EPF SELF-CONTRIBUTION

kevyeoh
post Mar 1 2021, 08:05 PM

4,717 posts

you got 114k from dividend announcement and still need years of slaving?
shocking.gif

QUOTE(Spitzer @ Feb 27 2021, 11:28 PM)
If you’re bad at actual investment (not the typical simply buy stock here and there type, these type all pasar pagi aunty also doing la), or really really maximising your cash on hand, just stick to EPF, let it be a “forgotten” fund for you.

There’s no denying at least 80% of the people who withdraw EPF money just falls under this 2 category:
1. Really need money to keep on surviving through this tough times.
2. Just to buy ps5/iphone or other unnecessary shit to show off in insta.

Very rarely there’s people who really know how to handle that 10k, or more, wisely.

As someone mentioned, people just cannot comprehend the compounding power. I got ~rm114k from today divident announcement by epf, basically doing nothing. And i still got loads more years of slaving to go before i retire, even then, I won’t take out epf oneshot simply because of how hassle free, low risk it is.

Go google yourself compounding intrest examples yourself, its as magical me telling you, if you could fold a piece of normal thin paper for 42times, it’s thickness will reach the moon by then.
kevyeoh
post Mar 2 2021, 05:28 PM

4,717 posts

i just round up to 120k la...
10k a month ...that's already a dream retirement money for like super majority of folks man...
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
great job to you.... moving forward, not really gonna slave anymore la...i think you can choose what you want to do as work...i think you are already super close to financial freedom (if you yourself think you're not there yet)....

QUOTE(Spitzer @ Mar 1 2021, 09:40 PM)
Macha.. i’m not even close to retirement age... of course alot more year, or decades to be a slave la, as much as i wish i’m some big time business owner, i know i’m just a small kitten compared to all the business chain owners. Also, the 2mil or so in epf that’s untouchable anyway, cannot even be used to outright buy my current property weh...

But the company pays very well, and has an incentive to topup malaysian epf% from employer side, so all’s good - until the day i get a fat check from redundancy
kevyeoh
post Sep 30 2021, 10:24 PM

4,717 posts

not instant...but macam within 2-3 working days? quite fast if i can recall...

QUOTE(soul78 @ Sep 30 2021, 12:12 PM)
How to check whether contribution is reflected in EPF?. is it instant?. can we see the exact amount self contributed in statement?
kevyeoh
post Jan 4 2022, 10:38 AM

4,717 posts

Cannot. Even if your salary is RM10 or below, also already no need/cannot pay for EPF contribution by employer.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/documents/20126/927...ual+Ketiga+.pdf

Good luck. I will suggest you contact EPF directly since your case so very special...
rclxub.gif

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jan 3 2022, 03:40 PM)
Happy New Year!

Not quite "Self" Contribution - but is it possible for a company to only pay EPF without salary?

As in an employee which only gets paid in EPF Contribution, no salary/wage/allowances etc.

Scenario:-
Senior employee (above 60) to be retained (on a consultancy basis) with only monthly EPF contribution as remuneration.

Say they were on a RM5K/mth salary, with EPF at 650(Employer 13%) & 550(Employee 11%) - but now we only agree on EPF at 650(Employer 13%) & 550(Employee 11%) WITHOUT the RM5K. In short they get 1,200/mth as their pay in EPF Contributions.

How as HR, can we go about this situation? Can it work, or is it against EPF standards?
kevyeoh
post Jan 7 2022, 01:42 PM

4,717 posts

can do anytime...

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jan 7 2022, 03:02 AM)
Have you guys did the self-contribution 60K already ? Or is there a special period to do so?
kevyeoh
post Mar 4 2022, 02:33 PM

4,717 posts

There is a high possibility you are still young... smile.gif risk appetite will go lower once u age more... imagine putting in money at 60k btc price and now stuck at 40k+... if young and got time to hodl then ok...

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Mar 4 2022, 10:37 AM)
My view is 60k reinvested in epf in these days is a little waste
Invest in crypto is better
kevyeoh
post Mar 4 2022, 06:01 PM

4,717 posts

should be Jan 2023...goes by calendar year...

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Mar 4 2022, 05:54 PM)
If I put 60k in July 2022, do I have to wait until July 2023 before I can put again or Jan 2023?
kevyeoh
post Mar 5 2022, 12:45 AM

4,717 posts

actually this part i still not sure why people keep on worry about inflation...20 years ago i already hear the same thing... say future 1mil maybe not worth that much....which is true...but if today i already have 1mil in epf...which can generate about RM4k to RM5k a month tax free...i'd say that's still a pretty damn decent life...
i'll take the smaller spending power anytime also...

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 4 2022, 11:40 PM)
Just have to factor in inflation as well  smile.gif
kevyeoh
post Jun 14 2022, 09:27 AM

4,717 posts

with assumption still can get 5 or 6% interest rate? with the market condition like this now...i wonder if it's more logical to lower the expectation to minimum 2.5% interest...which is still better than holding stocks return which could be in negative range...and that makes me wonder...if ePF has stakes in stocks...and if stocks tanking and in negative range..how can epf payout dividend?

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 3 2022, 04:20 PM)
I calculate my EPF can reach 2m in few years

Syok
kevyeoh
post Jan 9 2023, 12:52 PM

4,717 posts

But for now u can only max self top up rm60k or 100k a year... unless you super high earner else cannot one shot hentam rm10mil

QUOTE(doremon @ Jan 9 2023, 09:05 AM)
Thank you for the info. Meaning can store an unlimited amount? RM10m and so on ?

0.0196sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:52 PM