QUOTE(aaron80 @ Oct 31 2017, 11:19 PM)
Good stuff. Thank you for sharing.Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5
Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v5
Nov 1 2017, 08:42 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
10,536 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Nov 1 2017, 09:27 AM
6,716 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(emei @ Nov 1 2017, 12:08 AM) Read all the post in this thread regarding tempered class and screen protector. Here is a small conclusion: Using Whitestone Dome.1) Dont use tempered class on note 8 cause it will spoil the user experience 2) Using cheap tempered class because all tc/SP are the same 3) Whitestone dome user - good review so far but expensive 4) X-one - mix of review - some have screen sensitivity issue, edge lift up 5) HAO - mix of review - dust and sensitivity issue. If you are using tempered class, please copy/reply this post with your answer and comments on how is your experience so far with the SP in term of sensitivity, dust, and etc and what tempered class you use? My experience so far: The glass : - Feel so good and slippery when swiping with your finger and S Pen - It doesn't fully cover the edge of the screen like 2mm there The installation : - You will need to be aware that they mention to have additional glue being included so be prepared that it will leak out when you put down the glass (Seal off some part like headphone hole and speakers) - Mine lucky as it leaked on the right side below power button there. The CON : - For me, due to the glue between the TG and original screen, you might find that dust particar will start collecting around the edges which noticable during under the sunlight or if u r peaky. - So some cleaning work might need to perform every week for me since i'm a perfectioninst Overall, I like this TG and still waiting my Spigen Ultra Hybrid S to come Now using the clear case included inside the package. |
Nov 1 2017, 09:37 AM
2,219 posts Joined: Aug 2016 |
QUOTE(emei @ Nov 1 2017, 12:08 AM) Read all the post in this thread regarding tempered class and screen protector. Here is a small conclusion: 1) some how agree but not all, depend on the tempered class that you get1) Dont use tempered class on note 8 cause it will spoil the user experience 2) Using cheap tempered class because all tc/SP are the same 3) Whitestone dome user - good review so far but expensive 4) X-one - mix of review - some have screen sensitivity issue, edge lift up 5) HAO - mix of review - dust and sensitivity issue. If you are using tempered class, please copy/reply this post with your answer and comments on how is your experience so far with the SP in term of sensitivity, dust, and etc and what tempered class you use? 2) not all, depend on the tempered class that you get 4) not agree, depend on individual one of the point that i raise here is that all the SP/TP for curve screen phone if your installation not >95% accurately install and case not so compatible with it then you for sure will complain, sometimes it is not because the SP/TP itself not good or bad |
Nov 1 2017, 09:40 AM
321 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(citacitata @ Oct 31 2017, 07:07 PM) 1. our phone is that canggih until it can replicate the magnetic strip of physical cards. hence our samsung pay can work on older terminals. people have been doing this since samsung s6, it's called Magnetic Secure Transmission. i see, thanks for sharing =D i shall try with other merchant that don support paywave...pay with style =D2. if the seller don't know what is samsung pay or don't have pay wave, I'll just ask him to bring over the terminal. then type the amount needed to pay, select VISA (if asked). then i will tap my phone at the place where u swipe the card. it's a little slow, but be patient. however and has failed to go thru at ONE merchant (coffea coffee sri petaling). so far i use samsung pay MST (NOT Paywave) at all other terminals without fail. mostly at bars, and some older/local hypermarkets . |
Nov 1 2017, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(aaron80 @ Nov 1 2017, 09:37 AM) 1) some how agree but not all, depend on the tempered class that you get But then most of the famous like spigen and zagg all using side only adhesive2) not all, depend on the tempered class that you get 4) not agree, depend on individual one of the point that i raise here is that all the SP/TP for curve screen phone if your installation not >95% accurately install and case not so compatible with it then you for sure will complain, sometimes it is not because the SP/TP itself not good or bad Middle really doesnt provide anything but small gap <--- this lead to sensitive issue Even ppl installed with 100% accuracy with those guide tools also facing the problem. With the only side adhesive, the TG tends to pop out easily |
Nov 1 2017, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 1 2017, 10:17 AM) But then most of the famous like spigen and zagg all using side only adhesive i did mention, depend on the TP that you getMiddle really doesnt provide anything but small gap <--- this lead to sensitive issue Even ppl installed with 100% accuracy with those guide tools also facing the problem. With the only side adhesive, the TG tends to pop out easily i am using side adhesive TP now, it is not branded cheapo TP i have no touch and spen sensitivity issue because no gap between the TP and screen, no pop up, not conflict with my case, no rainbow problem installed on 21/10 hopefully it can last me for few months until i found the next one to try, thinking next one to get is the full adhesive TP (not whitestone type) |
Nov 1 2017, 11:36 AM
1,008 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Capital Square Kuantan |
QUOTE(citacitata @ Oct 31 2017, 11:00 PM) Car Charger with Type C USBLook at question section. I ask seller for used at Note 8 |
Nov 1 2017, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(honamd77 @ Nov 1 2017, 11:36 AM) this is cheaperbut no way to find out that this type of item is really genuine or not https://www.lazada.com.my/original-genuine-...tem_page.bottom |
Nov 1 2017, 11:56 AM
783 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: My Room. |
QUOTE(-cmi- @ Nov 1 2017, 06:08 AM) I'm using HAO for past few days. Their response are quiet good in the FB too. Didn't apply HAO because it is won't go well with my Otterbox Defender.I don't face any sensitivity issue. It feel absolutely like naked. No dust issue too since this is full adhesive TG. I can really recommend anyone this TG for those who looking for high quality TG. And the service at HAO shop in Cheras also quiet good. Staffs were friendly and you can watch movie or playing PS4 while waiting for them to do the installation. |
Nov 1 2017, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(Roman.reigns @ Nov 1 2017, 10:23 AM) Believe it or not, Google isn't the only company with issues on its flagship devices. We've been informed that many units of Samsung's Galaxy Note8 are completely freezing when the contacts app is opened, and that includes when other apps like 'Messaging' and 'Phone' use it as well. Basically, these Note8s are refusing to function as phones. My goodness, that is sadly just horrible knowing. Fortunately my phone is not experiencing those issues. Finger's crossed. In any case, hope Samsung releases an update to fix those issues asap.According to replies on a post entitled 'Note 8 Freezing and unresponsive' in Samsung's forums, many variants of the Note8 are having this problem. Most of these reports are occurring when the user is doing something concerning calling and texting, leading us to believe that it's the contacts app that is the culprit. Here's a list of what is causing Note8s to freeze that we've gathered from the forum post and its replies: Using speed dial Making calls from the recent calls list and contacts Tapping on contacts in the Phone app Tapping on contacts in the Messages app Loading an Excel spreadsheet from an email Opening contacts Using the contacts list Using Pokémon GO, Chrome, and the Google app Tapping a contact in the Messages and Contacts apps Charging overnight Opening the Phone app Opening an individual contact in the Contacts app Opening Contacts while texting While making a phone call It's pretty clear from the accounts given that the contacts app has something to do with this. There are one or two cases there that don't fit the bill, but there will always be extraneous data when tracking down bugs like these. When these Note8 devices are freezing, only two things will get them back to normal: force restarts or complete battery drains. Owners have tried clearing cache, uninstalling and reinstalling apps, and even factory resets, but to no avail. |
Nov 1 2017, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(Roman.reigns @ Nov 1 2017, 10:23 AM) Believe it or not, Google isn't the only company with issues on its flagship devices. We've been informed that many units of Samsung's Galaxy Note8 are completely freezing when the contacts app is opened, and that includes when other apps like 'Messaging' and 'Phone' use it as well. Basically, these Note8s are refusing to function as phones. the above issue can be fixed by a software update, not that bad yetAccording to replies on a post entitled 'Note 8 Freezing and unresponsive' in Samsung's forums, many variants of the Note8 are having this problem. Most of these reports are occurring when the user is doing something concerning calling and texting, leading us to believe that it's the contacts app that is the culprit. Here's a list of what is causing Note8s to freeze that we've gathered from the forum post and its replies: Using speed dial Making calls from the recent calls list and contacts Tapping on contacts in the Phone app Tapping on contacts in the Messages app Loading an Excel spreadsheet from an email Opening contacts Using the contacts list Using Pokémon GO, Chrome, and the Google app Tapping a contact in the Messages and Contacts apps Charging overnight Opening the Phone app Opening an individual contact in the Contacts app Opening Contacts while texting While making a phone call It's pretty clear from the accounts given that the contacts app has something to do with this. There are one or two cases there that don't fit the bill, but there will always be extraneous data when tracking down bugs like these. When these Note8 devices are freezing, only two things will get them back to normal: force restarts or complete battery drains. Owners have tried clearing cache, uninstalling and reinstalling apps, and even factory resets, but to no avail. but google pixel is hardware issue, the screen problem can't be fixed by an update |
Nov 1 2017, 12:20 PM
482 posts Joined: Jan 2016 From: Joined : 2008 |
QUOTE(Roman.reigns @ Nov 1 2017, 10:23 AM) Believe it or not, Google isn't the only company with issues on its flagship devices. We've been informed that many units of Samsung's Galaxy Note8 are completely freezing when the contacts app is opened, and that includes when other apps like 'Messaging' and 'Phone' use it as well. Basically, these Note8s are refusing to function as phones. I kena a few times already. Have to restart phone to fix it. Wth right?According to replies on a post entitled 'Note 8 Freezing and unresponsive' in Samsung's forums, many variants of the Note8 are having this problem. Most of these reports are occurring when the user is doing something concerning calling and texting, leading us to believe that it's the contacts app that is the culprit. Here's a list of what is causing Note8s to freeze that we've gathered from the forum post and its replies: Using speed dial Making calls from the recent calls list and contacts Tapping on contacts in the Phone app Tapping on contacts in the Messages app Loading an Excel spreadsheet from an email Opening contacts Using the contacts list Using Pokémon GO, Chrome, and the Google app Tapping a contact in the Messages and Contacts apps Charging overnight Opening the Phone app Opening an individual contact in the Contacts app Opening Contacts while texting While making a phone call It's pretty clear from the accounts given that the contacts app has something to do with this. There are one or two cases there that don't fit the bill, but there will always be extraneous data when tracking down bugs like these. When these Note8 devices are freezing, only two things will get them back to normal: force restarts or complete battery drains. Owners have tried clearing cache, uninstalling and reinstalling apps, and even factory resets, but to no avail. Luckily startup not that slow. |
Nov 1 2017, 12:22 PM
Nov 1 2017, 02:43 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
32,468 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Nov 1 2017, 03:41 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,225 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(TongCN @ Nov 1 2017, 09:27 AM) Using Whitestone Dome. Great review there. Is it easy to wipe of the excess glue when it leaks out on the headphone hole and speakers etc?My experience so far: The glass : - Feel so good and slippery when swiping with your finger and S Pen - It doesn't fully cover the edge of the screen like 2mm there The installation : - You will need to be aware that they mention to have additional glue being included so be prepared that it will leak out when you put down the glass (Seal off some part like headphone hole and speakers) - Mine lucky as it leaked on the right side below power button there. The CON : - For me, due to the glue between the TG and original screen, you might find that dust particar will start collecting around the edges which noticable during under the sunlight or if u r peaky. - So some cleaning work might need to perform every week for me since i'm a perfectioninst Overall, I like this TG and still waiting my Spigen Ultra Hybrid S to come Now using the clear case included inside the package. Second, can you help do a second installation? |
Nov 1 2017, 04:50 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Capital Square Kuantan |
QUOTE(aaron80 @ Nov 1 2017, 11:53 AM) this is cheaper Wahhh..more cheaper. Also claim original. If legit original, I sudah rugi banyak nih.but no way to find out that this type of item is really genuine or not https://www.lazada.com.my/original-genuine-...tem_page.bottom |
Nov 1 2017, 04:55 PM
8 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
Nov 1 2017, 05:26 PM
Nov 1 2017, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 1 2017, 03:41 PM) Great review there. Is it easy to wipe of the excess glue when it leaks out on the headphone hole and speakers etc? I didn't use tape to seal those holes before i did the installation but i do aware of the issueSecond, can you help do a second installation? After first curing, take out the phone from the guide box and check any excessive glue outside Using alcohol wipe can wipe those glue away easily (They give you 3 pack but do prepare own one just in case) You can do second installation IF you haven't cure the glue using UV light (They give 2 glue) But some ppl mention they lift up the Tempered glass and clean off those adhesive using oil and alcohol, after that they redo the process and like new one |
Nov 1 2017, 06:20 PM
12 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
can anyone recommend a good tempered glass SP for my note 8? i tried spigen film SP and didnt like it cos it doesnt work well with SPEN
| Change to: | 0.0368sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:58 AM |