Conditional High Yield Savings Account

SUSCardNoob
post Aug 14 2019, 08:30 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Aug 14 2019, 08:21 PM)
HNWI? Not in my books!  doh.gif

Anyways, I usually do not prefer "short term" 6-months FD rates then reverting back to board rates. Also the 70:30 ratio effectively lowers the advertised 4.7% FD rates.

If i read correctly using the assumption of 100K

70K @ 4.7%
30K @ 0.5%

After 6 months total Interests earned is 1,720/100,000 = 3.44%, no?
If you're not HWNI, how you can commit into an Insurance Savings plan worth about RM 1K monthly.
That translates to RM 12k per year right?

brutus
post Aug 14 2019, 08:40 PM

1,743 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 14 2019, 08:30 PM)
If you're not HWNI, how you can commit into an Insurance Savings plan worth about RM 1K monthly.
That translates to RM 12k per year right?
If one is diligent/discipline enough, saving 15-20% of one's income is doable. When I auto-debit it using my CC it is also a form of "forced savings/commitment".
I can assure you that I am not a HNWI! thumbsup.gif
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 14 2019, 08:44 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Aug 14 2019, 08:40 PM)
If one is diligent/discipline enough, saving 15-20% of one's income is doable. When I auto-debit it using my CC it is also a form of "forced savings/commitment".
I can assure you that I am not a HNWI!  thumbsup.gif
Interesting, what is the tenure you need to commit for that particular insurance saving plan?
brutus
post Aug 14 2019, 09:06 PM

1,743 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 14 2019, 08:44 PM)
Interesting, what is the tenure you need to commit for that particular insurance saving plan?
INM should be a 5Y plan. Not expecting much from this plan though, maybe slightly above FD rates will do for me.
Main objective is to utilize the Spend 1K element of PSA. Instead of "spending" on wants, might as well "invest" it. thumbsup.gif
mamamia
post Aug 14 2019, 09:19 PM

6,426 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Aug 14 2019, 09:06 PM)
INM should be a 5Y plan. Not expecting much from this plan though, maybe slightly above FD rates will do for me.
Main objective is to utilize the Spend 1K element of PSA. Instead of "spending" on wants, might as well "invest" it.  :thumbsup:
U mean u r not getting 6% every month?

Min. 3k deposit & 1k card spending. Then you get 0.5% board rate + 2% bonus rate (deposit) + 1.5% bonus rate (card spending) + wealth investment of 2%
brutus
post Aug 14 2019, 09:55 PM

1,743 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Aug 14 2019, 09:19 PM)
U mean u r not getting 6% every month?

Min. 3k deposit & 1k card spending. Then you get 0.5% board rate + 2% bonus rate (deposit) + 1.5% bonus rate (card spending) + wealth investment of 2%
No, I am getting 6% on my PSA DAB. What I was referring was the Insurance Savings Plan that I took up with SCB (under Prudential) as their 3rd element, invest and insure/cover. That also will have a return (as usual projected at 8%, their favorite number mega_shok.gif ).
Daveliew
post Aug 15 2019, 08:35 AM

Validating
94 posts

Hi Sifus!

I had just opened a OCBC 360 Account. I noticed that it is written there that every month cut off is on the 14th/15th.
Does it mean if I wish to get the full benefit, I would
1)Bank in Rm500
2)Transfer to another account
3)Spend Rm500
on the 15th? As it is considered as a new month?
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 15 2019, 08:38 AM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Daveliew @ Aug 15 2019, 08:35 AM)
Hi Sifus!

I had just opened a OCBC 360 Account. I noticed that it is written there that every month cut off is on the 14th/15th.
1)Bank in Rm500
3)Spend Rm500
Try look in this thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3920681/+760#entry93526855
brutus
post Aug 15 2019, 08:53 AM

1,743 posts

Hi Sifus!

1)Bank in Rm500
3)Spend Rm500
Transferring to another bank account does not fulfill either the Bill Payment or Spend with DC/CC.
Make use of SI in order to qualify all the 2 criteria except the DC/CC spend.
rojakwhacker
post Aug 15 2019, 09:06 AM

2,175 posts

Hi Sifus!

1)Bank in Rm500
3)Spend Rm500
Not necessary 15th, can be done on any day within a month as long as the transaction is done on that month.

Base interest normally credited to account on 31th of that month and bonus interest on 2th of the following month (credit is done up to 14 days working days of following month).

More info, read OCBC thread link:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3920681

QUOTE(brutus @ Aug 15 2019, 08:53 AM)
Transferring to another bank account does not fulfill either the Bill Payment or Spend with DC/CC.
Make use of SI in order to qualify all the 2 criteria except the DC/CC spend.
OCBC 360 saving account transfer to ocbc other account does not entitle 1.30% but transfer to 3 different other bank account (not OCBC) or make bill payment (pay OCBC credit card or other bank credit card or bills like unifi, etc) does entitle 1.30%.
Daveliew
post Aug 15 2019, 10:29 AM

Validating
94 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 15 2019, 08:38 AM)
QUOTE(rojakwhacker @ Aug 15 2019, 09:06 AM)
Not necessary 15th, can be done on any day within a month as long as the transaction is done on that month.

Base interest normally credited to account on 31th of that month and bonus interest on 2th of the following month (credit is done up to 14 days working days of following month).

More info, read OCBC thread link:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3920681
OCBC 360 saving account transfer to ocbc other account does not entitle 1.30% but transfer to 3 different other bank account (not OCBC) or make bill payment (pay OCBC credit card or other bank credit card or bills like unifi, etc) does entitle 1.30%.
Thanks Sifus! notworthy.gif

However, the first page on the thread link is not up to date?
rojakwhacker
post Aug 15 2019, 11:00 AM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Daveliew @ Aug 15 2019, 10:29 AM)
Thanks Sifus!  notworthy.gif

However, the first page on the thread link is not up to date?
You are right. Can try to ask in that thread or use search function to find info that you need. flex.gif
cybpsych
post Aug 16 2019, 09:46 PM

---------------------
65,306 posts

Earn up to 3.85% p.a. interest with Pay&Save as your salary account! [ HLB | T&Cs ]
16 AUGUST 2019-15 SEPTEMBER 2019

Don't let your hard work go to waste.
Make the most of your pay and let us reward you with RM50 when you open a Pay&Save Current Account.

Eligible customers will receive start-up deposit by 15 January 2019 (sic) --- should be 2020 biggrin.gif

Earn more interest with everything you do

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Aug 16 2019, 09:47 PM
!@#$%^
post Aug 22 2019, 05:17 PM

Safe Trader
17,500 posts

what about ocbc booster account? min 30k @3%, additional 1.2% if you take their wealth product
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 22 2019, 05:53 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 22 2019, 05:17 PM)
what about ocbc booster account? min 30k @3%, additional 1.2% if you take their wealth product
You interested with their wealth products?
!@#$%^
post Aug 22 2019, 09:00 PM

Safe Trader
17,500 posts

QUOTE(CardNoob @ Aug 22 2019, 05:53 PM)
You interested with their wealth products?
nope. but still 3% without doing anything compared to others?
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 22 2019, 09:04 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 22 2019, 09:00 PM)
nope. but still 3% without doing anything compared to others?
Yes, rather simple and straight forward. Just have to maintain a min balance of RM 30k.
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 31 2019, 10:38 AM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

Friendly reminder to Stash account owner:

EIR for MAB up to RM 100k has been affected as UOB raised the upper tier to RM 200k and created another tier for amount between RM 100k and RM 200k
You may have to top up more into the Stash account for optimum EIR.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Aug 31 2019, 10:40 AM
TSacejlsh
post Sep 1 2019, 06:24 PM

279 posts

Ambank have 2 new products worth considering:

1) eFlex - Up to 3 months current FD board rate if one could maintain RM 10K throughout the month, else base rate 0.5%

2) Am Partner - A current account with Bonuslink points and up to 1.5% interest.
SUSCardNoob
post Sep 1 2019, 09:49 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(acejlsh @ Sep 1 2019, 06:24 PM)
Ambank have 2 new products worth considering:

1) eFlex - Up to 3 months current FD board rate if one could maintain RM 10K throughout the month, else base rate 0.5%

2) Am Partner -  A current account with Bonuslink points and up to 1.5% interest.
These two accounts are good for those has low amount to start with.

I read that both accounts only need to maintain RM 10k; low entry requirement.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Sep 1 2019, 09:50 PM

70 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:19 AM