5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Help, Warrior who refuses to tank, Need help to understand the warrior/tank

Kurei
post May 12 2007, 01:51 AM

19 posts

sigh at the lack of viability of dps warriors now. But see how black temple gear does have solid warrior dps gear? Maybe they're trying to bring dps warriors back! =p Wishful thinking...

But i rather play tank more than a dps now anyday. Come on first dibs at loot!!! lol.

Added on May 12, 2007, 2:00 am
QUOTE(hanleon @ May 11 2007, 05:07 PM)
A warrior who has 'epic gear' and tells mages to wait for 5 sunders is a noob warrior, anytime. My guild's mages all crit frostbolts for 5k frequently, but our maintanker can still hold aggro without the mages dying (unless there are other mobs, then it's their problem wink.gif).

Don't group with the warrior unless he's up for DPS. Screw him as a tank, since he's so stubborn about it. You will find that a skilled tanker will be pressing enough buttons to hold aggro with 2 sunders or less.

If your guild has a problem with him, throw him out. You can be sure that many other guilds won't accept him as a tank.

I've seen Fury warriors who can tank, but of course the damage they take is much much higher than if he were a Prot tank. And if he can tank until healers run out of mana and the boss still isn't dead, either your dps is not high enough, or his threat isn't high enough for dps to take over. biggrin.gif

Just kick him from the guild, ignore him, and label him as a bad tank. It'll benefit you more than him.
Not disagreeing with u but the mage gets 5k crits off the bat, its pretty hard to hold aggro as a tank. Solid tanks normally trash out 600tps or below intially and only above if SS crits. Well geared sometimes doesnt work to ur advantage with the avoidance available on it. And sometimes u just run into a string of bad luck i.e f***ing dodge parry miss miss in sucession. God i hate those sometime. Or u can run into good fortune, like on prince tonite i did manage to maintain 1150tps for 20secs or so due to SS crits, multiple windfurys n tf procs all together.

And fury specced warriors just can nvr tank (as in hold aggro properly) so long the dpsers are geared. Its not even remotely possible.

This post has been edited by Kurei: May 12 2007, 02:00 AM
Quazacolt
post May 12 2007, 10:20 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Kurei @ May 12 2007, 01:51 AM)
sigh at the lack of viability of dps warriors now. But see how black temple gear does have solid warrior dps gear? Maybe they're trying to bring dps warriors back! =p Wishful thinking...

But i rather play tank more than a dps now anyday. Come on first dibs at loot!!! lol.

Added on May 12, 2007, 2:00 am

Not disagreeing with u but the mage gets 5k crits off the bat, its pretty hard to hold aggro as a tank. Solid tanks normally trash out 600tps or below intially and only above if SS crits. Well geared sometimes doesnt work to ur advantage with the avoidance available on it. And sometimes u just run into a string of bad luck i.e f***ing dodge parry miss miss in sucession. God i hate those sometime. Or u can run into good fortune, like on prince tonite i did manage to maintain 1150tps for 20secs or so due to SS crits, multiple windfurys n tf procs all together.

And fury specced warriors just can nvr tank (as in hold aggro properly) so long the dpsers are geared. Its not even remotely possible.
frost channeling and if the mage want to live on the edge, he can overtake tank aggro but still wont pull it... so long he stays over 30yds at least.

ranged aggro = require 130% to overtake tank, that accompanied by 10% talent aggro reduction, not much chance the mage can get aggro unless he REALLY want to do it and continue trinketing + more crits and land a counterspell or 2 for more extra threat.

but i do agree with the later statement fully, non prot = GTFO.

Kidicarus
post May 12 2007, 12:17 PM

727 posts

Real top end raiders bring warriors as DPS. The main weakness of warriors is that they don't have any threat reduction skills. But at the same time because they're not limited by silly things like mana, they tend to get stronger as fights progress. Not to mention additional utility in 25 mans and unbeatable damage post 20%. I personally like rolling with a DPS warrior by my side for offtanking in Karazhan where necessary because lets face it, more than 1 Prot warrior in a place like karazhan is a waste of space.

We encourage off specs at my guild so people get to play the way they want as the last thing I want is raid burnout. My guildmates are also the type of people who will respec for a raid if we're short of healers/dps/tanks so yeah we show a middle finger to spec elitism.

For viable DPS warriors check out armory profiles of Anise of Forte on Kazzak, EU, also check out the profile for Ellayne in Failure on Magtheridon, EU. One has killed Lady Vashj (in a legit kill apparently), the other one frequently msns me complaining that he isn't getting enough epixx in SSC...

Not to mention Kungen revenge crits for 500k!

edit: confusing method with forte... ignore lady vashj bit

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: May 12 2007, 12:50 PM
Quazacolt
post May 12 2007, 01:13 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ May 12 2007, 12:17 PM)
Real top end raiders bring warriors as DPS.  The main weakness of warriors is that they don't have any threat reduction skills.  But at the same time because they're not limited by silly things like mana, they tend to get stronger as fights progress.  Not to mention additional utility in 25 mans and unbeatable damage post 20%.  I personally like rolling with a DPS warrior by my side for offtanking in Karazhan where necessary because lets face it, more than 1 Prot warrior in a place like karazhan is a waste of space.

We encourage off specs at my guild so people get to play the way they want as the last thing I want is raid burnout.  My guildmates are also the type of people who will respec for a raid if we're short of healers/dps/tanks so yeah we show a middle finger to spec elitism.

For viable DPS warriors check out armory profiles of Anise of Forte on Kazzak, EU, also check out the profile for Ellayne in Failure on Magtheridon, EU.  One has killed Lady Vashj (in a legit kill apparently), the other one frequently msns me complaining that he isn't getting enough epixx in SSC...

Not to mention Kungen revenge crits for 500k!

edit: confusing method with forte... ignore lady vashj bit
while warriors dont have any aggro dumping abilities, they already have innate -20% aggro via zerker stance. reason why warrior is slipping behind from being able to top dps even overtopping rogues since 2.0/bc started is cuz rogues innate threat reduction gets buffed to 29%, and other classes like lock/mage getting complete aggro dump while warriors getting absolutely nothing save talent additions/changes here and there.

that said, id love to have a MS warrior in group for the MS debuff on certain fight, and bloodfrenzy debuff... buffs me, the maintank (aggro too), and other physical dps up by 4% dmg...
Kurei
post May 12 2007, 03:27 PM

19 posts

I asked a good fren, a dps warrior from the top guild in my server, on what the situation is with warrior dps. I havent played dps in raid since tbc so i was just curious especially with the current posting. He explains with his current gear there is no problem with him keepin up with casters and rogues in dps. He even believes he can exceed most of them but only to be limited by the aggro threshold. Lack of threat control mechanics severely limits his dps to being only top 8 of his guild dps charts.
sets84
post May 12 2007, 04:03 PM

383 posts

exactly my point...
u wana dps but u cant dps...
ur taken just to pick loots that would probably go wasted without u there, and also to buff the other melee dps... very sad imo
[]tr|al[]
post May 12 2007, 04:26 PM

1,788 posts

As long as the guild has at least 1 protection spec tank or 2 would be better, i couldn't care less how other warriors wanna spec their char. Tell ya the truth, i love having fury warrior / feral drood as my offtank for kharazan. doesnt rly matter if the fury warrior has pts in defiance or not.
Kidicarus
post May 12 2007, 04:50 PM

727 posts

QUOTE([]tr|al[] @ May 12 2007, 04:26 PM)
As long as the guild has at least 1 protection spec tank or 2 would be better, i couldn't care less how other warriors wanna spec their char. Tell ya the truth, i love having fury warrior / feral drood as my offtank for kharazan. doesnt rly matter if the fury warrior has pts in defiance or not.
Yeah, that's the point i'm trying to make. 2 prot warriors in 10 mans means a waste of a dps slot. Simple as that. You could take a feral dr00d or prot pally for the OT role, but i find most of the time (esp the prot pally) they don't contribute much (well.. except maybe overhealing)

Haven't been dps for a long time. Atm tbh my fury gear sucks at lvl 70 having practically collected very little else except for tank gear. The lack of threat reduction mechanics however, can be countered by using something like my old fetish of the sand reaver to push dps. 3 min cooldown for a lot of threat reduction which ties in with the deathwish cooldown wub.gif + recklessness wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

For well geared warrior dps you want to maintain constant damage till you get to the last 20% when bosses typically enrage and then go all out to make the last 20% go by as quickly as possible.
Kurei
post May 12 2007, 04:54 PM

19 posts

Booooo to blizzard. But hey if warriors could dps like b4, rogues will be out of a job =p
tetsu
post May 12 2007, 06:38 PM

415 posts

was pretty close between me(1st on dmg meters) and a dps warrior(2nd) on prince the last time (0.5-1% diff) but he took more pots than me like mongoose and shrouding potion to reduce his threat, though overall i think my gear is better than his.
Kidicarus
post May 12 2007, 06:47 PM

727 posts

Why would anyone want to reduce threat on Aran?

tetsu
post May 12 2007, 06:55 PM

415 posts

maybe because it is not Aran?
Quazacolt
post May 12 2007, 07:27 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ May 12 2007, 06:47 PM)
Why would anyone want to reduce threat on Aran?
reading skill turned off?
Kidicarus
post May 13 2007, 12:36 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 12 2007, 07:27 PM)
reading skill turned off?
Yes... apparently
jwrx
post May 14 2007, 11:02 AM

515 posts

Dunno what the big hooha is...he has made it clear he doesnt want to tank, so leave him be.

Just find a warrior who is willing to put time and effort into speccing prot and gearing up

in my guild, we have 2 prot tanks as the backbone MT of the 2 kara teams, and 2 fury warriors as dps and melee interupts....Arms warrios....dun get a slot on progression raids(new boss), if there is space, they get to come for bosses that are already on farm

forcing a warrior to tank...is like forcing a paladin to heal...

SpeedAlert
post May 14 2007, 11:26 AM

99 posts

5 mans team of 1 prot war, 1 flurry war, 1 holy priest, 1 shadow priest & 1 roque is ideal i guess?

My toon is a warrior also & i found it rather frustrating teaming up with druid & shaman (espcially those who dont know how to play their role well). LoL. i've failed 2 runs with them as healer!
plaz
post May 14 2007, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(SpeedAlert @ May 14 2007, 11:26 AM)
5 mans team of 1 prot war, 1 flurry war, 1 holy priest, 1 shadow priest & 1 roque is ideal i guess?

My toon is a warrior also & i found it rather frustrating teaming up with druid & shaman (espcially those who dont know how  to play their role well). LoL. i've failed 2 runs with them as healer!
No CCer? only the rogue to sap is bad
intothefantasy
post May 14 2007, 12:12 PM

1,561 posts

haih last time i am a dps warrior in my guild but now need to be proc to get into 5man instance due to dps warrior din have any cc
taingau
post May 15 2007, 04:04 AM

To the OP, this might be late as ur friend is ignoring u now sad.gif but maybe if u have a chance u can let him know some ideas i have.

Taking sethekk halls don't need u to be prot. No need to respec.
I think it is more on playing style.
Watch his playing pattern and tell him (if he is not doing)
(1) Taunt is his best friend. Loose aggro? Switch stance and spam it to get it back. (i presume he is not in def stance since he likes dps) All mobs are tauntable there. so he should be able to use it (10sec cooldown if i remember correctly and I presume he has no talent on prot tree)
(2) Use skills like mocking blow / challenging shout etc. Cool down is long but better than no one wanna party with you.
(3) Since he is 70, if possible try get def above 490 which will remove crit form ur dmg table & and have at least 25% shield block. Shield Block removes crushing blow. But this is not a game breaker in sethekk halls and might be tough for him.
(4) Be more mindfull on the situation. Mobs on healers? Taunt! Hamstring mobs so they run away slower. Switch target when mob is below 5% etc casters will nuke it and chances are it will die within the next sec or so and move on to next one (more time to build up aggro)
(5) Must have the following :-) SHIELD. More armour = less melee dmg = less mana healers need. Unless u r an expert u can tank in 2-hander but i doubt this is the case. At least whipped it out on boss fights
(6) NEVER think too much of DPS meter etc when u tank. (U said he just wanna finish sethekk halls right?) Take back ur ego and just go get the loots (farming)
Party survival is key.
(7) Remember to switch stances Intercept and intervene is key for last boss fight.
Need to get it off healers after the AOE. Int and TAUNT (best friend)
(8) Bring pots. Lots. Rage pots armour pots, health pots etc
(9) Spams attacks like HS/Sunders etc.
(10) As a party CC well. Resheep / traps /sap. Minimize stray mobs.
(11) buy him a book on shapes and tell him skull in general = ur target. If all else fails tell him that if u kill mobs in the following order Skull - X - Moon - Square etc, u get more DPS. It is a hidden programming code from Bliz.

Bear in mind that no matter what, ppl are going to pull aggro. Mages...pyro/POM/pyro...ouch
It is how fast the tank get it back that counts. TAUNT!!!

-nub tank-
Quazacolt
post May 15 2007, 11:27 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(taingau @ May 15 2007, 04:04 AM)
To the OP, this might be late as ur friend is ignoring u now sad.gif  but maybe if u have a chance u can let him know some ideas i have.

Taking sethekk halls don't need u to be prot. No need to respec.
I think it is more on playing style.
Watch his playing pattern and tell him (if he is not doing)
(1) Taunt is his best friend. Loose aggro? Switch stance and spam it to get it back. (i presume he is not in def stance since he likes dps) All mobs are tauntable there. so he should be able to use it (10sec cooldown if i remember correctly and I presume he has no talent on prot tree)
(2) Use skills like mocking blow / challenging shout etc. Cool down is long but better than no one wanna party with you.
(3) Since he is 70, if possible try get def above 490 which will remove crit form ur dmg table & and have at least 25% shield block. Shield Block removes crushing blow. But this is not a game breaker in sethekk halls and might be tough for him.
(4) Be more mindfull on the situation. Mobs on healers? Taunt! Hamstring mobs so they run away slower. Switch target when mob is below 5% etc casters will nuke it and chances are it will die within the next sec or so and move on to next one (more time to build up aggro)
(5) Must have the following :-) SHIELD. More armour = less melee dmg = less mana healers need. Unless u r an expert u can tank in 2-hander but i doubt this is the case. At least whipped it out on boss fights
(6) NEVER think too much of DPS meter etc when u tank. (U said he just wanna finish sethekk halls right?) Take back ur ego and just go get the loots (farming)
Party survival is key.
(7) Remember to switch stances Intercept and intervene is key for last boss fight.
Need to get it off healers after the AOE. Int and TAUNT (best friend)
(8) Bring pots. Lots. Rage pots armour pots, health pots etc
(9) Spams attacks like HS/Sunders etc.
(10) As a party CC well. Resheep / traps /sap. Minimize stray mobs.
(11) buy him a book on shapes and tell him skull in general = ur target. If all else fails tell him that if u kill mobs in the following order Skull - X - Moon - Square etc, u get more DPS. It is a hidden programming code from Bliz.

Bear in mind that no matter what, ppl are going to pull aggro. Mages...pyro/POM/pyro...ouch
It is how fast the tank get it back that counts. TAUNT!!!

-nub tank-
tip 11 is the winner

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0173sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:52 PM