9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Nvidia Shield TV 2017

juzmafia
post Sep 4 2020, 09:34 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Sep 4 2020, 08:15 PM)
Thanks for the info, by reset meaning unplug the power source for all the devices?
Yup, this will cause all device connected via HDMI to re-negotiate the handshake.
Do unplug for 10 to 15 second b4 replug in to power drain the devices.
juzmafia
post Sep 9 2020, 06:35 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(heliozguard @ Sep 9 2020, 08:39 AM)
Ppl punya money. U pulak butt hurt.

I got 2015 shield, planning to get another one. Tube or pro?
Same as what others have recommended, go for the pro version if budget allows.

Honestly, the tube version is not even worth the money due the reduced specs especially the 32bit OS & 2GB ram.
I've read issues that it struggle to play high bitrate videos & will kill background apps even when temporary switching between apps.

Even now nvidia is having issue upgrading AI upscaling to 60fps, ram management optimization & probably will have difficulty in adding new features that require more resources on the tube version.
Hence why some apps especially games are not available for the tube version.

To those who have budget issue & planing to get tube model better get TiVO Streamer or wait for Google's own Android TV 'Sabrina' which may be announced next month.

Anyway, those who owns 2015/2017 Pro(500GB) & experiencing lags with app crashing better to clone the hdd to newer drive before it's too late. 😅
juzmafia
post Oct 21 2020, 10:27 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(mtgh @ Oct 20 2020, 08:59 PM)
Can i install
1. stremio
2  rss player

if i play those 480 old tvb series , will the upscaling improve the quality
any problem connecting nvidia to sony android tv?
thinking of getting the pro

using evpad. unable to stream 4k from stremio
1. Yes (sideload)
2. Yes (sideload)
3. The AI upscaling will definitely try to improve the video but it depends on the source of the video.
There are few videos on youtube on the AI upscaling demo & here is one of it with still pictures of the upscaling results >> https://youtu.be/SWIpepe_GP4?t=155
4. No problem using Shield TV with other Android TV

QUOTE(heliozguard @ Oct 21 2020, 05:23 PM)
Sheild just work. Never fail me but abit overkill as I don't do plex or gaming. I would assume Google somewhere around mibox spec.
Notable differences between Mibox S & Google TV:-
SoC, RAM(DDR4), DV, DA & etc..

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 21 2020, 09:10 PM)
I want to tunpang ask.  Can the TV pro can read multiple hdd drives. 

I got a USB hdd stack. With 4 hdd.  Can the pro read it.?
Yes as long it is self powered.

juzmafia
post Oct 23 2020, 03:31 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(tharmaraj @ Oct 23 2020, 02:50 PM)
Everyone talks abt the new chromecast...my concern here on the space it got..so how to have large space? connect to NAS?
It has 8GB storage but only 4GB usable storage but can be expand by formatting USB flash drive as adoptable storage connected via compatible self-powered(>18W) USB hub.
The process is similar to how it is done on Shield TV.

Unfortunately, the new Google TV do have some downside currently:-
> Refresh rate switching not working
> USB 3.0 speed issue
> No native NTFS support(need 3rd party app driver)
> IR & CEC issue
> Not all usb-c hub with ethernet will work
> Color space issue
> No lossless audio passthrough
> Atm, some Google TV features may not work outside supported region & apps including Malaysia.

Some of this issues are things that can be fix via software upgrade but the question is will they fix it & if yes, how fast will they do it? biggrin.gif
Recently Google did release software update but did not solve this issues.

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 18 2020, 02:33 PM
juzmafia
post Oct 23 2020, 06:16 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 23 2020, 04:06 PM)
Guess go to Nvidia Shield TV (Tube) seems better right now for me, haha
But will Nvidia Shield TV receive Google TV (from Android TV) update ?

I've seen someone sideload Google TV into Shield though.
If your usage is for legal streaming & lite birate local playback, then the STV tube is sufficient. It only becomes an issue when user expect it to performance similar to STV Pro thinking that the small differences on the RAM will not affect much but they did not know that it will cause differences in the firmware & features on both Tube & Pro.

If Google manage to rectify those issues, then GTV will hurt STV(Tube)'s sales even more than what they are currently having because current NSTV users highly recommend the Pro version to the new users due to future proof for current/upcoming features & also due to current issues/limitations with the tube version..😅

Currently the advantages NSTV tube has now is:-
> Nvidia's own Refresh rate api & 3rd party app support
> AI upscaling(limited to 30fps)
> Lossless audio passthrough
> Gigabit ethernet
> Nvidia's excellent support
> Etc..(Nvidia implemented features)

Hopefully with the newer Android version, it will bring better memory optimization so that Nvidia can overcome the current issues.

According to Google they plan to bring the new Google TV launcher to all Android TV devices in two years time.

I manage to sideload the new launcher but the experience was not great since there are some new core services required by the new launcher & need to VPN to supported regions(ex: US) for the home screen to populate information.
Without VPN it will take time to load & will show error on the home screen.
So not recommended trying or using the new launcher until Google is ready to support it natively on NSTV.

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 18 2020, 02:33 PM
juzmafia
post Oct 31 2020, 07:07 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Rudd @ Oct 27 2020, 10:28 PM)
Since you have Mibox, i assume it should has Chromecast functionality built in.
Does Mibox cast to TV feature is on par with Google Chromecast v2?
There is some downside on Built-in Chromecast(Android TV) currently;-
a. No Guest Mode
b. Some smart features may not work with Google Home
c. Ambient mode does not work sometimes or in some cases not available.
d. Sometimes after each update need to clear data first to make it work.

QUOTE(chriscym @ Oct 29 2020, 09:50 PM)
I bought a Nvidia Shield TV (tube) 2 days ago, I found it strange that I am not able to login to Google account from apps like Youtube. Is this a region lock thingy?
Do you have 2FA enabled for your Google account?
If you do, disabled it bcs Android TV has some compatibility issue with it.
Also disable IPV6 on Shield TV.

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 31 2020, 10:35 AM)
Can ask.  Do any of you guys use your shield pro to watch Blu-ray ISO?  And anyone here try b4 plugging a external Blu-ray drive to watch disc?
1. Kodi can read ISO files but not sure about BD ISO.
From BD folder it can show simplified Bluray Menu except java based menu like actual Bluray player.
2. Afaik, not possible. Shield TV does not have the capability to decrypt BD security. But Shield TV able to play some DVD movies from external DVD player.

juzmafia
post Nov 18 2020, 03:27 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(jamrock @ Nov 18 2020, 11:31 AM)
Considering between Nvidia Shield Tube 2019 and Chromecast with Google TV

Price difference is close to 300 bucks apart.

Purpose : Streaming only , but very particular with the performance and ease of use. Ability to side load apps as well.

Anyone can share some insights on the advantages/disadvantages between this two boxes in helping me make a decision before purchasing?

Appreciate the help. Thanks.
Both are suitable for online streaming & can sideload apps.
Unless using it for local playback then there are other factors to look at.
Using the device with compatible apps won't affect the performance except side loading apps that are not optimized for Android TV OS.

For that price range & usage, CGTV is sufficient but do note that it has some issues unfortunately.

Here are some Pros & Cons:-

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Nov 19 2020, 02:36 PM
juzmafia
post Nov 19 2020, 02:35 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 18 2020, 04:08 PM)
i would suggest direct go Pro too, NS Tube macam not enuf ram or wat not. It is a powerful streaming devices, but if u wan use it to playback high bitrate file like 4k bluray HDR remux mkv etc, better go for Pro. i bought a tube and i felt i should have pay more for Pro. if u wan for streaming only, nvidia tube is enuf, now i think tube price quite cheap also.
Yup, that's the main culprit.
It has cause lotsa issues & definitely will give hard time to Nvidia to improve or implement new features on NS Tube.

QUOTE(chriscym @ Nov 19 2020, 02:09 AM)
The tube plays remux file without issues with Kodi, it was smooth at least for me. Only downside is it's not supporting AI upscale to 4k 60hz
What is the average bitrate for the remux & is it lossless or lossy audio?
The issue appear when playing video with high bitrate (uncompressed video) & will get worse when playing with HD audio.
One of the reason why most users decided to return it & got the Pro version instead.

https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/forums...cally-useless-/

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 19 2020, 06:46 AM)
AI upscaling not required at 4k bro, cos the video file already native 4k, why still need upscaling haha. Another is cannot play HDR video on youtube, i guess that is shield tv punya weakness la.
Ah, yes..how did i forget this..🤦‍♂️
Thanks for pointing out one of the popular cons that all Shield TV generation has it.. 😄
Updated the cons list..
juzmafia
post Dec 7 2020, 12:24 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Dec 6 2020, 08:10 PM)
is there an option to enable HDR playback on Kodi for nvidia Shield 2017 ? unsure.gif most of my HDR streams aren't passing the metadata to AV receiver, but playing through Plex works fine wink.gif
Just need to make sure that both hardware acceleration is enabled under settings>players>videos for HDR.

The bolded part, do u mean Kodi able to play some HDR video or not at all?

Does it work when NS is connected directly to the TV?
Are u using Kodi 18.9 with default Kodi settings?

juzmafia
post Dec 7 2020, 02:48 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Dec 7 2020, 10:26 AM)
The AV receiver failed to pick up any HDR metadata if the file was played through Kodi, however it’s fine playing through Plex.

I’m currently on Kodi 18.9 but don’t seem to see the HDR option you mentioned despite enabling Expert view in Settings. My NV is connected through the AV with HDMI pass through .
That's weird..the option should be there, need to scroll down to Processing.
The Mediacodec(Surface) is required for HDR playback & iinm, it should be enabled by default.
Example:

Just curious aside Plex, can u try other app like VLC or Nova Player & see if the AV able to detect HDR metadata.
juzmafia
post Dec 7 2020, 09:48 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Dec 7 2020, 05:41 PM)
Interestingly Nova Player works perfectly fine passing the required HDR metadata to AV receiver..

I have double checked on the Kodi settings, and its the same as yours. Just that no idea why its not sending the HDR metadata as needed  hmm.gif

edit: reinstalling Kodi seems to have resolved that..  wink.gif
Good to hear that..
That was the final suggestion i was going to recommend to you anyway biggrin.gif
juzmafia
post Dec 10 2020, 03:17 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(PumpIt @ Dec 10 2020, 12:45 PM)
Guys, I have a Sony 4k X90h TV and it has android TV, do I need a Nvidia Shield?

What is the difference?
Not necessary because u'll be getting similar performance since that model comes with newer SoC(MT5895).
Don't think so u'll be missing any features from Shield TV infact in some area X90H have advantage compare to Shield TV.

Unless ur usage need;
> local playback with HD Audio(if ur AVR only support arc)
> Plex media server
> Gigabit ethernet(uncompressed 4k remux plsyback)

juzmafia
post Dec 16 2020, 10:30 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Dec 16 2020, 05:53 PM)
anyone tried ordering the Shield directly from Amazon ? currently its running for $179 rather than its usual $199 , still cheaper after all the shipment and additional charge overhead.

However still a concern if it would be held at the customs or whatnot...
When u buy from Amazon & shipped it to Malaysia via Amazon Global Shipping, the final charges will include shipping & tax.
Currently the final charges is:-
$179.99(Shield TV Pro)+$22.23(Shipping)+$21.59(Estimated Tax) = $222.82
*More info on Amazon Import fees charges >> https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/dis...msg_viewed_help

Amazon appointed courier will handle the custom clearance except Sirim Permit which buyer can choose to apply or appoint agent to do it but it is pretty easy to apply by yourself once u have the relevant documents and good news is that the new charges for Sirim permit for personal device is only RM20 since April 2020.
The permit can be applied thru their Ecomm website.

More info:-
https://ecomm.sirim.my/
https://www.sirim-qas.com.my/introduction-o...al-application/

p/s: if u plan to buy it thru Amazon, do pay in USD due to Amazon exchange rate is usually higher than ur bank exchange rate.

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Dec 16 2020, 10:36 PM
juzmafia
post Apr 3 2021, 10:50 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Mar 30 2021, 10:17 PM)
Just found out finAlly my shieldtv tube can play mkv file with dolby vision 👍 using latest kodi 19
Are you referring to the Official Kodi release via playstore?
Afaik, the Official Kodi 19 only support DV in mp4(single layer) not mkv.
The Kodi team are still waiting for ffmpeg team to add support for mkv DV..
Refer: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/18965
juzmafia
post Apr 4 2021, 07:00 PM

562 posts

Finally, a mod version of Kodi 19(based on official Kodi 19 release) build by Fandangos with capability to play Full Bluray Menu(BD-Java).

Some screenshots:-

Here is the demo video i've tested: https://youtu.be/0LdM0Q2ttx8
*can't play if embed due to YouTube's AI flagged the video as age-restricted
*the section with audio off-sync & lagging is due to the recording app bug. It does not happen during real playback

Tested with following Bluray that has BD-J menu on both BDMV folder & BD ISO:-
a. Dolby Demo disc
b. Batman Death in the Family (Interactive storytelling)
c. Monster Hunter

Of course, it is not 100% perfect but for me it is acceptable when navigating with TV remote via HDMI-CEC thanks to the playback buttons on the remote.
In some cases, to access the BD menu need to long press the PLAY button to bring up the video info menu then press OK/SELECT button to bring up the Kodi playback control bar & click the HOME icon.
Did some playback testing on S905Y2 device, the bluray menu with heavy animation will lag when navigating & slow to process input.

Here is the link to the discussion, instructions & download link:-
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=360250
*do read through the Q/A & 'Known problems' section

In addition to that, this version of Kodi also include further enhancement in DV playback including single & dual-layer with FEL+MEL playback for MKV which is not available yet in official Kodi 19 release.
More info here: https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=360018

Unfortunately, the DV enhancement result will depends on the following criteria:-
a. DV remux with correct setting
b. hardware's capabilities to decode DV profile type on both display(ex: TV) & player(ex: Shield TV).

Example:-
Shield TV can only decode single layer DV with MEL.
Ugoos AM6 Plus can do both single/dual-layer with FEL+MEL & ability to disable DV on player so that TV-led do the processing(tunneling) but the device has it's own issues.
Minix U22-XJ with modded Ugoos firmware has the same capability.

Other than Plex & Kodi, there are other media player apps which use Google's exoplayer same as Plex that can do DV playback.
Such as:-
a. Just (Video) Player -> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....brouken.player
b. Vimu Media Player for TV(Paid) - this app also support hdmi tunneling -> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...box.videoplayer

This post has been edited by juzmafia: May 8 2021, 06:04 PM
juzmafia
post May 8 2021, 05:58 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ May 8 2021, 05:35 PM)
So no Disney+ Hotstar app for Shield ya?  Bummer  sad.gif
Disney+ Hotstar for Malaysia will be available on Android TV platform so it should be available to all Android TV devices unless they decided to blacklist Shield TV on their Google Play app console.

According to Disney+ CS, the app will be available to Malaysia supported device on 1st June 2021 so need to wait till then for the app availability.

Fyi, it will be the same app that is released for India & Indonesia user.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...otstar.dplus.tv

This post has been edited by juzmafia: May 8 2021, 06:00 PM
juzmafia
post May 13 2021, 11:44 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(poobalanc @ May 13 2021, 08:43 PM)
Guys, i was using Shield tv pro 2019. bought last year from amazon us.
it has stopped working. warranty expired. i can't turn it on anymore. i have searched all the resources available.
i have bought new PSU still not working. can anyone of you let me know what could be the issue? how do i fix it. it will be great help.
Was there any lighting strike at your area?
Does the green led blink even for a second when u turn on the psu?
Is the new & old psu get warm after a while?
Btw, where did u get the new socket? Direct from Nvidia?

If replaced PSU is functioning then i'm afraid nothing can be done. Maybe can ask electronic technician try to inspect the electronic components inside.
There is one in garage sales>> https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4437612/all
juzmafia
post May 15 2021, 05:39 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(poobalanc @ May 15 2021, 03:29 PM)
bought it from shopee. seller from china. i cant find the original psu.
contacted nvidia, they can send the new psu for free, but they only ship unti singapore. they dont cover malaysia.
Need to confirm that the new PSU is working or not..
Fyi, u can use 3rd party forwarder like buyandship to ship from US to Malaysia, will cost less than RM25 now & Nvidia allows doing that under user's own risk.
I did that previously for my STV PSU replacement.

Another thing, do note that the 2019 PSU can be used with all Shield TV generation except the tube version bcoz the PSU is built-in while the 2015/2017 PSU can only be used with Shield TV 2015 & 2017 due to differences in power cut-off value but for testing purpose u can still use both version of PSU.
If 2015/2017 PSU is used with STV 2019, it will cause random reboots especially when STV 2019 is in standby mode.

Here is how to differentiate both PSU:-

The new & latest replacement Shield TV PSU will have the 'P' symbol which means the PSU is compatible for all Shield TV 2015/2017/2019(Pro).

This post has been edited by juzmafia: May 15 2021, 06:23 PM
juzmafia
post Jun 2 2021, 12:07 AM

562 posts

Good news Apple TV app is available on Android TV including Shield TV!!

RM19.90/month

https://blogs.nvidia.com/blog/2021/06/01/shield-apple-tv/

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Jun 2 2021, 12:12 PM
juzmafia
post Jun 2 2021, 12:12 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jun 2 2021, 11:28 AM)
There's a v1 and v2 of the new remote? What's the difference?

The changes:-
> New Home & Back icon
> Battery cover release button
> The buttons are more arise

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Jun 2 2021, 12:18 PM

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0757sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:26 AM