Sharp LC50UA6800X, Review

voncrane
post Sep 15 2018, 09:40 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(jerrymy @ Sep 15 2018, 07:48 PM)
My router is actually placed beside the tv, but the tv doesn't detect the 5g WiFi.
What sadden me is the usb doesn't recognise 64GB pendrive...

Other than the above, everything works perfectly.

Anybody can tell me whether this is the R/C that comes with this tv?

[attachmentid=10021882]
Since your router is placed close to the TV.. Just use Ethernet cable instead.. More reliable.. As for the pendrive issue.. Reformat as NTFS and try again.
AVFAN
post Sep 15 2018, 11:35 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(jerrymy @ Sep 15 2018, 03:57 PM)
Hi All,
Finally I got my TV!! Anyone knows how many variants for this model LC-60UA6800X?
On some site, I saw it comes with a touchpad R/C? Mine comes with a R/C with 2 whites buttons at the bottom (Nexflix & Youtube).
And the TV USB can't accept USB thumb drive bigger than 32GB. I slotted in 64GB pendrive and it said not recognized. Can anyone confirm this?
BTW this TV is really great! Loves its screen and sound. I saw my storage is 8.9GB available. Is this normal? I thought this is a 16GB one?
One thing about the WiFi, I saw somewhere that it supports 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz, but mine only can detects 2.4GHz network. Someone please clarify.
I thought maybe one is the cheaper variant with some perks omitted?? cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
QUOTE(jerrymy @ Sep 15 2018, 07:48 PM)
My router is actually placed beside the tv, but the tv doesn't detect the 5g WiFi.
What sadden me is the usb doesn't recognise 64GB pendrive...
Other than the above, everything works perfectly.
Anybody can tell me whether this is the R/C that comes with this tv?
previous model comes with 2 remotes, incl a touchpad.
this model u bot, just one.
the one u got is correct.

no, the tv usb wil detect 1, 2 TB hdd.

it will detect/work with 5ghz. is your router dual band?

go to settings, and do a restart, reboot the android.
stasio
post Sep 16 2018, 07:31 AM

18,503 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 15 2018, 09:55 AM)
i dun think u can disable it.
time int'l connection not so good?

u should check at time broadband thread with other users.
Thanks ,playing with router DSN (8.8.8.8) and disable IPv6 get back the smooth Youtube streaming 4/8K contens.

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 15 2018, 09:40 PM)
Since your router is placed close to the TV.. Just use Ethernet cable instead.. More reliable.. As for the pendrive issue.. Reformat as NTFS and try again.
Notice that above 100Mbps speed LAN cable must be CAT5e or above (6..7).

This post has been edited by stasio: Sep 16 2018, 07:36 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 16 2018, 10:18 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Sep 16 2018, 07:31 AM)
Thanks ,playing with router DSN (8.8.8.8) and disable IPv6 get back the smooth Youtube streaming 4/8K contens.
Notice that above 100Mbps speed LAN cable must be CAT5e or above (6..7).
dns 8888 or 8844 works good.

can try netflix, should work smoothly even for UHD pack.

cat5e is good for <1gbps speed.

the wifi module of the tv is quite good.

if signal strong enough, 5ghz will trigger; if too far like 50ft, it auto falls back to 2.4ghz.

jiaye lim
post Sep 17 2018, 09:16 AM

179 posts

Just got mine for Rm3599, from Rex Expo, 5 years warranty by Sharp, and a full motion wall mount/bracket.

Good buy?
jcheong
post Sep 17 2018, 09:31 AM

323 posts

After looking at a bunch of < RM3300 TVs, why do I think the picture quality on this TV (60"6800x) is bad, or is it the SHARP video that they are playing is bad? Really interested in it though.

This post has been edited by jcheong: Sep 17 2018, 09:32 AM
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2018, 10:28 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(jiaye lim @ Sep 17 2018, 09:16 AM)
Just got mine for Rm3599, from Rex Expo, 5 years warranty by Sharp, and a full motion wall mount/bracket.

Good buy?
50 or 60"?

QUOTE(jcheong @ Sep 17 2018, 09:31 AM)
After looking at a bunch of < RM3300 TVs, why do I think the picture quality on this TV (60"6800x) is bad, or is it the SHARP video that they are playing is bad? Really interested in it though.
if u hv spent enough time checking all the TV's in the shops and found it bad, u should move on and buy something else.
jiaye lim
post Sep 17 2018, 10:49 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 17 2018, 10:28 AM)
50 or 60"?
60" smile.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2018, 10:57 AM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(jiaye lim @ Sep 17 2018, 10:49 AM)
60" smile.gif
good price then since the wall bracket+installation is worth rm300-400.
voncrane
post Sep 17 2018, 12:22 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(jiaye lim @ Sep 17 2018, 09:16 AM)

Good buy?
Does it matter when you've already bought it? Later ppl tell you bad buy and you regret.. Should ask before and not after purchase.biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 17 2018, 12:23 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2018, 01:18 PM

24,448 posts

was playing around with the tv...

.. netflix HD (not UHD... using someone's acc)
optical output DD5.1, as expected.
voice search works good.

.. iflix - install from playstore, log in with previous email... it auto detects, no problem... still not expired!
noticed there are a few LIVE tv channels now... aljazeera, DW, CCTV4... but in SD 240/360, crap...
VOD is 480/576, i say... alto message popped up "1000 videos in HD"!!
still same very old stuff in the library... will they ever get some newer/better stuff?!
voice search works fine.
voncrane
post Sep 17 2018, 02:21 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 17 2018, 01:18 PM)
was playing around with the tv...

.. netflix HD (not UHD... using someone's acc)
optical output DD5.1, as expected.
voice search works good.

.. iflix - install from playstore, log in with previous email... it auto detects, no problem... still not expired!
noticed there are a few LIVE tv channels now... aljazeera, DW, CCTV4... but in SD 240/360, crap...
VOD is 480/576, i say... alto message popped up "1000 videos in HD"!!
still same very old stuff in the library... will they ever get some newer/better stuff?!
voice search works fine.
Netflix should be UHD.. Check with that person, the account is probably the cheaper max 1080p only account. Netflix has slightly more expensive up to UHD+HDR and Dolby Atmos support. With such account, the TV should at minimum do UHD+HDR.. If it doesn't? Then that's a major flag.
AVFAN
post Sep 17 2018, 03:35 PM

24,448 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Sep 17 2018, 02:21 PM)
Netflix should be UHD.. Check with that person, the account is probably the cheaper max 1080p only account. Netflix has slightly more expensive up to UHD+HDR and Dolby Atmos support. With such account, the TV should at minimum do UHD+HDR.. If it doesn't? Then that's a major flag.
It is just an hd account, not uhd.
UltimaKP
post Sep 17 2018, 08:09 PM

34 posts

I have no idea why this TV is getting cheaper n cheaper, the depreciation is too much, I buy the TV on April at rm4296, free 5yr warranty, cctv. But I only received the TV on Sept, my heart go through alot roller coaster looking at the price during this period, sharp really giving face palm to their loyal customer.

Anyway congrats to the buyer who buy with cheaper price

This post has been edited by UltimaKP: Sep 17 2018, 08:13 PM
cwye
post Sep 17 2018, 10:11 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(UltimaKP @ Sep 17 2018, 08:09 PM)
I have no idea why this TV is getting cheaper n cheaper, the depreciation is too much, I buy the TV on April at rm4296, free 5yr warranty, cctv. But I only received the TV on Sept, my heart go through alot roller coaster looking at the price during this period, sharp really giving face palm to their loyal customer.

Anyway congrats to the buyer who buy with cheaper price
u asked them to deliver it on sept or oos?
at least u got the cctv.
UltimaKP
post Sep 18 2018, 12:18 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(cwye @ Sep 17 2018, 10:11 PM)
u asked them to deliver it on sept or oos?
at least u got the cctv.
Yea, request to deliver on Sept as hse renovation has not complete.

martins
post Sep 19 2018, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Jan 23 2018, 02:18 PM)
Need to consider the source that is being played also. Always best to bring your own 4K HDR 50/60hz files to test. Usually, they play the same unknown source in stores on many displays. Sometimes they use 1080p source since there are non-4K displays in the chain as well. If you notice, the LG Oled in places like Harvey Norman always plays a different source compared to the other non-OLED tvs.

I didn't test the other day coz I was not keen on buying yet but would be interested to know what panels they use and if its really better than the 630X. To my eyes they appeared better due to the brighter screen and better colours but can't really say anything about details & HDR. Sharp models are hard to research about due to the models are not global.

The Toshiba models I mentioned earlier are IPS panels but they did look very good. To my eyes, some IPS panels look better than lower end VA panels due to colour and brightness which bring out HDR very well. But black levels are bad so watching movies at night in the dark is not very immersive. For living room TV, IPS is usually a good choice if budget constrained.
Stay away from Toshiba

Toshiba sold to HiSense https://www.theverge.com/2017/11/14/1664937...-tv-deal-signed

Yes, unfortunately this is correct and the products have nothing to do with Toshiba any longer, they are just using the name to trick people into believing that they are getting Japanese quality when they are actually selling Chinese crap.
Unfortunately I feel into this trap - I bought the 55U9750VM - their high end TV assuming I will get a quality product. Unfortunately that's not the case.
This TV is an absolute piece of crap - the panel died after less than 6 week. Customer service sucks getting parts from KL takes 2 weeks, so the TV will be gone for 4 weeks. Yes, this is not toshiba but hisense so expect chinese quality and chinese customer service.
Stay away from these products as far as you can.
Harddisk
post Sep 19 2018, 06:26 PM

2,957 posts

QUOTE(martins @ Sep 19 2018, 05:55 PM)
Stay away from Toshiba

Toshiba sold to HiSense https://www.theverge.com/2017/11/14/1664937...-tv-deal-signed

Yes, unfortunately this is correct and the products have nothing to do with Toshiba any longer, they are just using the name to trick people into believing that they are getting Japanese quality when they are actually selling Chinese crap.
Unfortunately I feel into this trap - I bought the 55U9750VM - their high end TV assuming I will get a quality product. Unfortunately that's not the case.
This TV is an absolute piece of crap - the panel died after less than 6 week. Customer service sucks getting parts from KL takes 2 weeks, so the TV will be gone for 4 weeks. Yes, this is not toshiba but hisense so expect chinese quality and chinese customer service.
Stay away from these products as far as you can.
This is sad news. Toshiba was in my list while I was hunting for an Android TV.
jerrymy
post Sep 20 2018, 09:56 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 15 2018, 11:35 PM)
previous model comes with 2 remotes, incl a touchpad.
this model u bot, just one.
the one u got is correct.

no, the tv usb wil detect 1, 2 TB hdd.

it will detect/work with 5ghz. is your router dual band?

go to settings, and do a restart, reboot the android.
The remote that comes with the TV miraculously work like a charm. It is very easy to navigate the tv options/controls just with the up/down/left/right/ok buttons.

For the USB drive, I re-formatted it from exFAT to NTFS and that fixed it.
As for the 5ghz WiFi, i have yet to make it work.. my cell phone can detect the 5ghz network though.. will try again this weekend.

As for the movie, i can't play with the built-in player. I installed KODI and it played flawlessly.

As for the NETFLIX, is it worth it for RM51 monthly? I mean if any blockbuster movies just hit the big screen, will it also be available on Netflix?
The RM51 Netflix account can simultaneously be played on 4 different locations? I mean 1 ID shared among 4 users possible?

logitechmouse
post Sep 20 2018, 10:45 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(jerrymy @ Sep 20 2018, 09:56 AM)
The remote that comes with the TV miraculously work like a charm. It is very easy to navigate the tv options/controls just with the up/down/left/right/ok buttons.

For the USB drive, I re-formatted it from exFAT to NTFS and that fixed it.
As for the 5ghz WiFi, i have yet to make it work.. my cell phone can detect the 5ghz network though.. will try again this weekend.

As for the movie, i can't play with the built-in player. I installed KODI and it played flawlessly.

As for the NETFLIX, is it worth it for RM51 monthly? I mean if any blockbuster movies just hit the big screen, will it also be available on Netflix?
The RM51 Netflix account can simultaneously be played on 4 different locations? I mean 1 ID shared among 4 users possible?
Yes, u can share netflix account up to 4 users, depends on which account u subscribed.

123 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:36 AM