I want to see the xelnaga though.
RTS Starcraft 2, New Units with Video and Explanation.
May 20 2007, 01:50 PM
1,137 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
I want to see the xelnaga though.
May 20 2007, 01:52 PM
1,780 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere |
May 20 2007, 01:54 PM
4,852 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 20 2007, 01:50 PM) Me too.I have never seen them except that Xel Naga building in SC:BR.QUOTE(SeaGates @ May 20 2007, 01:52 PM) They'll probably appear as non-playable race in SC2. It would be cheating if you can use the Xel'naga. Playing the 'God' in any RTS games is just like typing cheat code With proper balance,Xel Naga will be balanced and fun to play with or against. |
May 20 2007, 02:01 PM
1,780 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere |
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 20 2007, 01:54 PM) Me too.I have never seen them except that Xel Naga building in SC:BR. The protoss temple on Auir is a Xel'naga creation as well.With proper balance,Xel Naga will be balanced and fun to play with or against. And with proper balance, a.k.a. weakening of Xel'naga to be played with. They lose their status as God. A bit lowly for the ancient race that created the Zerg and whorshipped by the Protoss don't you think? Or maybe they'll expand the idea where Protoss used the temple on Shakura to destroy the Zerg by allowing us to use some leftover artifacts by the Xel'Naga in the campaign mode. |
May 20 2007, 02:04 PM
3 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Here are the latest updates and features from StarCraft2.com:
New Units:
Updated Units:
Gone:
May 20 2007, 02:06 PM
137 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 20 2007, 01:43 PM) The main thing is they shouldn't have make the heroes much stronger than the normal units.Active or Passive spells doesn't matter much if the heroes arent overpower in the first place. i agree......i think there shouldnt be any heroes in SC2 as SC has always been about the army and not about heroes appearing in every battle........the reason why DOW heroes are so successful is because the battles were always land battles and heroes always played a support role......however SC2 always been about engaging large armies lead by the player. there is no need for heroes to be around just for cameo sake or for bragging rights........SC2 should not have any heroes.......if they want to make it good........let them do it in the gameplay and give a game that is as good looking and great playing as DOW or COH....... Make great gameplay than adding heroes for popularity sake...... QUOTE(SeaGates @ May 20 2007, 01:49 PM) Active spells that attacks unit is what make Heroes in WC3 that powerful. Not to mention how much element in WC3 is focused on Heroes. Even the upkeep system in WC3 is indirectly forcing player to use heroes as massing units become inefficient. Still it takes balance....if that was forsaken like WC3 then its worthless.....besides the reason why there was heroes in the first place for warcraft 3 is because the stories in warcraft 3 ever since the first installment was about heroes and how they lead their armies......it was inevitable that heroes will make an appearance in warcraft 3........What I mean is they should only make heroes act as 'catalyst' in a fleet. Heroes can't go alone fighting, and a strong army can't be efficient without a hero nearby. They plays a big role in skirmishes but only if they're backed up by a properly managed fleet. |
May 20 2007, 02:23 PM
4,852 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
@Laibeus Lord
I think another old unit that is gone could be Protoss Shuttle,since it's replaced by Phase Prism which functions similarly to Shuttle. I could be wrong. |
May 20 2007, 02:32 PM
393 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Wangsa Maju, KL |
QUOTE(chapree @ May 19 2007, 08:57 PM) QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ May 19 2007, 11:45 PM) I do hope one day Blizzard does make one CG movie, can challenge FinalFantasy...heheh Dude, they're making a Warcraft CGI movie right now n they want it to be LotR epic type. |
May 20 2007, 02:33 PM
913 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: The Dupes Heaven; Expire: Oct 2077 |
wow..sauce please..about the Warcraft CGI.
May 20 2007, 02:41 PM
16 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kajang/Cyberjaya/KL |
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 20 2007, 02:23 PM) @Laibeus Lord I thought phase prism is more like arbiter's recall ability, no?I think another old unit that is gone could be Protoss Shuttle,since it's replaced by Phase Prism which functions similarly to Shuttle. I could be wrong. But with the Nydus Worm around, i'm expecting Nydus Canal is gone too... This post has been edited by revivar: May 20 2007, 02:45 PM |
May 20 2007, 02:47 PM
2,538 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Bharu |
May 20 2007, 03:03 PM
3 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 20 2007, 02:23 PM) @Laibeus Lord I think another old unit that is gone could be Protoss Shuttle,since it's replaced by Phase Prism which functions similarly to Shuttle. I could be wrong. QUOTE(revivar @ May 20 2007, 02:41 PM) I thought phase prism is more like arbiter's recall ability, no? Yep, we're actually thinking the same thing... me and my friends discussing about it. Though its hard to tell if the Protoss Shuttle was replaced by the Protoss Phase Prism.. it does appear to have replaced instead the Protoss Arbiter.But with the Nydus Worm around, i'm expecting Nydus Canal is gone too... And the Nydus Canal seems to be replaced by Nydus Worm. What do you think guys? You think it to be so? If it is, then I'll include it in the list |
May 20 2007, 03:24 PM
937 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: malaka |
i do hope they provide heroes system, but just don too overpower..lol
May 20 2007, 03:31 PM
393 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Wangsa Maju, KL |
First, let's clear things off.
Defense of the Aeons was borned from Starcraft, with 3 lanes n heroes as well. When WC3 was released, the 3 lane map got ported thr and has since been maintained thr. For DotA noobs, DotA is in ver 6, what DotA 2? Go f**k urself, u call urself DotA players? DotA is not an RTS n u need zero micro to play. If u play DotA n think u're a pro gamer, u should laugh at urself. DotA doesn't require much skills compared with RTS. I play DotA because i suck at micro/macro-ing in RTS. All DotA players are the same. I love RTS, but what to do, no talent. Some fans will bring the 3 lanes map to SC2, whether it's good or not depends on the mapmaker. Whether they does it or not, who gives a damn unless u're a DotA players. It'll never even be 1/10 as good as the SC2. Why cry foul over an ultimately inferior n "for noobs" map? DotA = CS And we all know, RTS owns DotA n HL2 owns CS. This is a SC2 thread, make ur own "DotA bashing", "DotA in SC2 please" thread. Nydus Worm? Zerg stealth transport? I'm hoping for less units with more skills? More tactical, not for Zergs though, they just rush. Can't micro good enough. |
May 20 2007, 04:05 PM
1,651 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(H4RRY @ May 20 2007, 03:31 PM) First, let's clear things off. maybe dota fans waiting for SC2 custom map SOTA....Defense of the Aeons was borned from Starcraft, with 3 lanes n heroes as well. When WC3 was released, the 3 lane map got ported thr and has since been maintained thr. For DotA noobs, DotA is in ver 6, what DotA 2? Go f**k urself, u call urself DotA players? DotA is not an RTS n u need zero micro to play. If u play DotA n think u're a pro gamer, u should laugh at urself. DotA doesn't require much skills compared with RTS. I play DotA because i suck at micro/macro-ing in RTS. All DotA players are the same. I love RTS, but what to do, no talent. Some fans will bring the 3 lanes map to SC2, whether it's good or not depends on the mapmaker. Whether they does it or not, who gives a damn unless u're a DotA players. It'll never even be 1/10 as good as the SC2. Why cry foul over an ultimately inferior n "for noobs" map? DotA = CS And we all know, RTS owns DotA n HL2 owns CS. This is a SC2 thread, make ur own "DotA bashing", "DotA in SC2 please" thread. Nydus Worm? Zerg stealth transport? I'm hoping for less units with more skills? More tactical, not for Zergs though, they just rush. Can't micro good enough. sigh... hopefully SC2 wont be like WC3...all play dota..if SC2 all play SOTA..all also gone case |
May 20 2007, 04:16 PM
2,265 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Damansara |
weheee, its been 9 years....
the graphic improvement just like from 2D to 3D... still looks cartoonish but it worth yeah... |
May 20 2007, 04:23 PM
1,137 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 20 2007, 01:54 PM) Me too.I have never seen them except that Xel Naga building in SC:BR. I think the xelnaga would join the protoss if anything happensWith proper balance,Xel Naga will be balanced and fun to play with or against. QUOTE(SeaGates @ May 20 2007, 02:01 PM) The protoss temple on Auir is a Xel'naga creation as well. If your read the starcraft book the xelnaga scients was annhilated by the zergs after creating them. At least the scientists were.And with proper balance, a.k.a. weakening of Xel'naga to be played with. They lose their status as God. A bit lowly for the ancient race that created the Zerg and whorshipped by the Protoss don't you think? Or maybe they'll expand the idea where Protoss used the temple on Shakura to destroy the Zerg by allowing us to use some leftover artifacts by the Xel'Naga in the campaign mode. QUOTE(Hunt @ May 20 2007, 02:06 PM) i agree......i think there shouldnt be any heroes in SC2 as SC has always been about the army and not about heroes appearing in every battle........the reason why DOW heroes are so successful is because the battles were always land battles and heroes always played a support role...... I doubt there will be heros, even in the demo there were no heros.however SC2 always been about engaging large armies lead by the player. there is no need for heroes to be around just for cameo sake or for bragging rights........SC2 should not have any heroes.......if they want to make it good........let them do it in the gameplay and give a game that is as good looking and great playing as DOW or COH....... Make great gameplay than adding heroes for popularity sake...... Still it takes balance....if that was forsaken like WC3 then its worthless.....besides the reason why there was heroes in the first place for warcraft 3 is because the stories in warcraft 3 ever since the first installment was about heroes and how they lead their armies......it was inevitable that heroes will make an appearance in warcraft 3........ |
May 20 2007, 04:27 PM
2,690 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang/ Kuala Lumpur |
gosh so many SC2 fanboys...
dun jz bash other games cause u are a fanboy... COH is an awesome game which relies on your interaction with the environment... CNC3 is super in terms of large armies due to no population limit (more to my type)... |
May 20 2007, 04:33 PM
2,265 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Damansara |
but i still like all blizzard game since warcraft1 ... it's more simple and fun to play tho
May 20 2007, 04:34 PM
1,190 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Defense of the Aeons lol. Good way to feed false information, newjack.
The very idea came from Aeons of Strife, not Defense of the Aeons, which was what inspired Eul's DotA and eventually DotA:AS. |
| Change to: | 0.0276sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:59 AM |