mm wheels will be lighter than my stock wheels. So it will be lighter for me instead. Or they means heavy to pedal? I dont quite understand. Thanks. Or anyone willing to lend me their 80/60mm wheel would be great! |
Jan 14 2019, 09:45 AM
755 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Back to the Historic |
QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Jan 13 2019, 06:55 PM) Should i buy 80mm or just settle with 50/60mm wheel? dunno much about wheel. but older version of wheel macam high profile heavier to climb hill. also xwind will have impact on higher profileRead some discussion on the webs said it will be heavy for 80. What does it means? Im using heavy alu wheels even the 80mm wheels will be lighter than my stock wheels. So it will be lighter for me instead. Or they means heavy to pedal? I dont quite understand. Thanks. Or anyone willing to lend me their 80/60mm wheel would be great! |
Jan 14 2019, 09:51 AM
2,448 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Jan 13 2019, 06:55 PM) Should i buy 80mm or just settle with 50/60mm wheel? Just settle with a 50/60mm wheels would be good enough for everyday riding Read some discussion on the webs said it will be heavy for 80. What does it means? Im using heavy alu wheels even the 80mm wheels will be lighter than my stock wheels. So it will be lighter for me instead. Or they means heavy to pedal? I dont quite understand. Thanks. Or anyone willing to lend me their 80/60mm wheel would be great! Unless you do time trial races then it would be sensible to get an 80mm.. Happy shopping! |
Jan 14 2019, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(leinnz @ Jan 14 2019, 09:45 AM) dunno much about wheel. but older version of wheel macam high profile heavier to climb hill. also xwind will have impact on higher profile QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Jan 14 2019, 09:51 AM) Just settle with a 50/60mm wheels would be good enough for everyday riding Ya i dont quite understande the concept of ‘heavier’ for climbing. The wheel is lighter than my stock wheel. Will it feel heavier still?Unless you do time trial races then it would be sensible to get an 80mm.. Happy shopping! |
Jan 14 2019, 09:51 PM
5,580 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Jan 14 2019, 09:07 PM) Ya i dont quite understande the concept of ‘heavier’ for climbing. The wheel is lighter than my stock wheel. Will it feel heavier still? As I understand, for climbing it will be always about weight. The more you save the better at climbing. However, know your regular route is important. If you always climb climb climb, take the lightest wheels, you will do better with lighter wheels. To answer you, yes, lighter 80mm weight is better than you stock low profile wheels based on the above situation. Also, put in mind that the same wheels brand should be available in lower profile, such as 50/60mm which is absolutely lighter than 80mm wheels. Hence you perform better in climbing than 50mm, and not losing so much on flat when comparing with 80mm. This post has been edited by Seng_Kiat: Jan 15 2019, 06:17 AM |
Jan 15 2019, 10:01 AM
2,111 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(jaykay4540 @ Jan 14 2019, 09:07 PM) Ya i dont quite understande the concept of ‘heavier’ for climbing. The wheel is lighter than my stock wheel. Will it feel heavier still? If your question is "will it make me climb quicker?" Answer, if living in a vacuum where conditions are all the equal, yesIf your question is "will it make it easier for me to climb" Answer, no If your question is "is the difference perceptible" Answer, if someone says yes, chances are either he/she is lying or he/she is smarting from the purchase |
| Change to: | 0.0344sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:59 PM |