Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

TokCoc
post Feb 5 2018, 01:13 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Feb 5 2018, 10:47 AM)
Based on the comments I can see that this model doesn't seem to be as good as its predecessor was back in 2015. Although, to be fair price-wise this model is competing at the low-mid category and not the mid-high category. Will probably wait for some proper reviews from those who bought and also look at the Sony X70e & Panasonic EX600 (the Pana seems to be popular).
Well.. I think sony x70e cannot compete with sharp with its price n quality. Maybe x80e..dunno about Panasonic..
teNtiOn
post Feb 5 2018, 02:00 PM

682 posts

this model is known as LC-60UA6800T in Taiwan and LC-60S50H in HK. most likely different naming in other region. for those who can read chinese may refer to the links below for some initial impression. it was compared to x850e, however no proper review based on PQ.

https://blog.fuchia.tw/?p=8040
https://blog.fuchia.tw/?p=8219

PQ looks better than x70e to my eye.

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Apr 23 2018, 01:22 PM
SUSjdgobio
post Feb 5 2018, 02:26 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(TokCoc @ Feb 5 2018, 01:13 PM)
Well.. I think sony x70e cannot compete with sharp with its price n quality. Maybe x80e..dunno about Panasonic..
Hmm... probably can only look at the Panasonic then. There's no 65" x80e, so have to move up to x85e which is about RM7k+.
cairo87
post Feb 5 2018, 02:52 PM

26 posts

How to screen mirrorring / cast? I cant find...huhu
AVFAN
post Feb 5 2018, 05:18 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 5 2018, 02:52 PM)
How to screen mirrorring / cast? I cant find...huhu
Google cast is built in tv, active, no need to do anything.

It is yr device from where u cast.

Some apps like youtube, u just click the cast icon on top right.

Other apps need a separate app install on yr device, activated.

That app is called home, from google, found in playstore.

cairo87
post Feb 5 2018, 05:52 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 5 2018, 05:18 PM)
Google cast is built in tv, active, no need to do anything.

It is yr device from where u cast.

Some apps like youtube, u just click the cast icon on top right.

Other apps need a separate app install on yr device, activated.

That app is called home, from google, found in playstore.
Need to connect to internet? I do try at Pana tv before... Its very easy,just pair... On his sharp i cant find... Already on wireless display on my phone,and its searching for Tv but cant find... Then,i find google cast at android apps... Try open,cant... See picture...

AVFAN
post Feb 5 2018, 06:01 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 5 2018, 05:52 PM)
Need to connect to internet? I do try at Pana tv before... Its very easy,just pair... On his sharp i cant find... Already on wireless display on my phone,and its searching for Tv but cant find... Then,i find google cast at android apps... Try open,cant... See picture...
Ar... cant remember... maybe need to pair under settings, accessories first.

Pairing requires a procedure with remote... read maunal.

This feature 6800x, 630x shud be same.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 5 2018, 06:03 PM
cairo87
post Feb 5 2018, 06:29 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 5 2018, 06:01 PM)
Ar... cant remember... maybe need to pair under settings, accessories first.

Pairing requires a procedure with remote... read maunal.

This feature 6800x, 630x shud be same.
Im using android phone n Ua6800x too..
I want to mirrorring my phone screen to tv...
AVFAN
post Feb 5 2018, 09:13 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 5 2018, 06:29 PM)
Im using android phone n Ua6800x too..
I want to mirrorring my phone screen to tv...
sorry.. i am only trying to help u from my exp with ue630x.
ua6800x should have the same android as ue630x.

if it is diff, u need to go read the full manual.

for yr sake, i just installed google home app on my asus phone.
top left corner, u click to activate cast to the tv.
and anything on the android phone is cast to tv.
same with samsung android tablet.
for both devices.. youtube and other apps with installed chromecast, no need google home.
just click on cast icon top right corner, all is cast.
yes, internet connection is on for all devices, incl tv.

i do not know if this will work with non android devices like apple phones.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 5 2018, 10:55 PM
hoteel
post Feb 5 2018, 11:27 PM

14 posts

Anyone has issue connecting through the Ethernet cable. I can’t connect via cable to internet and can only do it via WiFi which I understand is slower. Any configuration required on the network settings for Ethernet cable plug in?
franlow
post Feb 6 2018, 09:06 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(hoteel @ Feb 5 2018, 11:27 PM)
Anyone has issue connecting through the Ethernet cable. I can’t connect via cable to internet and can only do it via WiFi which I understand is slower. Any configuration required on the network settings for Ethernet cable plug in?
I plugged in the cable and it worked. No configuration needed.
cairo87
post Feb 6 2018, 03:44 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 5 2018, 09:13 PM)
sorry.. i am only trying to help u from my exp with ue630x.
ua6800x should have the same android as ue630x.

if it is diff, u need to go read the full manual.

for yr sake, i just installed google home app on my asus phone.
top left corner, u click to activate cast to the tv.
and anything on the android phone is cast to tv.
same with samsung android tablet.
for both devices.. youtube and other apps with installed chromecast, no need google home.
just click on cast icon top right corner, all is cast.
yes, internet connection is on for all devices, incl tv.

i do not know if this will work with non android devices like apple phones.
Oic... After done a reading on google... Chromecast and miracast is different thing... Chromecast need same wifi connection...

If just connect to wifi but no internet connection can chromecast?

AVFAN
post Feb 6 2018, 04:07 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(cairo87 @ Feb 6 2018, 03:44 PM)
Oic... After done a reading on google... Chromecast and miracast is different thing... Chromecast need same wifi connection...

If just connect to wifi but no internet connection can chromecast?
I really dont know... i actually dun cast anything, except to test.

Hope others can help u.
opjust
post Feb 7 2018, 11:42 PM

720 posts

Do you guys know if this ua6800x has the following

1) upscalling engine to 4K
2) deep color or wide calor gamut
3) full array led backlIght with local dimming?
4) multiple HDR format (hdr10,hlg)?
AVFAN
post Feb 7 2018, 11:56 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 7 2018, 11:42 PM)
Do you guys know if this ua6800x has the following

1) upscalling engine to 4K
2) deep color or wide calor gamut
3) full array led backlIght with local dimming?
4) multiple HDR format (hdr10,hlg)?
page 1 has some info, links to read.
opjust
post Feb 8 2018, 10:26 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 7 2018, 11:56 PM)
page 1 has some info, links to read.
Thanks! i noticed the model has up- scaling features, wide colour gamut and latest HDR standards (guess it support both HLG and HDR10). The only information i couldn't obtained is what type of local dimming in the LCD display whether full array local dimming or not.
AVFAN
post Feb 8 2018, 10:29 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 8 2018, 10:26 AM)
Thanks! i noticed the model has up- scaling features, wide colour gamut and latest HDR standards (guess it support both HLG and HDR10). The only information i couldn't obtained is what type of local dimming in the LCD display whether full array local dimming or not.
can't help u.

maybe others can.

or ask at the shops...
opjust
post Feb 8 2018, 10:34 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 8 2018, 10:29 AM)
can't help u.

maybe others can.

or ask at the shops...
someone here has advised it's edge lit local dimming. Thanks for your reply.
sonic_darkknight
post Feb 8 2018, 11:17 AM

628 posts

QUOTE(opjust @ Feb 8 2018, 10:34 AM)
someone here has advised it's edge lit local dimming. Thanks for your reply.
Bro, are you referring to me? I just want to clarify something. I'm guessing you misunderstood my meaning.

Edge-lit is referring to a type of led backlight method to illuminate the screen. Edge-lit is the cheaper version as opposed Rear Full Array backlight. The function is to give out light.

Local dimming on the other hand is totally at the opposite end of the spectrum as its function is to dim the targeted specified zone of the TV by blocking or disabling the backlight from illuminating the screen giving a close impression to near OLED level of blacks.

In essence, both Sony and Sharp are using edge-lit backlight method but only Sony have frame dimming method

This post has been edited by sonic_darkknight: Feb 8 2018, 11:20 AM
opjust
post Feb 8 2018, 01:54 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(sonic_darkknight @ Feb 8 2018, 11:17 AM)
Bro, are you referring to me? I just want to clarify something. I'm guessing you misunderstood my meaning.

Edge-lit is referring to a type of led backlight method to illuminate the screen. Edge-lit is the cheaper version as opposed Rear Full Array backlight. The function is to give out light.

Local dimming on the other hand is totally at the opposite end of the spectrum as its function is to dim the targeted specified zone of the TV by blocking or disabling the backlight from illuminating the screen giving a close impression to near OLED level of blacks.

In essence, both Sony and Sharp are using edge-lit backlight method but only Sony have frame dimming method
Yes bro, thanks for your reply.. my understanding is if it's full array backlight there will be more zone that the tv can control it's dimming where the TV are able to set the number of zones to dim as they will have a lot of LED light at the back, while edge lit when they perform local dimming it will be only on the edge since the LED backllight only available along the edge of the tv pointing to the centre. link below explained the way i understand.

https://www.cnet.com/news/led-local-dimming-explained/

123 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0323sec    1.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:43 AM