Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post May 21 2019, 02:18 AM

7,799 posts

All customers can get the latest results on the 2019 Indian General Election from 22 to 26 May 2019, through Sun News (CH 204), a temporary new 24-hour Indian Tamil news channel, at no additional charge.

https://www.facebook.com/Astro/photos/a.101...?type=3&theater
Hmmm... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 21 2019, 02:19 AM
syuk606
post May 21 2019, 09:08 PM

Hi, I'm trying the beta version of Astro but when I try to watch a certain channel, the subtitle didn't appear. Anyone know why?
TSnexona88
post May 21 2019, 10:19 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,531 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 21 2019, 02:18 AM)
Huh.
What so special with the elections...
Not really effects Malaysia too..
If Indonesia, Thailand or even Singapore. Then yes. The change of government somehow have impact....

Astro should have just focus on adding / upgrade more channels into HD. And the launch of UHD too..
PhakFuhZai
post May 21 2019, 11:41 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 21 2019, 10:19 PM)
Huh.
What so special with the elections...
Not really effects Malaysia too..
If Indonesia, Thailand or even Singapore. Then yes. The change of government somehow have impact....

Astro should have just focus on adding / upgrade more channels into HD. And the launch of UHD too..
Sun TV, owned by AK tongue.gif

Given AK significant interest in India, the outcome of the election matters alot to his business empire and him personally
AVFAN
post May 22 2019, 02:20 AM

24,465 posts

You can now download the HBO Go app

Malaysians with an Astro Movies Pack subscription can finally download the HBO Go app and watch shows and movies on the move.

The app is available on both the Google Play and Apple App stores, and the service is also accessible via the website www.hbogoasia.my.

Users will be able to watch HBO original series like Game Of Thrones, The Wire, Veep and Westworld, as well as Hollywood movies, documentaries and cartoons.

Previously, selected HBO content was available through the Astro Go app and website.

HBO Go allows users to download up to 20 shows for offline viewing and the app supports Airplay and Chromecast for streaming content to a bigger screen. Users can also view HBO Go on two concurrent streams.

Astro says in a press statement that the content will be offered in full HD if available.

Non-Astro Movies pack subscribers will only be able to view content under the Without Registration tab. However, they will be limited to 40-second preview clips, behind the scenes featurettes and trailers for upcoming shows.

To gain access to the full library, they will have to commit to an Astro Movies Pack subscription which starts from RM71.95 for the Movies Bundle package. The subscription includes HBO, Cinemax and Fox Movies.

New users will also have to pay a one-time installation fee of RM199, which will be reduced to RM99 if they agree to a 24-month contract. The offer comes with a HD decoder.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...DfykYwgs693q.99

XypherionID
post May 22 2019, 05:29 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 22 2019, 01:20 AM)

Yikes. Can't they have another option so subscribers can get HBO GO for less?

Can't they offer HBO and HBO HD as a separate pack like the others out there?
Starhub (SG) and Indihome (ID) do offer separate HBO packs with complimentary access to HBO GO for less than RM 20 - 45.

Oh, wait. You can't. There are no separate HBO packs for Astro because it's not possible.

rclxub.gif
TSnexona88
post May 22 2019, 09:43 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,531 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 21 2019, 11:41 PM)
Sun TV, owned by AK tongue.gif

Given AK significant interest in India, the outcome of the election matters alot to his business empire and him personally
Ooh like that huh...

Anyhow like I said. Better to upgrade their current services. More HD channels. Those SD channels is so yesterday... Tomorrow is UHD yo 💪
JuneResources
post May 22 2019, 10:26 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,178 posts

QUOTE(XypherionID @ May 22 2019, 05:29 AM)

Starhub (SG) and Indihome (ID) do offer separate HBO packs with complimentary access to HBO GO for less than RM 20 - 45.

Oh, wait. You can't. There are no separate HBO packs for Astro because it's not possible.

rclxub.gif
That's the bad thing mostly service provider don't have called ALL-IN-ONE HBO pack including HBO Hitz, HBO Family, HBO Signature.

Anyway, don't expect too much as Astro more carry on FOX compare HBO. whistling.gif
AVFAN
post May 22 2019, 10:50 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(XypherionID @ May 22 2019, 05:29 AM)

rclxub.gif
hbo rights been bought by astro, will be under astro.

maybe the day will come hbo does it alone here like netflix... then customer subscribe/pay standalone.

astro can start astrogo or hbo go as a standalone IPTV biz for new customers but i guess they dun want to - prefer control over the decoders.

nag
post May 22 2019, 12:55 PM

336 posts

This one, quite silent, could it be successfully progress as dated ?

Ansa....R.I.P already ?
smileguy
post May 22 2019, 01:28 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(nag @ May 22 2019, 12:55 PM)

This one, quite silent, could it be successfully progress as dated ?

Ansa....R.I.P already ?
Well I have given up all hope on these companies bangwall.gif All they have done is they have made astro indispensable cool2.gif
nag
post May 22 2019, 01:35 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ May 22 2019, 01:28 PM)
Well I have given up all hope on these companies bangwall.gif  All they have done is they have made astro indispensable cool2.gif
Looks like other TV service provider(s) being cursed or what, they can't survive even before setup (eg, ANSA), apart from Astro being big brother !
HMMaster
post May 22 2019, 03:51 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

Are we suppose to get all channels (super pack 4?) when we join the beta program?
joshhd
post May 22 2019, 04:05 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ May 22 2019, 03:51 PM)
Are we suppose to get all channels (super pack 4?) when we join the beta program?

Yes, except Star Chinese Channel, TVB Jade Pack channels, WWE Network, Box Office Sport and Astro First/Best.
HMMaster
post May 22 2019, 04:15 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 22 2019, 04:05 PM)
Yes, except Star Chinese Channel, TVB Jade Pack channels, WWE Network, Box Office Sport and Astro First/Best.
weird... i can't view some of the sports channels.
joshhd
post May 22 2019, 06:27 PM

7,799 posts

Compare with the previous software, the missing settings and features on beta v1.1 are:
1. Change aspect ratio button - Unable to temporary change aspect ratio, as the button will open "TV Settings" where once u change there, it will apply to all channels.
2. Recording Preferences
Review Buffer depth, recording start time and recording end time extension, Hard Disk management mode
3. For PVR, you can't skip 15 mins by pressing fast forward again and again.
4. Programme reminder
4. Block channels
5. Set Favourite Channels
6. Change channel banner duration, screensaver
7. Tuner Diagnostics, Connection Info (to check transponder frequency)
8. Transponder Scan

New settings to highlight:
1. Now allow 1080p output
2. Separate digital audio output (HDMI Audio, S/PDIF) and Dolby Digital Plus.
If you previously experience "no sound when watch HD channels" issue on your TV when set to Dolby 5.1 output, well, it is now solved in this new update.
3. Experimental cloud DVR
Some channels allow you to "Play from Start", where the channel video will load from Internet instead of satellite, so that you can watch the parts you missed earlier.
4. ABR streaming on VOD content
Adaptive bitrate streaming. Slow internet, poor quality. Fast internet, good quality.

*Don't panic. Now it's just beta testing version, means it's pre-released and unfinished. Those missing features might come back in the final version.
PhakFuhZai
post May 22 2019, 07:13 PM

harimau putih
1,587 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 22 2019, 10:50 AM)
hbo rights been bought by astro, will be under astro.

maybe the day will come hbo does it alone here like netflix... then customer subscribe/pay standalone.

astro can start astrogo or hbo go as a standalone IPTV biz for new customers but i guess they dun want to - prefer control over the decoders.
i guess they have exclusive contract here with Astro

deswai Unifi don't have HBO channels

AVFAN
post May 22 2019, 07:40 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ May 22 2019, 07:13 PM)
i guess they have exclusive contract here with Astro

deswai Unifi don't have HBO channels
i dunno if it is exclusive... possible others can do.
ministry already said 2-3 other licences given but they don't do it!
maybe market too small..?

FOX channels, for example, appear in both Astro and UnifiTV.
UnifiTV won't give more, only less... becos as it is, the way they price the packages, everybody seems to say they wanna dump it, save money!
the truth is, maybe... malaysians are too poor... unable to pay for premium shows, live sports in HD.
so, we get the poor ones only...
yongtjunkit
post May 22 2019, 10:36 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 22 2019, 06:27 PM)
Compare with the previous software, the missing settings and features on beta v1.1 are:
1. Change aspect ratio button - Unable to temporary change aspect ratio, as the button will open "TV Settings" where once u change there, it will apply to all channels.
2. Recording Preferences
Review Buffer depth, recording start time  and recording end time extension, Hard Disk management mode
3. For PVR, you can't skip 15 mins by pressing fast forward again and again. 
4. Programme reminder
4. Block channels
5. Set Favourite Channels
6. Change channel banner duration, screensaver
7. Tuner Diagnostics, Connection Info (to check transponder frequency)
8. Transponder Scan

New settings to highlight:
1. Now allow 1080p output
2. Separate digital audio output (HDMI Audio, S/PDIF) and Dolby Digital Plus.
If you previously experience "no sound when watch HD channels" issue on your TV when set to Dolby 5.1 output, well, it is now solved in this new update.
3. Experimental cloud DVR
Some channels allow you to "Play from Start", where the channel video will load from Internet instead of satellite, so that you can watch the parts you missed earlier.
4. ABR streaming on VOD content
Adaptive bitrate streaming. Slow internet, poor quality. Fast internet, good quality.

*Don't panic. Now it's just beta testing version, means it's pre-released and unfinished. Those missing features might come back in the final version.
For new features under no 3, the experimental cloud dvr let’s say the tv show starts earlier/ends later than the time indicated by the TV guide( Astro pvr would only start/stop record when its time) will I be able to catch up on what I missed ?
joshhd
post May 22 2019, 10:57 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ May 22 2019, 10:36 PM)
For new features under no 3, the experimental cloud dvr  let’s say the tv show starts earlier/ends later than the time indicated by the TV guide( Astro pvr would only start/stop record when its time) will I be able to catch up on what I missed ?

I'm not too entirely sure about this, but as far as I know, no you can't. You can only "Play from Start" (cloud DVR) on the current programme.
If you ask Astro, they'll likely advise you to schedule future recording, so that it'll record your desired programme next time.

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 22 2019, 10:57 PM

1082 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:42 PM