Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

AVFAN
post Aug 3 2018, 09:53 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Aug 3 2018, 09:31 AM)
Cos nobody answer me sad.gif

I know vlc playeror mx player etc cant read chinese characters using srt in computer if the region language is not set to chinese.

I wonder its the tv software is capable to read chinese character input anot
if u pm me and lee me know where i can get a file with such srt, i can test for u. smile.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 3 2018, 08:45 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(kambing007 @ Aug 3 2018, 04:38 PM)
Can we extend sharp warranty directly with sharp?
QUOTE(Harddisk @ Aug 3 2018, 05:50 PM)
+3 yrs is by Sharp, if I'm not mistaken.
i do not know if there are variations but this is what i got:

"extended warranty program certificate" marked "2+3" years.

issued by MPI Generali... "valid only upon signing and stamped by dealer".

i read that as the extended 3 years is an insurance paid/shared by Sharp for its dealers' promotion.

whatever, any problem with the tv during the 5 yrs coverage, u contact dealer, they deal with it.
AVFAN
post Aug 3 2018, 08:54 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(good_juju @ Aug 3 2018, 08:49 PM)
bro... is there any input lag when gaming?
i dun game, can't say... sorry!
AVFAN
post Aug 4 2018, 12:45 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(kambing007 @ Aug 4 2018, 11:39 AM)
Is it possible for us to apply for the extended warranty ourselves? The 60ua6800x is at RM3341 if I'm not mistaken at HLK roadshow in sunway velocity (extra RM100 discount from sharp voucher included). But only with 2 years warranty. To add to 5 years, need to add RM525.

If its possible to add, I wanna add for my tv. I saw AIG & insurnet website, but don't know if its possible for consumers to apply.
i think not.

the ext warranty is a scheme hatched out by dealer-sharp-insurance co.

have to buy/get free via dealer at time of purchase.

AVFAN
post Aug 4 2018, 06:51 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Aug 4 2018, 05:24 PM)
ESH sales, 60UA6800X @ RM3488.
Good price if 5 yr warranty.
AVFAN
post Aug 5 2018, 07:52 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(good_juju @ Aug 4 2018, 11:57 PM)
i went to the esh website the model u bought not there also... last one? demo unit?

QUOTE(kambing007 @ Aug 5 2018, 10:22 AM)
Its a newly launched model, nu7400..they don't even have the stock ready yet..many sites still have not got this up yet. They only have the 55 inch one. 2018 model bro, not clearing stock.
I'll be getting mine on Thursday. Anyways, the model still on sale today I think, you guys can go buy.
QUOTE(ulet @ Aug 5 2018, 04:43 PM)
Just came back from Esh starling mall at the expo. 65NU7400 is RM3800
guys, please dun hijack this thread!

samsung here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4590277/+120
AVFAN
post Aug 6 2018, 02:12 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(good_juju @ Aug 5 2018, 10:00 PM)
plus Sharp is made by Hisense so ur just getting a Hisense TV with a Sharp logo on it...
Where u got this?

Hisense acquire the sharp factory in mexico, using it to sell tvs with sharp brand name in north american market.

Foxconn of Taiwan bought sharp japan and everything else, i.e change of ownership.

Google, u find everything.
AVFAN
post Aug 6 2018, 06:58 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Aug 6 2018, 06:32 PM)
LC50UA6800 Rm2279 from shopee. Good deal?
oh boy... it gets cheaper n cheaper! biggrin.gif

must be a price war going on now...

and trying to beat sep 1 +SST price incr...?
AVFAN
post Aug 7 2018, 09:00 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(good_juju @ Aug 7 2018, 03:58 AM)
That's what I thought... But the guy at the shop told me it's made by Hisense... Foxconn is just the owner/parent company and they don't make the Sharp TVs... US is Hisense for sure and in Europe is UMC both licensed by Sharp... TBH I saw the picture quality of Hisense and the design and build quality was very similar to the Sharp so there is a very high possibility the also make it for the there Asian market too
i guess as much - u heard from salesperson... remember they may be getting a bigger commission selling u something else.

afaik, sharp tv's are made/assembled in batu pahat, malaysia, with the panel of the tv of this thread imported from japan.
there must be a hundred items inside made in malaysia or china or sri lanka or vietnam... anything wrong?!
do ps4, xbox, ipads not have parts made in china or taiwan?
and why do people think anything made with a "china" touch is bad?
one must look at a product from its price angle too.

as for your "verdict"... more of an emotional burst, little else.
brand is more of customer perception; a useful evaluation must be done by looking at the specific model - performance, features, price, service, longevity.
wrong to say "mercedes is the best, toyota is not so good".
a premium toyota will beat a cheap mercedes any day!
sure, u buy the highest price mercedes, it will surely beat a mid priced toyota.
so, u must compare model vs model, feature vs feature, price vs price.

also, the output of the tv is only as good as the source and the player.
use a poor source to play with tv player, don't expect it to come out "wow".
play the highest grade sources with a good separate player, u see what the tv can actually display.

for the 60" at rm3.4k 5 yr warranty, i'm pleased with the buy.
it is not the best tv, that i am well aware, but for its value in what it can do for me, i m very satisfied.
others with diff needs and expectations may need to spend 2-3 times that to be satisfied.
and that is nothing wrong if u hv the money.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 7 2018, 09:09 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 7 2018, 01:29 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(XxlicolexX @ Aug 7 2018, 12:32 PM)
info from sharp malaysia representative not electrical shop , this 60" 6800 model is from japan not hisense, but future maybe yes.
the message did not mention hisense or china.

it says "new full HD model panels now come from taiwan".

hisense is a CHINA company.

Foxconn, a Taiwanese co. now owns Sharp worldwide except Americas - only natural some Sharp TVs/parts are now made in Taiwan.

Anyone has a problem with Taiwanese products/parts?! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 7 2018, 01:31 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 7 2018, 04:01 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(chewlee @ Aug 7 2018, 02:09 PM)
SenX & HN are selling at RM40xx with 2 years warranty.
Guy, where can i get a better deal for UA6800X 60"?
as far as i can recall from people who bought and commented, the better deals came from senheng, TBM and desa home theater.
QUOTE(MOFARKOR @ Aug 7 2018, 02:41 PM)
anyone used this for gaming ? can't find any info about the input lag. or does it come with game mode or so......
i do not game but there are several modes for this tv - standard, movie, pc, game, dynamic, dynamic (fixed).
AVFAN
post Aug 7 2018, 08:56 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(XxlicolexX @ Aug 7 2018, 07:30 PM)
Actually what is dynamic (fixed) ?
this one is for very bright environment, cannot change anything.

used in shops for display, never used at home.

there is also "dynamic"... this, u can change the variables - may be useful for some special video cases.
AVFAN
post Aug 8 2018, 02:40 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(wan300 @ Aug 8 2018, 11:33 AM)
anyone have problem with sling tv on 50" 6800x?
i have problem when change channels  it keep loading.
sling tv is a US only paid IPTV app.

u sideloaded it?

did it ever work on the tv?
AVFAN
post Aug 8 2018, 09:40 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Aug 8 2018, 05:04 PM)
tested at shop, cannot read sad.gif
it shows alien characters
i believe most TV in malaysia is by default english version
ok, now u know...

like i hv always said... the tv player is crap, not something u can count on.

it is navigationally not very friendly, has problems with one or more things - compression types, subs, audio, hdd size...

only good for photos and very simple files playback.

if u get a separate player (rm400-600), all such headaches are gone.

your case - if u must have chinese SRT, better dun waste time but find another TV that can do that.

it will then be a matter of whether u like that tv for other things incl price.

all the best!

AVFAN
post Aug 9 2018, 03:20 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(bagogo @ Aug 9 2018, 03:12 PM)
U must create US google play ID using VPN, after that u can install us iptv like sling tv, hulu, fubotv etc. U must have smartdnsproxy or vpn and buy some ID frm shoppe, ebay seller or join fb group like Malaysian Streaming Solutions for more info.
ok, i understand... but i dun use such with the tv.

the tv's androidtv may have certain restrictions/security blocks than a generic android device.

if it doesn't work on the tv but work on another box, that explains it.

AVFAN
post Aug 10 2018, 01:57 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(wan300 @ Aug 10 2018, 11:11 AM)
install it with apoide apps. it working but stuck when change channel
QUOTE(wan300 @ Aug 10 2018, 11:19 AM)
yes it work on my mi box 3. since i have 2 sling tv acc i  try it on 50" 6800x but  this issue happen.
btw i use getfix lifetime dns
given what u said, i am quite sure it is due to the tv's security patch doing its job.

it does that to the apps that it find risky, may cause the tv to brick.

do be careful about using such apps which require special tweaking.

remember, this is a TV, not an android box or a player.
AVFAN
post Aug 10 2018, 09:45 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(p25_98 @ Aug 10 2018, 07:53 PM)
Hi all,
just received this TV from Emart Johor. Paid $2299.
What web browser recommend to install?
"this tv" = ?
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2018, 01:03 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(p25_98 @ Aug 10 2018, 10:40 PM)
Sharp LC50UA6800X
i had to ask... becos sometimes, people (maybe mistakably) post about ua6500x or samsung or...

for yr tv, u can sideload any "verified" browser.

i have tried, chrome, firefox, brave, dolphin - all are OK.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 11 2018, 01:12 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 11 2018, 10:35 PM

24,448 posts

ua6800x users...

if u r using the androidtv sideloads, try this apk, courtesy of ab21cn:

QUOTE(ab21cn @ Aug 10 2018, 11:46 PM)
been using it for a week now, excellent iptv. thumbup.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 12 2018, 06:17 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Aug 12 2018, 05:30 PM)
6800x user, the default table mount is near the edge of the tv rite?
Is it adjustable like Panasonic? My current TV cabinet isnt long enough
it is NOT adjustable.

but i can't tell u the actual distance between the legs as i am not using the stand.

if u specify 45, 50 or 60, maybe some owner can measure and tell u.

QUOTE(p25_98 @ Aug 12 2018, 05:42 PM)
Thanks for sharing. It’s work.
enjoy... as long as it lasts.

there's no telling how long... if it stops working, get a new one.

look for tips here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3115619/+860

a word of caution: if the tv pops out a message advising u NOT to install an app, please take heed.

some apps will be totally rejected even if u try - the security module does that to protect the tv.

i suggest apps here only after i have tested them and working good myself. smile.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 12 2018, 06:20 PM

34 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0722sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:55 AM