[V31] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

horns
post May 28 2018, 01:20 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Sigint @ May 27 2018, 04:29 PM)
Just wondering what are the generally consensus here regarding Razer's mechanical switches (Green, Orange, Yellow)? Specifically I'm talking about their current switches made by Greetech not their older switches made by Kailh.

Really curious on how people here think about them when compared to MX Blues, Browns and Reds. Does it have the same satisfactory "feel" when typing/gaming on them compared to Cherry's switches or better? Quite a number of people are saying Razer current switches feel even better than those of Cherry.
i never tried greetech switches before. i already have my all-time favorites. with simple lubing they're better than anything stock.

like romer-g switches, it's really up to your personal preference. hearsay or our opinions sometimes can be misleading because they're kind of subjective. it's better that you try them out and compare the differences yourself.
TSquovadis123
post May 28 2018, 09:15 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ May 27 2018, 02:08 AM)
why are black switches hard to find in most mainstream keyboards these days?
It's very low demand until extinction because the Cherry MX switch is heavy at 60g.
That's why we will not see any MX black now.

However, Japan and oversea still selling the black switch, although the popularity is going down.

Now we have replacement using Gateron Black which widely acceptable in the community because of the 50g.
You may try gateron black, it's good. For most board i try introduce in the community, I insist to get the black switch first. rclxm9.gif
kraziekd
post May 28 2018, 09:27 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ May 28 2018, 09:15 AM)
It's very low demand until extinction because the Cherry MX switch is heavy at 60g.
That's why we will not see any MX black now.

However, Japan and oversea still selling the black switch, although the popularity is going down.

Now we have replacement using Gateron Black which widely acceptable in the community because of the 50g.
You may try gateron black, it's good. For most board i try introduce in the community, I insist to get the black switch first.  rclxm9.gif
i concur.. gateron black and gateron yellow is super nice and smooth.. i regret not getting either of those two for my dz60.. maybe i'll get them for my second kb tongue.gif tongue.gif or maybe the kailh box black or dark yellow
TSquovadis123
post May 28 2018, 09:33 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Sigint @ May 27 2018, 04:29 PM)
Just wondering what are the generally consensus here regarding Razer's mechanical switches (Green, Orange, Yellow)? Specifically I'm talking about their current switches made by Greetech not their older switches made by Kailh.

Really curious on how people here think about them when compared to MX Blues, Browns and Reds. Does it have the same satisfactory "feel" when typing/gaming on them compared to Cherry's switches or better? Quite a number of people are saying Razer current switches feel even better than those of Cherry.
It's acceptable switch only. If the comment annoy you in some way, then I'm sorry.

Kailh is much better quality.

What happens to the Razer, is they turn greedy. That's why onwards from 2013, they moved from Cherry to Kailh. Then they complain about Kailh still is higher cost (although half price of cherry), only they moving to Greetech and Outemu.

So, what's differentiate between cherry, kailh, greetch?
Cherry is very firm, and stem less wobble. Each strong is precise among their own.
Kailh, is very solid as well, less wobble. However, we still found that the accuracy is lesser than the cherry. But, newer kailh box made it better kailh now.
Greetch, the switch is wobble, less solid switch. It uses less materials and cost, thinner copper pins, not smooth gold leaf composite. However, it's still very acceptable switch.

Just imagine a switch only 1/4 to 1/6 of the cherry, but still selling the board with same price.

This post is not to bash the Razer, just to let you know,
previous 2013, board cost 300+, sell at RM 400+
now, board cost 100+, sell at RM 500-600+

If greetech good, we all using greetech from long time ago

Well, razer claimed their switch award-winning. I think the conclusion the switch is not satisfactory to the community, but it's Razer fans self-satisfactory feel (Syok Sendiri).
horns
post May 28 2018, 11:53 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ May 28 2018, 09:33 AM)
It's acceptable switch only. If the comment annoy you in some way, then I'm sorry.

What happens to the Razer, is they turn greedy. That's why onwards from 2013, they moved from Cherry to Kailh. Then they complain about Kailh still is higher cost (although half price of cherry), only they moving to Greetech and Outemu.

Cherry is very firm, and stem less wobble. Each strong is precise among their own.
Kailh, is very solid as well, less wobble. However, we still found that the accuracy is lesser than the cherry. But, newer kailh box made it better kailh now.
Greetch, the switch is wobble, less solid switch. It uses less materials and cost, thinner copper pins, not smooth gold leaf composite. However, it's still very acceptable switch.

Just imagine a switch only 1/4 to 1/6 of the cherry, but still selling the board with same price.

Well, razer claimed their switch award-winning. I think the conclusion the switch is not satisfactory to the community, but it's Razer fans self-satisfactory feel (Syok Sendiri).
a nice comparison for switches from different manufacturers. i only know cherry mx, gateron and kailh.

.. so this is the chronology on how razer turned to greetech.
schuessler
post May 28 2018, 03:47 PM

97 posts

Guys , i saw lazada selling ikbc f108 rm339, is it worth to buy?
horns
post May 28 2018, 04:40 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(schuessler @ May 28 2018, 03:47 PM)
Guys , i saw lazada selling ikbc f108 rm339, is it worth to buy?
if it has warranty, it's fine i think. some lazada's boards have no warranty.
khelben
post May 28 2018, 07:35 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Just got these from Ultimate Zone laugh.gif

Jay Chua CC
post May 28 2018, 09:00 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ May 28 2018, 07:35 PM)

How much? ducky punya?
khelben
post May 28 2018, 09:16 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 28 2018, 09:00 PM)
How much? ducky punya?
Ya Ducky. Rm169
ck.chunkeat
post May 28 2018, 09:33 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ May 28 2018, 09:33 AM)

You missed out 1 point, razer logo/branding alone is worth that extra cost for razer fans. innocent.gif

When you say razer switch is not good, they will link the durability that razer claimed. 80 million clicks compared to 50million clicks.
Not to mention razer chroma(better naming of RGB) alone is enough for them to drool.gif .
Jay Chua CC
post May 28 2018, 09:40 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ May 28 2018, 09:33 PM)
You missed out 1 point, razer logo/branding alone is worth that extra cost for razer fans.  innocent.gif

When you say razer switch is not good, they will link the durability that razer claimed. 80 million clicks compared to 50million clicks.
Not to mention razer chroma(better naming of RGB) alone is enough for them to  drool.gif .
Their naming like "black widow" also can make them go drool.gif
Kedekut
post May 28 2018, 11:33 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ May 28 2018, 07:35 PM)

You buy from their own website or lazada?
khelben
post May 28 2018, 11:39 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(Kedekut @ May 28 2018, 11:33 PM)
You buy from their own website or lazada?
Went to their store at Kota damansara.
ck.chunkeat
post May 29 2018, 12:06 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ May 28 2018, 09:40 PM)
Their naming like "black widow" also can make them go  drool.gif
Razer BlackWidow X Chroma Mercury Edition

Razer BlackWidow X Tournament Edition Chroma

With tournament-grade precision courtesy of Razer™ Mechanical Switches...

Designed specifically for gaming, Razer Mechanical Switches actuate at an optimal distance, giving you speed and responsiveness like never before . Razer Mechanical Switches have been lauded as the new standard  for all mechanical gaming keyboards since their introduction.

Validated by top esports athletes, Razer™ Mechanical Switches are engineered for extreme performance.

I can see how fan boys would like the name as it probably sounded very cool for them.
I'd say Razer is doing a fantastic job in their marketing where it is aimed at their targeted customers in their face:thumbsup:

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: May 29 2018, 12:06 PM
khelben
post May 29 2018, 02:03 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ May 29 2018, 12:06 PM)

I can see how fan boys would like the name as it probably sounded very cool for them.
I'd say Razer is doing a fantastic job in their marketing where it is aimed at their targeted customers in their face:thumbsup:
Their "gaming" keyboard may be silly but their gaming keypad is actually quite legit. Like the, Orbweaver or something like that.

Removing your pinky's dependency and move it to the thumb is so much better, especially for games that require bout 30 keybinds laugh.gif

This post has been edited by khelben: May 29 2018, 02:05 PM
TSquovadis123
post May 29 2018, 02:50 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ May 28 2018, 09:33 PM)
You missed out 1 point, razer logo/branding alone is worth that extra cost for razer fans.  innocent.gif

Not to mention razer chroma(better naming of RGB) alone is enough for them to  drool.gif .
Cherry only claimed their tactile is 30mil, and linear at 50mil lifespan.
However, razer terus shoot 80mil without test report. Syukur, award-winning.

I agree Razer logo alone worth a lot. thumbup.gif
ck.chunkeat
post May 29 2018, 03:45 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ May 29 2018, 02:03 PM)
Their "gaming" keyboard may be silly but their gaming keypad is actually quite legit. Like the, Orbweaver or something like that.

Removing your pinky's dependency and move it to the thumb is so much better, especially for games that require bout 30 keybinds laugh.gif
the orbweaver cost around rm500, and although i never used it myself, i have heard people mentioning about the switches dying also, which shows some quality issue.

There are custom keyboards which supports the thumb cluster but those might not be cheap , such as the ergo dox, iris,

Other than that, there's a few keyboards which supports custom keybind. So if you really needed something similar to orb weaver, why not go full split keyboard? at least you still get to type on it.
horns
post May 29 2018, 04:15 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ May 29 2018, 12:06 PM)

this one is undeniable. it's marketing executed right for the most parts.

if they can start delivering quality (they should), they will be here to stay for a long time.
Skylinestar
post May 29 2018, 04:16 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

So much hate for China plastics:
https://www.reddit.com/r/pcmasterrace/comme...es_why_the_big/

And some brands aren't available in europe and don't give guarantee services here which all the bigger brands do. Guarantee is not the same as warranty, warranty is 2 years by law in europe but just assures the product is ok when you buy it and is given by the store, not by the vendor. When it breaks after a year you are pretty much fucked cause you have to proof it was already broken when you bought it, whats nearly impossible. Bigger companies like Logitech give you guarantees over 2 years or more in europe and will replace every damage without asking (except waterspill or something like this).

Ducky: 1 year warranty, offices in US, UK, Australia

Varmilo: No warranty or service information on the website, company in shenzhen, can give a fuck about europe customers

Pok3r: No Warranty or service information at all on their website

Royal Klugde: No Warranty or service information at all on their website cause it is completely chinese. Can not read shit there.

Same goes on with the other vendors.

Next problem with a lot of plastic from china are chemicals which are toxic and hard to controll for buyers and customs inspections. The big players are much more reliable that their components are not full of forbidden toxic chemicals and i don't have much trust in chinese companies which don't even have an office anywhere in europe like most of the alternative vendors you listed.

At the end of the day, it is all about the build quality and the users preferences. And i look for companies offering me service, not cheap prices and shipment from china with no service. I don't see a problem paying 20€ more when i get a guarantee and good service. And chinese companies sell cheaper cause they don't offer those services to their customers.

I can tell you at least that a lot of products from china are on european lists and not allowed to enter the eu. And there are several reports of problematic chinese plastic products. I know that all those vendors producing in china, but bigger companies care while some small chinese no name vendors doesn't give a fuck whats in their products.

125 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:02 PM