8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

TSyadea
post Sep 17 2020, 04:24 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(prismful @ Sep 16 2020, 07:46 AM)
Hi. Im driving 2019 Iriz. Got issue where my steering wheel got sound when I take cornering at low speed. Who got the same problem?

Also, the driver's door panel rattles, went to SC, but seems unfixed
I have the steering wheel sound. Never solved despite complaining often during service so i just live with it.

QUOTE(Jescon @ Sep 16 2020, 11:55 AM)
Mine got sound when i turn the steering a little at low speed... Like drive shaft joints issue.

Door panel... Maybe can try what some others have suggested, put electrical tape at the door latch area - that metal piece which the door latches to when you close it. But it can be other things, finding rattles is one by one troubleshooting. Haha

Right now my major one is the spoiler
Spoiler vibrates a lot making a lot of noise. Some people added sponge or soft materials but dont think it helps to solve it.

QUOTE(indran1412 @ Sep 17 2020, 12:08 AM)
Hi guys. I have the 2020 iriz. I have a weird problem where my head unit will randomly restart while I'm driving. It happens very randomly, either if I'm using radio or bluetooth or just turned it off(clock).

Went to service centre atiara Johan Puchong last month. They updated the software and promised me it won't happen again. It didn't, for 3 weeks and then it started happening again.  I'm going to schedule another appointment again.

I want to know if this is a known issue? Do I need to request to have my head unit replaced?

If I change the head unit, thinking of android auto one, will it void my warranty?
Sounds like same problem as persona. Sitting in persona suddenly the HU will randomly restart. Me as passenger also shocked especially since the "booting" sound is very loud.
TSyadea
post Sep 24 2020, 10:42 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Evirober @ Sep 23 2020, 07:45 PM)
Hi Guys, Need your advice on this.
Today my car did something weird.
My car was on an incline and I stoped my car before making a turn (Manual)
When I accelerate my car seems like the brakes wont let go. Like the hill assist is not letting my car move. My car stalled restarted then put more gas then it moved slowly then was okay. Anyone else facing this problem ? Thanks
Had this problem 2-3 times throughout 5 years ownership. Solution is to release the gas, brake then gas again it will release. When pressing the brakes it will be hard due to HHA.
TSyadea
post Sep 29 2020, 11:00 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Evirober @ Sep 25 2020, 10:50 AM)
Thanks for the tip. You said had this problem did you find a solution or sold the car? Thanks
I still have my car. I will assume that the HHA glitched out. No solution other than what i said.

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Sep 27 2020, 04:34 PM)
Test drive unit proton iriz really responsive and can easily reach 140km/hr..
but after bought the  iriz for almost 10 month.... still cannot reach the test drive unit response...... mileage just reach 10k km.
Few factors may play a role in this.
1) number of people in the car.
2) using lower pressure in tyres(SC's probably use quite high pressure so they dont have to repump the tyres often). High pressure = lower rolling resistant = faster acceleration.
3) Could SC be using diff spec for test drive? eg: At SC u drive 1.6 but u bought a 1.3 currently(forgive me as idk what model ur driving).

QUOTE(Jescon @ Sep 27 2020, 08:24 PM)
quite a few things can cause the car to be sluggish... 1) type of engine oil, 2) transmission oil need to change, 3) clogged up intake filters, 4) carbon deposits, 5) spark plugs, 6) etc.

so, it's a bit difficult to answer these type of questions sometimes  laugh.gif
He said car only 10k mileage so point 1,2,3,4 are not valid. 5 only if got faulty spark plug and that will make the car quite powerless from what i understand.

QUOTE(clarkblitz @ Sep 28 2020, 03:28 PM)
Guys, any SC got stock for brake switch? My car will have this sudden loss of power thingy for a few times. Went to SC for clutch adaption, still the same.
Need to let go of the petrol pedal, then depress again.
Sometimes it will happen few times during driving, sometimes none at all
Anyone encounter such issue before?
Not sure whats causing the sudden power loss and dont think it relates to brake switch as from what I understand thats only used during engine start. Only time i know when sudden power loss is someone who used aftermarket ECU. ECU had problems communicating with TCU resulting in the CVT's clutch disengaging hence rpm go up car doesnt accelerate.
TSyadea
post Oct 2 2020, 05:05 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(rageLE @ Oct 2 2020, 01:42 PM)
hi sifus, would like to ask recommendations for tyres for iriz 1.3, idk much bout the terms used but some option for sub rm250 and sub rm200 would be deeply appreciated. currently looking at xm2 and researching price online. main concern is safety on dry and wet road.
Please let us know ur driving style and current rim size as it may help us to properly recommend you choices.
TSyadea
post Oct 2 2020, 05:08 PM

127 posts

Also we have a whatsapp group for some smaller or faster discussions.
PM me ur details to be added.
TSyadea
post Oct 3 2020, 02:03 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 3 2020, 09:06 AM)
looking to downgrade from 195/55R15 to 185/55R15

good move? seems like less choice at this size

Dunlop D06
Goodyear Assurance Triplemax 2
Toyo Proxes TR1

Looking for queiter tire compared to current Kumho PS31

Any recommendation?

Iriz 1.3 CVT
Driving style: medium hard cornering ocassionally..no touge
Downgrading to that will give less side wall compared to a 185/60. Medium hard cornering should be fine for TR1 based on word of mouth and driving styles of those I know who fitted them on.

QUOTE(rageLE @ Oct 3 2020, 12:18 PM)
not sure bout driving style but normal city driving with occasional speeding to change lane? , looked at my tire 175/65 R14 so im assuming size 14?
For normal city driving, this size should be fine. I cant say much for this size but avoid brands such as Silverstone(loses grip fast) and Falken(well, the tyre thread may last but not the tyre itself). I've fitten on Toyo NE3 while I was still on 14's but I didnt keep em for long and eventually passed it down to my dad's saga after I upgraded to 15's. Dry grip is good. Wet not so if ur going fast. Fish tailed once during one of my drives but it was due to driving fast into a long sweeping corner then sharper turn at the end of the corner and road was wet(Dont think there was any water patches).
TSyadea
post Oct 17 2020, 07:14 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(heavy rain @ Oct 15 2020, 06:08 PM)
Hello. Hi

Anyone using gab or ftuned cls spring on their iriz?

Can share how the comfort compare to standard spring? Thanks  biggrin.gif
I know someone using CLS springs. He said make sure to have good absorbers else the ride will be awful.
TSyadea
post Oct 18 2020, 12:20 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(heavy rain @ Oct 17 2020, 10:16 PM)
Oh....how about the standard absorbers?

Im changing to a new absorbers from proton, so thinking of changing to a lowered spring, since im also using R3 sport rim
CLS is meant to work with stock absorbers. As long as their in good condition, they should work well with each other.

TSyadea
post Mar 8 2021, 10:36 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Mar 3 2021, 09:56 AM)
Anyone using aftermarket drop in filter for their IRIZ? Can the filter nicely fit ?
Heard works doesnt fit well. KNN does.
TSyadea
post Apr 20 2021, 01:09 AM

127 posts

I dont think its as simple as plug and play for changing to keyless.
TSyadea
post Apr 21 2021, 11:05 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Apr 20 2021, 10:28 AM)
hi, want to ask what tyre are you guys using?

almost time to tukar mine, want to get some opinion.

saw the dunlop sport j5 advertised it having good wet grip, any comments on this tyre? please intro any other budget friendly options if ada. arigatosss
Using the same tyre as other people may not give you the same result. Best to mention other info such as rim size, driving styles and optional, budget.
TSyadea
post May 27 2021, 09:29 PM

127 posts

Regarding 95 vs 97 theres no right and wrong answer of which to choose but 97 is more difficult to detonate which prevents the "knocking" from cars such as those with very high engine compression. However our Iriz only uses standard engine compression ratio and doesnt get any benefits from 97 nor suffer from engine knocking. Since RON 95 burns easily compared to 97 its more efficient and we will get better mileage and performance compared to 97.
Paultan - Saga RON 95 vs 97 test
IMoney - Myvi RON 95 vs 97 dyno test

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ May 26 2021, 06:13 PM)
Tldr. Basically the punch cvt is not reliable for turbo engine. 3 of my friends who own Preve cfe claimed new gb under warranty and proceed selling it cz not confident if it will ok after that in long run. No issues so far for NA engine. And there are lots more preve user last time waiting for warranty approval at proton hq. Majority with cfe.

I know the punch cvt is the worst cvt ever eventhough the Q&A look amazing to read. Try using others cvt and u can see why.
Example, other cvt able to cruise highway at low rev due to cvt but us, almost like 4 gear torque converter rpm level.
I think the most common important thing is taking care of the cvt belt and clutch. I know initially when proton first adapted the cvt it was extremely jerky as if the clutch doesnt do any modulating but just remains either engaged or not. Also doesnt help that malaysians like to go heavy on the throttle. With Honda or Nissan CVT, they use a torque converter instead of a clutch which makes it smooth and I guess it sends less torque to the belt immediately(due to power loss from torque converter). Newer Iriz/Persona have quite smooth CVT's already which is a blessing to many.
TSyadea
post Oct 4 2021, 04:23 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Wafi Aziz @ Oct 1 2021, 09:24 AM)
Hi everyone.
I'm using Iriz 2019. Lately this gear console is rattling and it's starting to annoy me. Anyone have this problems and have diy solutions to this?

My suspect is the glossy black plastic because when I press it down, it stops rattling.

Just bring to SC and ask them to look into it. Probably they will add some form of padding to stop it from rattling.
TSyadea
post Oct 5 2021, 10:40 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Wafi Aziz @ Oct 5 2021, 09:58 AM)
Will they entertain me if i had opened it before?
Don't mention it. For older Iriz, we have this IP kit(iinm thats the name) to reduce sounds from the dashboard area. Its free. Just go in and tell them ur plastic trim at the gear is rattling at what conditions.
TSyadea
post Oct 14 2021, 11:17 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Oct 14 2021, 07:33 PM)
Hi, anyone knows whether the new Iriz 2019 rear bumper can be fitted on Iriz 2014? Is it PnP?
Ive seen 1 car with it.
TSyadea
post Dec 9 2021, 08:26 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Dec 7 2021, 11:32 PM)
Just place a booking for 1.3 standard model. Planning to add a spoiler on it, but I don't want the ori looking spoiler. Wondering any of you have installed some universal spoiler from shopee?
I think theres people who have fitted the Jazz and Swift spoilers. Theres also people with custom gt wings on.

QUOTE(Koranshita @ Dec 9 2021, 11:08 AM)
hi guy~ new to iriz.. anyone owner driving iriz more than 5y without major issue?

only use for commute work and short distance drive
No major issues since 2015 here.
TSyadea
post Dec 15 2021, 09:14 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Perla @ Dec 13 2021, 02:51 PM)
Yup. Bought it in 2015, then registered here, later on forgot password laugh.gif
But I have been using the car only for work, mileage is still low.
I'm thinking of selling it, considering for Yaris or City Hatchback, but I'm a bit hesitant. hmm.gif

I have noticed the plastic parts on the dashboard particularly the aircond vents has gone faded.
Probably because the car is mostly parked under the sun  sweat.gif
Yaris may seem like a good choice due to plenty of features. Not sure about the new city thou.

My AC vents didnt fade but change to more greenish. Heard many have this problem and its due to the supplier manufacturing issue.
TSyadea
post Jan 5 2022, 10:24 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(abxy @ Jan 3 2022, 10:51 AM)
i am owner of 6 weeks old iriz 1.6 exec and liked everything else about this car except for 1 concern. The inner door handle, the 1 we pull to open the door, it seems a little thin and does not look strong. I always wondered if it will break if i pull or bend it more forcefully or during emergencies. Anyone else has the same thoughts or concern?
If you mean the handle as in to pull the door close, so far no issues with it. Same with door latch to open the door.

QUOTE(judymtb @ Jan 4 2022, 10:32 AM)
... fixed the noise at steering rack (i think) when slow turn - seemed like service centre is aware of this issue, or maybe a common issue??? i dunno.  cos even before i finished my sentence he cut me off saying, "oh ya ya..ada bunyi ok" and he put down 'truk truk' sound in the service form. 
It is common issue.
TSyadea
post Jan 8 2022, 09:01 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Jan 8 2022, 04:54 PM)
First time went to Senaxis just now, chose it due to good review. My manual gearbox transmission oil was due for replacement. They charge me 3 units of "Manual Gear Oil FLX" at RM69.62/unit = RM 208.86.

However, later I checked on Proton's website and found it's supposed to be RM139.26 only (meaning 2 units). Did they just charge me unnecessary extra 1 unit?

Could it be the extra 1 unit is to cover the labour charge for transmission oil? Though it'd be weird as it should be under labour charges. Only changed transmission oil and normal engine oil. The labour charge was RM80 for this and labelled as "major service". I'm asking cos I'm not sure what the labour charge should actually be for this. Thanks.
Best contact them to clarify.
TSyadea
post Jan 29 2022, 03:59 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(botak91 @ Jan 23 2022, 12:06 AM)
I have a similar problem, is there any fix? Also what do you call the plastic cap for the cigarette lighter? I lost mine and want to get a replacement
I left mine as it is. For the plastic cap. I dont use it because I always have an adapter plugged in. Can try searching shopee as the design should be universal.

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jan 25 2022, 11:03 PM)
The fix is to bring to shop to get it resprayed. The whole part can be removed
Guess it could be a diy job for me post cny.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.1045sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:50 AM