38 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

EPF SELF-CONTRIBUTION

poweredbydiscuz
post Mar 17 2022, 04:40 PM

3,833 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 17 2022, 04:26 PM)
The thing is, even if wanted to withdrawal, we can’t withdrawal out. And it is by law , EPF is mandatory for employees in Malaysia. Basically, like it or not, they can do whatever they want
The problem is the top contributors are mostly retiree or >1 mil and can withdraw anytime. The moment they feel like it's not worth to leave their money in EPF (low interest), there will be a mass withdrawal.
loserguy
post Mar 17 2022, 05:35 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Mar 17 2022, 03:32 PM)
All of us will threaten to withdraw if they go tiered but how many will actually withdraw all?
Why withdraw all? Just withdraw the amount in the low dividend tier. Max the high dividend tiers.
N9484640
post Mar 17 2022, 05:43 PM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Mar 17 2022, 05:35 PM)
Why withdraw all? Just withdraw the amount in the low dividend tier. Max the high dividend tiers.
If say anything above 1m is 4% or lower, will you withdraw?
loserguy
post Mar 17 2022, 05:46 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Mar 17 2022, 05:43 PM)
If say anything above 1m is 4% or lower, will you withdraw?
4% probably not. 3.X% or less, I will start looking around.

This post has been edited by loserguy: Mar 17 2022, 05:47 PM
brando_w
post Mar 17 2022, 05:54 PM

480 posts

Tiered dividend will only benefit the majority of the voter bank. The M40 will likely be affected the most.
Afterburner1.0
post Jun 3 2022, 03:04 PM

771 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Mar 9 2022, 12:25 AM)
lol....

another alternative is to aim and target the "10m" status.... then 6% pa is 600K...
now is the right time to dream... it is past midnight...  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
u need 166 yrs to reach that 10 mil with the capped at 60K per yr. Can u live that long? LOL...
Wedchar2912
post Jun 3 2022, 04:12 PM

3,633 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jun 3 2022, 03:04 PM)
u need 166 yrs to reach that 10 mil with the capped at 60K per yr. Can u live that long? LOL...
Need to factor in compound return.

if use 5% pa return, starting with zero and every year just put in 60K, basically need 45 years.

if change the return to 6% pa, a bit faster... only 40 years.

What I do find impressive is if allocate 60K rm pa and 6% pa return, it just takes 11 years to reach 1 million.
SUSNew Klang
post Jun 3 2022, 04:20 PM

4,998 posts

I calculate my EPF can reach 2m in few years

Syok
Afterburner1.0
post Jun 3 2022, 04:27 PM

771 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 3 2022, 04:12 PM)
Need to factor in compound return.

if use 5% pa return, starting with zero and every year just put in 60K, basically need 45 years.

if change the return to 6% pa, a bit faster... only 40 years.

What I do find impressive is if allocate 60K rm pa and 6% pa return, it just takes 11 years to reach 1 million.
to be exact u need to also put in full 12 mths every year to get the full interest...realistically no one start from 60K on the first year lar....don't count in FAMA help or passed over wealth....
Wedchar2912
post Jun 3 2022, 04:44 PM

3,633 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jun 3 2022, 04:27 PM)
to be exact u need to also put in full 12 mths every year to get the full interest...realistically no one start from 60K on the first year lar....don't count in FAMA help or passed over wealth....
since we are talking about 45 years or 40 years, it doesn't really matter whether its at beginning or end or periodic.

the key is not simply to take it out to cover up the fact that our gov is useless and need US the EPF holders to save ourselves during COVID.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 3 2022, 04:45 PM

3,633 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 3 2022, 04:20 PM)

Syok
and then suddenly you notice that every month also can spend 10K rm.... nice rite?
prophetjul
post Jun 3 2022, 04:53 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 3 2022, 04:45 PM)
and then suddenly you notice that every month also can spend 10K rm.... nice rite?
I think I can do that now. smile.gif
Nice!
Good thing is I don't have to.
Still got cashflow from contract job. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Jun 3 2022, 04:54 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jun 3 2022, 04:57 PM

3,633 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 3 2022, 04:53 PM)
I think I can do that now.  smile.gif
Nice!
Good thing is I don't have to.
Still got cashflow from contract job.  thumbup.gif
and I get envious of the gratuity....

haha... smile.gif

use EPF as your piggy bank.... no point any cash in any bank's FD with the rising rates environment.
SUSNew Klang
post Jun 3 2022, 04:59 PM

4,998 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 3 2022, 04:45 PM)
I use 5% returns to estimate.

Keep 2m as principal, I can withdraw 100k per year, 8k per month

prophetjul
post Jun 3 2022, 05:01 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 3 2022, 04:57 PM)
and I get envious of the gratuity....

haha... smile.gif

use EPF as your piggy bank.... no point any cash in any bank's FD with the rising rates environment.
It's safely deposited in.
Now I wonder if it's the right thing to do. blink.gif

What with the ringgit dying.
kevyeoh
post Jun 14 2022, 09:27 AM

4,719 posts

with assumption still can get 5 or 6% interest rate? with the market condition like this now...i wonder if it's more logical to lower the expectation to minimum 2.5% interest...which is still better than holding stocks return which could be in negative range...and that makes me wonder...if ePF has stakes in stocks...and if stocks tanking and in negative range..how can epf payout dividend?

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 3 2022, 04:20 PM)

Syok
poweredbydiscuz
post Jun 14 2022, 11:12 AM

3,833 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 14 2022, 09:27 AM)
with assumption still can get 5 or 6% interest rate? with the market condition like this now...i wonder if it's more logical to lower the expectation to minimum 2.5% interest...which is still better than holding stocks return which could be in negative range...and that makes me wonder...if ePF has stakes in stocks...and if stocks tanking and in negative range..how can epf payout dividend?
As long as there's steady contribution from new/existing members, they can afford the dividend payout.
Chrono-Trigger
post Jun 14 2022, 11:38 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 3 2022, 04:59 PM)
I use 5% returns to estimate.

Keep 2m as principal, I can withdraw 100k per year, 8k per month
you can stop working now lo, everyday go starbuck limteh.
Super2047
post Jun 14 2022, 01:50 PM

276 posts

I wonder if we can ever stop working if we have less than RM3M in EPF. Even if we are getting 6% return, it's just RM180K per year, which means just RM15K per month.

Look at how expensive food and other necessities are, RM15K barely able to cover for a couple.
SUSDaprind
post Jun 14 2022, 01:54 PM

144 posts

Hi, can Expat status with EPF member account eligible for self contribution too?

38 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:17 AM