DFI Infinity 965-S Disscussion, Talk About How to Tweak

sHawTY
post May 10 2007, 11:23 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(jslut @ May 10 2007, 11:21 PM)
ok i'm totally stumped. still same prob, even worse now my lan doesn't work at all. can't even access the net. can access the router though

single channel won't work, dual-channel won't work as well. single stick or 2 sticks

the addressing settings don't work.

manually setting the timing setting won't work either

so wat's wrong wit my rig now cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Bro, try reflashing the bios.
I think there's some problem with your bios liao. sweat.gif
almostthere
post May 10 2007, 11:24 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(jslut @ May 10 2007, 11:21 PM)
ok i'm totally stumped. still same prob, even worse now my lan doesn't work at all. can't even access the net. can access the router though

single channel won't work, dual-channel won't work as well. single stick or 2 sticks

the addressing settings don't work.

manually setting the timing setting won't work either

so wat's wrong wit my rig now cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
looks like a seriously dodgy board. Seems you have to do soemthing drastic which is to hard reset the mobo and pray nothing is wrong after that. If that doesn't solve it, you've got no choice but to RMA the mobo
irangan
post May 10 2007, 11:32 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

@jslut

Can your mobo detect your LAN card?

If yes, most likely is software problem and not your mobo problem.

If not, try reinstall latest driver or flash the bios. If still cant, your LAN chip damaged. RMA needed.

About your dual channel,

DFI mobo is real picky on ram. Try to use other ram and test

Just my opinion.
almostthere
post May 10 2007, 11:33 PM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ May 10 2007, 11:32 PM)
@jslut

Can your mobo detect your LAN card?

If yes, most likely is software problem and not your mobo problem.

If not, try reinstall latest driver or flash the bios. If still cant, your LAN chip damaged. RMA needed.

About your dual channel,

DFI mobo is real picky on ram. Try to use other ram and test

Just my opinion.
AFAIK, the Dark does not have any RAM compatibillity issues. I've came across such a problem with the nForce 4 Expert mobo. A hard reset sorted it out. Same problems as jslut's
anangryorc
post May 12 2007, 01:11 PM

597 posts

Actually this board loves supertalent RAMs. I think you can try reinstall LAN driver, reinstall windows, or even zero filling your hard drive then start over again before going for RMA, my good old rig (socket A, which now im still using) have the similar prob before.

Supertalent ddr667 on dfi p965-s
Eoma
post May 12 2007, 04:11 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

Just updated to BIOS 424 (it's not beta anymore).

Still no go at 500x6.0. Hmmm, what do i need to increase ar ? I've also just attached the 5v floppy power connector.
Looks like it's still going to be 334x9 @ 3.06Ghz for me. It's still plenty fast, but... sad.gif

p/s: Reset + Insert to clear the CMOS ? Is that correct ?
AceCombat
post May 13 2007, 01:27 PM

5,434 posts

yup,for dfi,the step for reset bios is works.....bro Eoma,u mean ur proc and mobo cant go beyong 3.06?
Eoma
post May 13 2007, 02:17 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 13 2007, 01:27 PM)
yup,for dfi,the step for reset bios is works.....bro Eoma,u mean ur proc and mobo cant go beyong 3.06?
Erm, the setup that I tried and will POST, but won't load Windows:

500 x 6 @ 500Mhz DDR
400 x 8 @ 400Mhz DDR
450 x 7 @ 450Mhz DDR

vcore +50mv
vNB +once
vTT +once
vDIMM @ 2.1v

C2D E6600 + Bios 424

So now, running comfortably at 334 x 9 @ 501Mhz DDR. Stock vcore, vNB and vTT. Only vDIMM @ 2.1v 5-5-5-15. How leh ?

sHawTY
post May 13 2007, 05:09 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

EOMA, you should try this:
The same as my setting.

400 X 8 @ 500MHz DDR @ 4-4-4-12

vcore +1.00mv
vNB @ 1.46V
vTT @ 1.3V
vDIMM @ 2.25v

I manage to reach 3.2GHz with my E6420 with the Supertalent PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz 2GB Kit 4-4-4-12 ram.

Be sure to set both of the "Enhance Data Transmitting" & "Enhance Addressing" in the Dram Timing setup page to "Normal"

Here's the picture:
**Picture is a courtesy of windwithme notworthy.gif

See that "Enhance Data Transmitting" & "Enhance Addressing" option?
Set both of them to "Normal", then i believe u can reach 400X8 @ DDR500MHz @ 4-4-4-12

Owh, before i forget, set the Dram Speed in the 1st Genie Bios Setting to 667MHz.
The Dram Speed option in Genie Bios Setting should be in this page like the picture below:

Here's the picture:
**Picture is a courtesy of windwithme notworthy.gif

Try it out. wink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: May 13 2007, 07:18 PM
Eoma
post May 13 2007, 07:32 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

Thanks man. The Enchance Data Tx and Enhance Addressing give a speed boost when set to Fast. I'll try it out when I have the time. Plus, I want to maintain a 1:1 ratio if possible, so I'll probably set the DRAM to auto or 533Mhz. smile.gif
sHawTY
post May 13 2007, 07:43 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ May 13 2007, 07:32 PM)
Thanks man. The Enchance Data Tx and Enhance Addressing give a speed boost when set to Fast. I'll try it out when I have the time. Plus, I want to maintain a 1:1 ratio if possible, so I'll probably set the DRAM to auto or 533Mhz.  smile.gif
I know the Fast option does gives you the speed boost, but the thing is, the system ain't gonna be stable if u put to fast.

Try it, and you'll know what i'm toking about. laugh.gif
Hyde`fK
post May 14 2007, 12:26 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

OT: What's the current market price for this board? I heard different prices around.
AceCombat
post May 14 2007, 05:50 PM

5,434 posts

now if not mistaken new is only rm540.....

well,bro Shawty said is true,i also put them to normal cause in fast,the mobo will boost the ram speed automatically during load,this will cause the system unstable,either bsod or restart in the half way.
rlhc17
post May 14 2007, 08:14 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 14 2007, 05:50 PM)
now if not mistaken new is only rm540.....

well,bro Shawty said is true,i also put them to normal cause in fast,the mobo will boost the ram speed automatically during load,this will cause the system unstable,either bsod or restart in the half way.
there a big drop in memeory bandwidth if u set it to normal mode sad.gif
AceCombat
post May 16 2007, 12:12 PM

5,434 posts

but,no choice mah....must need to sacrifice,but i now put back to fast @ 800mhz lo,still can boot and orthos kaw kaw.
Hyde`fK
post May 20 2007, 12:20 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

How does the FSB strap effect the overclocking? I just hantam set it to 266.
SUSchek
post May 20 2007, 08:32 PM

120 posts

Tries to change my PSU from Intel 550 Watts to NMB Xeon Server PSU 460 Watts True power. But the Mobo just would not boot.

Measure all the voltage from both 12Volt rail, 3.3 volt and 5 volt all seems to be reading very accurate with my DMM.

Can anyone tells me what is the minimum watts requirement for this mobo
sHawTY
post May 20 2007, 09:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(chek @ May 20 2007, 08:32 PM)
Tries to change my PSU from Intel 550 Watts to NMB Xeon Server PSU 460 Watts True power.  But the Mobo just would not boot.

Measure all the voltage from both 12Volt rail, 3.3 volt and 5 volt all seems to be reading very accurate with my DMM.

Can anyone tells me what is the minimum watts requirement for this mobo
Tell me something, what's the model of your processor? hmm.gif
SUSchek
post May 20 2007, 10:59 PM

120 posts

Processor : C2D retail E6600 - Batch no : L629F125
2 x 1Gb Team DDR2 667 Value ram
Radeon X1650Pro PCI-e
2 x Hitachi 320Gb SATA
1 SONY DVD-RW

NMB Server PSU True Power 460Watts slightly bigger than any convensional PSU.

Model : GM460WTXW01SSV (Power on but will not boot)

Currently using Intel PSU 550 Watts true power (works no problem)

Model : DPS-550BB A

Don't understand why even a server class psu cannot power up this baby

almostthere
post May 21 2007, 10:46 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Have you done a soft reset of the BIOS before installing the new PSU? And have you plugged in the floppy molex in too? Mine is a HEC server class 460W PSU and booted up fine first time run

41 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:54 PM