205 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Galaxy S9/S9+ Discussion Thread V1

un_id
post Feb 26 2018, 12:48 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 26 2018, 12:06 PM)
Well,  I find that iris scanner works in the dark as well. However I find that it works better if you swipe up and get the 2 circles.

As for Bixby unlock, all you need is hi Bixby and then your voice password to unlock.
I take that back, actually i opted to use face recognition, not iris, i just tried iris for a short period of time.. i find face recognition is easier to use than iris because no need to swipe to unlock, just press the bottom of the screen to wake screen and it unlock almost instanly.. but maybe less security but thats fine for me
aral3005
post Feb 26 2018, 12:50 PM

1,102 posts

Nice...
un_id
post Feb 26 2018, 12:55 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

The pressure sensitive sensor embedded at the bottom of the screen is one small feature that i appreciate much. Easier to wake the screen instead of reaching for button
Max2006
post Feb 26 2018, 01:02 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Feb 26 2018, 12:55 PM)
The pressure sensitive sensor embedded at the bottom of the screen is one small feature that i appreciate much. Easier to wake the screen instead of reaching for button
Not sure why Samsung doesn't want to implement double tap on screen to wake up feature. Imo, this is much convenient compared to home button sensor.
un_id
post Feb 26 2018, 01:06 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Feb 26 2018, 01:02 PM)
Not sure why Samsung doesn't want to implement double tap on screen to wake up feature. Imo, this is much convenient compared to home button sensor.
True also, the screen double tap has been around since 2 years ago. Even my Huawei P8 Max has it.. was quite convenience to use. But accidental tap is one issue, happened to me sometimes.. so maybe pressure sensor is a more accurate method for such intention.
off_shore
post Feb 26 2018, 01:25 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 26 2018, 11:48 AM)
I dont think on screen fingerprint scanner will gain much popularity without sacrificing display quality. Actually I havent used my fingerprint scanner at all for 2weeks after my finger start peeling skin. It still couldnt read properly. Been using Iris scanner and it seem to works even better nowadays.

I also been using bixby to unlock the phone. What I didnt like about bixby voice unlock is that it still try to use recognition which is not necessary. Why cant they make it so it will verify the particular short burst of voice and match the tone/pitch instead. I have been using bixby quite often ever since I discovered that it can even set off my samsung robot vacuum with just voice command. If only Samsung had the same thing for their tv and aircon (Im already using their triangle ac).

Anyone managed to find any video on speaker comparison between S8 and S9?
Try not to use too much of iris scanner as it uses a kind of light which is harmful to your eyes in long run.

I realized my eyes teared a lot after using it for a few days
cedriclee
post Feb 26 2018, 01:28 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Feb 26 2018, 01:06 PM)
True also, the screen double tap has been around since 2 years ago. Even my Huawei P8 Max has it.. was quite convenience to use. But accidental tap is one issue, happened to me sometimes.. so maybe pressure sensor is a more accurate method for such intention.
4 years ago, my Xperia Z2 already had that feature.. Haha
Theoutspokenguy
post Feb 26 2018, 01:29 PM

I buwee ktards ke ke
4,602 posts

QUOTE(off_shore @ Feb 26 2018, 01:25 PM)
Try not to use too much of iris scanner as it uses a kind of light which is harmful to your eyes in long run.

I didn't know my eyes keep tearing because of the iris scanner.
chongkiatz
post Feb 26 2018, 01:33 PM

6,753 posts

im using face , feel it's better and fun to play , rise ur phone up , then it's unlocked , i like it more than finger print
attw
post Feb 26 2018, 01:35 PM

32,468 posts

Is the Harmon Kardon Onyx Mini really worth RM699 as advertised? I'd gladly take a RM699 discount and ask them to keep the speaker laugh.gif
vassilius
post Feb 26 2018, 01:38 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Feb 26 2018, 11:04 AM)
Just checked the official photo samples.

Meh

https://www.gsmarena.com/the_official_samsu...-news-29814.php

Bright light also so blotchy NR

https://cdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/18...smarena_142.jpg

Selfie... skin and texture on the guy's shirt all crapped out.

https://cdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/18...smarena_166.jpg

Can't brain why samsung do this? This kinda lighting don't need any smoothening.
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Feb 26 2018, 11:09 AM)
Yea.. looks kinda meh
Sifus, plz enlighten me how is consider superb camera photo quality? Got example ahh?
SUSkevin23
post Feb 26 2018, 01:41 PM

1,803 posts

Overrated overpriced junk. The camera is no where as good as the mate 10pro.

Samsung is turning into the next apple.
sniper on the roof
post Feb 26 2018, 01:44 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ Feb 26 2018, 01:38 PM)
Sifus, plz enlighten me how is consider superb camera photo quality? Got example ahh?
What i meant is in good light.. even S7's camera can take decent enough to be not very noticeable when mixed together with photos from my fuji cameras... But only when shot in raw.

So the capability is there but the phone's image processing ruins it by over smoothening

Its not noticeable when view on small phone screen but obvious even on something larger like a notebook let alone desktop screen.
NightFelix
post Feb 26 2018, 01:59 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(cedriclee @ Feb 26 2018, 01:28 PM)
4 years ago, my Xperia Z2 already had that feature.. Haha
6 years ago my Nexus 4 running custom ROM had it. Lol.
miyakochan89
post Feb 26 2018, 02:02 PM

Wut?
6,724 posts

I agreed. Previously it was discussed in the S8 thread, the iris scanner does hurt users' eyes, if you look through Samsung S8 Reddit, a lot of people have been complaining the same. I get headaches after one or two tries.
un_id
post Feb 26 2018, 02:16 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Feb 26 2018, 01:59 PM)
6 years ago my Nexus 4 running custom ROM had it. Lol.
ahah that could be true, i just't can't recall what device have specific functions, except for the P8 Max because it is still here sitting in my drawer collecting dust
andrekua2
post Feb 26 2018, 02:18 PM

13,473 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Feb 26 2018, 12:42 PM)
Not yet at this moment. But based on some youtubers first impression, mkbhd said the improvement is not that significant, only louder a bit. While the others such as Android authority said it's quite loud, a lot louder.

So I guess it's all based on personal perception afterall.
I found them already. AndroidAuth has compared them in his video. Quite impressive since he was comparing with S8.

QUOTE(un_id @ Feb 26 2018, 12:48 PM)
I take that back, actually i opted to use face recognition, not iris, i just tried iris for a short period of time.. i find face recognition is easier to use than iris because no need to swipe to unlock, just press the bottom of the screen to wake screen and it unlock almost instanly.. but maybe less security but thats fine for me
Actually Iris scanner also no need swipe. Just that I found it easier to scan when outdoor if swipe up.

No problem...
off_shore
post Feb 26 2018, 02:47 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(rowlet @ Feb 26 2018, 02:04 PM)
face unlock is insecure. can be easily fooled with photo.
worthless and false sense of security.
better disable it and use pattern lock.
best is still finger print or pin code. since s9 fingerprint scanner is placed lower, it's easier to reach anyhow.
kding2
post Feb 26 2018, 03:03 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(rowlet @ Feb 26 2018, 02:04 PM)
face unlock is insecure. can be easily fooled with photo.
worthless and false sense of security.
better disable it and use pattern lock.
Talk about insecure but suggest pattern lock? Are you ok?
attw
post Feb 26 2018, 03:20 PM

32,468 posts

No buzz from our telcos just yet. Anyone renewing a contract, or any Maxis Zerolution customers here upgrading?

205 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:38 PM