MilesAndMore
post Aug 11 2009, 01:13 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cosmoboy @ Aug 11 2009, 12:18 AM)
Hi Everyone,

Im new to debit card and paypal. Im using NexG Card~ i registered my paypal account and already verified my account. Paypal had refunded $1.95 into my account after verified.

So because it's debit card, so by default the paypal balance is 0? So let say i have rm 250 in my nexg card and i wanted to buy a product for rm 180? Can i buy the product directly regardless of the $0 balance in my paypal account?

im just worry if i cannot buy anything because my paypal balance is $1.95, but my nexg balance maybe above rm 200. If it's okay, then nevermindlah. Im just wondering.

Sorry for asking a noob question.

Thanks for answering.
Hi there. Welcome to the board.

It's been a while since i last used PayPal to pay a merchant. Anyway, as far as i remember, you just need to make sure you have sufficient fund in your card before you pay for anything through PayPal. Otherwise, it will be rejected by PayPal.

Please also note that certain debit cards have minimum deposit. For example Public Bank VISA Electron. RM25 must be stored inside the card at all time. So let say you want to buy a DVD for RM200, you have to make sure that your Public Bank VISA Electron has RM225 to make sure the payment goes through. This only apply to Public Bank VISA Electron. Please check with AmBank regarding your NextG debit Mastercard.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 11 2009, 01:21 AM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 11 2009, 07:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 11 2009, 05:16 PM)
Thank you.. Now I'm prepared to buy stuff online, hehe..
Have to wait for my debit card, baru apply today doh.gif
Eh ? I thought you were going to apply for Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card ? You will be issued with this card instantly and you will be able to use this card to do online transaction after 6pm or 7pm today.

Or did you go to apply for Public Bank VISA Electron ?

MilesAndMore
post Aug 12 2009, 12:24 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 11 2009, 09:33 PM)
smile.gif I applied for Public Bank VISA Electron debit card. Since Public Bank Day2Day VISA requires you a saving account.
Don't want to open another new saving.

Yes. You will need to open a savings account with Public Bank in order to apply for Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card.

But in my opinion, Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card is better because of the lower annual fee at RM12/pa compared to Public Bank VISA Electron at RM24/pa. Besides, they will issue the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card to you right away.

Basically you are maintaining an account with Public Bank too with the Public Bank VISA Electron. Just an account without passbook. There will be a monthly statement though.

Please take note that you must keep AT LEAST RM25 in your Public Bank VISA Electron account at all time whereas for the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card, you need to maintain only RM1.

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 11 2009, 09:33 PM)
Yours is Public Bank VISA Electron or Public Bank Day2Day VISA?
I used to have Public Bank VISA Electron. That was when i'm not qualified to hold a credit card. I just canceled it in January this year.

I am now holding a Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. Just changed to it from my regular ATM card (the blue one with red Public Bank logo on top - click the link below to view) to this card last week. I am going to report a loss on this Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card next year and will request for the regular ATM card. The annual fee for the regular ATM card is cheaper at RM8/pa. Besides, i have no use of this Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. I applied for it just to add into my debit card/credit card collection laugh.gif

Public Bank ATM Card

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 11 2009, 09:43 PM)
nanakopy is right. So, as you can see, PBVE is better since it is not linked to your saving account. I want to use this debit card purely for spending. If I mix it up with saving, habisla..
Then you just need not to deposit too much money into your Public Bank savings account. Only deposit money into it when you need to use it. The minimum deposit to maintain for Public Bank savings account is only RM1 smile.gif

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 11 2009, 09:34 PM)
hi. i'm going to apply the maybank debit card. is it true that no annual fee charged & collect the card on the spot immediately after application.  if not, how long it take for the card collection.
Maybank cherry VISA debit card will be issued to you right away. You are now given two options.

Option 1
- no annual fee
- free 4 ATM withdrawals in a month
- RM0.50/withdrawal will be charged from the 5th withdrawal and so on

Option 2
- RM8/pa
- unlimited withdrawal

MilesAndMore
post Aug 12 2009, 02:24 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 12 2009, 01:41 AM)
oh. very good.  mbb card is the best rate compare to the other bank right.  how is the service wise.
Far behind Public Bank and HSBC vmad.gif Like their online banking portal though smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 12 2009, 01:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 12 2009, 07:54 AM)
but the anual fee for D2D can't be waive right?

No. Cannot be waived. But you can always use it at supermarket and to pay at any petrol station. Currently it gives 1% cash back. After the promotional period, it will give 0.8% instead.

I spend around RM5000 on car petrol alone per annum. Based on 0.8%, Public Bank will have to give me RM40. After deducting the RM12 annual fee for Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card, i will still earn RM28/pa.

As for Maybank cherry debit card, it will only give you 1 Treatpoint for every RM3 charged to the card which is a far cry compared to Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card.

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 12 2009, 07:54 AM)
while ,for PBVE,the anual fee will be waive if u can use at certain amount
True. Last time it was stated that the annual fee will be automatically waived provided you have spent at least RM1000 in a year. But they have removed this from their website. So i do not know if the annual fee waiver is still available or not.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 13 2009, 02:19 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 13 2009, 01:48 AM)
Hm, for every transaction done with Paypal, will they charge any amount?
Depends on what kind of transaction you're talking about. Usually when you pay a merchant via PayPal, you will only be charged to amount you needed to pay the merchant. That's it. No handling fee of any sort.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 14 2009, 12:05 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 13 2009, 11:09 PM)
I should go to the bank and have it registered for Verified by Visa.
Go to the bank ? As far as i'm concerned, we need to do it ourselves at home. But if that particular Public Bank branch you go to has public computer, then yes. You can register for Verified by VISA using the computer there too.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 14 2009, 02:43 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 14 2009, 12:48 AM)
Ok.. Will share here what I do for that. Haha. O yeah, the pin given for Verified by Visa, can you choose any password or just accept what is given to you?
Sorry ya, have no experience whatsoever in using credit or debit cards. blush.gif
You will need to create one yourself smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 15 2009, 02:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(qpalzm87 @ Aug 15 2009, 02:35 PM)
hey guys
i've got a question to ask
let say i hv a savings acc wif PB
and i would like to transfer money from my account to my visa electron online
how do i do that?
and how much will i be charged for the transaction?
thank you!
Yes. You can. There is no handling fee of any sort since it is all under Public Bank.

Steps :
1. Login
2. Click "Payment/Recharge"
3. Select "To Own Account"
4. Request "PAC"
5. Click "Payment/Recharge" again
6. Select "To Own Account" again
7. Select your account and then follow instruction

QUOTE(profdrahhen @ Aug 15 2009, 02:40 PM)
nowadays have Debit Card with online shopping ability? i mean merely use Visa / Mastercard protocol.. not Paypal or other.. or book hotel online..
Both Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit and Maybank Cherry VISA Debit can be used to buy things online.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 15 2009, 02:46 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 16 2009, 02:00 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(melthq @ Aug 16 2009, 12:35 AM)
is there any benefit provided for debit card? besides credit card e.g petrol

rebate.
For Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit Card, they will give you 0.8% cash back for petrol and groceries spending (1% during the promotional period from now until mid-December). 0.3% cash back for all other transaction.

Maybank Cherry VISA Debit Card will give you 3 Treatpoints for every RM3 charged to the card. Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit is actually better in terms of value. Besides, you earn no Treatpoint when you pay for petrol using your Maybank Cherry VISA Debit Card.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 16 2009, 09:47 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 16 2009, 03:35 AM)
I applied last week on Tuesday.. brows.gif Have you ever use your debit card at any shopping mall?
Restaurant?
I had. Swiped it at ISETAN, Robinsons, Parkson, Kinokuniya, MPH and many other places that i couldn't remember of. Now using only credit cards smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 16 2009, 09:48 AM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 16 2009, 05:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 16 2009, 01:35 PM)
I see.. Thank you. I really want to try online shopping (buying anything from US online stores). Want to know what it feels like to win on my own for Ebay items  drool.gif

I forgot that i also used to use my Public Bank VISA Electron to pay for Amazon (www.amazon.com) and Ebay (via PayPal). Amazon is a US based company selling almost everything. I normally buy DVD there. Those US TV Series boxsets are actually cheaper in Amazon.com than Speedy sometimes. Do check it out if you're into US TV Series smile.gif

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Aug 16 2009, 01:35 PM)
Wow, impressive. I might try that as well. Can shop without worrying the money in your hands.
I now rely mostly on plastics too laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 17 2009, 11:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(reiki_longtime @ Aug 17 2009, 10:02 PM)
CIMB e.Mastercard user here. Able to use this card to verify Paypal. Also, can transfer money from CIMB saving account to the debit card. I also receive monthly statement. Downside is that I can't link the card with cimbclicks, and to check the balance at the cash deposit machine (atm reject the card lol), I need a pin number, which I don't remember seeing anywhere o_O Need to give their support a call later...
Eh ? CIMB e.Mastercard is sending out printed monthly statement ? Their ads a few weeks back said there is no statement.

You can call their credit card centre. CIMB e.Mastercard is under CIMB credit card department. Here you go > 03-62047788.

QUOTE(Icehart @ Aug 17 2009, 10:56 PM)
Guys, what is the status on the Maybank ATM card with Visa logo on it? Can it now be used for online purchases?
According to Maybank, yes it can. You need to activate something and register for MSOS on Maybank2u.com.my first though.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 18 2009, 02:13 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 18 2009, 01:56 AM)
i went for the application of the mbb debit card today.  i have been told that annual fee has to be applied for the debit card anyway. 

You've been conned mate ! You are allowed to choose the unlimited monthly withdrawal by paying RM8/pa OR continue to enjoy an annual fee free ATM/debit card with only 4 free withdrawals per month and subsequent withdrawal will be charged RM0.50. However, if your fund is more than RM5000 when you made the 5th or 6th withdrawal in a month, the RM0.50 penalty will be waived. This rule applies for the Maybank Cherry VISA debit card too.

i thought that the the service charged 50sen for the withdrawal if it more than 4 times the 1 with can have the feature of no annual fee applied.   

Go back to that particular branch and insist you want the annual fee free ATM/VISA debit card.

if i choose to converted my atm card to the debit card.  can the debit card used to withdraw $$ from other bank.  is the fee charged only rm1?...
Just like the previous regular ATM card, you will be charged RM1 each time you make withdrawal at MEPS supported ATMs.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 18 2009, 08:09 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 18 2009, 04:22 PM)
i went back to the bank & insisted with the choice of no annual fee charged 1. the officer said that the application fee will be charged anyway. 

Tell the officer that the officer who helped you to open the account yesterday told you there is no annual fee free Maybank ATM/debit card.

according to their mbb policy now that the atm & debit card both will consistently have the fee charged.  the fee waiver for the card is subject to approval.

Subject to approval ? I bet almost 99% of current Maybank ATM/debit card users are on the annual fee free one. Some might be paying the penalty fee occasionally but mostly do not pay anything at all for Maybank ATM/debit card.

It looks to me that the particular Maybank branch you went to have very bad service and the officer has serious work ethic issue. There is a formal statement released by Maybank a while ago on their website about Maybank ATM/debit card now comes with 2 options (mentioned in previous post).

so the annual fee will only be charged next yr right.  what do u guy suggest the next to do for the waiver ?  since the mbb visa card is the same as use with atm.  i thinking of drop the atm card soon after i apply.  any suggestion?
I do not know when it will be charged as mine has no annual fee (i have confirmed with the customer service officer when i opened the account). Since i have less than RM5000 in the account, i just need to make sure i withdraw money using their ATM no more than 4 times a month to avoid being charged any penalty fee which is a piece of cake as i never withdraw any money from their ATM since i opened the account with them 1 1/2 months ago. I needed a Maybank account just to perform online fund transfer to my mom's American Express charge card bill.

Insist that they change your Maybank ATM/debit card to the no annual fee one or else just lodge a complaint to Maybank HQ.

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Aug 18 2009, 07:43 PM)
har....will charge annual fee?for both atm and debit???huh....then mbb isn't the best dy
I don't think this is true. I believe the officer was just lying to him.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 18 2009, 08:11 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 03:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Aug 19 2009, 12:18 PM)
hey guys, what does "electronic use only" means?
"electronic use only" basically means it can only be used to swipe at the terminal. But as far as i know, debit card can be used for offline payment too. This Public Bank D2D VISA debit card can be used to purchase stuff online.

and is my PB Bank Day2Day debit card usable worldwide or i'll have activate something first?
Yes. Your Public Bank D2D VISA debit card is usable worldwide wherever the VISA logo is displayed. There is nothing need to be activated, as far as i know.

how much is the limit for ATM a day?
All Public Bank ATM/VISA debit card can withdraw up to RM5000 per day. But please note that the retail purchase limit is defaulted at RM2000 for accumulated purchase per day.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 19 2009, 03:06 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 07:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Aug 19 2009, 06:56 PM)
Can i book tickets through GSC's E-Payment using my Day2Day Debit Card?
Last time my Public Bank VISA Electron can't. Why don't you try yourself with your Public Bank D2D VISA debit card and give us an update here ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 19 2009, 07:11 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 20 2009, 12:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(qpalzm87 @ Aug 19 2009, 09:45 PM)
har?
cannot use PBVE for GSC meh?
what about TGV and Cathay?
You can swipe your Public Bank VISA Electron over the counter but not through GSC E-Payment system.

Eh, we can pay for tickets using credit card/debit card at TGV ? Didn't know that laugh.gif Good to know thumbup.gif

QUOTE(sc2 @ Aug 19 2009, 09:48 PM)
actually whats the big difference between PBVE and PBday2day?
One is VISA Electron and another is just a regular VISA debit. Both are debit cards. Just different brand name category, both are under VISA International.

QUOTE(wkf @ Aug 19 2009, 09:54 PM)
the officer said that even the atm card will charge rm8 annually.

It's either the officer is a dumbo who knows nothing about their own bank's product or he is lying straight to your face.

why i dont know such thing at all.  i feel like the more i asked the more i got confusion. 

No worries. There is a press release from Maybank about their ATM/VISA debit card annual fee a while back. Here you go, the official press release from Maybank > MAYBANKARD ANNUAL FEE

the mbb debit visa without name printed, is it safe..

Should be alright i guess. Just make sure you do not simply reveal the card number and the 3-digit CVV number behind the card to others, not even your best friend. Most people credit cards' info are stolen when they perform online transaction. So you just need to be extra careful. Never heard anything wrong with PayPal before. PayPal has good reputation and is reliable.

what's is Visa Wave.  is mbb debit has this kind of function.
VISA Wave is a contactless payment. Not many outlets have such function. The Maybank Cherry VISA debit card has no such function.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 20 2009, 01:07 AM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 20 2009, 11:14 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Aug 20 2009, 09:26 AM)
i dont think PB Bank's Day2Day Debit card is usable throught GSC's E-Payment cause i only see credit card and Maybank2U as choice of payment. T_T can someone update me on store or sevices which doesnt accept debit cards ? Thank =)))
Most online merchants will display only credit card/PayPal and certain local online merchants will also include online bank transfer as a mode of payment. However, many sites do accept debit card, even in the payment option only credit card is displayed.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 20 2009, 11:38 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Aug 20 2009, 05:47 PM)
hey MilesAndMore so overall which debit card you think is the best?
Define best.

One might say Maybank Cherry VISA debit card is the best as it has no annual fee. It also gives you 1 Treatpoint for every RM3 charged to the card which you can then use the accumulated Treatpoints to redeem for shopping vouchers or any other stuff from the Treatpoint catalogue.

However, i am actually in favor of Public Bank D2D VISA debit card. Even though it has an annual fee of RM12/pa. This is because its rewards program is actually miles better than Maybank. It gives you 0.8% cash back when you swipe it at the petrol kiosk and groceries shopping. As for all other purchases, they will give you only 0.3% cash back but still, this is way better than Maybank's RM3 = 1TP. And most importantly, Public Bank staffs are efficient, unlike Maybank's.

QUOTE(Mozilla-Firefox @ Aug 20 2009, 05:47 PM)
is there any extra charges for debit cards? like service charge?
There is no service charge.

To all existing Public Bank ATM card holder, you can now convert your traditional ATM card to the new Public Bank D2D VISA debit card at any Public Bank branch without having to pay any conversion fee. I'm a bit upset because i just changed my old PBB ATM card to this PBB VISA debit card about 3 weeks ago and i had to pay RM12 conversion fee vmad.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 21 2009, 09:29 AM

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:15 PM