63 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

derred
post Jun 8 2007, 10:16 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

get the DVD+RW,

oh really hhmm i dont use Vista but i've seen quite a couple of how-to/tutorial even from XP to Vista transition without any hassle. I read on some magz if im not mistaken. I'll try to search whats best and we'll see.
eyen
post Jun 8 2007, 10:25 PM

461 posts

No no, I'm not upgrading to Vista from XP.

The laptop came with Vista as the OS, just that I've never format it since the first day I got it.So thinking of formatting it and making two partitions (3 if you count MD).

Btw, is it possible for me to burn the recovery partition to a DVD before I wipe it off? If yes, how do I do that?

And Vista users, which program do u use to burn DVDs?
derred
post Jun 8 2007, 10:59 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

oh ok, my point was i even see XP to Vista which means more headaches, so i meant normal format wont be such a problem. Eiraku will come to the rescue so ill suggest wait for him.
TSEiraku
post Jun 8 2007, 11:30 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(eyen @ Jun 8 2007, 10:25 PM)
No no, I'm not upgrading to Vista from XP.

The laptop came with Vista as the OS, just that I've never format it since the first day I got it.So thinking of formatting it and making two partitions (3 if you count MD).

Btw, is it possible for me to burn the recovery partition to a DVD before I wipe it off? If yes, how do I do that?

And Vista users, which program do u use to burn DVDs?
Hmm... A new clean format of Vista izzit?

Lemme see... hmm.gif

As for the brand I recommend, I use mostly TDK, but I rarely use DVDRWs of any kind (+ or -) to comment much (I use +Rs most of the time)... icon_rolleyes.gif

But there's some things I have to check regarding the formats the 8x Burner that comes with the M1210 is compatible with... *flips open M1210 manual* Yeah, like I thought, it is incompatible with 1 common format, the DVD-R Dual Layer... So, no problems with +RWs or -RWs... icon_rolleyes.gif

I'd say get something that is a biiiiit more expensive, as it's important data that you're burning... icon_rolleyes.gif

Regarding burning the recovery partition... Well, that's a bit more complicated... The dark black magic that runs MD somehow requires the recovery partition to exist for it to function correctly... For some unknown reason... sweat.gif

A reviewer on the net found that out the hard way... There might be a way to circumvent that, but I haven't found it yet as:

A) I like the recovery partition to be there (for some unknown reason)

B) I already wiped MD off the face of my HDD (a stripped down version of XP-MCE that takes 5-8 seconds to boot? I'd rather boot Vista to watch DVDs)

So, wiping the recovery partition's probably a no-go if you still want to use MD...

Next, what to do if you want to reinstall/reformat Vista?

1) Save every single thing that you need.

2) MAKE SURE THE BLUETOOTH IS TURNED ON UNDER WINDOWS - THE ICON IS BLUE AND WHITE (very important, I lost my BT for a few days just because Windows thought it was dead).

3) Download all the drivers you need from the Dell website (the recovery driver disk contains old drivers, remember).

3) Restart and insert the Vista disk at startup.

4) Press any key when prompted.

5) Select your main partition (the one that contains Windows) and wipe it clean (delete partition).

6) Re-select the unused space, create a new partition (make sure it's C:), and format it with NTFS.

7) Windows will take care of the rest (but make sure you get the region info right. Select America for language, tune the measurements to metric, change the currency to RM and the date format to local. Make sure you select America/USA for the language because anything else will screw up the Keyboard. Selecting Malaysia for location is okay though).

8) After finishing, install the drivers from the recovery driver disk. Restart.

9) Update the drivers with the new ones (the bluetooth one requires the old drivers to be uninstalled first... I'm afraid of losing my BT again).

10) Install the Dell utilities that you need (I only installed the Dell resource CD, uninstalled QuickSet as soon as I could).

11) Install everything else.

All in all, it's quite similar with a WinXP install, so don't worry... And if you do it this way, nothing should happen to the MD partition OR the recover partition...

There IS a way of returning your Dell to the state it was in when it arrived from the factory (that's what the recovery partition is for), but reformatting that way will install all the Dell BLOATWARE as well... So if you want a nice, clean copy of Vista, better not.

And another thing... Make sure you install the SigmaTel audio drivers BEFORE you install the SoundBlaster Audigy HD whatever (if you have it)... You'll screw up the sound drivers if you don't... rolleyes.gif

And if you plan to reformat often, keep in mind that the SoundBlaster Audigy thingy CAN ONLY BE REINSTALLED 3 TIMES before the serial number becomes void... sweat.gif

As for burning software for Vista, Sonic is good enough (if not a bit bloated) but it needs a critical update from Dell to be installed before it runs okay... icon_rolleyes.gif

For me, I'd rather use Nero Lite... Google it and see... icon_rolleyes.gif

That's how I did it, anyway... I hope everything goes well on your end!

On a different note, my M1210's BSODing a bit more then usual today... It's already done it three times in 2 days... shocking.gif

Thankfully, most of the time, it BSODed right before Vista startup... But a few minutes ago it just gave me a BSOD in the middle of starting Firefox... shocking.gif

I wonder... sweat.gif

Added on June 8, 2007, 11:32 pmNot only that, it gave me a 14.6GB queued system dump report file... shakehead.gif

Aiyoooo... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 8 2007, 11:37 PM
eyen
post Jun 8 2007, 11:56 PM

461 posts

Thanks Eiraku!

The main reason why I want to format is to create partitions, besides removing all the bloatware.Since I've never used MD before, I guess I should wipe off the partition too.

As for the system recovery thingi, I've used it countless of times before, so yeah it's useful.But since I'm reformatting, it's kinda pointless for me to leave the recovery partition there.

And nope, I don't have the SoundBlaster thingi.

This will be my second time reformatting a comp (hehe).Btw, is the Dell Resource thingi useful?

So, if I were to wipe out the entire disk, step 1 to 4 will still be the same.

For step 5, should I select ALL partitions and wipe it clean?

And how do I create multiple partitions (I think 2 is good enough? one for vista, one for my files) ?. How much space does Vista need ideally?

Sorryyy for all the noob questions.

Added on June 9, 2007, 12:23 amHmm I don't have sonic.I have the roxio that comes with the laptop. Okay just realised roxio = sonic. Will check out nero lite.

This post has been edited by eyen: Jun 9 2007, 12:25 AM
derred
post Jun 9 2007, 12:23 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

and make sure ur comp reads CD/DVD before the HDD. U can do that by changing the order on BIOS (for XP). I think after u wipe out everything, there will be option to create partitions ? C button for XP i dont know for Vista tho.

This post has been edited by derred: Jun 9 2007, 12:24 AM
TSEiraku
post Jun 9 2007, 12:50 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(eyen @ Jun 8 2007, 11:56 PM)
Thanks Eiraku!

The main reason why I want to format is to create partitions, besides removing all the bloatware.Since I've never used MD before, I guess I should wipe off the partition too.

As for the system recovery thingi, I've used it countless of times before, so yeah it's useful.But since I'm reformatting, it's kinda pointless for me to leave the recovery partition there.

And nope, I don't have the SoundBlaster thingi.

This will be my second time reformatting a comp (hehe).Btw, is the Dell Resource thingi useful?

So, if I were to wipe out the entire disk, step 1 to 4 will still be the same.

For step 5, should I select ALL partitions and wipe it clean?

And how do I create multiple partitions (I think 2 is good enough? one for vista, one for my files) ?. How much space does Vista need ideally?

Sorryyy for all the noob questions.
Google first for the effects of removing the Dell resource partition... Just afraid something out of the ordinary happens later... I'd do it for you myself, but I have a Anti-Virus course early tomorrow and I need some rest... icon_rolleyes.gif

Is the resource thingy useful? Dunno... It just begggggged to be installed, takes no system resources, takes little hard disk space... so I just installed it... Not really THAT useful now that I have some time to think about it... sweat.gif

As for wiping the disk, after you wipe all, they will all be turned into one big unformatted mess... Select the first disk that you want to use and press the create partition button (C I think)... Allocate the amount of space you want for that partition (remember, Program Files NEEDS to be in the same partition as Vista, or it might screw up UAC), then press ENTER... If it asks "what do you want to format this disk as", press back (I forgot what back is) and repeat...

That should assign the drive letters in the proper order (I once ended up with D: C: F: E:, and installed Windows in D:... sweat.gif )

This will create a coupe of blank unformatted partitions, now select the first partition (C: , I hope), format it (NTFS) and proceed with installing Windows... You'll be able to format the other partitions later in Windows... icon_rolleyes.gif

Another (a bit easier) alternative is to wipe out everything, format a great big partition of ALL the available disk space (C:, NTFS) and install Vista in it... You can create the other partitions later from within Vista... I can provide a step by step for that later... thumbup.gif
ahchew
post Jun 9 2007, 12:54 AM

30 posts

I found something interesting. Is call Universal Vista Inspirat Brico Pack Ultimate 2 1.0. It can modified icons and themed appearance for your WinXP to look like Vista.

Pic below is what show on my desktop. Like it biggrin.gif

Link to Universal Vista Inspirat Brico Pack

This post has been edited by ahchew: Jun 9 2007, 01:07 AM
TeOtq
post Jun 9 2007, 02:51 AM

839 posts

i need help here,my xps microphone jack only function as LINE IN,not microphone...everytime i plug in my microphone,it only show liike tis...can anybody tell me how to fix tis problem and mk it become microphone function?thanks!i at uk now,cant send back to malaysia for the warranty..
derred
post Jun 9 2007, 03:54 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(TeOtq @ Jun 8 2007, 01:51 PM)
i need help here,my xps microphone jack only function as LINE IN,not microphone...everytime i plug in my microphone,it only show liike tis...can anybody tell me how to fix tis problem and mk it become microphone function?thanks!i at uk now,cant send back to malaysia for the warranty..

hey there, can u give me more pics for that with microphone properties.

I suggest u have microphone [mute] for playback. For recording, go more depth by the button configure or sumthing, and make the bar go slightly up. Check box microphone boost if there's any. Keep us posted.

This post has been edited by derred: Jun 9 2007, 04:09 AM
TeOtq
post Jun 9 2007, 05:03 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 9 2007, 03:54 AM)
hey there, can u give me more pics for that with microphone properties.

I suggest u have microphone [mute] for playback. For recording, go more depth by the button configure or sumthing, and make the bar go slightly up. Check box microphone boost on Properties. Keep us posted.
Thanks for ur help,i solve the problem already,i just found out that i not install the sound card driver yet..wat i using is the driver tat provide by the vista.hah. wink.gif
derred
post Jun 9 2007, 05:07 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

I was about to mention that, but I wouldnt want to underestimate some ppl. I assumed u already do that. Good to hear then.

This post has been edited by derred: Jun 9 2007, 05:08 AM
TeOtq
post Jun 9 2007, 05:21 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(derred @ Jun 9 2007, 05:07 AM)
I was about to mention that, but I wouldnt want to underestimate some ppl. I assumed u already do that. Good to hear then.
tis laptop is finish install with the vista premium when i get it,and i thought it is completed install by the dell technician,so when problem occur i thought is the hardware problem.who know the person incharge din install the driver.hah.
Anywhere, thanks for ur help.
btw,i satisfied with tis xps 1210 so far.very mobility n gd performance.

hi54ever
post Jun 9 2007, 07:19 AM

744 posts

i got a problem here with my xps, it seems that my xps PF usage is very high, everytime start up at least at 300mb and for some reason it hit 2gb of PF usage~!!!i wonder wat cause it and any help to remedy it??if it hit 2gb when i start up, i'll hav to reboot to make it back to normal...any idea???
derred
post Jun 9 2007, 07:22 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

@TeoTq,

no problem at all.

@hi54ever,

First things first, r u using XP or Vista? Go frontpage and check out my tuts under "How-To". It will mention there how to make it works on Vista.

or

10% OS-interface boost for XP

Start-up BEFORE password-protected logon for XP

for better viewing, leave the check for ClearType but uncheck the fade effect. I hope this helps.

This post has been edited by derred: Jun 9 2007, 07:31 AM
hi54ever
post Jun 9 2007, 05:35 PM

744 posts

im running xp,im at UK now with cold weather and i wonder does the cold weather affect my xps performance....now its mornin here and i just start my xps and again...pf usage hit 2gb ++......haih.....
derred
post Jun 10 2007, 02:05 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

Its actually good if its cold unless its too cold (below -35 C). My lappy has been under -20 C outside temperature, the coldest temp my comp ever dealt with. Have u tried what i suggested. Now it could be software-related problem.
Any p2p installed ?
hi54ever
post Jun 10 2007, 02:39 AM

744 posts

i've tried wat u suggest before this happen,this jz happen recently.If i leave my laptop for a period,say a nite of sleep time,the 1st startup will hav high PF usage, then i hav to restart it several times until its back to normal. i've scan through my lappy,there's no virus o spyware...im jz worried its hardware problem.Any other ideas??coz i cant really stand to wait my lappy >15 minutes for a full startup, its darn slow

derred
post Jun 10 2007, 03:35 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

ok do all 3 parts of it, or at least 2 if ur not interested with the logon thing or dont use password protected. Ok i assume u answered yes for p2p programs. Install PC-Clean and Hitman Pro. Google them PC-Clean is available at download.com while HP is not. Do PC-Clean first, then if still slowing u down, do Hitman Pro scan. Note HP will consume alot of time, so do it while ur on long idle or overnight.

About the long idle period ur talking about, do u have screensaver playing in the background. This could cause by many things, two most famous will be bcoz u never switch off ur lappy which is bad, at least leave it on hibernate or standby for more than 1 hour idle. 2ndly would be a gpu-stress by ur graphic-excessive screensavers for like 5 hours.

Here is what i want u to do:

1)Let me know ur gpu temperature (how-to)

2)PC-Clean and Hitman Pro(HP will have box to "do in Safe Mode, check that box) and tell me if ur seeing anything.

3)Let me know about the screensavers or long-idle things. U will have more option for this but i wouldnt want to give u too much burden so ill come back if both 1) and 2) works fine but only 3) cause u problem.

I understand u prob a student with lots of works to do. Take ur time. I have 2 exams starting on Monday and 2nd one on Tuesday. I believe if the more works we have, the more productive we will be. Without any pressure, we will just be lazy as bears who hibernate all the times. Ok continue studying !
kwws
post Jun 10 2007, 03:57 PM

2,040 posts

QUOTE(hi54ever @ Jun 10 2007, 02:39 AM)
i've tried wat u suggest before this happen,this jz happen recently.If i leave my laptop for a period,say a nite of sleep time,the 1st startup will hav high PF usage, then i hav to restart it several times until its back to normal. i've scan through my lappy,there's no virus o spyware...im jz worried its hardware problem.Any other ideas??coz i cant really stand to wait my lappy >15 minutes for a full startup, its darn slow

wow man...u mean u dun hibernate ur lappie u jus left it on when u sleep? tat sure hurts ur XPS man...it may be the reason why ur PF shoots up...hmm 2.56gb is alot man...wads ur RAM capacity? mine will hit around 1gb++ when im surfing net extensively but i din experience any evident lags...normally ur PF will shoot up upon upgrading RAM capacity...tats normal...
do u experience any lag or choppiness when multitasking or gaming at this high PF usage? mayb u should check if thrs any trojan or spyware running behind ur vista...otherwise do a clean formatting for ur HDD sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kwws: Jun 10 2007, 03:58 PM

63 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:14 AM