EPF SELF-CONTRIBUTION

Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 20 2018, 11:10 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Feb 18 2018, 05:31 PM)

No more time for you. Like I said - it's your money. Use it
anyhow you like - even at the casinos in Genting. I don't care.
You'll find out the consequences one day when you are in your
60s like the woman's older brother in my ex-office, with nothing
left but $ 15,000 in his EPF.

The last I heard, he was in severe depression, renting a run-down
$ 200 room (she said it was rat-infested) in one of the shophouses
along the main road at 2 1/2 mile Cheras (a few doors from the
funeral parlour).

And he is a qualified engineer.
Did he spend his money for medical treatment until he has to withdraw all from his savings?

Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 20 2018, 11:19 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(TheRealist @ Feb 18 2018, 09:14 PM)

In fact,  the fact that epf is actually thinking of increasing the withdrawal age should give alarm bells. If today they want to increase the age who knows what is going to happen 5 years from now.

That's because of changing demography in the country. People live longer and healthier these days, life expectancy increases.

Someone has to pay for this extra projected lifespan, so if it's not yourself, who else is going to do it for you? So you have to work more till 60 years, and at the time of your demise at age 75, the money in EPF would have been exhausted.
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 20 2018, 12:24 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(TheRealist @ Feb 20 2018, 12:02 PM)
The only reason why withdrawal age increase is because they have problems paying you that's all. Saying that they have to wait until I am 60 or even more to pay me back only tells me that they do not have the funds to pay me back. I pity you guys if you really believe that narrative put out by EPF to delay paying me back. The agreement in the first place was to pay me back when I am 55 years of age and that is my money. No ifs or buts. If I decide to contribute after that, it's my prerogative.

well, maybe you are financially very savvy and can take risk in higher return investments.

For me, so conservative and stupid, I put my money with EPF lor. Tried property , lost money. Tried stock market, lost money... thank you for your sympathy.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Feb 20 2018, 12:39 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Aug 13 2020, 03:29 PM

4,308 posts

what is the maximum rate of contribution for employer and employee?
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 4 2022, 10:21 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Mar 4 2022, 10:00 AM)
Serious question, boleh choose until 16%?

The companies I worked with gave option for either 9% or 11%
Yes, you can choose more than that.

Fill up this form

PILIHAN CARUMAN LEBIH

Your employer / HR needs to sign it. Best if you take the initiative yourself and sent it to EPF , and they will give you an acknowledge form. Give the acknowledgement form to your HR, EPF will contact your HR , and usually they will start deducting in 1 or 2 months time.

If I remember correctly , the maximum contribution is 50% (or 55% ? ) of your gross salary. So if your employer is paying 13%, you can opt to pay your employee portion up to 37%

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 4 2022, 10:33 AM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 4 2022, 10:35 AM

4,308 posts

edited

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 4 2022, 10:35 AM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 4 2022, 10:37 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 4 2022, 10:25 AM)
Oh i didn't know, HR can do this for you? Must tell my niece and nephews!
Caruman melebihi kadar berkanun

If I remember correctly, maximum is 50% ( or was it 55%) of your gross salary.

HR usually don't bother to do it for you as it involves a lot of paperwork.

In my case, I took the initiative to fill up the form myself, sent it to my boss to sign and approve, and submit to EPF manually. EPF gave me the acknowledgement form, and I sent it back to HR for their record and action.

Good luck.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 4 2022, 10:38 AM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 4 2022, 06:27 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Mar 4 2022, 05:25 PM)
or if your EPF is is around 700-800k I think can start already max self-contribution since >RM1mil can withdraw
how to withdraw past 1million?

need to apply every time need to withdraw?
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 4 2022, 06:34 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Mar 4 2022, 06:33 PM)
1 million sad.gif

still quite far away
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 4 2022, 07:14 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(TryingToSurvive @ Mar 4 2022, 06:43 PM)
But financially speaking, since if you load up on EPF early you would get more interest over time.
Wouldnt it be better if you put more in the beginning?

Personally since I started working at 25, eventhoug I get the normal employee+employer contribution but yearly 15% annual salary self contribution.

Now at 32, my dividend from EPF is double my peers.
You did good, I wish I had the insight to contribute more when I was younger. But there are more employers these days opting for contract work which they don't have to pay EPF. I think this is the loophole the government should look into. I was in such employment for few years. sad.gif

The compounding interest from EPF will work its magic once you reach a certain threshold.

I would say when it reaches 500K, you will really see it getting very significant.
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 5 2022, 12:32 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Mar 4 2022, 11:24 PM)
One million in EPF is a good point to retire whatever age you're at. The 50-60k++ dividend is enough for you to live off at about RM5k or so of nett, tax free, spending money a month... especially if you have no commitments.
If you hit that at age 55, good. If you hit at age 45, great.

It's not a luxurious living but can retire and do what you really love and really get to live your life, your way. Not bad right?
1 million in EPF with no debt - very decent life. Probably can dine out every weekend won't feel pinch. Can go local holiday every 2-3 months. But no big ticket items such as car replacement. oversea holiday probably once in a year. May be affected by inflation, so need to keep track of spending. Need to really "think" a few times before purchasing iphone / laptop / holiday trip.

2 million , decent life + replace car every 7 years. oversea trip 2-3 times a year. Quite resistant to inflation.

3 million, technically a "rich" retiree. Can get iphone/ laptop/ etc without much hesitation.

p/s a banker who used to work for foreign bank told me that 5 million cash is the standard of very comfortable life after retirement.. She probably talking about 5 million in Fixed Deposits with return of 3-4% pa.

All the above only possible IF
1. you have health ( so please invest in health, get some swimming lessons, eat properly)
2. your children don't come back to bug you with their family/ divorce/ ah long/ debt / gambling problem

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 5 2022, 12:40 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 6 2022, 01:01 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 6 2022, 10:33 AM)
Good write up!  thumbsup.gif

Yes, i agreed, RM5 mil is the gold standard of a very comfortable life. Basically USD1 mil.

Frankly i think RM1mil is quite risky. A networth of RM2-3 mil with stocks, EPFs, properties (to generate income), cash is quite safe with a portfolio balanced towards liquidity.
Yes, 1 million is OK but have very little room for maneuver . For example need to repair home once in 10-15 years, unexpected expenses (medical bill , some items may not be covered, cataract surgery lense, etc). Fixing an aging car all need money or give money to parents/ siblings relatives that need emergency money..

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 6 2022, 01:18 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Mar 6 2022, 06:56 PM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Mar 6 2022, 05:49 PM)
In that case, 1 million in cash and no more debts and housing loan and car loan all paid up is more than enough.

But no annual holidays in the swiss alps and telling anyone there to go die la you over small small things. LoL.
Yea 1 million is enough to live a financially independent live, but there won't be any new cars, oversea trip, iphones/ laptop need to think few times.

But if requirement of life is low, or rather minimalist lifestyle and a person can be happy about it , yea it's enough cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Mar 6 2022, 07:01 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Jun 14 2022, 11:38 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 3 2022, 04:59 PM)
I use 5% returns to estimate.

Keep 2m as principal, I can withdraw 100k per year, 8k per month
you can stop working now lo, everyday go starbuck limteh.

0.0230sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:30 PM