Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

AVFAN
post Aug 13 2018, 06:35 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Outliar @ Aug 13 2018, 02:59 PM)
Is there any advantage to this compared to the Samsung NU7100? or Panasonic FX600?
can't respond to u in a useful manner becos...

1. u did not specify "advantage" - price? features? use (gaming, astro, media files, bluray discs)?

2. it is unlikely a normal tv buyer has spent enough time trying games, astro, DVD, BD, 4k HDR, online streams on several models before buying.
no shop will allow that!

but one thing i can say those - 2 models do not have google's androidtv.

if u dun want/need androidtv, that is of no use to u whereas it is a great feature for others - so, there u go...
AVFAN
post Aug 15 2018, 01:25 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Aug 12 2018, 07:06 PM)
Sory, its 50". Maybe some of u can give measurement between the leg.TQ for help.
i just saw on the e-manual...

50"... outer width 1125mm, stand legs span 1000mm.
AVFAN
post Aug 15 2018, 07:04 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(clfoong @ Aug 14 2018, 11:46 PM)
Just bought 50inches 6800....Anyone facing Bluetooth unable to connect bluetooth audio device?
very good question.
i dun use it but i am curious...
is this tv's bluetooth good only for remotes, keyboards and game pads?
is this tv's bluetooth for devices to send video/audio to it rather the other way round?
seems to me u can't send TV audio to headphones, AVR...?
whereas u can with phone, tablet.

QUOTE(benshakeer @ Aug 15 2018, 05:19 PM)
Can anyone with the Sharp LC-UA6800X TV please share with us how was your experience with the TV's androidTV? Navigating through the OS is smooth enough for you that you do not need another androidTV device plugged to the TV, say the Mibox AndroidTV? What about update? Does the TV received Oreo update yet?
android 7.0, no sign of upgrade to 8... actually i will not want it... becos i find 7 to be very stable, few problems.

i use this tv's androidtv... and 2 other android boxes attached to it. biggrin.gif
the tv's androidtv is smooth, no problem.
i like it, use it for just a couple of apps... for live int'l news, iptv.
becos that way, i need not turn on my other boxes, AVR... save on TNB bill. tongue.gif
but i do not install big or complex apps on it, even if if know they will work, e.g.KODI.
those, i prefer to do with my other boxes.
AVFAN
post Aug 15 2018, 10:22 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(benshakeer @ Aug 15 2018, 09:22 PM)
Thanks for sharing your experience. Do you have any idea in what soc is used in the tv? Also, nougat on the tv have access to 'recent apps' or 'app switcher'?
no, i hv no idea.
AVFAN
post Aug 16 2018, 01:47 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(clfoong @ Aug 16 2018, 12:18 AM)
Why I always feels 60inches have much clearer and brighter picture quality than 50inches? Anyone have the same thought? Or the same?
If yes, means 60inches made in Japan could be a better choice.......I had bought 50inches bcos 60inches too big for my bedroom
some people talk charts and tell u 60" is best viewed at 6ft! biggrin.gif

perhaps the assumption is u will be watching 4k HDR 100% of the time.

i had a 50" before, took me a month to get used to this 60" at 11ft.

so, i dun think u made a wrong choice in terms of size.
AVFAN
post Aug 17 2018, 09:42 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Aug 17 2018, 07:22 PM)
My 50UA6800x just arrive. Still in the box. Will unbox later tonight
Can assemble alone or need 2 people?
congrats.

hope the stand fits nicely!
AVFAN
post Aug 17 2018, 10:48 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Aug 17 2018, 10:29 PM)
It's on the floor for now. Still exploring. May I know what version of Unifi TV that works.
just use the current version u find with a pc at playstore.
(it is NOT in tv playstore).

if first time, take note u need id, pw to log in... u call unifi to get them.

lastly, this app works only in wifi mode.
AVFAN
post Aug 18 2018, 02:16 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Exenetide @ Aug 17 2018, 10:05 PM)
60ua6800x need any color calibration ke?
will need pro help and tools if serious...

overall, i find the default settings quite alright.

besides the basics... contrast, sharpness, etc... i did play around with resolution and color temp.

like it better with res detail up 1-2 ticks, color temp more towards bluish-white rather than reddish white.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 18 2018, 02:17 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 18 2018, 10:12 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(clfoong @ Aug 18 2018, 08:26 AM)
Can snapshot your settings😉?
i primarily use STANDARD.
just the default settings but with contrast reduced to 28.
under advanced, res detail incr by 2, color temp at mid-high.
no other change.

Can try above adj with movie settings default... except color temp set to mid, turn opc on... this give a warmer picture.

Basically trial n error! biggrin.gif

note OPC is on for normal videos, will auto turn off when it detects 4k HDR - hence u get the deeper and brighter colors.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 18 2018, 11:32 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 19 2018, 11:52 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(yummymommy @ Aug 19 2018, 09:43 AM)
I wonder if android will la after few years
Im torn between 6500 vs 6800 now
Should i get 6500 with android box that i can change when it is not upgradable anymore or lag
Or
Stick to 6800, but what if the android lags, would the tv be useful by then
android has gone from 4 kitkat to 8 oreo in less than 8 years.
so, average, a new one every 2 years.
6800x comes with android 7, will probably see just one change to android 8, no more.
i have not known an android device that can take 2 or more changes - tech moves very fast.

besides androidtv, there are other diff:
.. 6800x has 4 hdmi input; 6500x has only 2.
.. 6800x has digital output (optical); 6500x has none.
.. 6800x has netflix 4k, youtube voice search; 6500x no netflix, no voice search.

https://my.sharp/products/tvav/lc60ua6800x?v=1100
https://my.sharp/products/tvav/lc60ua6500x?v=1102

price diff rm300-500... u decide! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 19 2018, 02:33 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(yummymommy @ Aug 19 2018, 02:10 PM)
I hv one stupid question
I never used netflix n iflix before. I only use popcorn time
So many ppl use netflix etc. Do i need to pay? Why so famous?
Popcorn: just download and watch and delete.
netflix is legit 1080p/4k quality, u pay.

iflix is local, SD, not so good.

popcorn...lower quality stuff... sure, if u r used to that.
u can also find videos with quality higher than netflix elsewhere.
the TV can take 2160p/4k HDR videos.
but using separately player, not tv usb player.
note the tv player can only do aac and dolby audio... dts files will hv no audio - 6800x or 6500x, same.

if u hv no use for netflix 4k, androidtv, dun need optical output, need just 1-2 hdmi input... can save some money with 6500x.
AVFAN
post Aug 22 2018, 07:02 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Aug 22 2018, 01:04 PM)
LC60LE275X for rm1.7k, worth it?

It's a 3-year old model, non-4k, basic tv only.

I have a good android box already. Just planning to use it for iptv & netflix.
full hd tv's are getting cheap, lots of them everywhere... incl tesco, giant.

your box... what capabilities?

if u r not into 4k, hdr, any 1080p tv is fine.

but the thing is for 60", it's kinda big... ok for 1080p/1080i... 720p starts to be poor... terrible for your eyes if SD video quality, i.e. 240p, 360p, 480p.

that is to say, if u stick to low quality videos, better not go bigger than 42".
AVFAN
post Aug 26 2018, 08:21 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(mazannor81 @ Aug 26 2018, 05:18 PM)
which astrogo version you all installed. I installed latest 8.2.4 keep closing
did u do these that are required to make it work?

1. install indic keyboard from playstore, set to default.
2. sideload orientation app, activate it to landscape.
3. sideload a browser.. chrome or brave or whatever.

for more details and instructions, read bottom of post #2.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 30 2018, 02:35 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 01:05 AM

24,452 posts

came across these articles... might be useful reading for some of you.

The biomechanical characteristics of the human eye are such that the increased detail in a 4K picture cannot be seen if the viewer sits too far from the screen. This is something TV salespersons rarely tell you, but you should be aware of it when buying a 4K TV or setting one up in your home.
https://www.forbes.com/sites/kevinmurnane/2...v/#441f7d414db7

Having a 4k TV and genuine 4k content isn’t enough. There are limits to what the eye can perceive, so if you sit too far from your TV (the distance depending on the TV’s size), you won't be able to see all the detail in the image. That means that if you sit too far away from a 4k TV, the picture will look like what you’d get on a TV with a lower resolution screen.
https://www.rtings.com/tv/learn/4k-ultra-hd...caling-compared

AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 01:22 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Aug 27 2018, 11:33 AM)
whoa...10ft away minimum 75"

ok my next target
that is something to chew on..

i find 60" already a tad too big for 8-9ft! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 01:34 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Aug 27 2018, 01:28 PM)
personally i think sitting to close to a big tv not only strain your eyes (which eventually leads to myopia), but also you can't view the whole screen
if u read subtitles, too close to tv makes it very uncomfortable for eyes to scan subs at bottom, then whole picture...

also, not everything we watch is in 4K, need a longer distance for "multipurpose"! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 01:40 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(logitechmouse @ Aug 27 2018, 11:30 AM)
i got myself the 60".

any apps to recommend? im using watch movie while y wife hk drama~

for u and others sideloading apps...

icdrama is a popular source for asian tv dramas/movies - china, hongkong, taiwan, korea, japan... some come with eng subs or canto audio too.

if u know icdrama, below is an apk very suitable for the TV - tv remote is good enough for navigation, no need mouse.

(previous versions may not work very well.)

i have tested it, works good.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/885170z6yvrs...TV_100.apk/file
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 01:42 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Aug 27 2018, 01:39 PM)
didn't know it worked now, will try it out soon
getting boring now as not much app for our tv..
the playstore in the tv is very limited - becos this is androidtv, not generic android.

u gotta get other apps from pc, sideload them onto the tv with X-plore app.

i hope u know all the steps...
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 01:51 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(yeeyang @ Aug 25 2018, 07:28 PM)
ESH have offer now, just gotten the 60" for 3488 with 5 year warranty
this offer is RM11 better than the Desa offer at AV fair 2 months ago.

potential tv buyers... news is that TV's will be slapped 10% SST wef Sep 1:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3843549/+760#bottom
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 03:21 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(logitechmouse @ Aug 27 2018, 02:31 PM)
Thansk bro, will definately try icdrama for sure, thanks!

can we make our phone to become a mouse or k/b for the tv?
that icdrama works well. in fact, it will appear on the tv UI as if it is an approved androidtv app!

phone->mouse/kb... i hv not ventured into that.
will be good to know which app can do that with the tv... anyone?

34 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.1659sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:58 AM