11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

4k tv under RM3k, Sony or Samsung or LG??

Convael
post Jan 7 2019, 10:24 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(lavenzo @ Jan 7 2019, 09:22 AM)
I see. Thanks, so I shouldn't get wrong buying from lazada or shopee right? They are like 400~500 cheaper!
For the smaller sizes ( 50 >) , yes .
For bigger sizes (55+) you should probably ask the merchant first .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 7 2019, 10:24 AM
Convael
post Jan 9 2019, 05:51 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Jan 8 2019, 02:59 PM)
TV market share by brands...refer attachment
Only if we are talking about the regular TVs.

In the premium market , LG's signature OLEDs have overtook Samsung's QLEDs as the leading position . Even Sony's premium models have sold more than the so called QLEDs thesedays .

By nature ,the QLED isn't enough of dramatic improvement over the normal LCD compare to the OLEDS.
Which is why Samsung is getting kind of jumpy about their premium models thesedays , because that's the section where they make the biggest profit .

This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 9 2019, 05:53 PM
Convael
post Jan 9 2019, 06:10 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Jan 9 2019, 05:55 PM)
Wow...good to see this!

Samsung's MicroLED panel will give them a boost in future.
Let's see how this new tech consumer TV works.
LG and Sony both have their own Micro-LED panels showcased a while ago . I am pretty sure TCL and Hisense have cooked up something similar .
So the technology isn't exactly exclusive to Samsung .
Convael
post Jan 9 2019, 06:17 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(sidq @ Jan 7 2019, 04:24 PM)
Does anyone know if Sony will bring Netflix Calibrated Mode to mid-range line-up in 2019?
No , only in the premium section such as the master series (AF9 , ZF9 , AG9 ) , AG8 and the upcoming XG95 & XG90 (?)

But it is nothing more than a marketing gimmick by their PR campaigns .
The Netflix calibrated mode simply re-uses the most accurate settings out of the box from TV ( which is the Custom / Cinema Pro mode ) , except it is built into the app and you cannot run any test patterns in it.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 9 2019, 06:18 PM
Convael
post Jan 21 2019, 06:43 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(glycine @ Jan 20 2019, 04:27 PM)
hi, i am checking out tvs for new house, am quite new in tv, have been doing research, but would appreciate for your comments incase you have any experience with the model i am considering,
first of all,
1. My budget ~4k plus not more than 4.5
2. I use my tv for movie (mostly action movie) and gaming (ps4)

Currently considering
1. 55” samsung nu8000
2. 65” kd65x7500f

Personally prefer 65 inch tv, but if nu8000 is better, because of budget, i dont mind reducing to 55”. (65” is 6k plus)
It is better , a lot better especially when it comes to HDR capabilities.

The thing of getting a bigger screen is you get a more immersive experience from the larger screen size filling up your vision.

For most people it would be a tough choice , it will have to come down to if you watch enough HDR content to justify the sacrifice of screen sizes.
And since you have a ps4 which has considerable number of HDR games , You are probably better off with NU8000.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jan 21 2019, 06:47 AM
Convael
post Jan 23 2019, 03:19 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(propnoob @ Jan 21 2019, 01:32 PM)
What about nu8000 vs x8500f? These 2 are more likely to be in the same class, isn't it?
only in terms of pricing , NU8000 is still a much better HDR TV than X8500F .

XF85 is a great choice if you are mostly watching SDR content and sports show.
Convael
post Feb 8 2019, 10:16 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Feb 7 2019, 01:21 PM)
between sony X8500F vs Samsung NU 8000... which one better?

Gonna use TV mainly to watch movie / series / netflix and occasionally, ps4.

is LG 55UK6320 comparable?
Nope , 6320 is the entry level model . NU8000 and XF85 are mid range .
Convael
post Feb 11 2019, 05:04 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(zaFrOoNaLdO @ Feb 8 2019, 06:38 PM)
Ok, now im considering Samsung NU8000 vs LG SK8000.

Are LG tv reliable? Have a friend who bought LG tv few years ago, less than 1 year got problem.. so abit hard for me to consider LG.

But now I'm looking for a tv for myself, LG's price for SK8000 are more attractive compared to NU 8000. So considering LG too.

Any feedback?
The LG is a bit better for user experience , the NU8000 is better for picture performance .
Convael
post Feb 24 2019, 11:48 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(key3hky @ Feb 24 2019, 10:26 AM)
all.. sorry to ask again...between sony 75x8500 and sammy 75nu8000...which one will be a better buy? both are same priced..
They are both Mid-range LCD TVs .

If you are not in rush , probably just wait for the new 2019 models which are going to launch in roughly 2-3 months .

There will be quite a dramatic improvement on the upcoming Full Array Local Dimming system and wider viewing angles on VA panels .

QUOTE(Milano7 @ Feb 20 2019, 12:28 PM)
Dear Sifus, im on a budget and planning to buy a 4k tv by end of this month. But should i wait until the 2019 model be in store first for me to get a chance to buy the older version with a cheaper price?
Again , I expect the Mid range ~ High end ( at least RM 4k and above ) of LED LCD TVs from major brands to get an upswing in 2019 . So if your budget fall within the range , you may want to hold your horse for a just a little longer.

Else the entry level 4k TVs are pretty much going to stay the same as last year , with even less features to save on manufacturing cost as the trend has been continuing for awhile.

This post has been edited by Convael: Feb 28 2019, 09:29 PM
Convael
post Apr 1 2019, 12:55 AM

1,109 posts

Samsung's new QLED TV , Q60R will be available to preorder for less than RM3000 very soon.

Convael
post Apr 1 2019, 12:42 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(khifong @ Apr 1 2019, 11:39 AM)
lazada can preoder ad o 49inch@2999 Q60
Yep I saw that , the ads have gone up quietly during midnight .

RM2999 for a new QLED TV is definitely a new low , especially if you have a pretty small room and don't really need a big TV .

I haven't got the chance to check them out but expect the Q60 to be a slight upgrade over Samsung last year's NU8000 .

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 1 2019, 12:44 PM
Convael
post Apr 3 2019, 03:17 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Apr 2 2019, 07:18 PM)
would the subsequent launch price be lower than the pre-order price? say about 6 months after.

and right now are there TVs to benchmark it against?
Probably , this is effectively a 40% discount .

Its closest competitor is last year NU8000 and Q6FN , the latter which is overpriced and find itself struggling to find a place among the sea of TVs.

The Q60R is probably a bit of an upgrade over the two , but conservatively we are to expect very a similar performance between Q6FN and NU8000.
NU8000 was the best mid-range LCD TV in Malaysia but then it is only available in 55 " and above . This is the first time a Quantum Dots TV is available in 49 " .

Again I will have to reserve my judgement until I've actually seen them .
As for the other brands , they have basically given up on the mid range market.

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 3 2019, 03:18 PM
Convael
post Apr 5 2019, 03:32 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Apr 5 2019, 12:50 PM)
I see. Im skeptical about the processor though, wonder if it's as good as Sony X1 Processor

Since most of my content will be in native 720p and 1080p
define " good " ?
Convael
post Apr 6 2019, 04:41 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(helob @ Apr 6 2019, 12:34 PM)
Tomorrow will be the last day for the offer of RM2,999 .
Did you get a chance to check out the QA4960R?
Looks very tempting with RM2000.00 discount.
Would appreciate any feedback from those who bought the QA4960R.
Thank You
Not , they are not yet available here .

Samsung is to maintain a certain level of PQ ratings with their QLED models , so the Q60R should at the very least pack some of those impressive quality from its bigger brothers , like excellent color coverage and decent HDR .

The main trade off is , the Q60R does not has full array local dimming like Q70R, Q80R and Q90R .

Should also be noted the 49 " version does not support VRR / Freesync if you are a gamer.

QUOTE(latios507 @ Apr 5 2019, 08:10 PM)
The image looks smooth without too much distortion/weird/unnatural after upscaling
This has more to do with the upscaling algorithm , rather than processor power . Sony is known for their proprietary dual database image enhancing procedure , Samsung and LG are also joining the trend this year in which they called it " AI Upscaling " . According to Samsung the Q60R will also utilize AI upscaling .

Just remember TV is no miracle device , 720p content is not going to look good on a 4k screen regardless of how amazing the upscaling is.

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 8 2019, 10:11 PM
Convael
post Apr 7 2019, 03:38 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(freeman1 @ Apr 7 2019, 03:06 PM)
Samsung QLED or Sony OLED
this is topic for 4k tv under 3k smile.gif , there is a QLED VS OLED thread you will find more info there

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 7 2019, 03:56 PM
Convael
post Apr 8 2019, 12:53 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(rhendy87 @ Apr 8 2019, 12:44 PM)
im a bit of dillema.

should i pick Samsung Q6F 49" or LG Sk 8000.im oriented towers the samsung because the colour seems better.But the 49"panel only have 60Hz.Its not 120Hz panel.

and the LG SK8000 55" are having a promotions which almost the same price as the 49" Q6F.

any opinions are appreciated.
Pick up the Q60R instead.
Convael
post Apr 8 2019, 04:35 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(rhendy87 @ Apr 8 2019, 01:04 PM)
whats the diffrence Q60R and Q6F?seems that the Q60R is more expensive.There are too many of these TV jargons which confuse the hell out of me.
Q60R is the 2019's entry lvl QLED . The preorder price is still 2999 on LAZ , did you manage to find a Q6FN cheaper than that ?

The 49 " Q60R has a 100/120hz panel , but without the support of Free-sync and VRR .

Rting's review of the unit is up here for those who care about the measurement and numbers.

Correction : the whole Q60R line up has a 100/120 hz refresh rate but the specific size of 49" only has a maximum of 50/60hz refresh rate .

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Apr 8 2019, 12:52 PM)
But personally i feel my 42inch 6 years old LG LM6700 picture quality way better compare current 4k tv.. hahaha.. i dont know is that because bigger inch tv breaks more pixels so the quality.
Anyone here own NU8000 ?

Well if you are only running low res and highly compressed content, obviously there aren't going to be much difference .
Try running some demo from here , look for those which are marked " HDR ".

This post has been edited by Convael: Jul 8 2019, 03:58 AM
Convael
post May 10 2019, 12:14 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 10 2019, 10:20 AM)
Seems people emphasize so much about contrasts, brightness .....

I have a old Toshiba 40" TV in my room, it is so bloody bright and high contrast, until I have to dim it to a much lower level for the comfort of my eyes.

That has nothing to do with the native contrast of the TV we are casually talking about in this forum , a.k.a the pendulum that swings from the deepest black to the brightest possible part of the screen.

The contrast settings you see from the TV menu is merely expanding the white and black levels , at the cost of blowing out the whites and crushing the black details . It does not make the TV brighter . (or darker)

A TV that is able to produce high level of brightness , does not mean it is always going to stay at the same level of dazzling luminance.
It means the TV is able to better showcase highlights and brighter colors , enabling them to " pop " out of the screen . It shouldn't have caused so much discomfort to your eyes but to give you a sense of realism from the picture.

The small light bulb can emit 3000 cd/m2 of brightness and most TV can only do 300 cd/m2 . If your TV remains uniformly bright most of the time , it is sign of poor backplane management/malfunction.

In most cases , the IPS and VA TV share the same level of maximum brightness .

The reason why IPS TV are so far behind is because it produces crappy black levels , caused by the uneven shape of screen pixel which makes it difficult to cover up LED backlight . The black you saw on LCD TV is not true black , it is a deeper shades of gray.

*But if your room is decently lit , there is no need to dwell between the two because you will not notice the difference of black levels between VA & IPS in a bright room.
The same reason we have been telling people you cannot tell Picture quality on a TV just by going to the store unless they are to let you turn oFF the lights .

As of today (2019) , Contrast rating is still generally considered by professional as the most important factor in determining picture quality of TVs.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 10 2019, 12:33 PM
Convael
post May 13 2019, 04:27 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ May 13 2019, 03:35 PM)
Hi guys, 

Just sharing a good TV comparison website which I stumbled upon for those interested in getting new TV's.

There's a table comparison as well from the low end to the high end TV models from all the popular brands such as SAMSUNG, SHARP, LG, SONY which could be useful before deciding your next TV.    thumbsup.gif
[attachmentid=10245702]
[Example of LG TV comparisons: https://www.flatpanelshd.com/article.php?su...l&id=1523522612]
Chart is wrong , UK6500 is not a WRGB TV

wRGB is not the same as RGBW . The UK6500 is neither .
Convael
post May 19 2019, 09:37 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Leroi2x @ May 19 2019, 09:14 PM)
Bro,i see ur comments
Seems like you are super pro at tv

Could you give me some recommend on below
Looking for a big screen tv for my parent as they are old ,donwant them sit too near the tv

Maybe 60-65 inch?
Prefer UHD , 4k ?
But i looking for busget within 3k-3.5k

Thanks in advance bro
There is no reason not to get a 4k TV right now especially if you expect the TV to last more than 2 years .

At your budget you can get This for $3499 or This for $3399 . The Sony TV is a little bit brighter but I don't think your parent will notice the difference under normal viewing environment.

Of course , you don't have to buy from these two specific merchant and I am not affiliated with them , I merely link them for price reference.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 19 2019, 09:40 PM

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0741sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:50 AM