QUOTE(glowglow @ Jun 26 2009, 01:22 AM)
I dun really trust insurance. I only trust the medical card but not the other policies. Life insurance and other savings are totally useless. Even PTPTN loan, u can earn more! Why I say so? Well, calculate the inflation and the interest. Inflation is great but the interest remains the same. At the end of the day, better to spend than to save!
The purpose of insurance is for financial security, not financial wealthy. Where can you get a plan that can create such big amount of emergency fund when you are not there with such low cost?
Even if you are millionaire, once you "gone", all your asset will go into estate, your family will need MINIMUM 6 months(with will) or MINIMUM 2 years(without will) to claim for your asset, how do they survive in this period? And yet, it is not creditor proof, so make sure you don't have debts.
Only death benefit insurance can provide your dependents an immediate and creditor proof fund under protection of Insurance Act 1996 Session 166.
But keep in mind, cash value and survivor benefit are not creditor proof.
To tell the fact although it is cruel, having strong finance or investment knowledge doesn't mean having a good financial planning skill.
Because investment just a part of financial planning.