QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 4 2019, 12:06 AM)
Yes because you have to install additional hardware on the LED Array , be it full array or Edge lit .4k tv under RM3k, Sony or Samsung or LG??
4k tv under RM3k, Sony or Samsung or LG??
Sep 4 2019, 04:30 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
1,109 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Sep 6 2019, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(kskoay @ Sep 6 2019, 07:18 AM) saw this in Panasonic website about the gx800...does it mean gx800 only have HDCP1.4 but not 2.2? =.= It would be foolish of them to advertise something that doesn't work right out of the box . The majority of 4K Blu-ray discs require HDCP2.2 on TV to play back HDR, whereas the HDMI input on this TV support only HDCP1.4; accordingly not all HDR contents are guaranteed to be enjoyed on the TV. HDR10 (technicolor included ) , HDR10+ , Dolby Vision and HLG pretty much made up for 99% of the HDR content on the market . All of them are verified to be working on this TV. Their specification sheets have also listed this specific TV model have HDCP 2.2 compliant ports , the little note at bottom serve more as a precaution of sorts . Here are some pictures of the TV playing 4K HDR game on PS4 pro ( which require HDCP 2.2 COMPLIANT HDMI ports) . » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 6 2019, 08:20 PM |
Sep 6 2019, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(lotter92 @ Sep 6 2019, 05:20 PM) Hi sifoo. Get the newer Sony X7000G instead , just released 2 months ago.Looking for 55" 4k tv around 2k. I've found a deal of Samsung nu7100 at 2.1k and Sony X7000f at 2k. Which one should I go for? I've read Samsung has better contrast due to it's VA panel but Sony has better color? Thanks in advance. |
Sep 8 2019, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(kskoay @ Sep 7 2019, 12:41 AM) Nice! Are you using this tv? Any comment or input? Currently I’m looking at lg sm9000, Sony x8500g and Panasonic gx800, I think lg is the most expensive among them...oled will out out of topic because I don’t want burnin issue... Thanks again I don't own the TV but I got a chance to tinker around the TV thanks to a generous friend .The SM9000 is obviously , quite a bit better than both XG85 and GX800 ( especially in dark room ) because it features a full array local dimming system . I think GX800 is the new sweet spot for mid range TV in Malaysia atm since NU8000 has been discontinued . It is decently bright ( 400-500 nits ++) , very natural ( and most importantly , Accurate ) color reproduction among the TVs in this price range . Supporting both HDR10+ and Dolby Vision is also a plus . You will not find any better TV at this price range beside NU8000 or when Q70R / Q75R getting a massive discount , not in Malaysia at least . This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 17 2019, 06:04 PM |
Sep 8 2019, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(daigoking @ Sep 7 2019, 09:29 PM) I think yes, I just found out X8000G different with X7000G is Android TV vs Smart TV. Different seem around RM500. Should I go with X8000G? X8000G is the successor of the not so well received X8000E back from Sony's 2017 release . Or that is others different between this 2 model? There aren't much difference between the two since Sony is being generous with their basic TV model this year , except for a few minor features like X8000G has bluetooth support , X8000g has 4 HDMI ports while X70G has 3 . |
Sep 17 2019, 05:54 PM
A downgrade from a peak brightness of 800 nits (nu8000) to the typical modern TV level of 300 nits (ru8000) is actually very significant due to the removal of local dimming system .
Avoid at all cost imo , either wait for the massive discount on Q75R or go for Panasonic's GX800 instead . This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 17 2019, 05:55 PM |
Sep 17 2019, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(PandaBoo21 @ Sep 17 2019, 05:54 PM) Hmm... ya...depends also...hope not worst will do... as i might going to purchase before 30 Sep bro In other words , it is just a 2019 version of the X8000E models which I have been telling people to stay away a long while ago . https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sony/x800g High input latency , cheap typical brightness , 60hz panel ... seriously Sony you can do better . If you are buying X8000G , save yourself some money and get a X7000G instead , which is cheaper and free yourself from the Sony Android OS disaster , then spend the saved $$$ for a TV box. QUOTE(SamD @ Sep 17 2019, 01:08 PM) Ugh , no . Get the A9F instead , which is cheaper and actually has more rams .This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 17 2019, 06:09 PM |
Sep 19 2019, 05:51 AM
QUOTE(suikod3n @ Sep 19 2019, 12:47 AM) Hi guys, Among the bunch , X7000G .Need some advice and recommendation for a 49/50 inch TV. My budget around 2.2k and cheaper will be better Mostly used for console gaming, casual movie and youtube. So far I found these at about same price range, looking for the best one. - UA50NU7090KXXM - UA49RU7300KXXM - KD49X7000G - 49UM7290PTD Unlike pc parts, Smart TV reviews are hard to find and confusing Thanks in advance |
Sep 24 2019, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Sep 23 2019, 01:32 PM) The basic spec of the TV remains unchanged , even if they have swapped the VA screen for IPS .People have been a bit too paranoid about the worse contrast rating of IPS around these corners lately . I consider myself having an eagle eye when it comes to display screens , even so it is difficult for me to distinguish the difference between an IPS and VA in a decently bright room just by looking at the contrast ratings . ( beside the viewing angles , of course ) So to reiterate , IPS TV is fine if you are going to use the TV as a living room TV where it is usually lit and bright . QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Sep 23 2019, 01:37 PM) Hi convael, among 55" RU8000 (RM3880) vs 55" GX800 (RM3700) Panasonic is all about accuracy , they do not add any flavoring on top of the already excellent picture quality on their TV .which one is superior ? All sam non QLED tvs using so called UHD processor, is this superior to HCX in pana? This can put them below the competition at times , because when people compare their TV with another brand , for eg Samsung which is known to pump out oversaturated picture with much of artificial sharpening , they (Panasonic ) come out at the bottom . In the AV scenes , accuracy of the display is a crucial aspect . When you apply too much post processing onto playing content , it will alter and changes the atmosphere of the movie / pictures and often lead to negative side effects . All I can tell you is , GX800 is a very accurate TV especially for the price tag . It is as accurate as those OLED TV where people pay a premium price for , which is saying a lot for an LCD TV . This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 24 2019, 11:20 PM |
Sep 28 2019, 06:54 AM
QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Sep 28 2019, 12:20 AM) IPS panels have nothing to do with the brightness of the TV.The one I measured was at 440 nits [L20 test pattern]before calibration , out of the box . That is nothing to write home about as GX800 are not very bright TVs . There are of course panel variance in play since these are mass production models (-+100 nits) Sony entry level models can hit these numbers as well . These numbers are toned down a little in calibrator's review because they have calibrated the TV to more accurate settings. This post has been edited by Convael: Sep 28 2019, 07:14 AM |
Sep 29 2019, 01:03 AM
Oct 3 2019, 10:18 AM
GX800 in Malaysia is a cosmetic variant of the GX900 models from Europe & German . Notice the silver bezels and the TV stands .
Unfortunately all Panasonic LCD TVs this year seems to be locked to 60hz refresh rate and 8bit + RFC panels , regardless of the numbers they put on their spec sheets . I guess they must have paid a crap load of money to obtain the Dolby Vision license and has to make the cost cutting else where. This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 3 2019, 10:22 AM |
Oct 8 2019, 09:29 AM
Oct 8 2019, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(Archibeard @ Oct 8 2019, 01:53 PM) Sifu @convael @ruzaini88 what do you think about LG SM8100? Senheng currently selling 49inch model RM2999. Is the TV good? A watered down version of last year's SK8000 and the new UM8600 , with downgraded processor , refresh rate reduced to 50/60hz and using 8bit + FRC to achieve 10 bit colors instead of native 10 bit panels . Also not compatible with Dolby Vision . Other than that , not very much of a difference . RM2999 for a Nano Cell IPS TV is decent but if you really want to save some money , might as well get the Sony X7000G instead . Overall this LG TV is better designed than the Sony's XG70 though. This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 8 2019, 04:01 PM |
Oct 8 2019, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(imchin123 @ Oct 8 2019, 03:37 PM) Not really , X7000G is the new batch of models which are using LG 's IPS display while the X7500F is using Sharp LCD ( which has no WCG ).QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Oct 8 2019, 03:27 PM) Nope , most mid range TVs are still depending on 8 bits + FRC (frame rate control ) to achieve the dithering effects of 10 bits . I am unsure which is the cheapest but the Sony X8500G and X8500F seem to be running on native 10 bits panel . I doubt most people can tell the difference though as the FRC techniques are very matured thesedays . This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 8 2019, 04:01 PM |
Oct 13 2019, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(imchin123 @ Oct 13 2019, 01:02 AM) For sony 8000g compare with samsung is 7100 or 7400? Where do you see that ?just now go harveynorman the promoter told me 8000g is midle spec, 7100 is low spec, but 7100 price still higher than sony 8000g and he recommend me dont take android tv because lag. RU7100 price X8000G price I don't know where did you dig up your price , clearly the official retailing price disagree with you . This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 13 2019, 03:17 PM |
Oct 13 2019, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(Punish @ Oct 13 2019, 06:56 PM) I dont exactly sure why the needs of higher refresh rates...bcuz many expert setting gonna disable the soap opera effect anyway....so basicly the 120hz is disable right.. Because 120 hz native panels can adapt to the playback of 24p movies (which is what typical movies are mastered at ) , resulting in a 5 : 5 pull down for much reduced motion blurs .60 hz TV on the other hand can't ( because 60 isn't divisible by 24 perfectly ) and causing the TV to enter into the slower 3:2 pull down and more apparent judders . This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 13 2019, 08:44 PM |
Oct 14 2019, 04:56 AM
QUOTE(imchin123 @ Oct 13 2019, 10:34 PM) lol, the price is diffence i see at courts, Yea right ... courts , absolutely reliable place to buy your TV . 65 8000g is Rm 3999 65 ru7100 is Rm 4199 if dont compare with the price with model u recommend? I recommend neither , unless you are super tight on budget or you don't mind throwing half of the money into the drain. There is literally no reason to get X8000G over X7000G unless you are looking for 1 more HDMI port . Either top up more for the XG85 / XF85 or save some money with XG70. This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 14 2019, 09:51 AM |
Oct 14 2019, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(Punish @ Oct 14 2019, 11:33 AM) The entry sony x7000g and x8000g both have triluminos which mean wcg support....while the ru7100 dont...yes its ips but its not that bad plus you got better viewing angle..somemore cheap VA does not looks good...it tend to go whitish even at slightest off angle.. That is the unfortunately the weakness of all VA screens , black levels and colors fade away drastically when viewed off-axis . This will happen to IPS TV as well but to a much less severe degree.Even the high praise NU8000 not free from this whitish issue at slight angle... [attachmentid=10334614] They have got some new VA panels that are imbued with wide viewing optical layers such as the Sony's XG95 & Samsung's Q90R and Q900R but even those aren't working perfectly and comes at a cost of sacrificing contrast. If you want the best from both worlds you will have to opt for the OLEDs which are much more expensive . Normally for living room which is usually bright and lit , an IPS TV isn't so bad because you can hardly notice the degradation of black levels in these environment. It is only when you are planning to put it in a dim room like your private bedroom or in a more cinematic environment the native contrast of the TV become more important . RU7100 is basically the castrated version of the basic 4k TV model with plethora of features removed ( hence the " castrated version " ) , where Samsung has been cutting cost every year. Always opt for the slightly pricier 7400 ( be it NU7400 or RU7400 ) . This post has been edited by Convael: Oct 14 2019, 01:56 PM |
Oct 18 2019, 10:47 PM
| Change to: | 0.0667sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:05 AM |