108 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

4k tv under RM3k, Sony or Samsung or LG??

kingz113
post May 28 2019, 02:42 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ May 28 2019, 04:20 PM)
Online purchase or physical store bro?
Desa home theater physical store.
arvind13
post May 28 2019, 03:10 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(kingz113 @ May 28 2019, 02:42 PM)
Desa home theater physical store.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
wira1979
post May 29 2019, 12:42 PM

1,059 posts

Hi All

I'm not sure where to ask this question but this seems the most appropriate thread.

I'm looking at upgrading my current TV to a newer model mostly to see what the fuss 4k is all about. My wishlist:

- below 50" (have got a small condo)
- Android TV (heavy Youtube and Netflix user)
- No budget

What's the best TV that I can get in Malaysia based on the above criteria? Thanks and cheers.

This post has been edited by wira1979: May 29 2019, 12:43 PM
Convael
post May 29 2019, 02:31 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ May 29 2019, 12:42 PM)
Hi All

I'm not sure where to ask this question but this seems the most appropriate thread.

I'm looking at upgrading my current TV to a newer model mostly to see what the fuss 4k is all about. My wishlist:

- below 50" (have got a small condo)
- Android TV (heavy Youtube and Netflix user)
- No budget

What's the best TV that I can get in Malaysia based on the above criteria? Thanks and cheers.
No budget , as in limited spending or no limit on the budget ?

You don't need necessarily need an Android TV for Youtube and Netflix. They are commonly available on smart 4k TV.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 29 2019, 02:31 PM
wira1979
post May 30 2019, 06:20 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ May 29 2019, 02:31 PM)
No budget , as in limited spending or no limit on the budget ?

You don't need necessarily need an Android TV for Youtube and Netflix. They are commonly available on smart 4k TV.
What I meant was that I've got no limit on budget.

Would like the best TV for this size range.
Convael
post May 30 2019, 03:37 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ May 30 2019, 06:20 AM)
What I meant was that I've got no limit on budget.

Would like the best TV for this size range.
If it is possible , stretch for a 55 " instead. 55" is not that much bigger than a 49" / 50".

49" is where many of TV brands are starting to remove features , such as the downgraded refresh rate .

If you can settle down for a 55 " , there is a whole new selection opened up for you , especially when you got the $$$ .
For eg, you can get an OLED which is light years ahead of the most LCD TVs in MY.

If you insist on a 49" / 50 " , you can still get a QLED Q60R from Samsung . Other LCD TV of this bracket simply can't compete with Quantum Dots screen.
But it isn't as good as the QLED or NU8000 from last year. Sadly You don't exactly get many choices for premium TV at this size.

If you dislike Samsung , You can go for a 49" FX700K from Panasonic instead.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 30 2019, 04:04 PM
amirulikhsan90
post May 31 2019, 10:15 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 28 2019, 01:59 PM)
More saving if buying display unit. Once new models come out the display unit will be on very good sales. I bought one SuperUHD (higher end UHD) at 2k discount. Just 1 month short of warranty expiry, unit got faulty. Full refund and got new TV at new introduction discount. So, got new TV at no cost.

Usually the new model has more feature and improved picture quality at lower price compare to older generation.
Was asking around if any store had the model on display and for sale, but sadly none of them actually carry that unit as display. Hopefully I get good luck as you did. Maybe then I have a little extra money to add on to upgrade icon_rolleyes.gif
wira1979
post May 31 2019, 12:55 PM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ May 30 2019, 03:37 PM)
If it is possible , stretch for a 55 "  instead.  55" is not that much bigger than a 49" / 50".

49" is where many of TV brands are starting to remove features , such as the downgraded refresh rate .

If you can settle down for a 55 " , there is a whole new selection opened up for you , especially when you got the $$$ .
For eg,  you can get an OLED which is light years ahead of the most LCD TVs in MY.
If you insist on a 49" / 50 " , you can still get a QLED Q60R from Samsung . Other LCD TV of this bracket simply can't compete with Quantum Dots screen.
But it isn't as good as the QLED or NU8000 from last year.  Sadly You don't exactly get many choices for premium TV at this size.

If you dislike Samsung , You can go for a 49"  FX700K from Panasonic instead.
Thanks for your feedback. I do agree that 55" is where the going gets good. My only issue is that I am currently on 40" at home, so a bit concerned that the jump to 55" will be too much of a stretch. Guess I'll have to bring a measuring tape to the shops to know for sure.

If at 55", the LG C9 looks very tasty. Although I risk being murdered by my wife if she ever finds out the cost of the TV.
Convael
post May 31 2019, 01:30 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(wira1979 @ May 31 2019, 12:55 PM)
Thanks for your feedback. I do agree that 55" is where the going gets good. My only issue is that I am currently on 40" at home, so a bit concerned that the jump to 55" will be too much of a stretch. Guess I'll have to bring a measuring tape to the shops to know for sure.

If at 55", the LG C9 looks very tasty. Although I risk being murdered by my wife if she ever finds out the cost of the TV.
Get a C8 instead . You can get one at below 7K now .
8sg9ft
post May 31 2019, 03:37 PM

blablabla
1,765 posts

Would like to know ur opinion for LG UK6500, Samsung NU7400 and Sony X7500F for 55" Conveal

Note: For parents who almost always watch Astro, bright(ish) and quite wide living room. Just wanna know which would be the better option
Convael
post May 31 2019, 06:53 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(8sg9ft @ May 31 2019, 03:37 PM)
Would like to know ur opinion for LG UK6500, Samsung NU7400 and Sony X7500F for 55" Conveal

Note: For parents who almost always watch Astro, bright(ish) and quite wide living room. Just wanna know which would be the better option
I would get the UK65 if they are not too picky .

Look for a deal where they give you a free LG magic remote .
It makes using the TV a lot more simple and intuitive . WebOS is snappy , sleek and easier to use as well.

kheing
post Jun 1 2019, 10:02 AM

Hi guys,
Looking for some recommendations. Need a 40"-50" TV below RM2k as a wall mounted secondary TV (for bedroom). From the thread, looks like VA is the way to go and currently looking at samsung 43nu7100 and sharp LC45UA6500X. which would you recommend to be a better unit? Or would you recommend something else in that price range. Using it mostly for Netflix and YouTube.

I also read that the nu7100 only supports 2.4GHz but don't seem to be able to find any info on whether the UA6500X supports 5GHz. Anyone knows? And does it really matter for Netflix and YouTube if it doesn't support 5GHz.

TIA!

This post has been edited by kheing: Jun 1 2019, 10:06 AM
the_coxz
post Jun 1 2019, 06:16 PM

52 posts

Im thinking to buy 49” sony x7000f or 49” LG UK6300,
Which 1 u guys think better?
Price tag almost same, rm 1.8.
Thanks in advance 😊

This post has been edited by the_coxz: Jun 1 2019, 06:16 PM
ILV
post Jun 3 2019, 11:33 AM

85 posts

PAN TH55FX600k, price at RM2299, is it a good deal? any advise?
Sorry, if i posted on wrong post...
kheing
post Jun 5 2019, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(kheing @ Jun 1 2019, 10:02 AM)
Hi guys,
Looking for some recommendations. Need a 40"-50" TV below RM2k as a wall mounted secondary TV (for bedroom). From the thread, looks like VA is the way to go and currently looking at samsung 43nu7100 and sharp LC45UA6500X. which would you recommend to be a better unit? Or would you recommend something else in that price range. Using it mostly for Netflix and YouTube.

I also read that the nu7100 only supports 2.4GHz but don't seem to be able to find any info on whether the UA6500X supports 5GHz. Anyone knows? And does it really matter for Netflix and YouTube if it doesn't support 5GHz.

TIA!
Finally decided to go with the 43nu7100 @$1,349. Happy with the performance so far. As the model does not come with bluetooth, i'm trying to find a reasonably priced bluetooth transmitter with spdif support (as the nu7100 doesnt come with 3.5mm support) to connect bluetooth earphones. I have manage to find some on lazada at around RM90 but they are from overseas and without warranty. At digital mall, they selling avantree at RM190. Wondering if any sifu here have bought a reliable BT transmitter with spdif support locally at price below RM100? Also, anyone knows how to switch off the screen on the nu7100 (like when playing music)?

pucksz
post Jun 13 2019, 12:25 AM

Hi sifus,

I am considering changing my TV. I am looking for a UHD TV which will have minimal ghosting for sports - especially football via Astro HD. I have been totally confused by all the different terminologies that brands use to up their Hz rate and promise smooth images. Which brand and model would you recommend? My budget is less than Rm3k. Thank you very much for your time.
Convael
post Jun 13 2019, 08:34 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(the_coxz @ Jun 1 2019, 06:16 PM)
Im thinking to buy 49” sony x7000f or 49” LG UK6300,
Which 1 u guys think better?
Price tag almost same, rm 1.8.
Thanks in advance 😊
x7000f .

QUOTE(ILV @ Jun 3 2019, 11:33 AM)
PAN TH55FX600k, price at RM2299, is it a good deal? any advise?
Sorry, if i posted on wrong post...
55 " 4k display for 2.2k is very reasonable regardless of brands .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 13 2019, 08:36 PM
Snoopycute98
post Jun 14 2019, 08:19 PM

407 posts

Hi, tumpang thread,
any recommendations for 65" 4K HDR (Not fake HDR) TV for under RM5k?

Currently have NU7400 on mind, but parents preferred androidTV.
Joseph Hahn
post Jun 17 2019, 04:50 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Jun 14 2019, 08:19 PM)
Hi, tumpang thread,
any recommendations for 65" 4K HDR (Not fake HDR) TV for under RM5k?

Currently have NU7400 on mind, but parents preferred androidTV.
Since your parents want Android, just go for Sony. There's also Toshiba, TCL & Haier. Sharp is more than 5K. I'm just stating what i found on Google/Lazada. sweat.gif
benblitz
post Jun 17 2019, 06:37 PM

327 posts

Can anyone comment between the two models?
Budget can burst slightly to 4K but as always if can get lower peice the better. Just went to desa home theatre and quoted this price:

Samsung 55NU8000 3,699
LG 55UK7500PTA 2,899

Could not find much information on the LG model but the brightness is quite good. I am fairly new to this HDR scene, but I have been calibrating my display with an i1Pro before so I can somewhat eyeball color accuracy to target 6500K.

Alas, my knowledge on HDR, local dimming etc. is close to zero, need you guys opinion and justification between the two. I have seen @Convael comments is really well informative hopefully can get some insight from you.

Essentially my viewing distance is within 2 to 3 metres, source material is a PS4 Pro and 4K netflix. Does 55" suffice or would need 65"?

Edit: Some background, i am currently using Sony WE75 49" 1080p HDR10 display. It is one of the model that was launched together initially with PS4 Pro. But i do not have any information on this TV model and I no longer have my colorimeter to do measurement. But I doubt that this model is a True HDR10 and I suspect that it may be a Fake HDR without any sort of local dimming whatsoever. If anyone do have any information on this model is welcomed to pitch in. Because as of now though my TV is displaying "HDR" contents, I dont think it produces enough brightness to properly do HDR content justice. Hence would be good if my next TV can at least serve some justice to HDR content with a good price.

This post has been edited by benblitz: Jun 17 2019, 06:47 PM

108 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0295sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:32 PM