8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

TSyadea
post Jun 30 2020, 11:46 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Jun 29 2020, 07:00 PM)
Could this be possibly checked with OBD scanner? The brake system is quite complex & involves many components. Like u said, could be handbrake switch issue. There could also be the braking assist system, drum brakes, a faulty relay or faulty sensor on brake master cylinder. There r too many possibilities. Of course, I'd prefer to rectify it without too many trials and errors. Need to save bucks.
No, obd will not be able to detect as the switch is probably not connected to ecu.

You could try this test to diagnose:
Stop the car on a hill/slope. Gear in neutral and release handbrake.
If car starts sliding and light is still on then could be just faulty switch.
If car starts sliding but theres like resistance and light is on could be that brake isnt fully releasing. Get it checked immediately.

TSyadea
post Jul 8 2020, 07:29 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(prismful @ Jul 7 2020, 09:47 PM)
Mine bought on Oct 2019. Got unresolved rattling sound inside steering and driver's door panel. The sound come out rarely and hard to issue a complaint.
Still can send in a complain. Mine I still have rattling inside steering but I ignore it.
TSyadea
post Jul 16 2020, 10:36 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jul 15 2020, 03:29 PM)
Anyone’s steering start to have some free play now? I can notice it on high speeds. My car is 5.5 yrs old and mileage 75k only.
Nope, mine still like virgin.

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jul 15 2020, 04:43 PM)
can i walk in cose to ask to check my clutch? need step multiple time only can start. just completed my service last month there.
Normally need to make an appointment but I'd recommend u call in and inform them saying its after ur last service at their place when this happened.
TSyadea
post Jul 17 2020, 11:03 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jul 16 2020, 12:27 PM)
Doesn’t work!

I sent my Iriz there for warranty on front wheel bearing, got the car has brake screeching when apply brakes, turn back to feedback also the front desk & SA insist not their doing because change wheel bearing doesn’t touch the brakes...

Not until I go after the front office manyzer that the car was reluctantly brought for a ‘test drive’ and back in after an hour...which then the workshop manyzer apologise for overlooking the reinstall of the brakes after another hour of waiting...

The front reception & SA never even apologise and yet still insist no need to ‘touch’ the brakes when changing wheel bearing when I collected the car...
This is the case of them not knowing how the job is done hence brushing off the issues. Nowadays I go to Regal PJ to service. So far ok but I dont like them filling all 4L of EO into the car. I will tell them off before I let them start. First time send my car there the gasket couldnt take the pressure and EO went flying all over in my car.
TSyadea
post Jul 22 2020, 07:11 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jul 22 2020, 05:22 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5000365

Anyone brave enough to buy and transplant?
Buy both turbo and EV and make turbo hybrid cool2.gif
TSyadea
post Jul 23 2020, 06:46 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Jul 23 2020, 08:47 AM)
Never really hear stories of modified Iriz with turbo.

Only know this guy: https://careta.my/article/nampak-mudah-tapi...on-turbo-beliau

and he says it's difficult
There are quite a number of people who have done that. Mostly low profile unless u see an intercooler in their car. Even the Saga VVT also has been turbo-ed already.
TSyadea
post Jul 27 2020, 03:02 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Jul 24 2020, 10:44 AM)
Very cool, man. Thanks for the link.

Do you know if changing the bulbs to LED will void the warranty? It's something that's been on my mind. The new bulbs are 36W bulbs (rated 60W), while the outgoing ones will be 55W bulbs. I was told that they should work perfectly fine with the car's requirements.

Here's a link to them: https://www.amazon.com/TECHMAX-Headlight-Ex...n/dp/B07CBRXTT6

Thanks again.
If its just a matter of swapping bulbs it doesnt void as its just plug and play and doesnt affect wiring etc. Also its wear and tear item.

Proton is unlike a certain car company where if u increase the tyres width(eg 195 -> 205) it will void warranty doh.gif

QUOTE(vewership @ Jul 26 2020, 07:20 PM)
Hi all,

So I'm trying to learn as much as I can to slowly add mods to my car. I posted earlier about changing the lights bulbs to LED, and everyone was really helpful. Thanks for that.

Now I'm looking at future mods, making a wish list to be exact, to add incrementally more serious mods. Right now I'm looking at changing the wheels to 16" and new tyres at 205/45. After doing some research I have found some wheels I really like, and they seem cheap and cheerful: Enkei RPF1.

Now I'm how I will know they will fit. As far as I can tell looking at the specs, they should. They're 16x7" 4x114.3 mm. The offset is +43 for this model. But I don't know if that's too much. The standard one is +46 from what I gather. Anyone can help me here?

Plus, big debate in head over coilovers or just lowering springs. Lowering springs seem ridiculously cheap and effective for what I want to do with it, but there's a question of whether coilovers are better bang for your buck in the long term. If so for either, what would you recommend? I've found Eibach lowering springs online that seem to do the job but there's little information about it.

Many thanks guys for replies!
Regarding LED, from my experience, depending on your model. Older Iriz batches comes with projector which has a cutoff so that it doesnt shine too high up. I sat in a new iriz recently where the owner installed some super bright LEDS. Since new model uses standard reflector, it was very glaring and driving down the straights, you can see the sign boards above reflecting the lights from the LEDs. If this is the case, probably can get brighter halogens such as night breakers which improves visibility by a bit but not pain in the ass to those people driving in front of you.

16's maybe a bit too large for Iriz unless you need the space for upgrading rear drums to disc. Also dont forget to factor in the cost of tyres and upgrading the tyre size will affect acceleration and braking distance.

Coilovers offer better control over your car as lowering springs can bounce out of its holder(eg: when going over a pothole) which is dangerous due to the long factory strut from what i heard. Coilovers also can provide extra features such as high low and for more expensive ones soft hard which may be beneficial for adjusting ride height and amount of dampening especially when the car is gonna be used as a daily and/or you carrying passengers around.
TSyadea
post Jul 27 2020, 07:20 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Jul 27 2020, 03:48 PM)
Thanks man for the advice. Especially on the LEDs. They come with their own cable to attach to the body, and I just couldn't understand why that would affect the warranty. It's just a power thing. I'm not rewiring anything at all. But knowing this has made it easier for me to choose to apply these when they arrive.

As for the wheels, the 16" ones should not affect the speedo much or at all. At most it will change by 1kph or 0.58 kph, which is acceptable. The only thing now is finding the RPF1s for the car - people have fake ones and some have real ones. I had to message Enkei Malaysia and they e been amazingly helpful in helping me find someone who can. They're pretty pricey but I suppose that's the point of getting good set rather than knockoffs. Once in a while expenditure, I guess. Plus long term it's better grip and fuel economy, too.

Yep, coilovers are there as a plan. Looking at the car you can tell it is really high up. Not that it's a problem but there is some body roll and I would like to lower it enough that it sits better and drags less over the long term. Plus it looks more like a spotty hatchback than a tall SUV/Crossover.

Cheers, guys. Any other recommendations would be great. Right now I'm trying to list our good wheels for 205/45R16. If anyone has recommendations would be appreciated!
Yes, it doesnt affect warranty but some people put those drl + signal light LEDs which requires some wiring modifications for the small light which of course voids warranty.

Enkei Malaysia is very helpful. Hopefully, wouldnt be a problem for u getting em. Which region are u in?

Other recommendations will be good lock nuts so ur car rims are harder to steal and since you're getting good rim, get good tyres as well. Those will be a good starting modification.
TSyadea
post Aug 3 2020, 12:40 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Aug 3 2020, 12:28 PM)
Guys, my A/C has s strong odor coming out from the vent.
What's the best way to clean the A/C system?
Some people will put a bag of charcoal on top of the air filter. Some put scent on top.
TSyadea
post Aug 4 2020, 10:08 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Aug 4 2020, 08:46 AM)
Even authorized workshop does this sad.gif
Some do. Important to get the list of parts repaired and replaced from the insurance and go thru. I can rule out the Reg al Body and paint shop at sunway. Crappy repair work, possibly curi parts from other peoples car to replace customers one when they complain. Some parts never arrive for customers(eg: proton badge). So hard to get meh until customer wait until buy the badge themselves.
TSyadea
post Aug 5 2020, 02:50 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(budakmaran @ Aug 5 2020, 02:35 AM)
They didn't mention touch up / paint..only said finishing wont be good..

btw, anyone now if iriz 1.3 rear bumper can fit 1.6?  Suppose to be fit right?
Should be just plug and play iinm.

QUOTE(Jiao2 Itchy @ Aug 5 2020, 09:16 AM)
Yeah, 60k and 120k.

Every 30k is nuts. Thats like 300-400 ringgit additional.
Not about cost but about they feel that gb is delicate and maybe the way the drive.
TSyadea
post Aug 6 2020, 02:01 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Jiao2 Itchy @ Aug 5 2020, 03:51 PM)
then its fundamentally flawed GB already that you need to babysit the GB by changing cvt oil + cvt oil filter every 30k instead of 60k..
and even then, it's not a sure fix that prevents it from failing. it's only "precaution"..

thats like double the cost.. and its CVT as well. which in itself is already more than double the cost of maintaining a regular AT gearbox..

and i heard new iriz the GB warranty only 3 years now?  doh.gif  doh.gif
Yes, its just as a precaution. I dont't drive the cvt but i think if you drive without much clutch slipping or heavy accelerations from stop then the cvt's clutch should last.
TSyadea
post Aug 14 2020, 05:19 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Aug 11 2020, 06:33 PM)
Hey guys,

So I just got my first service done at Regal 4S in PJ today. I mentioned all the problems with the squeaking sounds, jerky accelerator, etc. They fixed it all. Especially for the jerkiness they had a tune for the gearbox and it was done. No more jerkiness. They even advised I just use 95 rather than 97, but we'll see. Highly recommend it there. Though do not go for the car wash. They scratched the roof of my car with something and it now has deep grooves. I'm gonna have to get a claybar and fix it now. But oh well, apart from that at least they fixed the issues quick.

Hope this helps.
Their service is good but I dont like the fact that simple things like engine oil they cant even do it properly. What I mean is that their SA told me the protocol is empty the old oil then fill around half a bottle of oil, run the engine to circulate the oil then pour ALL the balance of the engine oil in. I told them off their supposed to FOLLOW THE DIP STICK not empty the whole bottle inside. Told them also its stated around 3.75L supposed to be filled inside according to the manual. They still insist its correct. I told them to follow Proton protocol and return the balance oil to me. First time I sent my car to them, I had to come back to replace the gasket as engine oil was coming out all over from of my engine. Dip stick shows the oil level was higher than the max level.
TSyadea
post Aug 17 2020, 11:09 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(vewership @ Aug 15 2020, 08:49 PM)
I did not notice that but I did forget to ask them to give me the bottle of oil! Damn it. While I was there I watched them fill my car and mess with the stuff. They seemed to do it right as far as I could tell but I'm new to this so I could have gotten shafted. They scratched the roof of my car but placing their laptop on top of it which is annoying me really... But the SA who helped me was really good - his name is Amar Singh. A bit chatty but at least it helped. They replaced my gasket and everything - paid 230 for that first service.
Try checking your dip stick. Take it out and wipe the oil off. Push it back in all the way then remove it and see if the level is above the MAX line.
TSyadea
post Aug 18 2020, 02:23 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(judymtb @ Aug 18 2020, 08:43 AM)
never expected this to come off first  sweat.gif
Ganas shifting devil.gif

QUOTE(botak91 @ Aug 18 2020, 10:35 AM)
My Iriz has a unique (I think) problem. Occasionally, it takes a long crank to start. I would either have to keep cranking for a few seconds or stop and try a second time, and each time the engine will slowly come to life. This does not usually start from a cold start i.e. at home, but on the journey back home i.e. in a shopping mall or roadside parking. Two Proton shops have struggled to figure it out, one of them cleaned out the throttle body (what is this) and it seemed to help but the problem came back (I'm not sure that it helped in the first place). He has since suggested that I change my battery since the Century battery model that I have is 350cca (?) but the standard Proton is 430cca. Really need help on this!
Mine too has this problem(2014 batch). Sometimes it cranks and engine revs are weak like hovering ar 400-500+ then dies off or sometimes i will press the throttle a bit then it will be back to normal. From what I heard from someone, the new iriz uses a different starter motor thats why it doesnt have any problem.
TSyadea
post Aug 19 2020, 11:30 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Aug 18 2020, 02:31 PM)
CoSE informed it is RON issue...try RON97 for a week, that issue will should disappear...worked for me that is...

It could be battery as well...but this happened to me before when jump starting with a proper jump start machine, so maybe not this for my Iriz.

Else, turn the key to let the fuel pump and all to prime, step on the accelerator pedal a few times then only turn the key to start...seems to work for me too...
I always twist the key to on the electronics first for a while then turn to crank. Doesnt help. Now using higher cca battery also same.
TSyadea
post Aug 20 2020, 05:05 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Aug 19 2020, 02:41 PM)
Did you try stepping on the accelerator pedal a few times then start?
No.

QUOTE(arief_jezza @ Aug 20 2020, 09:06 AM)
Anyone? If its easy gonna diy it but if its hard, then might just need to wait till October for next service
No idea but i have attached what the assembly looks like on the inside.

TSyadea
post Aug 23 2020, 11:06 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(RazrV3 @ Aug 22 2020, 09:06 PM)
Hi guys, I'm having a problem choosing either a Iriz or Myvi, I love the look of Iriz but my wife are more concern on the maintenance & 2nd hand value..
Can someone actually tell me how Iriz in terms of performance/maintenance in the long run as I'm looking at a 9 years loan tenure..
A simple search for iriz vs myvi maintenance cost shows hardly any difference in maintenance cost.

I dont understand the point of 2nd hand value unless you dont intend to keep the car for long. That said you mentioned u are taking a 9 year loan hence by the time you have finished your 9 years, either car would have greatly devalued or should you intend to sell either car before the 9 years is over you probably still dont get enough to repay the bank and will need to fork out the extra yourself.
TSyadea
post Sep 3 2020, 11:16 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(shebbycs @ Sep 2 2020, 10:53 PM)
what is ta bro?
TA = traffic announcement. For more info please check the radio manual.
TSyadea
post Sep 4 2020, 10:59 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(botak91 @ Sep 4 2020, 10:15 AM)
Hrm, this is an expensive fix. Did we have the same problem and isn't the Iriz manufactured to work on RON95? I'd like to know more about CoSE's recommendation.
Iriz was made for RON95 minimum. Even if COSE say use 97 will solve the problem, for me thats an unacceptable answer.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.1285sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:23 PM