Conditional High Yield Savings Account

SUSCardNoob
post Jul 5 2019, 08:26 AM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(avinlim @ Jul 5 2019, 08:22 AM)
Revert back to 4.5%? but now is 4% already wor...excluding the 2% investment(which I will not do).

I am planning to get OCBC 360..which look better n easier to achieve.
The package is 6% including investment/wealth management products.
What he meant could be 4.5% including investment/wealth management products next year.
SUSCardNoob
post Jul 23 2019, 03:28 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 23 2019, 03:09 PM)
Just open a privilege saving account at Standard Chartered since I already got a credit card and online account there.
Anyway, was asked by the person in charge to take the debit card (annual fees RM8) if not the privilege benefits will not get.
Is that true?
Coz I highly doubt this debit card is needed to fulfill the required condition to get up to 6% pa interest.
Are you planning to buy insurance or wealth management products with SCB?
Otherwise, you'll be getting 4% pa only.
SUSCardNoob
post Jul 25 2019, 10:03 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Jul 25 2019, 10:02 PM)
if i put in rm500001 in uob investpro, i get 3.15% pa interest? not tiered?
Yes.
Not tiered.
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 1 2019, 01:19 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Aug 1 2019, 01:14 PM)
nowadays why opening a BSA needs income document, e.g. payslip in addition to IC? Is it new rule by BNM?
QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 1 2019, 01:18 PM)
hawker or self small business not payslips how?  doh.gif
Which bank?
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 1 2019, 01:34 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Aug 1 2019, 01:30 PM)
HSBC
Is it new rule by BNM for anti money laundering?
Foreign banks are very strict with account opening even for BSA.
They're scared of money laundering.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Aug 1 2019, 01:34 PM
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 2 2019, 02:26 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

As long as you can liquid the fund within a day, it should be treated as emergency.

FD can also be treated as emergency fund but you have to forego the interest for pre-mature upliftment.
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 5 2019, 03:58 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(vrek @ Aug 5 2019, 03:54 PM)
Different people has different needs. Some of us are in the 60s or 70s - top priority is not to lose the pension money. Not even the 5% service fee which can be a lot. And investment in mutual funds, gold. etc take years. FD is a "sure cannot lose money" type, can withdraw for own use anytime.
If you're in the advanced/golden age range, your objective is income preservation.

Unless you have extra cash to spare for, high risk and high volatility investment won't suit the playbook.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Aug 5 2019, 03:59 PM
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 9 2019, 11:12 AM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

For those who got UOB Stash account, do take note that their earned interest is a tiered structure.

The final amount interest earned for amount < RM 100k is not as per advertised under Total Rates column. What you received is equivalent to EIR column rate.
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 14 2019, 05:53 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Aug 14 2019, 05:08 PM)
Thank you for your reply. Is it based on your actual experience or your assumption on how it works? How about for this scenario: -

Saving: More than RM100k, Spend RM500 UOB credit card. Deposit RM2500 to UOB one account.

Answer: Base + Tier 2 = 2.65 + 2.65

or

Answer: Base + Tier 2 = 2.65 + 0
QUOTE(rojakwhacker @ Aug 14 2019, 05:49 PM)
Assumption. The table list is not clear enough? hmm.gif

Saving: > RM100k. If Spend RM500 UOB Credit card. Deposit RM2500 to UOB one account.

Answer: Base + Tier 2 = 2.65 + 2.65.
It a tiered interest and EIR matters.
Before revision, max EIR is merely 3.05% pa
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 14 2019, 07:58 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Aug 14 2019, 07:03 PM)
I have read the T&Cs. That is why I am confused.

According to this, the Bonus Interest will be payable on the Average Day-End Balance up to RM50,000 for that calendar month. However, there is a 3% rate for balance above RM50,000. This does not make sense at all unless the 3% includes the interest from the base interest (it is cumulative instead of separate). The rates shown on the T&C are outdated btw. The T&C is very poorly written indeed. The calculation method is supposed to be separate for base interest and bonus interest but is should be added up if there is a cap on the balance. Or they changed the conditions but forgot to update it. rclxub.gif
I am aware of that but what I am not sure about is the max EIR of 3.05% applicable only on the bonus or on the total interest earned.
This is a rough estimation of interest can be earned if you have RM 100k as MAB in your ONE saving account with Tier 2 requirement fulfilled:

Amt Base (%) Tier 2 Bonus (%) Base Interest Earned Tier 2 Bonus Earned Total Earned EIR (%)
10000 0.1 2.8 0.82 23.01 23.84 2.90
20000 0.1 2.8 1.64 46.03 71.51 2.90
20000 0.1 2.8 1.64 46.03 119.18 2.90
25000 0.1 3.8 2.05 78.08 199.32 3.23
25000 0.1 3.8 2.05 78.08 279.45 3.40

MAB: monthly average balance != amount in the amount of the last day of the month
Also, you need to ensure that your MAB never exceed RM 100k; otherwise, your EIR is 2.65%.
Interest earned should be cashed out so that your MAB is always <= RM 100k

P/S: If I make any mistake, I apologize upfront as I'm not from banking background.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Aug 14 2019, 08:03 PM
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 14 2019, 08:09 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Aug 14 2019, 08:06 PM)
When I opened the Privileged Savers account with SCB, I immediately bought a Insurance Savings plan worth about RM 1K monthly and use the SCB CC to auto-debit monthly the premiums.
Settle 2 conditions at one go.  rclxm9.gif
You may want to consider this too:
https://av.sc.com/my/content/docs/SCBMB-fix...19-campaign.pdf

You're cleary HNWI.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Aug 14 2019, 08:13 PM
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 14 2019, 08:30 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Aug 14 2019, 08:21 PM)
HNWI? Not in my books!  doh.gif

Anyways, I usually do not prefer "short term" 6-months FD rates then reverting back to board rates. Also the 70:30 ratio effectively lowers the advertised 4.7% FD rates.

If i read correctly using the assumption of 100K

70K @ 4.7%
30K @ 0.5%

After 6 months total Interests earned is 1,720/100,000 = 3.44%, no?
If you're not HWNI, how you can commit into an Insurance Savings plan worth about RM 1K monthly.
That translates to RM 12k per year right?

SUSCardNoob
post Aug 14 2019, 08:44 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(brutus @ Aug 14 2019, 08:40 PM)
If one is diligent/discipline enough, saving 15-20% of one's income is doable. When I auto-debit it using my CC it is also a form of "forced savings/commitment".
I can assure you that I am not a HNWI!  thumbsup.gif
Interesting, what is the tenure you need to commit for that particular insurance saving plan?
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 15 2019, 08:38 AM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Daveliew @ Aug 15 2019, 08:35 AM)
Hi Sifus!

I had just opened a OCBC 360 Account. I noticed that it is written there that every month cut off is on the 14th/15th.
Does it mean if I wish to get the full benefit, I would
1)Bank in Rm500
2)Transfer to another account
3)Spend Rm500
on the 15th? As it is considered as a new month?
Try look in this thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3920681/+760#entry93526855
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 22 2019, 05:53 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 22 2019, 05:17 PM)
what about ocbc booster account? min 30k @3%, additional 1.2% if you take their wealth product
You interested with their wealth products?
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 22 2019, 09:04 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 22 2019, 09:00 PM)
nope. but still 3% without doing anything compared to others?
Yes, rather simple and straight forward. Just have to maintain a min balance of RM 30k.
SUSCardNoob
post Aug 31 2019, 10:38 AM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

Friendly reminder to Stash account owner:

EIR for MAB up to RM 100k has been affected as UOB raised the upper tier to RM 200k and created another tier for amount between RM 100k and RM 200k
You may have to top up more into the Stash account for optimum EIR.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Aug 31 2019, 10:40 AM
SUSCardNoob
post Sep 1 2019, 09:49 PM

Wild Dog
1,457 posts

QUOTE(acejlsh @ Sep 1 2019, 06:24 PM)
Ambank have 2 new products worth considering:

1) eFlex - Up to 3 months current FD board rate if one could maintain RM 10K throughout the month, else base rate 0.5%

2) Am Partner -  A current account with Bonuslink points and up to 1.5% interest.
These two accounts are good for those has low amount to start with.

I read that both accounts only need to maintain RM 10k; low entry requirement.

This post has been edited by CardNoob: Sep 1 2019, 09:50 PM

0.0558sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:15 AM