Nvidia Shield TV 2017

juzmafia
post Apr 21 2019, 05:49 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Apr 12 2019, 10:32 PM)
You are not only a mafia... you're a genius!!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Lol..not genius la..laugh.gif

Btw, ur shield remote stop working itself or due to physical damage?
If u have replaced the batteries and still no respond then maybe there's no contact between batteries and the tray.

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Apr 21 2019, 09:17 PM
juzmafia
post Jun 16 2019, 12:03 PM

562 posts

hmm.gif

"New Shields are very likely to use t210 b01 which is a slightly higher/lower clocked depending on the version form of the x1(t210) with a few additional things. A Shield tv is using this (mdarcy)"
juzmafia
post Jul 30 2019, 05:22 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jul 30 2019, 03:54 PM)
Hi all shield sifu. I just got my shield today after COD with a shopee seller here in Penang island.

Which Kodi version best to play softcopy movie with Dolby vision and Atmos support? I would like to rip all my 4k uhd movie disk into my Nas.
Obviously use the latest Kodi 18.3 but unfortunately Shield TV can't do Dolby Vision due to no DV license.
juzmafia
post Jul 30 2019, 11:40 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jul 30 2019, 11:20 PM)
Thanks. Will try setup Kodi 18.3 later. Too bad DV not working. Guess I still need to rely on netflix playing from my android TV to get DV.
Yup true but there is no indication that NVIDIA will not add DV support for NSTV. wink.gif

juzmafia
post Jul 31 2019, 11:06 PM

562 posts

Both NSTV 2015 & 2017 spotted with Android Pie on Google Play Console. It's been almost 3 months under closed beta since May 2019.
Maybe public release will be announced together with the new NSTV in September.

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Aug 1 2019, 12:30 AM
juzmafia
post Aug 1 2019, 12:46 AM

562 posts

Pie is here!

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/11...ce-upgrade-8-0/

Know issues:-
  • "OK Google" hotword detection may not function immediately after pairing SHIELD Controller (reboot SHIELD to resolve issue)
  • SHIELD Pro: Display may go blank during accessory pairing after factory reset
  • Blank screen observed when connecting RII Mini X1 keyboard USB receiver
  • Rare occurrence where private listening does not enable when inserting headphones in SHIELD remote 2015
  • Streaming apps failing to play if using secure storage
  • Cropped content in Emby not playing in HDR
  • Can't set the default launcher. (Will be fix in next release)
  • Issue with incorrect color space on some AVR
  • Volume UI with android P too bright and takes too long to disappear. (Proper adjustment will be applied)
  • AV1 playback not working.
  • Shield Controller 2017 analog stick range issue. (Will be fix in next release)

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Aug 1 2019, 10:54 PM
juzmafia
post Aug 1 2019, 01:20 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 1 2019, 09:58 AM)
Those upgraded TV apps need to install separately right? Some not in my list or I may uninstall previously.
Which TV apps? If u mean those apps in the release note then it will only appear for US users. NSTV will auto disable the apps if it detects that u r outside US due to geo restrictions.
juzmafia
post Aug 1 2019, 02:41 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Aug 1 2019, 01:56 PM)
Thanks for explanation.
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Aug 1 2019, 02:22 PM)
Anyway to bypass apps disabling? Probably with vpn? I've got expressvpn running on my shield
Not sure if I like the new Hulu UI, more text and less posters on screen
Yup need VPN.
Btw, the hulu update is coming through the playstore. It's a phased rollout which starts now and will rollout to everyone over the next 2 weeks.
juzmafia
post Aug 12 2019, 12:03 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Aug 12 2019, 06:53 AM)
Latest update seems to break casting feature for certain app like wwe network
I think this issue may related to 'secure storage failure' bug which is affecting multiple streaming apps.
Currently nvidia's priority is to fix the issue & there will be hotfix update once the issue is solved.
juzmafia
post Sep 12 2019, 01:54 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(ohumayun @ Sep 12 2019, 02:53 AM)
Hi guys, need your help.. Just bought a used Nvidia shield which was working fine at the time. Brought it home factory reseted it , now the controller wont connect on setup.. On first place it connects for a bit and then on welcome page it goes dead.. Any idea?
Try connecting the controller to your SHIELD using the USB cable..
Btw, which version shield tv and controller? How old is the controller? No remote?

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Sep 12 2019, 01:56 PM
juzmafia
post Sep 13 2019, 09:38 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 13 2019, 09:35 PM)
Just lacking Dolby Vision right?
Yup, DV due to cost and Netflix Atmos which Netflix need to allow it on their app..
juzmafia
post Sep 13 2019, 11:09 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Sep 13 2019, 09:56 AM)
At least until next shield comes out 😅
It’s due for an upgrade
There won't be any major upgrade for next Shield codename 'mdarcy' which will still use Tegra X1 but revised version with improved cpu speed, power consumption & may also come with new Wifi 6/Bluetooth 5.0 chip but unfortunately some features will be disable at software level, maybe will be unlocked in future firmware updates.

IMO, the current Shield hardware has yet to reach it's limit and what it needed the most is solid firmware with added features & improvements especially after the kernel update they did last year which will add SMBv3 server support in next or 2nd upcoming update.

Personally, i am more interested in the new devices and accessories that Nvidia is working on under the 'Shield' brand.
juzmafia
post Oct 17 2019, 11:19 PM

562 posts

New Shield TV Pro 2019(Release 28/10/2019)
Codename: mdarcy
>> Dolby Vision, Ai upscaling, New remote, Netflix Atmos & Dolby Vision..

Pre-Order >> https://www.amazon.com/NVIDIA-Shield-Stream...&language=en_US
p/s: currently is link down

Price including shipping & tax to Malaysia. (Excluding Sirim Permit - RM100)

Full webpage screenshot

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Oct 18 2019, 02:06 PM
juzmafia
post Oct 18 2019, 01:46 PM

562 posts

NViDiA Shield TV (Base model)
Codename: Sif

Features
>> 25% Faster with all-new NVIDIA Tegra X1+ chip
>> 4K Video w/ Dolby Vision & Dolby Atmos
>> MicroSD Port for additional storage
>> Gigabit Ethernet, Dual-Band AC Wi-Fi, & Bluetooth 5.0
>> All-New Bluetooth/IR Remote with backlit buttons, customizable menu, remote locator
>> 8GB Storage & 2GB RAM doh.gif
Price Est: ~$150 rclxub.gif

Full website screenshot

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Oct 27 2019, 12:18 AM
juzmafia
post Oct 18 2019, 02:27 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Oct 18 2019, 07:40 AM)
juzmafia already preordered bro?
I wonder if I should wait for controller bundle, assuming there’s a refresh for that as well

I can’t believe they’re still sticking with 16gb storage for base model.
Nope, not gonna get it..
Even the current Shield is more than enough for me..
There should be a new controller too..
Better wait for official announcement..

This is the Pro model now, the new base model will be the downgraded version with new design.

QUOTE(kskoay @ Oct 18 2019, 02:12 PM)
this based model do not have usb port for local media player?  doh.gif
Only micro SD usb similar Fire TV Cube 2nd gen..

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Oct 18 2019, 02:41 PM
juzmafia
post Oct 18 2019, 02:39 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(jhleo1 @ Oct 18 2019, 02:37 PM)
Actually I thought there is micro usb in the picture but not if you look at it carefully. It is "microsd" card slot NOT micro USB port.
Yup, u r right..😅
My mistake..
juzmafia
post Oct 18 2019, 06:11 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Oct 18 2019, 02:57 PM)
Is it really the base model though?
Looks like a completely different product since it’s in dongle form. If that really is though, might as well go for pro

If it’s supposed to compete with fire tv 4k (price wise) then fail already.
Well it is not a dongle either because there is a HDMI port which means that the device can be placed elsewhere. Furthermore, it has Ethernet port..
This model is better option for traveller but if the estimated price is correct then 'good luck' to Nvidia..

Honestly, I'm disappointed with the new Shield TV coz it's not a future proof device..
No HDMI 2.1, only 16GB storage and no usb 3.1..

If the new features especially AI upscaling & Netflix Atmos is exclusive for the new STV then it will be a very sad news for current users especially those who bought the shield few months back.
Even though there is a way to watch Netflix Atmos on current STV via Kodi, it's not future proof.
juzmafia
post Oct 27 2019, 12:23 AM

562 posts

NViDiA teased this ...

...and it's not even official yet but...

juzmafia
post Oct 28 2019, 04:34 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Oct 28 2019, 07:30 AM)
This guy yet to try DV...and looks like it doesn’t support dts-x, I don’t see any option to enable/disable that...only have dts-hd...
DV & Atmos for Netflix have been tested working, this can confirm that DV single layer is working but for DV dual layer yet to be confirm due to no android app supports DV playback currently.
DTSX passthrough is available..

p/s: u can try direct play DV remux to ur LG Oled TV via plex/xplay..

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 28 2019, 12:21 PM)

Setup... AI Enhancement option?

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Oct 28 2019, 11:08 PM
juzmafia
post Oct 28 2019, 10:32 PM

562 posts

It's official now..

Official Link: https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/shield/
Shield TV (8GB): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YP94PBJ/ref=cm...1_77VTDbYJRMV4D
Shield TV Pro (16GB): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YP9FBMM/ref=cm...1_X6VTDbPY9E7NA

Notes:-
1. No VP9 Profile 2 codec so means no HDR for Youtube & Google Play Movie
2. New remote 2019 will work with Shield TV 2015/2017 & also will be sold separately (USD29.99)
3. No Plex Media Server for Shield TV 'Tube' (8GB) but have SMB built-in.
4. AI Upscaling is not supported for content greater than 30 fps
5. Match frame rate only to adjust frame rate not resolution
6. Shield TV 2019 will be able to decode DD+ to DD
7. Some AAA titles and Android games are limited to only Shield TV 2017/2015/2019-Pro
8. New Remote 2019 'Netflix' button able to remap to different command or launch other app
9. Shield TV 'Tube' (8GB) runs on 32-bit mode instead of 64-bit

Here is bad news for Shield TV 2015/2017:-
1. No DV & Atmos(netflix)
2. No Ai Upscaling

This post has been edited by juzmafia: Oct 31 2019, 12:44 PM

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0486sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:46 PM