16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

NVIDIA GeForce Community V19, RTX 5000 unveiled

edmund_yung
post Jan 7 2021, 10:54 AM

1,198 posts

I also got a Asus RT-AC86 from oversea because Malaysia was selling it WAY overpriced. If not for streaming 4k to my TV, I'll still be sticking to old and stable RT-N56U.

Hooked up the Time's older D-Link DIR-850L using it as extender. Even as extender it isn't as stable as Asus. Never used DIR-886.

I heard the Unifi's stock TP Link Archer C6 AC1200 is quite good? Wish I can talk about these in other thread, but didn't follow that networking thread.
edmund_yung
post Jan 8 2021, 06:29 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Pepperboy @ Jan 8 2021, 12:28 PM)
What VR bug may I ask? Wanna try Half-Life Alyx...
Me too! Since I can't buy CPU without bundle right now, I went and buy Quest 2 from Amazon.
edmund_yung
post Jan 15 2021, 10:49 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Jan 14 2021, 07:13 PM)
Haven't come here in a long time since I got my 3080. I see the prices on Lazada now like gone crazy already. Dotatech selling TUF OC for almost 6k? Walao wei, what happened here?
It is indeed crazy. All those "this gen is cheaper" got thrown out of the window now. Let's vote with our wallet, don't entertain bundle and scalpers. Go and enjoy the other stuff which aren't being sell overpriced right now.
edmund_yung
post Jan 15 2021, 03:48 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 15 2021, 03:34 PM)
I'd take RM3360 TUF RTX 3080 over RTX 3070 Strix any day.
I'll be surprised we'll ever see them being produced anymore.
edmund_yung
post Jan 18 2021, 12:53 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 8 2021, 12:43 PM)
- Poor performance generally, even if you're on 3080 yes. Some reports are that a 3080 has no difference to even a 1080ti.
- Game shows the game is running above min frametime, but steamVR app drops frames every few seconds for absolutely zero reason, even if you're idle looking at the sky.
- Reprojection ratio is often over 50% for most VR games, that's stupid because it used to be less than 5%.
- GPU memory leak bug.

I could go on, but those are the major ones.

People love to talk shit about AMD here, but nvidia sama jer. 6 months ago they said they are investigating the issue, now they sweep it under the rug hoping people don't notice.
For non-Ampere cards, what driver do you recommend for SteamVR?
446.14 - pre Win10 2004 (without HAGS), or
457.30 - with HAGS
edmund_yung
post Jan 18 2021, 01:27 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 18 2021, 01:15 PM)
446.14 is the last fully working driver with SteamVR. Can't believe it's been that long.
Thanks man.

I'm playing MSFS and already stuttering without VR with my poor 2700X CPU, now imagine how low I have to set to play in VR. LOL
But OMG, flying in VR is so satisfying. I think this is the best $300 I've ever spent last year.
edmund_yung
post Jan 18 2021, 02:24 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 18 2021, 02:01 PM)
what item is that $300?
Facebook Oculus Quest 2 LOL
edmund_yung
post Jan 18 2021, 03:00 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 18 2021, 02:37 PM)
eh? using usb for connection? Is it as good as the original oculus?
I've tried the USB 2.0 and I prefer wifi streaming via $20 Virtual Desktop Streamer. I need to get a USB 3.0 cable to try out the full link experience.
Head over to forum's VR HMD Thread or Oculus Quest 2 Thread to know from the early adopters!
edmund_yung
post Jan 19 2021, 02:09 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Jan 19 2021, 10:44 AM)
Quest 2 is unaffected by the NVIDIA SteamVR bug since the headset is rendering through USB using video encoder instead of direct DisplayPort connection.

At least, that's my experience anyways. People on Reddit jumps on me saying I'm lying about it, but even the original bug report person tested it and has similar findings.
I see! Thanks for the info! I've already downgrade driver to 446.13, I'll try the newer driver when I got time.
How about the choices of SteamVR version (stable 1.15/beta 1.16/1.14_linux), does it mater with Nvidia + Quest?
edmund_yung
post Jan 28 2021, 02:28 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 28 2021, 02:16 PM)
No need to upgrade for the time being. Tonnes of Steam backlog of old games.
Exactly, not going to entertain scalping seller. There're other things out there to buy and enjoy. Also good to see Kpdnhed is taking some action or at least showing some effort to combat this.

This post has been edited by edmund_yung: Jan 28 2021, 02:53 PM
edmund_yung
post Jan 29 2021, 09:40 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 28 2021, 11:31 PM)
ayam jelly now  sad.gif

Look like one of the 原價屋 branch, you can check their prices online.
edmund_yung
post Jan 29 2021, 09:46 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jan 29 2021, 03:19 PM)
from experience with asus, pray for shop warranty.. rma guarantee fail unless it’s really broken out of the box.
Recently my close friend had a success story RMA a Strix 1070 all the way in Miri in the middle of pandemic last year. I don't know how they get another 1070 for him or fix the card, but now it's using it as daily driver playing 1080p Warzone with me.
edmund_yung
post Feb 7 2021, 09:03 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 7 2021, 01:29 AM)
Did some comparison tests of (deshrouded+2 GT1850 maxspeed fans as air intake) 3080 temps with the following:
Will the VRAM gets even hotter if you run the GT1850 as exhaust and side NF-A9x14 as intake?
edmund_yung
post Feb 7 2021, 11:44 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 7 2021, 09:23 AM)
That only seems to work better when the case is lying down on one side, or if I raise the feet. And no option to put dust filters too.
I see. Thanks.
I'm running that config, using the included "inefficient" dust filter on the side. The bottom fan can pull ALOT of heat out lol.
I am using and old V4 so I'm not sure whether they include side dust filter in the newer version of Ncase.
edmund_yung
post Feb 7 2021, 02:55 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 7 2021, 12:56 PM)
just my opinion... hot air rises, so even if you exhaust the air out to the bottom, it will get suck back in from the sides and recirculate.
Totally understand. I haven't tried making ducts for the bottom fan, but the I tried bottom intake and it perform worse.
I'm guessing there is even more waste heat from the GPU, being suck back into the GPU in that config, inside the case.
Side exhaust is no go for me because I need the side intake fan for the top-down CPU cooler.
Exactly like in this video by Optimum Tech we've all seen for a million times. lol.
So yah it works for me in this specific case and parts.

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 7 2021, 01:23 PM)
v6.1 has a removable bottom piece that leaves the fans completely exposed, side panels have hole punchouts at GPU height, dust filter for bottom and side fans, and extra cutouts below the Mobo tray so more air can enter/exit the GPU provided you're not using DTX cases.
Mine is like the V1. I wish I can source the V6 side panel without buying a new case haha! These cases got so expensive!
edmund_yung
post Feb 15 2021, 05:56 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(Fiezannn @ Feb 15 2021, 02:45 PM)
Noob question, how to check the power limit for the GPU?
You need to look for Youtube reviews because it is not widely publicised except for maybe newer Asus laptops.
edmund_yung
post Feb 16 2021, 10:40 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(pcbuilder420 @ Feb 16 2021, 01:23 AM)
But 10th gen i5 outperform 3600 is to be expected la, I think even 10100f is almost equal with the 3600 for gaming.
i5-10400 can beat 3600 by a hair provided using the more expensive z490 motherboard.
Nope, i3-10100 is still a hair slower than the 3600 even if pairing with z490 motherboard which cost double of the CPU.
edmund_yung
post Feb 17 2021, 02:22 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Feb 17 2021, 10:21 AM)
Now u know intel is not hot at all for gaming.
Getting more interesting. 10700kf can be had for 1299 now. 10900kf for 1722 (Ebucket). much better proposition than ryzens.
Yeah, the i7 price is quite good, even if it is about to get replaced very soon. It's supposed to be $50 more expensive than 5600X, now it's WAY cheaper compared to the scalper's favourite AMD CPU. We need an Intel thread.

This post has been edited by edmund_yung: Feb 17 2021, 02:22 PM
edmund_yung
post Feb 26 2021, 12:27 PM

1,198 posts

I'll wait till MS Flight Sim starts to support DX12, DXR (RTX), DirectML (DLSS) and see how these card performs before I decide what to upgrade to. Since Asobo is focusing in the Xbox launch, I'll take my sweet time waiting and playing with my 10-series GTX.
edmund_yung
post Mar 4 2021, 09:43 AM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(pcbuilder420 @ Mar 3 2021, 01:29 PM)
To be fair, the 5600x stock situation is getting better now,
Good to hear that. Waiting till there's too much supply and they priced it back to MSRP.

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 3 2021, 01:20 PM)
In RDR2, my 10400F only goes up to 48C max with unlimited TAU 4ghz all core boost, cooled only with an 120mm aio with fan at 1500rpm....
lol I think the stock cooler which came with the box is enough for it.

This post has been edited by edmund_yung: Mar 4 2021, 09:45 AM

16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.4279sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:20 PM