8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

TSyadea
post Mar 11 2019, 10:36 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Mar 11 2019, 08:09 AM)
I usually pour a bottle of it everytime after 10k service interval. All fuel already hv detergent in it. It's just that this product is more concentrated & i added it every 10k to serve as a preventive maintenance to clean existing carbon deposits & minimize any future build-up.

U might also wanna consider revving ur engine hard once in a while. It is a method which they coined it as "Italian tuneup" & it's what the technicians in Ferrari do after each service maintenance to rid carbons. The key is to rev ur engine hard & get it hot enough to naturally burn off those carbons.
Just curious since I drive a manual, how to keep the auto on high revs for a long time? Switch to L and drive?
TSyadea
post Mar 19 2019, 04:40 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Mar 15 2019, 09:44 AM)
But 110km/h @ 3400rpm?  rclxub.gif
3.4k RPM unlikely as I remember the CVT and MT is roughly the same.

QUOTE(shafiqm @ Mar 18 2019, 01:15 PM)
My HU already sent to penang 5 times and still having problem of GPS and Bluetooth.. after 3 years still not resolved, now they said the warranty is finished.. WTH!!!
Should be able to still get them to followup as u can say each time u come service they fail to repair it.

TSyadea
post Mar 25 2019, 12:41 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Mar 20 2019, 02:24 PM)
Anyone thought of low pressure bolt-on forced induction on a CVT iriz? The car's handling is great, but the powerhouse is underpowered IMO.
Agreed its under powered.

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Mar 20 2019, 02:58 PM)
Mine is a 1.3 liter. According to the spec from proton, it is producing 120 Nm of torque. But datasheet from Punch indicates that VT2 can handle up to 186 Nm. Assuming that i boost it @ 0.5 bar, logically it won't exceed 186 Nm, right? I'm not familiar with forced induction. Hopefully someone can advise.
Even with a 30% torque increase(#bersangka baik) with 0.5 bar it will only be 15xNM extra which is still within a safe limit. Why not stroke to 1.6 instead where it will be cheaper and you will get 150 NM(based on specs of 1.6) NA vehicle instead(#TheresNoReplacementForDisplacement)? Its cheaper(from what I heard it would cost 3k+) instead of turbo where a proper setup would cost >10k.

QUOTE(annas473 @ Mar 20 2019, 05:17 PM)
How much u get for a supercharger?
I remember last time gcarcare quoted me 5500 for installation with supercharger and 5000-6000 for monsoon with tuning. 6k just for haltech not including tuning.
TSyadea
post Mar 28 2019, 10:27 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(coldfeet @ Mar 27 2019, 04:47 PM)
Hey, I'm planning to buy 2nd hand Iriz. what is the things that I need to check up on the car as in common problem with Iriz?
Service history most important. It will tell u how the owner takes care of the cars internals. Next is bodywork for dents, scratches. Frame for signs of repairs, engine for fluid leakages. Exhaust during cold start and after test drive for abnormal smoke colour. Lastly test drive to know if theres something off with the car.

TSyadea
post May 14 2019, 07:14 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ May 13 2019, 01:19 PM)
Can i know how many times this happened to you?

My friend booked new Iriz, so suprised when reading here, proton still have power window issue.
Power window problems are very rare nowadays on protons.
TSyadea
post May 28 2019, 11:46 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ May 16 2019, 03:22 PM)
Try running the GPS on the HU and see the speed there...
If it is the same as your speedo, means they are talking somewhere somehow...
Not accurate in fuelly.com as there are now 3 versions of Iriz, the original, the black top and the FL. All of which have different ECU & TCU tunings...  sweat.gif
Shouldnt have much difference. On Fuelly also its ranging from 11-13km/l.

QUOTE(azyune @ May 17 2019, 06:07 PM)
Anyone have tried to use obd2 scanner successfully? I bought one but failed to even connect to bluetooth sad.gif
Im using ELM327 Mini model paired with torque pro.

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ May 21 2019, 01:08 PM)
My power steering suddenly went out while I was driving, the steering wheel warning light is on, need full force to turn the wheel.

lucky enough I'm at slow lane and manage to turn slightly to stop at emergency lane.

I restart my car and the power steering is back to normal.  hmm.gif

What could be the problem?
Maybe random glitch? Sometimes I start my car without doing the 2 step and I have my airbag light on.

TSyadea
post Jun 7 2019, 12:09 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(orochifj @ May 29 2019, 03:14 PM)
any 1 from johor have trustable tint shop?

havent get my iriz, wanna do some research 1st.

the salesman says free tint... or take voucher...
I think free tinting means shop just send anywhere to get it tinted. Voucher i think is Lumar tint voucher worth rm500 or rm800(around that range) but u gotta find shop and sendiri pasang. Extras u pay urself.

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 30 2019, 09:48 AM)
anyone feel the brake is a little bit linear or its just me? sometime when slower speed, step little bit the brake sudden brake alot. not much problem in high speed though.
Thought for proton its like that? Soft for comfort harder cuz more urgent. Just a matter of getting used to it. After a while the leg will adjust and no sudden braking.
TSyadea
post Jul 14 2019, 11:51 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Elf71 @ Jul 12 2019, 09:33 AM)
Read the above message. It seems 1.6MT is having quite good fuel consumption.

Just curious, why Proton VVT engine has such a high rpm during idling which can contribute high fuel consumption when driving in heavy traffic condition.
QUOTE(Elf71 @ Jul 12 2019, 11:42 AM)
Warming up is about 1200rpm.

After warming up, it is nearly 900rpm, maintain about same idling rpm at N, D or with air condition kick in.
I consider 900rpm to be good enough. Like kllam said, Iriz is a heavy car so city driving is gonna hurt ur fc.

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 14 2019, 10:32 AM)
hi sifus ??

amy remove key signal from your cars ???

i keep getting even when i remove the keys ???
Better send to sc since urs is unique case.

This post has been edited by yadea: Jul 14 2019, 11:53 AM
TSyadea
post Aug 12 2019, 12:25 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(HarshRalf @ Aug 6 2019, 11:14 AM)
Hi There, new Owner here. Owned the new Iriz 2019 STD MT and just did my first 1000km service. Coming from a 2008 Proton Savvy MT.

Here is my quick pros and cons:
Pros:
1) Solid doors.
2) Well insulated cabin. Pretty quiet from below until the door panel height.
3) Great color. Mine is Ocean Blue.
4) The ride and handling feel is great. Pretty much the same as my Old Savvy but the quietness and comfort is one or two notch above.
5) Great visibility. Not to much obstruction to vision.
6) Cool air conditioning. I rarely use blower more than level 2.
7) Light clutch pedal. This is great coming from a really hard Savvy Clutch but this is due to lack of lubrication maybe.

Cons:
1) Sensors are quite delayed. Can't rely on sensors too much or you will bump into something first before knowing.
2) Acceleration and deceleration is quite sluggish for city drive. Need to press accelerate a bit more(I'm kind of a light footer) and quite aggressive engine braking when you let off a bit on the gas pedal. Maybe this is a VVT engine characteristic that I'm not used to.
3) Gear knob placement is quite off for me for a MT gear knob placement. Also the shifting through gears while on the move is not so smooth as i usually face a bit of difficulty shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear.
4) Side windows are too thin maybe. Most of the noise that enters the cabin usually from the windows. I often reach for my power window button thinking i did not roll up the windows completely.
5) Noisy stock tires. This is a bit of a compromise maybe to keep the price low.

Overall quite happy with my decision of purchasing this car. Easily the best bang for buck for hatchback city cars. biggrin.gif
1st gen Iriz was using overly sensitive reverse sensors that they detect paranormal activity. It was a silent recall where if customers complained about it, they will replace it foc.

As for the acceleration, Iriz is a heavy car hence u need more power off the line. What I normally do if I need to get off the line fast is pre-rev slightly then release the clutch(not necessarily immediate but u get the feel of it).

Noisy stock tyres, replace those silverstones. Initially they gave the Silverstone M3/M5 which was noisy as heck, lack grip, wheel spinning in the wet and after about 10k-15k its even worst. Just switch to something quieter and within your budget.

QUOTE(HarshRalf @ Aug 7 2019, 10:31 PM)
3.1-3.2k-ish if I'm not mistaken. But increasing speed while in 5th gear from 80/90km/h to 110km/h is quite hard, I have to press gas pedal 3/4 or more to see the speedometer climb to 110km/h.
Iriz manual uses a decreasing ratio percentage until 5th where the ratio percentage difference increases. 5th is more for cruising or slight acceleration. If heavier acceleration or lane switching, best drop to 3rd/4th gear. 3rd gear redlines at about 120km/h.
TSyadea
post Aug 17 2019, 03:12 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Aug 16 2019, 04:56 PM)
Just took my car, RM63 for alignment.

I didn't get to see the error code, it's not written on my receipt.

My steering wheel is noticeable lighter now.

UPDATE: Test drive around, they did a shitty alignment job, my steering is straight but car swirling to the right a little.  doh.gif
For me any tyre related issues, I'll send to king of rims in shah alam because they have done my car twice already and happy with their alignment and balancing jobs

TSyadea
post Sep 19 2019, 12:29 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Sep 17 2019, 05:04 PM)
Guys, do you able to turn your steering wheel like this with minimum effort?

I think my steering wheel still has the same problem, my steering wheel is heavy to turn, it is impossible to turn my wheel with 1 hand.
I call it roti canai technique. Yes mine can.

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Sep 18 2019, 06:00 PM)
1.5-2k rpm is low...go try Genting/Menora tunnel...4k rpm min...  doh.gif
It is disengage while you press the accelerator, which is dangerous if you descending Genting/Menora tunnel...
I guess u people just not used to hearing engine braking. If I go down genting and hear 4k+ its normal for me. This is actually good as it minimizes brake usage so u dont have brake fade going downhill like genting or karak.
TSyadea
post Oct 1 2019, 10:53 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Sep 21 2019, 10:17 AM)
My car usually drop 1 bar after 90~100km.
On normal driving my 1st bar drops after 13x km.

QUOTE(EatFriesEggs @ Sep 21 2019, 11:01 AM)
it would be more of a day to day to office kind of car.. looks like can't buy proton yet then, my gripe of it has always been its engine and gearbox
Transmission is clutch based. Just follow standard clutch based transmission guidelines and u'll be fine. Don't creep for too long. Don't inch forward just because the car in front inched forward. Just prevent the clutch from slipping as much as possible.

QUOTE(HarshRalf @ Sep 26 2019, 09:30 AM)
I think you should just find any key shop nearby that can do remote car keys. If they also cannot then maybe can only ask from Proton.
1.6 can accelerate a bit faster which really helps because iriz have quite a heavy body. 1.3 theoretically will save a bit of fuel if driven in same gear and same RPM as 1.6 but acceleration and horsepower will be lower. If you have the budget and you need that extra bit of kick go for the 1.6, if it don't really matter and you're fine with slower acceleration and power then can go for 1.3. If coming from a hybrid car there will be quite a big difference for FC.
I drive the 1.3 but tested the 1.6. Huge power difference. Car with 5 people I can climb my office parking ramp at 2nd without lugging the engine while 1.3 gotta do it in 1st.

Hypermiling theory is heavy acceleration to reach cruising speed asap. This of course is easily achievable with the 1.6 but what im most impressed with is when cruising at 5th, u hardly need to step on the gas to maintain speed.

From my comparison, FC is about the same for both cars but the 1.6 is still running in so the car is never tested with high rpm scenarios and expect the FC to improve slightly after more mileage on the odo.

QUOTE(hawk1lo @ Sep 26 2019, 10:47 AM)
How bout some values like km/l or L/100km so we can make some comparison? typically around 6-8 L/100km for a normal drive. I own a 1.3 MT version and hope i had a 1.6 instead coz u cant go fast when u got low spec but can go slow when u got high spec lol
i remember i read somewhere that 1.6 has better FC than 1.3, something like due to less time it took to reach a cruising speed for the 1.6 thus better FC.
Main issue is the weight of the car. I regretted assuming acceleration will be the same as my old 1.3 1st gen saga when i bought this car. Really should have gone for the 1.6 MT especially since my driving style has changed to heavy acceleration as compared to last time.
TSyadea
post Oct 2 2019, 10:04 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Oct 1 2019, 11:52 AM)
Gear ratio for 1.3.MT is bad. Sluggish acceleration, unless you floor it.
I would say its more like Proton was cheaping out by having the same ratios for both 1.3 and 1.6 but then again I'm actually quite happy with the cruising RPM. Since accelerating is difficult so no choice but to drop gear and floor it. Only issue is I'm not very confident overtaking lorries and such at mountain roads because I don't know how much distance I need to overtake before the next turn.
TSyadea
post Oct 3 2019, 12:26 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 2 2019, 07:16 PM)
Yup.

On top of that, I also change my radiator coolant for RM33.

They told me my radiator is already rusting, they recommend me to change a new one, which cost about RM1200++.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I was told by my mechanic that mine is rusting also. Friend of mine recommended me to change to aluminum one.

QUOTE(HarshRalf @ Oct 3 2019, 09:50 AM)
Radiator flush should clear out the rust if your car is only 3 years old. My previous Savvy haven't even changed the radiator iirc and that thing is 11 years old already. If its already a bad rust probably they installed a bad radiator out of the assembly because coolant should already have anti-rust properties.
But normally people will just add tap water when the level drops.
TSyadea
post Oct 8 2019, 11:27 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Oct 7 2019, 09:48 PM)
Bad stuff:
1) Those shitty tyres from the factory has got to go! Can't believe how many time VSC has kicked in when I'm taking an exit from the highway shakehead.gif
How about me. Doing a 90 turn out of a junction and im wheel spinning when i start moving from a stop. Didnt hard accelerate. Road was after rain. No puddles. Stock Silverstone M3.
TSyadea
post Oct 10 2019, 02:55 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 9 2019, 09:57 PM)
Just now I let my car idle for about 5mins and I notice weird smell coming out from my car hood, and there is steam coming out from the radiator cap.

I just changed my coolant last week, is this normal?

There is no sign of engine overheat, only 3 bars.

I really cannot catch a break, problem keep popping for my car.
Probably radiator cap not sealing properly.

QUOTE(Xcal @ Oct 10 2019, 07:20 AM)
Another question, after service how do we know they really change the oil? Usually outside workshop I can see them do hmm
Check the oil using dipstick. Should be very clean compared to before servicing. Can also ask for the oil balance also. Normally theres balance. If u dont ask they probably will pour into a container and change their own car oil using those balance.
TSyadea
post Oct 11 2019, 03:59 PM

127 posts

Guys, do let me know if theres any threads/guides which have been shared here which you feel is important to add to the first page.
TSyadea
post Oct 16 2019, 03:12 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Oct 16 2019, 02:38 PM)
Tell me about it; I went to 3 Proton dealers to ask for a test drive car for the Iriz, only 1 had it at the time. Best part, none of them actually knew about the cars in a technical sense. For one of them, it was their first time trying out the 60:40 backseat when I asked them to show it. It was so weird.
Sadly the quality of sales people are dropping nowadays. All chasing commission but don't know shit about the car. Ask a bit of technical questions straight dunno how to answer.
TSyadea
post Oct 17 2019, 11:20 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Oct 17 2019, 10:44 AM)
Reason? hmm.gif
CNY discounts + last year stock clearance discounts rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by yadea: Oct 17 2019, 11:21 AM
TSyadea
post Oct 22 2019, 11:53 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(xEDynamics @ Oct 18 2019, 09:38 AM)
Sorry, I mean the brake pedal. Need to press so far.
Proton brakes tend to be spongy. Light presses hardly have any feeling for comfort. Only deeper presses then can feel the braking.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:14 PM