Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

AVFAN
post Sep 20 2018, 11:17 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(jerrymy @ Sep 20 2018, 09:56 AM)
The remote that comes with the TV miraculously work like a charm. It is very easy to navigate the tv options/controls just with the up/down/left/right/ok buttons.
For the USB drive, I re-formatted it from exFAT to NTFS and that fixed it.
As for the 5ghz WiFi, i have yet to make it work.. my cell phone can detect the 5ghz network though.. will try again this weekend.
As for the movie, i can't play with the built-in player. I installed KODI and it played flawlessly.
As for the NETFLIX, is it worth it for RM51 monthly? I mean if any blockbuster movies just hit the big screen, will it also be available on Netflix?
The RM51 Netflix account can simultaneously be played on 4 different locations? I mean 1 ID shared among 4 users possible?
5ghz... if yr wifi is strong enough and TV is close enough, it should detect.
if signal too weak, it will fall back to 2.4ghz.

yes, u can play local videos with kodi player.
the tv can do only Dolby Digital; by default, DTS and higher is transcoded to DD.
this is better than the tv player which gives no audio for DTS and higher... or mx/vlc which gives aac2.0.
for arc/optical output, set kodi audio to audio passthru, u get same transcoding to DD5.1; w/o it, u get no audio, just a buzz.

netflix only carries videos that that netflix owned or licensed, movies or tv shows.
u dun get all blockbusters, only netflix produced or sponsored ones.
netflix account... find sharing partners here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4305259/+300#bottom

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Jul 24 2018, 09:57 PM)
45UA6800X (I think it was 45", definitely smaller than 50 one). Tested it at ESH Starling Mall, cause I wanna find out if the TV could output DD+/DTS-HD.
Like I said earlier, VLC could play them + sound from TV speakers. But dunno about ARC side. Hopefully this pique your curiosity.  laugh.gif
maybe above is useful for u - about kodi player-audio output.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 20 2018, 11:22 AM
kmc30
post Sep 21 2018, 03:46 PM

Hi, anyone can shared the default value in Service Menu setting ? Mine model is 50UA6800X, my kids accidentally launched the Service Menu and changed some of the setting..

Now the screen seem warm color with noticeable noise in Standard AV mode.
Appreciate your help. Thanks.

This post has been edited by kmc30: Sep 21 2018, 04:24 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Harddisk
post Sep 21 2018, 04:02 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 20 2018, 11:17 AM)
maybe above is useful for u - about kodi player-audio output.
Tried Kodi audio passthrough. But my TV no support Dolby TrueHD, so no sound. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 21 2018, 04:28 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kmc30 @ Sep 21 2018, 03:46 PM)
Hi, anyone can shared the default value in Service Menu setting ? Mine model is 50UA6800X, my kids accidentally launched  the Service Menu and changed some of the setting..

What is this service menu, where u acces it?

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Sep 21 2018, 04:02 PM)
Tried Kodi audio passthrough. But my TV no support Dolby TrueHD, so no sound.  laugh.gif
U must also tick the others under passthru incl transcoding to get dd... tv speakers or avr.

dd+ ddtruehd, ddatmos, dts, dtshdma, dtsx will all be transcoded to dd.
stasio
post Sep 21 2018, 06:17 PM

18,503 posts

Hi, anyone can shared the default value in Service Menu setting ? Mine model is 50UA6800X, my kids accidentally launched  the Service Menu and changed some of the setting..

Factory reset..?

voncrane
post Sep 21 2018, 06:38 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Sep 21 2018, 06:17 PM)
Factory reset..?
Think of it as the BIOS menu as on a computer...it's separate from the normal OS. Factory reset is for the TV's Android OS alone..I strongly doubt that will work. Service menu is well hidden by default and supposed to be accessed only by capable technicians. Unsure about this model, but on my Samsung, to access it requires a precise combination or sequence of button presses on the remote.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 21 2018, 06:39 PM
Harddisk
post Sep 21 2018, 06:39 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2018, 04:28 PM)
Mine only got these 2 options for pass-through.

Is it because I'm using a different branded TV? laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 21 2018, 07:39 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Sep 21 2018, 06:39 PM)
Mine only got these 2 options for pass-through.
Is it because I'm using a different branded TV?  laugh.gif
definitely missing the "transcoding" option.

that exist with kodi 17.6 on sharp androidtv (incl old model ue630x) and my box.
what TV u bought that doesn't have it?
Harddisk
post Sep 21 2018, 07:49 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2018, 07:39 PM)
definitely missing the "transcoding" option.

that exist with kodi 17.6 on sharp androidtv (incl old model ue630x) and my box.
what TV u bought that doesn't have it?
I'm using Sony TV. Kodi app installed via Play Store. Wonder if that's the difference.
AVFAN
post Sep 21 2018, 07:55 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Sep 21 2018, 07:49 PM)
I'm using Sony TV. Kodi app installed via Play Store. Wonder if that's the difference.
interesting... which model?

possible older model, old android version?

then again, i hv read in the sony thread a couple of users say they hate the androidtv!

dun really know why.... but i love the androidtv in my 2 sharps, can't live w/o them.
Harddisk
post Sep 21 2018, 08:02 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2018, 07:55 PM)
interesting... which model?

possible older model, old android version?

then again, i hv read in the sony thread a couple of users say they hate the androidtv!

dun really know why.... but i love the androidtv in my 2 sharps, can't live w/o them.
X85f, now still on Nougat. Kodi is 17.6. The Android performance not really great. Using MTK chipset.

Built in player I could get DD+ pass through. Archos player + codec plugins cannot. Kodi can. But none can play Dolby TrueHD. Anyhow, TV doesn't support Dolby TrueHD. So Atmos audio is out of the picture. The only problem is, it doesnt transcode down to supported codec.

I think my previous LG could still pass through Dolby TrueHD + Atmos (could be transcoded, cause soundbar was only showing DD, which is 5.1), if I'm not mistaken.
AVFAN
post Sep 21 2018, 08:09 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Sep 21 2018, 08:02 PM)
X85f, now still on Nougat. Kodi is 17.6. The Android performance not really great. Using MTK chipset.

Built in player I could get DD+ pass through. Archos player + codec plugins cannot. Kodi can. But none can play Dolby TrueHD. Anyhow, TV doesn't support Dolby TrueHD. So Atmos audio is out of the picture. The only problem is, it doesnt transcode down to supported codec.

I think my previous LG could still pass through Dolby TrueHD + Atmos (could be transcoded, cause soundbar was only showing DD, which is 5.1), if I'm not mistaken.
i wud read that as the TV firmware is not optimized for kodi 17 - this is seen in many devices.

howver, it wud seem it has a better usb player/licnese since it can do dd+.

if audio is big for u, time u go buy a separate box player! biggrin.gif

Harddisk
post Sep 21 2018, 10:01 PM

2,959 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2018, 08:09 PM)
i wud read that as the TV firmware is not optimized for kodi 17 - this is seen in many devices.

howver, it wud seem it has a better usb player/licnese since it can do dd+.
So just have to wait and see if Kodi suddenly decodes Dolby TrueHD 1 day.

The DD+ royalty definitely cost quite a bit. sweat.gif

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2018, 08:09 PM)
if audio is big for u, time u go buy a separate box player! biggrin.gif
Maybe few years down the road, get a stupid 4K TV + good box. laugh.gif
kmc30
post Sep 21 2018, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 21 2018, 04:28 PM)
What is this service menu, where u acces it?
U must also tick the others under passthru incl transcoding to get dd... tv speakers or avr.

I've no idea how my kids access this menu via remote control, but I only able to access by holding {INPUT} & {-VOL} button on TV and switch on the power outlet. after a while a [S] sign appear then press {<CH} & {-VOL} button together.

**be careful if u have access to service menu as navigate button left or right on remote might able to change the setting value..

stasio, neither Factory reset or Industry Init. doesn't help...
AVFAN
post Sep 21 2018, 10:32 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Sep 21 2018, 10:01 PM)
So just have to wait and see if Kodi suddenly decodes Dolby TrueHD 1 day.
The DD+ royalty definitely cost quite a bit.  sweat.gif
Maybe few years down the road, get a stupid 4K TV + good box.  laugh.gif
Stupid tv + good box is a poor combination.

Becos stupid tvs are in a dying market segment, no attention from tv makers, do not produce good video quality.

So, u gotta get a good box for audio whatever tv u get.

QUOTE(kmc30 @ Sep 21 2018, 10:07 PM)
I've no idea how my kids access this menu via remote control, but I only able to access by holding {INPUT} & {-VOL} button on TV and switch on the power outlet. after a while a [S] sign appear then press {<CH} & {-VOL} button together.

**be careful if u have access to service menu as navigate button left or right on remote might able to change the setting value..

stasio, neither Factory reset or Industry Init. doesn't help...
No, i will not attempt that.

I suggest u contact sharp service center, get their help to fix this.

While still under warranty.
stasio
post Sep 24 2018, 02:59 PM

18,503 posts

Finally....one for TVbox and another for upcoming Astro UHD....

ming0000
post Sep 24 2018, 10:10 PM

450 posts

Hi, I am looking for 4k 50inch TV now.
is that anyone using this model playing games?
got user try Steam link is this Sharp model?

Choose this now. happy.gif
Sharp 6500 and 6800
Samsung NU7100 and 7400
cwye
post Sep 25 2018, 12:08 AM

636 posts

you may try to change the factory init to yes, which it will factory reset everything.
kmc30
post Sep 25 2018, 10:11 AM

QUOTE(cwye @ Sep 25 2018, 12:08 AM)
you may try to change the factory init to yes, which it will factory reset everything.
Did try, but not reset everything. Issues still exists.
dayalan86
post Sep 25 2018, 10:55 AM

981 posts

QUOTE(jerrymy @ Sep 15 2018, 07:43 PM)
I bought online at goshop.com.my . After discount is rm2969.
Listed rm3299.
Currently there is 10% discount on electronics which valid until end of september. I received mine within 7 days after ordering.

[attachmentid=10021878]
You got it at a steal. Now on Go Shop, the lowest I can get is about 3.2k after 10% discount. Same price at TBM Klang.

Plan to check out the TV first, as I was initially shopping for Panasonic.

This post has been edited by dayalan86: Sep 25 2018, 12:55 PM

123 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:48 AM